……..And your prediction is?

So…….what do you think the outcome for the Affordable Care Act before the SCOTUS will be?

What do you think the Court will decide?

How do you think the People will react to that decision?

Who do you think will benefit most by the decision?

Who do you think will lose the most by the decision?

Do you think the decision will impact the outcome of the election in November? If so, how. No wishful thinking!

We will keep this post for posterity and see who comes the closest to what actually happens.

The Uppityite who comes the closest to guessing what the Court will do will win forever the title of Blog Nostradamus.

Not that he’s always right, but here’s what Rasmussen has to say:

Even if it survives the Court, the health caretp law is doomed.

Here are his polling stats:

56% favor appeal

54% expect SCOTUS to overturn ACA

62% think ACA will cause companies to drop employee health insurance

39% favor free health care for all

28% give SCOTUS high ratings - All-time low

49% are pro choice; 43% are not

86 Responses

  1. That pic of Dr Obama has me in stitches. Where’d you get it from?

    Btw, from the previous thread, I clicked on the ink below and found that some genius had reposted the parent’s address, phone, and names on the foxnews article because it was “easy to google”. I flagged the comment.

    Okay, so I’m not voting for Roseanne Barr for president. She tweeted the real address of Zimmerman’s parents.
    http://nation.foxnews.com/trayvon-martin/2012/03/29/roseanne-barr-tweets-address-zimmermans-parents

  2. Don’t I wish I could predict the outcome on this. My wish is for the whole damn thing to be struck down so we can go back to square one and get the public option.
    There is just too much in that monstrosity – some of which as we know, has absolutely nothing to do with health care. The little “civilian corps” comes to mind.
    But then, I think ALL bills should be straightforward and in plain language the average high school graduate can read and comprehend. (Well, a high school graduate from our era anyway lol) I absolutely hate the way things totally unrelated get tacked on and snuck in to totally unrelated pieces of legislation.
    sigh
    rant over.

  3. I think I am going to play the lottery today. I have as much chance of winning that as I do not being mandated to death.

  4. MEGA lottery is half a billion this time.

  5. MOM, I predict that once this bill gets struck down, Square One will mean we will never hear about it again.

  6. Mega Millions is $500 million! That’s almost Solyndra money. I’m buying a ticket too!

  7. I don’t have a clue what the Supremes will decide. The sense of “reason” has been long gone.

  8. Votermom, I’ve had the pic for a long time never used it. So I can’t remember where I got it at all.

    People who tweet names and addresses for purposes of deliberately inciting harm or death should be arrested and prosecuted for attempted murder.

    Peope who tweet the wrong addresses for purposes of deliberatly inciding harm or death should be arrested, prosecuted, tarred and feathered, and never get out of prison for a long long time.

  9. You win a half billion in Mega lottery and you will hear from friends you didn’t even know you had.

  10. Amazon sure is slow with ani’s book. Mine hasn’t been shipped yet.

  11. WLM the SCOTUS doesn’t decide. Kennedy decides. Why keep the rest of them? Why not just admit the court is corrupted by two parties and fire them all and just ask Kennedy what to do?

  12. Mega Millions is $500 million! That’s almost Solyndra money

    LOL!

  13. While I would like to see it shot down, I predict it stands 6-3. Roberts, Kennedy, Kagan, Sotomayor, Ginsberg, and Breyer for, and Alito, Scalia, and Thomas against. But sleep well because I never win anything.

  14. Bold and interesting, ellie.

  15. Oh, I am going out on a limb here, but this is the same Supreme Court that gave us the “money is speech” mantra, so I am betting they will make whatever decision favors the insurance companies most and screws the public most. Just a wild guess.

  16. AnnE, it’s true that both sides screw us, they just use a different probing tool. Sickening parties, both of them. Hijacked by insane crackpots.

  17. Experience has taught me that whatever the Court decides, the corrupt media will spin it to provide cover while Plouffer and Axleroid cut a deal for insiders, members of Congress and Royal Familiy parasites. I’m visiting in Atlanta right now and on the news, I see Atlanta’s business community on a trade-partnership mission to China. As Southerners, can they really expect any legitimate exchange they negotiate not to be effed up by Dr DoNothing and his Sprites?

  18. Ani’s book arrived yesterday. I started with the Sarah Palin chapter (good analysis) and then I’ll go back to the beginning. Well, maybe not; I usually read the last chapter first and then I start the book.

  19. His ONLINESS is due to pass within a half a block of my home today. Chickens and cat and self are staying indoors to avoid any fallout contamination.

  20. Uppity Woman, on March 30, 2012 at 9:49 AM said:

    Amazon sure is slow with ani’s book. Mine hasn’t been shipped yet.
    ******************************
    I think it depends on where you live — they are cooked in S. Carolina, so some readers already have the books in their hands! Maybe they weren’t expecting a sudden flurry!

