THIS is what a feminist looks like

Ashley Judd (born Ashley Tyler Ciminella; April 19, 1968) is an American television and film actress, humanitarian, political activist, fashion designer, model, and philanthropist.

Judd grew up in a family of successful performance artists as the daughter of country music singer Naomi Judd and the sister of Wynonna Judd. While she is best known for an ongoing acting career spanning more than two decades, she has increasingly become involved in global humanitarian efforts and political activism. Judd has played lead roles in films including Ruby in Paradise,Kiss the Girls, Double Jeopardy, Where the Heart Is, and High Crimes. She currently stars as Rebecca Winstone on the ABC thriller drama Missing.

She is married to open wheel and Indy 500 champion Dario Franchitti.

Apparently Ashley was fighting a sinus infection and had to take steroids for a month, which an informed person can tell you will quickly put weight on you.  Her face got a little puffy, and the press immediately started throwing out all kinds of hypotheses, making judgments about the reasons for the change in her facial appearance.  I think this media reaction fits in very nicely with the theme of Ani’s (Anita Finlay‘s) excellent new book, Dirty Words on Clean Skin.

Ashley Judd has a long resume of great film roles, and has done a lot of work for humanitarian causes as well, but the important thing to know about her is that her face got puffy!  I suppose it must get a little boring critiquing the looks of an average person, so the press seemingly jumped for joy when an attractive woman beginning middle age had a change in her appearance!  Wow, maybe she’s had plastic surgery!  Maybe she can’t handle middle age!  Well, don’t worry about Ashley.  Just as Ani turned her anger and outrage into a constructive outlet, so too Ashley has fired off a well-written feminist response calling out the media’s sexist reduction of her to an object to be judged by her appearance.  And most refreshing of all, she’s not afraid to use the word “feminist”!!!

The Conversation about women’s bodies exists largely outside of us, while it is also directed at (and marketed to) us, and used to define and control us. The Conversation about women happens everywhere, publicly and privately. We are described and detailed, our faces and bodies analyzed and picked apart, our worth ascertained and ascribed based on the reduction of personhood to simple physical objectification. Our voices, our personhood, our potential, and our accomplishments are regularly minimized and muted.

(snip)

That women are joining in the ongoing disassembling of my appearance is salient. Patriarchy is not men. Patriarchy is a system in which both women and men participate. It privileges, inter alia, the interests of boys and men over the bodily integrity, autonomy, and dignity of girls and women. It is subtle, insidious, and never more dangerous than when women passionately deny that they themselves are engaging in it.

This abnormal obsession with women’s faces and bodies has become so normal that we (I include myself at times—I absolutely fall for it still) have internalized patriarchy almost seamlessly. We are unable at times to identify ourselves as our own denigrating abusers, or as abusing other girls and women.

(snip)

News outlets with whom I do serious work, such as publishing op-eds about preventing HIV, empowering poor youth worldwide, and conflict mineral mining in Democratic Republic of Congo, all ran this “story” without checking with my office first for verification, or offering me the dignity of the opportunity to comment. It’s an indictment of them that they would even consider the content printable, and that they, too, without using time-honored journalistic standards, would perpetuate with un-edifying delight such blatantly gendered, ageist, and mean-spirited content.

I hope the sharing of my thoughts can generate a new conversation: Why was a puffy face cause for such a conversation in the first place? How, and why, did people participate? If not in the conversation about me, in parallel ones about women in your sphere? What is the gloating about? What is the condemnation about? What is the self-righteous alleged “all knowing” stance of the media about? How does this symbolize constraints on girls and women, and encroach on our right to be simply as we are, at any given moment?

(snip)

I ask especially how we can leverage strong female-to-female alliances to confront and change that there is no winning here as women. It doesn’t actually matter if we are aging naturally, or resorting to surgical assistance. We experience brutal criticism. The dialogue is constructed so that our bodies are a source of speculation, ridicule, and invalidation, as if they belong to others—and in my case, to the actual public. (I am also aware that inevitably some will comment that because I am a creative person, I have abdicated my right to a distinction between my public and private selves, an additional, albeit related, track of highly distorted thinking that will have to be addressed at another time).

