Etch A Sketch maker sends toys and Thank Yous to the candidate clown squad

Rick mansplainin’ to wimminz
using his Etch A Sketch

In case you hadn’t heard, as of yesterday, Ohio Art Company’s stock rose 200% thanks to the Etch A Sketch sideshow amongst our mediocre Presidential candidates.

Let’s just say Mitt and  heel-nippers Newt and Rick  improved the economy for Ohio Art stockholders for sure.

Today, the company showed its gratitude for the publicity and resurgence of Etch A Sketch sales.

Ohio Art Co., maker of the classic baby boomer toy, is sending a big box of Etch A Sketches to the presidential campaigns to say thanks for the publicity and a boost in sales.

Hopefully, this will give this clown squad something else do do in lieu of irritating the crap out of each other and the rest of us.

I just wish I had that stock in my portfolio. I would have been selling by 4 PM yesterday.

66 Responses

  1. Why is it that the media heckles the heck out of gaffes made folks they disagree with, but give many a free pass to their homies? I know Mitt is part of the machine that is the DNC/GOP Mafia. I don’t know if Rick is, or is not, but I am affraid if he becomes president he will be forced to become a “made man.”
    We are in deep doo doo if something is not done about this.
    Now, elect me president and between the beer bar, horse shoe pit,, and porta potty I would have installed in the White House’s back yard, I would get some stuff done.:)

  2. UW….I took a ride on my Hillbilly time machine aka. lawn chair powered by Keystone. I also took a video camera along for the ride. I was able to locate you before you hitched your wagon to a Northern Agressor type dude. So here you are living the Hillbilly Dream. Just look at the darlin Billy’s and Billyettes!!!! I also like what you have done with your hair.

  3. I liked this comment from the Etch-a-Sketch guy:

    One thing the Etch a Sketch won’t do is pick sides in the presidential campaign, he said.

    “We have a left knob and a right knob,” he said, “so we neutrally speak to both parties.”

  4. One reason I try to explain to people that I’m not from North Louisiana. Santorum at a firing range in West Monroe.

  5. I thought this was funny:

  6. Wow. Hope they hauled her away, Fredster. Very scummy.

  7. You know, I’m really glad Ron Paul is still around. It keeps all the conspiracy theory psychos in one place.

  8. Uppity said:

    Wow. Hope they hauled her away, Fredster. Very scummy.

    Oh yeah. I’d love it if the guys with the earpieces who talk into their wrists pulled her over for a little chat. Some things you just *don’t* do or say. :roll:

  9. Yeah Fredster, she’s one of those Real Christians.

  10. OMG Your Pieness! I love it!

  11. Okay so Obama didn’t want to weigh in on the Trayvon Martin shooting, but now he says, “If I had a son he would look like Trayvon….”
    http://news.yahoo.com/obama-says-shooting-death-fla-teen-had-son-175034065.html

  12. Yeah Fredster, she’s one of those Real Christians.

    The kind that scare the shit out of me.

  13. All those so called Christians give Jesus a headache. Wish I had a dime for every time I have heard something to the effect of “If that’s what christians are like, count me out.”
    Hillbilly- as for sanitarypad (copyright nes, I think) there is a reason we booted his ass out here in PA. The man is just as bought and sold as the rest- and a lunatic to boot. He is free to practice whatever neolithic version of Catholicism he chooses- so long as he keeps it OUT of my life. The man would do well to read the Vatican II documents. And some history while he is at it. Oh and the Bible- before he spouts off. Jesus was not a fan of pharisees and saducees- which is what we have in DC. They want US to follow what they decide is the law- while living high off OUR hogs.

  14. “Alas you pharisees! Hypocrites, all!”

  15. Now, now Fredster, there are some very, very nice people in Monroe. Not all speak like the rogue voice on the vid. It is a rather friendly, congenial place, with northern Louisiana flavor.

  16. Let the race games begin…..

  17. crier: I know that’s a generality but they are more to the right and more conservative, more like MS and AL.

    I *do* know they were great with the SE LA, nola people with Katrina.

  18. TC- I think I might have passed through Monroe last summer- I think. seemed ok to me- but hell there are loons everywhere- we have Philly.

  19. Fredster- aren’t there some military bases up in that area?

  20. Astonishing about the stock! Etch-A-Sketches are so boring; still, good for them. Its probably the biggest thing Satanorum will ever do for anyone in the country.