  21. I think the mandate will be struck down. Many will people will be happy but the Obamabots will cry racism. Obama will benefit most from the decision because h/c costs will rise and he’ll be able to point the finger at the Republicans for rising costs. Who will lose the most? Why US of course!

  22. imust, health care premiums already did rise extremely so BECAUSE of his law.

  23. Hey Anita, maybe they have to restock! That would be a GOOD thing. I wouldn’t think that location would have anything to do with actually shipping. Maybe with time of delivery, but shipping is shipping.

  24. I ordered a few things with the book, they shipped the book didn’t. But alas, I just checked and it says “Shipping soon”. I bet they just didn’t expect that many sales at once. Could be a stock thang. lolol that’s great.

    They don’t open every box at once, so somebody in warehouse has to locate next box, see?

  25. ROFL! Even the chickens don’t want to see him, Twandx.

    The Incandescent one is blessing you, you ingrate.

  26. I’ll just skip the S P chapter. Being a “Radical Feminist” and all.

  27. Hell PH, all his cronies already got a waiver from the law, including all those big union guys who pimped the plan and then got out of it themselves as fast as they could. That’s how sucky that bill is.

  28. Well what I mean Uppity is that if the mandate goes but they still have to cover pre-existing etc, they will raise rates even more. Also, another group that will benefit will be small businesses who will not have to provide h/c insurance and the investors will benefit because their stocks in small businesses will rise.

  29. I am hoping they scrap the whole thing, and indicators lean that way. But I don’t trust the fuckers.

  30. OT – This is just fucking insane. Our soldiers in Afghanistan now have to be guarded while they sleep, advised to carry weapons inside Afghan ministries, and turn all their desks to face the door while working in buildings populated by our “allies”.

    We’ve spent all this time, money and blood trying to train up and partner with Afghan defense forces – who are now using that training and close relationship to kill our guys.

    GET. THEM. THE. HELL. OUT. of that hopeless shithole. They are not our friends, and they have age-old problems of their own that have kept them killing each other for decades, LONG before we came along. That we cannot solve, and shouldn’t try. Not our problem. Get the hell out. And frankly, I don’t care if the whole area descends into utter barbarism and they all slaughter each other to their heart’s content for another hundred years. Sad, and I’m sorry for many of the Afghan innocents (especially women) who will suffer, but not our problem. Get the hell out.

    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/asia/afghanistan/9174294/Guardian-angels-assigned-to-watch-over-US-troops-in-Afghanistan.html

  31. WMCB, nothing is ever off topic here!

    Yes we should get out and then we should turn that shithole into a parking lot.

  32. Seriously here, somebody needs to slam joe biden into a bunker and leave him there till he dies of old age.

    “I never had an interest in being a mayor ‘cause that’s a real job. You have to produce. That’s why I was able to be a senator for 36 years,”

  33. Gotcha imust.

  34. UW, that’s pretty much my national defense philosophy. Leave everyone the hell alone, and stay out of their business. But if they do something to us – retaliate immediately, massively, and unapologetically.

  35. What I love about Biden’s crap is that the media treats him like “Haw, haw, silly ol’ Joe -but he’s a good egg!” If any woman politician made even half the stupid remarks he’s made, she’d be mercilessly hounded from public discourse as the stupidest bimbo ever to draw breath.

  36. Well, UW, I could always use more sales. My publicist has just hit the ground running so our press release has not even gone out yet and my website will be up next week —

    UWers were the first to see the book and buy it! I am thrilled. You all might get a kick out of knowing that because of my quick flurry of sales, for a while there, my book placed higher on the political books lists than “Game Change”

    Let’s keep it going!!!! Tell your friends!!

  37. craterlakegirl! Thanks for buying! How funny that you chose to read the SP chapter first. It just shows me I have to let go control and let people experience the book any way they wish to! lol.

    I think starting from the top will be interesting because the story is not told in typical non fiction fashion. Let me know :)

  38. WMCB- oh yes. There are some hair raising things going on and they have been going on with our so called allies for years. My sister was stationed in Germany many many MANY years ago- and of course we have to hire locals – that is just such a great idea right? Winning hearts and minds and all that?
    Until the day one of the “local hires” loaded up his VW with explosives, drove it on to the base and blew it up in an attempt to kill off a bunch of generals and NATO types. But our political leaders decided to keep that policy in place. Hire locals. Great.
    Keep the locals the hell OFF our bases. The Germans in particular made out like f-in bandits when they took back all the bases WE PAID FOR AND BUILT! We rebuild their country and spend a gazillion dollars doing it and they got protection AND some pretty techie airports.

    The situation in Afghanistan sucks. Ask my DIL who had to purchase a sharia approved head covering to wear under her helmet while she was stationed over there. And ask her about the IED’s. About the locals with their tribal battles breaking out right outside the walls and bullets flying IN to their base. Bombs exploded up against the walls.
    Always a patrol awake and watching.