If this conversation about me is going to be had, I will do my part to insist that it is a feminist one, because it has been misogynistic from the start. Who makes the fantastic leap from being sick, or gaining some weight over the winter, to a conclusion of plastic surgery? Our culture, that’s who. The insanity has to stop, because as focused on me as it appears to have been, it is about all girls and women.

In fact, it’s about boys and men, too, who are equally objectified and ridiculed, according to heteronormative definitions of masculinity that deny the full and dynamic range of their personhood. It affects each and every one of us, in multiple and nefarious ways: our self-image, how we show up in our relationships and at work, our sense of our worth, value, and potential as human beings. Join in—and help change—the Conversation.

It’s a good article, and there’s much more at the link.  I love that the conversation is turning to feminist issues, and women such as Ani and Ashley are leading the charge.  In closing I wanted to mention an article by a young woman I came across.  She discusses the Ashley Judd article, and feels encouraged by it.  On the one hand, I felt happily surprised that a young woman “gets it”.  On the other hand, her article suggests that she is very ignorant of the history of the women’s movement.  I’ve bolded what jumped out at me.

This may have been a conversation feminists have been having for some time now, but because Ashley Judd spoke, the world is finally listening. Specifically, young girls who thought they were alone in their beliefs that the way women are eviscerated by the media, and in turn the impact of that treatment on us, is wrong are waking up. It may be going a little far to say that Ashley Judd’s response to her “puffy face” has sparked a revolution, but I think it’s safe to say she has given us an incredible gift. I only hope that more celebrities follow in her footsteps. I only hope that more young women follow in theirs.”

What do you think?  Is it good that this woman is feeling empowered by Ashley’s article, or is it scary that she seems to feel that her awakening is happening in a vacuum?  And why is she looking to celebrities to speak out about feminism – are they the pinnacle of authority in her young world???

114 Responses

  1. First post on this thread. Just like an obot, but not.

    So now that obama said he’s empowering wimmenz against those nasty republicans who are messing with our plumbing 24/7, it is a subject of the day in the media. OILSOC, as we know is just using this as a campaign issue, but nevertheless while the media is paying attention it is a good time to light the fires of enlightenment.

    If that young woman is waking up and willing to put aside her pre-conceived notions, she too, might become a feminist. It happens. Mysteriously. One asshole’s comment too many and poof – you don’t take the crap anymore.

    Wimmenz powerz.

    Go Hilz. She re-lit the flames for most of us. It was a bitter secret that was merely swept under the rug for a few decades.

    Hold the “Glenn Close” type comment out for view.

    Credo (Move-y On-y) phone company too is all up to date on their outrage over Rush. Not a word ever about Maher.

  2. Gingrich is blown up like the pillsbury doughboy. How come the press isn’t talking about how, if he gets any bigger, we’re all going to need a bigger TV?

  3. Alec Baldwin must be on steriods too. For a long time.

  4. Gingrich and Christie! My heavens Christie is HUGE. Can you EVER imagine a women running for ANY office that heavy? I was listening to the news this morning and Christie’s name was thrown around as a VP pick….never, but never does anyone say (out loud) anything about his weight.

  5. OMG a woman the size of Cristie would be laughed off the stage.

  6. If anybody actually believes the DNC wants hillary to be president in 2016, then I have some stock in Missouri Wagon Wheel and Buggy Whip to sell you. Those cars are just a fad.

    THey are looking to round up those voters Donna told to stay home in 2008, for Barack. Nothing more. False Hope and False Change.

  7. 600 bottlenose dolphins found stranded in BP spill area of FL and LA. Most are dead. Nothing to see here. The oil is gone.