    Imust, love the cartoon!

  21. Yup- Pharisees describes our politicians- Matthew 23

    1 Then Jesus said to the crowds and to his disciples: 2 “The teachers of the law and the Pharisees sit in Moses’ seat. 3 So you must be careful to do everything they tell you. But do not do what they do, for they do not practice what they preach. 4 They tie up heavy, cumbersome loads and put them on other people’s shoulders, but they themselves are not willing to lift a finger to move them.
    5 “Everything they do is done for people to see: They make their phylacteries[a] wide and the tassels on their garments long; 6 they love the place of honor at banquets and the most important seats in the synagogues; 7 they love to be greeted with respect in the marketplaces and to be called ‘Rabbi’ by others.

    Perfect.

  22. PMM said:

    Fredster- aren’t there some military bases up in that area?

    I think Barksdale AFB is up in that area. I don’t know if it’s closer to Monroe or Shreveport. Just checked it it’s closer to Shreveport.

    http://www.barksdale.af.mil/

    They have a HUGE contingent of B52s that are located there.

    Dubya went there on 9/11 after leaving FL.

  23. Fredster- I thought so- and I think there is some kind of Army post in the area as well. If it is a big base, it would explain the area being on the conservative side- every troop I know votes- every election. And I do not know one member of the military, or their spouses, that support the fraud. There must be some, but I sure don’t know any. Funny though, a lot of my military friends were/are huge Hillary supporters. (The troops were not big fans of the shrub either)

  24. PMM: There’s also Ft. Polk, but that’s closer to Leesville, more in central LA.

  25. Yup Fredster, definitely gets redder the more one goes north. Funny the dichotomy of southern vs. northern LA. Sometimes it is hard to realize that you are still in the same state.

    But the crawfish are still yummy either way. An Abita with some crawfish for you, Fredster. :)

  26. PMM, “there are loons everywhere.”

    If only those cool birds were everywhere instead…

  27. PMM: I come from a military family, Dad and granddad Army retired.

    However, they and I’m more that certain the current people in the military also know this:

    http://www.barksdale.af.mil/shared/media/document/AFD-120313-069.pdf

    I don’t think anyone in the military in their right mind would make a comment like that one captured on that vid. They might think it, and **might** say in private, but not in public.

  28. File under WTF??? 3rd graders have oral sex under desk and teacher doesn’t notice.
    http://tinyurl.com/6pz7hv2

  29. crier said:

    Funny the dichotomy of southern vs. northern LA. Sometimes it is hard to realize that you are still in the same state.

    Yep. In the nola area you have a spanish/french/aa influence background, in south central to southwest LA you have the acadian/french. From just about Alexandria and to the north you get the more typical southern mix of Protestant, Anglo/Saxon backgrounds. Sadly, that “red line” is creeping more and more to the southern part of the state. The state lege is in Repub hands.

    About that Abita and the mudbugs: Yeah you rite! :-)

  30. Am unnamed teacher at Tallulah Elementary School in Tallulah, La.,

    If you live and work in some place called Tallulah, you probably deserve to be fired.

  31. Hahahahahaha.

  32. Astonishing about the stock! Etch-A-Sketches are so boring;

    socal: I knew a guy in high school who was out for a year and a half with some illness and he got so good at Etch-a-Sketch–he made absolutely stunning drawings.

    I have an Etch-a-Sketch app on my iPhone. I am not good at it. I only installed it because I wanted to see if the lines disappeared when you shake the phone. Yes, they do!

  33. :If you live and work in some place called Tallulah, you probably deserve to be fired.”

    Wonder if Douglas Fairbanks Jr. thought so…

  34. I’d “Bank” on it.

  35. Where the heck you been, Anthony?

  36. Bot-bashing at various sites.

    Tis the season, you know…

  37. Wonder if Douglas Fairbanks Jr. thought so…

    Dunno. I said if someone lived and worked in a *place* called Tallulah. Ole Doug lived with Joan and worked In Tallulah, but a different one.

    Tallulah Bankhead to Joan Crawford

    “Dahling, you’re divine. I’ve had an affair with your husband. You’ll be next.”

    [K] Tallulah Bankhead ostensibly said this to fellow Hollywood beauty Joan Crawford, while sitting next to the latter’s husband, Douglas Fairbanks, Jr.

  38. something’s up with comments….