    Bring our kids home and let them go back to killing each other.

  39. Hey Barack is in VT, live on CSPAN. I think I just spotted Twandx barfing.

  40. WMCB, Mr. Good Egg is the VP of the USA and a blithering idiot with very few good brain cells firing at any given time.

  41. That pic of Dr Obama is priceless. :lol: :lol:

  42. From the Rasmussen thing:

    Individual Americans recognize that they have more power as consumers than they do as voters.

    That’s fucking bullshit. How did that work out for you upps looking for an individual policy?

  43. The Louisiana A.G. was interviewed by Think Progress. He filed suit against the bill on behalf of the state. Here’s the good part of the interview:

    KEYES: You don’t think the subsidies for low-income people are going to be helpful?

    CALDWELL: No, no. The worst thing you can do is give it to an insurance company. I want to make my point. All insurance companies are controlled in their particular state. If you have a hurricane come up the east coast, the first one that’s going to leave you when they gotta pay too many claims is an insurance company. Insurance companies are the absolute worst people to handle this kind of business. I trust the government more than insurance companies. If the government wants to put forth a policy where they will pay for everything and you won’t have to go through an insurance policy, that’d be a whole lot better.

  44. Check out this gymnastics routine by an 86 year old former gymnast!
    I saw it on yahoo first but got the video from you tube.

  45. Bahahahaha Keithy! Double Whammy. Not only fired for the asshole he is, but replaced by Client Number 9! Oh it’s too rich!

  46. Current was also founded on the values of respect, openness, collegiality, and loyalty to our viewers. Unfortunately these values are no longer reflected in our relationship with Keith Olbermann and we have ended it.

    Just one more reminder of how poorly Keith plays with others. May he join Campbell Brown in the Nowhere To Be Found files. That would be nice.

  47. Oh that is sooo funny about Keith. I love it.

    May he join Campbell Brown in the Nowhere To Be Found files

    And Susan Roesgen.

    http://www.nationalreview.com/corner/180430/cnns-susan-roesgen-taking-hackery-new-heights/mark-hemingway

  48. So is the 86 year old baba considered a GGILF? :) Geez, I bet the boys at her senior home have “stiffy” juice put in their I.V. drips!:)

  49. What wonderful news about Keithy. It couldn’t have happened to a more deserving POS. Truly karmic. And when he says “the truth of the ethics of Mr. Gore and Mr. Hyatt will come out” it just makes me tingle up my leg. My oh my, the Hillary bashers are eating their own. The piggies are squealing about the deep doo doo they created.

    boo freaking hoo.

    Send them a picture of the Hillary Nut Crackers and a little note telling them to Grow a Pair. What a bunch of jerks. How the hell did I ever listen to Keith’s rants and believe Al Gore wanted to help the planet?

    What a-holes they all are.

    Speaking of A-holes, that Biden quote made my eyes pop out. At least he admits he is a waste of space and sucking on the teat of taxpayers his whole life.

  50. UW! Only gagging until I got to the tv to turn it off from a local station. But I was curious so I watched a bit of the intro by a local business woman [solidarity, ya know] as long as I could stomach it – and there was a large crowd but mostly made up of students, politicians of all kinds and what we used to call bobby soxers crying out, “oh, we love you, we love you!” Here’s a barf bag for all of you.

    Ani – nothing yet on your book for me to download from Amazon Kindle. Evidently your book has not been digitized [or whateverthehell they do to send it through the air] as yet. I’ll keep trying and also email them a nudge or three.

  51. LOL Twandx. Cracking up here.

  52. Yeah Karen, how bad does Keith have to be for Gore to proclaim he has more integrity.

  53. Oh yeah Susan. I remember that POS.

  54. And they say Sarah Palin isn’t smart enough to be VP

  55. Somebody took Keith in a room and only they came out.

  56. The laughs keep coming….Keethie makes his own statement:
    http://www.twitlonger.com/show/gnlt4t

  57. I’d like to apologize to my viewers and my staff for the failure of Current TV.

    OMG! I’m DYING here!

    In due course, the truth of the ethics of Mr. Gore and Mr. Hyatt will come out.

    I love when they eat their own!

    For now, it is important only to again acknowledge that joining them was a sincere and well-intentioned gesture on my part,

    Also you weren’t employed.

  58. Hot Air:

    The Political Math guy tweets, “If you play Olbermann’s career in reverse, it’s the story of a jobless man who rises from a lowly Internet channel to a prime-time talk show”.