  8. imust on Christie’s fat.
    Perhaps PC is up and running now, but there was a time when Christie himself brought the subject up. He’d not yet made the national scene. He was still campaigning against Corzine, the incumbent governor. Corzine accused Christie of throwing his weight around. Christie came back at him via an interview asking Why don’t you say what you mean? I am a very very fat man.”
    Alas, I think he’s considerably heavier now – so perhaps it has become a taboo.

  9. Comment box is misbehaving – cannot see where I am until I type. Also could not scroll down to proof read entire post above. Just saying. Know it’s out of your hands.

  10. Pamela I am convinced that unless they fire the brain dead UN Customer-Oriented pissants who are fucking with WordPress, this place is going to be abandoned by plenty of bloggers and commenters. I went through absolute bullshit just to comment twice on John Smart’s blog last night. First I had to figure out how to scroll up in the comment box without losing everything. Then I had to enter my screen name, email address, and website (unless I wanted them to pimp the gravatar site without asking me). THEN, even though I was already logged in to wordpress, I had to login to post my comment. I left something out of my comment and decided to add it beneath it with another comment. To do that I once again had to enter my email address and retype my blog url………AND I had to login again. This is an absolute barrel of bullshit wordpress is handing us with these “improvements” that I suspect have nothing to do with making the experience better for the user…..and everything to do with collecting data and pimping gravatar.com. I suspect, but can’t prove it, that they are gearing up to dump a boatload of unwelcome ads on free wordpress blogs. The kind of ads that you want to go away NOW. The kind of ads that appear because of a keyword you used. The day that happens is the day this blog goes dead.

  11. I’ll say this. Obama’s skeletal body is no less disconcerting.

  12. Forgot where I was. Erase the comment of mine at 10:18.

  13. If you still can. :(

  14. Uppity, now I’ll log out so you can rest!

  15. I admire Ashley–she is a good egg besides being one smart cookie. But let me tell you, you do not want to be on steroids–they are barbaric. I was on them about 15 years ago because I had an allergic reaction to some medication, and my body stopped making platelets. I took the steorids, blew up like I inhaled a bicycle pump, cleaned and put things in alphabetic order that needed neither at 2 in the morning, and yum yum–consumed massive quantaties of tuna and peach non fat yogurt sanwiches on dark rye. All aboard the crazy train!

    But of course the press fascination with Judd’s puffty face proves that it does not matter how smart and accomplished you are if you have ovaries, only your ornamental value. Barf!

  16. AnnE, my daughter was on them years ago when she was in her 20s. She got what was known as Moon Face. It took years for the signs and symptoms to fully go away. She lost weight but she still had several chins and this basketball head even though she was thin and athletic.

  17. Got my book(s) ! YAY! Thank you!

  18. AnnE, I had a horrid experience with steroids too. My hands and all fingers flared up into this horribly painful, festering swelling set of blobs. I was in screaming pain and the redness was spreading. Apparently I picked something up in the garden a few years ago. Not wearing gloves is a BAD idea. Anyways, I had to do the steroid thing for several weeks and I swear to you, my head got twice its size or something. I could open the fridge door, tip it forward and eat everything that fell out. And I was so zoomed out, I could clean the whole house in a hour and do a good job. I don’t think i slept the entire time. Steroids are some really bad shit, but they are extremely effective at their actual intent.

  19. Aw I’m glad you got it today, Mom, if you read it might take your mind off of your loss for a little bit.

  20. I am writing this here because I know everyone here is interested with causes that affect women. While at the check-out aisle at Wal-Mart, I noticed a magazine with a picture of a nude woman on its cover. A five-year-old boy was staring at it. The vendors feel no shame about sexualizing women to any age. On my blog I posted contact information for people to contact Wal-Mart and to request that the magazines be removed from the check-out aisle.

    http://blogs.christianpost.com/disciple/wal-mart-petition-9257/

  21. “This abnormal obsession with women’s faces and bodies has become so normal that we (I include myself at times—I absolutely fall for it still) have internalized patriarchy almost seamlessly.”
    **************
    Very evident if you go to the B & N magazine section and look at the sections of “Men’s Interest” and “Women’s Interest”….similar theme, “Babes and Boobs”.

