“Empowering women” through Pole Dancing.

This is gonna look sooooooo good on my resume!

You just cannot make this shit up.

LONDON (AFP) – A renowned debating society at Cambridge University said Monday it would offer pole dancing tuition to members, in a building more used to the presence of international statesmen.

The Cambridge Union Society said female students would be offered lessons in the sensuous dance more often associated with strip clubs than the historic chambers of one of the world’s top universities

Hey! That’s what girlz are for, right? Might as well get them started in their profession, right?

Besides, Cambridge University wants to Empower women and what better way than to teach them Pole Dancing.

A Cambridge Union spokeswoman defended the move, saying there was “nothing degrading” about it.

“We are of the opinion that classes like these are a way of empowering women, as well as being a fantastic way to exercise and have fun together with other women,” she said.

“If an intelligent, independent woman wishes to learn a particular form of dance in respectable surroundings, we see nothing degrading in that.”

Given the administration and Congress we have been suffering, who have miraculously set Gender Relations and Women’s Rights back a minimum of 40 years, can the USA be far behind? And given the mentality of younger women these days, I’ll bet they will be tripping all over themselves to sign up.  Winner gets an advanced scholarship in Lap Dancing! Their parents will be so proud!

Maybe  there could even be……….an InternationalPole Dancing Competition! We could use Rahm, Larry Summers, David Letterman and that cardboard-cutout humping speech writer as runoff judges! We might even toss in Rush Limbaugh, because we wouldn’t want to slight Republican Pigs. No sir. This will be a bipartisan competition for Miss Pole Dance USA.

Sounds like a Plan! Go USA!

Update: Are The Olympics Ready For Pole Dancing? I might have known.

37 Responses

  1. Want to know why women are regressing? Well here’s why. I cannot believe the Daily Beast hired this little snot.

    THIS is what is important, right?
    http://www.thedailybeast.com/blogs-and-stories/2010-04-14/are-power-pantsuits-the-solution/#

    Unfreakingbelievable. I am removing DB from my daily reading list, this is just so infantile I cannot believe they are a serious site any longer, and it looks like most of the commenters feel the same way. What the hell was DB thinking when they let this child become “fashion” contributor? Furthermore, who the hell wants to dress like Michelle Obama. Oh hillary would look really serious about the country’s most serious job wearing what looks like a gun magazine belt over a dress with a big freaking huge pink flower in the middle of the crotch area. Oh brother, I can’t believe this child’s thought process. If this is America’s future for women, then American women have no future.

    I have just got to record this quote for posterity so that whenever I feel the need to laugh my ass off, I can look at it. Just imagine a secretary of state in this getup.

    At the recent Women in the World Conference, I was impressed by the African economist Dambisa Moyo, not just for her remarks on why development aid does more harm than good in Africa but for her discussing this topic up there on stage in a ruffled Lanvin minidress and 7-inch platform stilettos. You go, girl!

  2. pole dancing goes so well the DB fashion show post. Do they recommend skimpy wear for women to get ahead. How about graduation gifts of short shorts, fish nets and push up bras to set them on their career.

    uppity, it is cambridge university in the uk, not the usa.

  3. oh, nevermind, it is early and the coffee mug is still mostly full.

    International competition. Got ya.

  4. I would suggest inflatable partner aerobics for the menz. What is good for the goose, right? They could have a competition for those who last over 30 seconds.

    In regard to the DB article I am surprised that they don’t suggest that the men in power should wear leather pants and colorful open front silk shirts. How about bright blue neck scarf for effect. Speedo? OH, Sorry…I just pictured the gaffe master in a Speedo and now I need to sterilize the back of my eyes.

  5. I wonder if Violet socks has seen that arrticle…

  6. I’ll have you know that the image of Rush Limbaugh pole dancing completely ruined my breakfast. Thanks a heap.

  7. California is placing a tax on “exotic dancing.”

    It’s pole tax.

  8. I was saddened when a number of younger women in our department started taking poll-dancing classes, and rather startled when they started making a comeback in clubs. Women talk about toning their cores, etc., but what about their souls and character? I think a lot of younger women have no idea what freedom and strength of character are about, and how easy it is to lose these.