  59. As the Republicans continue to laugh their asses off at this jerk. (PMMom found this)

  60. “Gore” and “integrity”????? BWAHAHAHAHAHA!
    You made me choke on my tea. LOLOLOL

  61. Oh stop PMM, you’re killing me. Olby, the misogynist vs Gore, the sex crazed poodle. I’d pay to watch.

  62. Yes, I know that’s really sick. Still lmao.

  63. So, here’s my prediction:
    I think they will leave it as it is 5-4 with Ginsberg, Breyer, Kagan, Sotomayor, and Kennedy FOR and Roberts, Alito, Scalia, and Thomas AGAINST. I don’t think they will challenge an historic sitting president.

    I wish they would say that the only way a mandate is constitutional is to have a public option. I fantasize that they would send the whole thing back for single payer. Ha!

  64. “I wish they would say that the only way a mandate is constitutional is to have a public option.”
    ********
    The “Public Option” that was being discussed but as Biden said was never on the table, was/is as big a fraud as Obamacare. It was just used as part of the street theater to show the “progressives” that Obama was forced by the evil “blue dogs” to compromise.

    IMO, the outlines of Obamcare had already been acceoted and money promised to DNC and Congressional leaders before Obama was selected as stooge.

  65. I don’t think they will challenge an historic sitting president.

    Their addresses might be tweeted….

  66. Woo Hoo! My box of books came today!

    (omg it was so heavy to carry lol)

  67. Oh my God,

    this ventures into Lewis Caroll territory-replaced by Spitzer?

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/?joinow=1&ref=aolnews

  68. 1) I have no idea how the court will rule. (I kind of think they may strike the mandate with swinging Kennedy, but still SCOTUS can be so unpredictable)

    2) People will react exactly how the media tells or encourages them to act, because most people are sheeple.

    3) Who will benefit? Easy, the insurance companies, big pharma and Wall Street……via their insurance and pharma holdings.

    4) Who will lose? Again easy, no matter the decision…..we the people, the average Americans will lose…….but hey what’s new.

    5) Will it have an impact on the election? Not really, sure the media will play it up for a news cycle or two. Each campaign will try and spin it to their advantage…….but in the end most voters will care more about the economy, unemployment and gas prices.

  69. Ok so I know I am late to the party but may I just say, ding dong the witch is dead!

    Keith gets a visit from the Karmic police. Unfortunately it took 4 years too long to happen.

  70. lorac, on March 30, 2012 at 11:04 PM said: Edit Comment
    Woo Hoo! My box of books came today!

    (omg it was so heavy to carry lol)

    __________________

    Geez, Lorac — that’s a lot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And that was fast — three days! The mice at the printing press must be working awfully fast!!

    Thank you again, my dear!

  71. Twandx — in re Kindle, I mentioned earlier that the kindle version will not be available for at least a couple of weeks! Hell, the “book” book was not even supposed to be available yet, so Amazon surprised me.

    Sorry you can’t have the book in the format you want yet — but they have been working on it since last week. I have had a lot of requests for Kindle so, hang in there with me — it is definitely on the way!! :)

  72. Talking to myself….

  73. Some of us are too busy reading your excellent book, Ani!

    Tomorrow I’m going to the post office to mail books off to some of our blog friends. I’m going to have to force myself to put the book down and get some sleep at some point tonight, so I don’t sleep past the post office close time tomorrow lol

  74. lorac, on March 31, 2012 at 1:48 AM said: Edit Comment
    Some of us are too busy reading your excellent book, Ani!

    _____

    So you like so far? Where are you in it?

  75. “Ask my DIL who had to purchase a sharia approved head covering to wear under her helmet while she was stationed over there”

    Complete BS I say. (errrr)

    Uppity, I do not know if SCOTUS will toss the AIA in waste can where it belongs, but it will effect the election either way. It will throw the MSM in to an orgasmic meltdown. If Romney doesn’t have to defend it on a Federal level all the better.

  76. That Flexible BO video is a hoot! :)

  77. As two parties compete in need of single women votes, read which campaign didn’t answer when asked about the woman in this article.
    http://www.wral.com/news/political/story/10914134/
    He is just a shithead who doesn’t give a shit about women and frankly, I can’t believe that every woman doesn’t see it.

  78. That is part of the MO….to courting a “block” of voters and then throwing them under the bus….Amazing isn’t it? BO has a very poor record on women’s issues but a great deal of rethoric. Hell, I still can’t believe NOW endorsed Obama instead of Hillary. So yeah….

    I am also amazed that the clone condom wars were such a hit with the Democratic faithful. By November, it will be the economy and / or / either the conflict in Iran or Syria.

  79. A part of me says that, in the end, this business friendly court will want to give the insurance companies the bodies they need to keep them in business….Fewer people being able to afford their premiums has been making the industry almost unsustainable….

  80. insight, i don’t know, really. Seems to me they were sustainable before this law, and damned profitable besides. So basically,this law makes the insurers richer. Canceling it puts them back where they were and where they were was very very good. For them.

Comments are closed.