    (I gravitate toward Power Tools and Cooking, old age, I guess)

  22. Hillary with the Texts From Hillary guys. Imagine Obama wasting his Special and Very Important time with such commoners–for a real laugh.

  23. OMG, I’m waiting for this one.^^^^

  24. How cute! They put suits on for her!

  25. Here ya upps:

    http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/recent-update-to-commenting?replies=4

    Nothing about disappearing cursors. Although I opened up TW in Explorer and voila! A cursor appeared.

  26. Explorer? Nobody uses Explorer any more. What are they doing, regressing?

  27. Fredster I just read those comments and these guys are playing with themselves in the dark. Has any of them tried to actually US the abortion they are making of comments in real life? Why the hell is the website defaulted to gravatar instead of the user’s blog url? And no they have NOT corrected the problem of entering email addresses.

  28. I don’t know about other bloggers, but my comment counts have gone down. Nobody wants to stuggle with bullshit and give up their first child just to comment. Reminds me of that horrid blogspot.

  29. Although they closed that topic, surely someone (looking around) can start another???

  30. disciple, what are you talking about? There are no nude magazines in any supermarket type store. The mags you list on your site are: Cosmopolitan, Glamour and First for Women. Correct me if I am wrong but these three magazines, and any for that matter that are in family stores, have no nudity on the cover. FCS, if you mean cleavage, then please enter the real world. Cleavage is not nudity. Bikini bathing suits are not nudity either.

  31. I guess I should have looked first. That’s why the gods gave me Karen.

  32. Fredster I have always used their forum and posted there when needed. But this time I am so pissed off that I am not fit to post there. I don’t think I can be polite.

  33. Uppity just put herself in trash. LOLOL.

  34. I guess I should have looked first. That’s why the gods gave me Karen.

    No way I was going there. I already had an image of Thecla or whatever.

  35. Uppity, should we introduce the christian disciple to our Lebanese friends?

    Speaking of that, I just saw Mellisa Ethridge’s ex cannot make it on a mere $23,000 a month. She was used to her pre-split budget of $128,000 per month. What the hell is wrong with people?

    btw – if you can’t see the current line in the comment box just hit the enter key and the comments you’ve typed will move up and not be partially obscured.

    I sure hope they stop this dicking around with this format crap.

    Forgive me, Disciple of Christ, for mentioning a man’s pee-pee in public and using a vulgar term. I will go wash my hands now.

  36. On the cover of Glamour, she is not wearing any top whatsover. Not a bra, and not a bikini. On the cover, her chest is completely bare with only her knees hiding her nipples. This type of magazine is at Wal-Mart. Bare chest, bare waist, bare arms, bare legs, etc.

  37. http://www.glamour.com/magazine/toc/2012/04/index_20120403

    Go to that link and you will see why I wrote my article.

  38. Glamour magazine cover cited above has a lovely picture, IMHO. Wish I looked like that. Model is covered. No nips showing.

    2012, right? Tell me, Disciple, Did you support Santorum?

  39. Personally, my only problem with the cover is that five-year-old kids can stare at it while at the check-out aisle at Wal-Mart.

  40. HA HA HA. OMG!!!!

    Bare waist!!! Bare arms!!! Bare legs!!!

    The horrors!

    Pass the smelling salts. I am feeling faint in a Jane Austin victorian way.

  41. Yes, young boys and girls should never be taken to the beach or pool either. They might see – SKIN.

    Get thee to a nunnery, child. And go wash your perverted eyes out.

    Do you remember TWIGGY. Wasn’t laugh-in like 40 something years ago. Yes, they too showed, omg, skin. On Teee-veee. In prime time.