  39. And the dueling Tallulhas.

  40. Anthony, WP is turning into a very squirrely place. They are morphing or something and it’s not good. People are complaining all over the place about not being able to comment. Or post.All kinds of whacky things.

  41. Marilyn Monroe said she slept with Crawford.

  42. Oh. My. God!

  43. Thanks, UPPS – was getting a little paranoid…..

    Fredster:
    Another story about her is that after attending a Papal mass (drunk as hell) and gaining an audience with the pope, she said “Darling, your dress is lovely, but your bag was on fire!”

  44. anthony said:

    Another story about her is that after attending a Papal mass (drunk as hell) and gaining an audience with the pope, she said “Darling, your dress is lovely, but your bag was on fire!”

    WHAT? No comments about the shoes? :lol:

  45. Fredster, you know the beer and crawfish are just the appetizers to the real meal: the conversation with friends. Just like here at UW’s. Can you hear the washboard, fiddle, and accordion in the background?

  46. The Sibyl. Has surfaced.

  47. Calling on the lawyers–I have a question for you.

    A gay couple got married in NY, where it is legal. They live in Ohio where it is not. They just got divorced. In court. With a judge.

    Ohio did not recognize their marriage enough for them to be married, but did recognize it enough for them to get divorced.

    Here’s the lawyer question: Will this present a legal advantage in a future case FOR same-sex marriage in Ohio?

  48. crier, that sounds great except for the beer. Would rather have a cocktail. I made sake margaritas tonight & threw in a cut up mango. Yum.

  49. Cocktails can be just as yummy. Careful now scal. Uppity-ites will be making a bee line to your place.

  50. Where has NES gone to?

  51. I’m trying to get more used to Firefox instead of IE. Three times now I’ve had to put my computer back in time, because it keeps installing IE 9, which I don’t want, without asking me. In the past it asked me, and I always made sure the box was unchecked. Now it doesn’t even ask.

    Anyway – is there a way on Firefox to save my favorite blogs up on the top, like with IE?

  52. I think I just figured out how to make the blog be saved up top…

  53. crier said:

    Can you hear the washboard, fiddle, and accordion in the background?

    And probably Upps plugging her ears! :lol:

  54. Where has NES gone to?

    Probably out slumming in some dive bar; it’s a Friday night. ;-)

  55. Whoa! Wells Fargo is getting spanked by the SEC and no, not the Southeastern Conference. I wanna see a perp walk with some of these bastards!

  56. from the article above:

    “Wells Fargo has extensively cooperated in the commission’s investigation and believed it had an understanding with the SEC staff with regard to the outstanding document requests; the filing of this action violates that understanding,” said Wells Fargo spokeswoman Mary Eshet.

    Translation: We thought we threw them a few things and that we were gonna get away with the big stuff.

  57. Fredster- oh yes, all my military know and respect that chain if command- i was not implying the shouter was military at all. Just making an observation that in my experience, military are more conservative.
    Interesting the red/blue line in Louisiana- we have a similar division here in PA. Philly, Pittsburgh, Scranton, Harrisburg- liberal to the core. Most of the rest of the state is conservative. The way the electoral votes are awarded sucks.

  58. lorac you have to change your windows update settings so that they do NOt automatically update without asking you first. That includes permission to download as well as install. Then when you have updates you can check off the ones you want loaded and installed. You will uncheck IE 9. Then you will right click on it and choose “HIDE”. The update option will be hidden and you will not see it on the update list again. YOu do all of this by going to “Windows Update” and then choosing “Check for updates, but let me choose whether to download or install them”. For then on, windows cannot even load the updates much less install them, however you will no longer be on Automatic Update, so you have to be responsible. Just remember, when you get a notification that windows updates has downloads, you should click and take care of the updates as soon as possible. The good part is, you don’t get windows updating on you and rudely slowing you down in the middle of something important. When I have updates ready, I always load them and install them when I don’t care if it drags me down.

    Yes you can save links in FF. The tab is called “BOOKMARKS” instead of “FAVORITES”. You can also import your old links from IE into FF. Some people actually remove IE entirely from their machines just to be rid of it.

  59. When they gonna spank Bank of America?

  60. Sophie said
    I have an Etch-a-Sketch app on my iPhone. I am not good at it. I only installed it because I wanted to see if the lines disappeared when you shake the phone. Yes, they do! :lol: :lol:

  61. Whoa! Husky and Preston? Looks like the Billy affect is kickin’ in. :)

Comments are closed.