  9. just came across this comment:

    One
    Big
    Assed
    Mistake
    America

  10. Pole Dancing 101

  11. At the recent Women in the World Conference, I was impressed by the African economist Dambisa Moyo, not just for her remarks on why development aid does more harm than good in Africa but for her discussing this topic up there on stage in a ruffled Lanvin minidress and 7-inch platform stilettos. You go, girl!

    What’s next for this writer…the stripper pole competition for the first ladies because it’s cool? The super power of the pole for the power players? You are so right UW. Thank you to this writer for obsessing on what we believed we were past.

    I’m surprised that she didn’t write about the “power of the burqa” instead. Europe is in a tizzy over this issue.

  12. Harmony they took Softball out and they want to put that in. Nuts.

  13. Far be it for me to stick up for Michelle, but I don’t ever remember the freaking rotten lousy sexist press taking ass shots of her husband. They make me sick. And of course, her ass is no Jackie O ass either.

  14. The press could never get a good ass shot because their noses were in the way.

  15. Good God jay, but you are good.

    You are the King of saying it all in one line. You TRULY need to return to blogging about these jokers.

  16. McN. Good for Belgium! Outlaw the burqa before it even starts.

  17. Ha! Let me swing that pole like a bat and I’ll show you some empowerment.

  18. UW Belgium knows.

  19. bullmoose, these young women will wake up one morning and say, WHAT THE HELL WAS I THINKING? And then they will Get It. And then they will have to start all over doing what was already done for them, but which they took for granted. Serves them right. Let them eat Obama’s vibrating cell phone.

  20. It’s pole tax

    ROFL.

  21. Something tells me the Polish people will not be happy about this!

    snark!

  22. Barry butt shots? Yikes! Rumor has it that Barry bats from both sides of the isle anyway.

  23. So where is pole dancing for men???? How about pole dancing for people in their 30’s , 40’s , 50’s, 60’s, 70’s and beyond groups could make for some interesting entertainment. Maybe even some interesting injuries.

    What does the pole dancer of specified age say when they present to the emergency room with their pole dancing exertional injury? “I was just climbing the pole ever so gently, when my sheer massive weight overcame me and I fell flat down on my head and sprained my muscles betwixt my thighs…? And how does the “athlete”explain said injury(ies) to friends at the coffee house or at work the next day?

  24. Those poles are for monkeys.

  25. Jay at 744, imagine seeing these guys pole dancing..
    http://iowntheworld.com/blog/?p=21675

  26. Rumor has it that Barry bats from both sides of the isle anyway.

    Oh LOL!

    You know, I often wondered how bi sexual people find the time.

  27. Good Grief! What next? How to fit in a harem? How to meet your man in seasoning as the perfect starter?

    This is what I spent 30+ years fighting for? I want my time back.

  28. Barry met his man; Michelle be thy name!LOL!

  29. ” Let them eat Obama’s vibrating cell phone.”

    Oh, UW, that’s what they–and the males a fmales of thr MSM, dream of doing, night and day. That’s what oilsoc is to them..

  30. I never heard of pol dancing ad have o idea what it is, but I recognize S & M in disguise when I see it.

  31. “The press could never get a good ass shot because their noses were in the way.”

    jay,
    Double touche’

  32. Mary, jay is simply priceless isn’t he? He was a great political blogger too. I read him every single day, and was crushed when he stopped.

  33. UW,

    If Jay’s comment here today is a sample of his quickness and wit, I could really go for a lot more of his observations.

  34. Actually, it would get boring to see more pics of the prez from the press: How many times can they snap a photo from their knees, looking up to his smug chin sticking out in the air. Yuk, a Barry “money” shot.

  35. Mary, it seems your keyboard still has that nose cold. :)

    There are more funny lines inthis one thread than I can count.
    “noses in the way”, “pole tax” , “my sheer massive weight overcame me “, “stripper pole competition for first ladies”….

    I am ROFLOL

    But the killer quote (and I do NOT mean this in a good way) was from DB:

    At the recent Women in the World Conference, I was impressed by the African economist Dambisa Moyo, not just for her remarks on why development aid does more harm than good in Africa but for her discussing this topic up there on stage in a ruffled Lanvin minidress and 7-inch platform stilettos. You go, girl!”

    That took the laugh right out of me.

Comments are closed.