  42. okay, i am done.

    I’m going to go read Ani’s book now. But I must remove my dirty thoughts before I read Clean Skin. Ani’s picture is of her in a revealing Peek a boo blouse with bare feet and tight jeans. I might turn Lebanese if you keep showing me magazine covers like that.

    I am 54, it could happen. Er, maybe not.

  43. Karen, you okay there hon?

  44. I love the Judds. also about Hillary running as Upps said.
    THey are looking to round up those voters Donna told to stay home in 2008, :shock:

  45. Dear Ms Uppity, Please excuse my absence from class today. I am busy completing my reading assignment.
    The book is riveting! Chapter 6 here I come!

  46. Karen?? Really — a peak-a-boo blouse? Yer killin; me, Larry!

    Lemme tell you one thing…in Hollywood, per the words of the great Goldie Hawn (in First Wives’ Club, no less):

    “In this town, you’re either a babe, a district attorney, or driving miss daisy.”

    I’ve been the district attorney for a long time. Now they are trying to make me driving miss daisy! Peek-a-boo!? Tight jeans? Thanks for noticing.

    The ageism and objectification is nowhere worse than in this town!

  47. OMG that poor little girl in that video. She is going to grow up soooooooo Effed Up!

    Is that a show about demonic possession or something? Seriously, that woman looks crazy.

  48. Karen don’t leave me now. I need a co-heterosexual with me!

  49. You talking about God Warrior Upps?

  50. Yeah Fredster. Was that some kind of show? I never saw that. I don’t watch reality shit, but her reality is Bellevue.

  51. Yeah, that was Trading Spouses or something on Fox. Wait till you check out God Warrior’s friends treat the nice Cali lady who went to Warrior’s house. They pull that “Christian” shit they do so well in the South that you want to slap the sh!t out of their faces. Btw God Warrior, aka Marguerite Perrin, is from Louisiana.

  52. Ani printed instructions yesterday but as a reminder, the kindle version is not yet showing on the main book page. You go to the kindle store and search for the author/book and it will show in the results.

    FYI: For those who, like me are not using an actual Kindle.
    I prefer nook and the ibook/nook apps because the kindle app is not as nice and is very temperamental.(and has no page numbers) so I rarely buy a kindle edition. Amazon upgraded the Kindle apps and went to that silly cloud metaphor and I had to deregister the device (phone/netbook) and then register them again from within the app in order to get the book downloaded.

    The comment box is still not showing cursor and moving about and randomly covering part/all of the comment (Firefox). I will see how it is on Opera. I have had similar problems with other sites (e.g. a lot of media outlets like the washington post/wtop and of course Huffin Puff). I do not often comment but I cannot see the comments of others in Firefox.

  53. LOL, “Think positive thoughts”
    “Im not doin’ it. It’s not of God”. RRRRRRRROFLLLLLLLLLLLL

    Gotta love those Fundigelicals. They are so inspiring the way they “Lead by example”. Seriously, no wonder the younger generation doesn’t want a thing to do with religion. They look at these people and think, Oh Man, who wants to be rotten like they are?

    Actually the poor woman they were grilling seemed like the only nice person in the room!

  54. Ani, What happened to the line under your name. When Karen described your outfit, I clicked on your name to “review.” And, no line under your name. Ha!

  55. WLM — I have not forgotten — but when I put up my first post of the day and have to log in — for some reason it does not take the website link I enter…once I am already logged in and redo it, then it sticks.

  56. See, WLM — try this one above…:)

  57. Actually the poor woman they were grilling seemed like the only nice person in the room!

    Yeah, she was the *heathen* other spouse from CA.

  58. well I hate to say it but she acted more Christian than they did.

  59. Wow I see Karen and the Bible lady had a little discussion.

  60. SANFORD, Fla. — George Zimmerman, the neighborhood watch volunteer who fatally shot unarmed black teenager Trayvon Martin in Florida, will be charged in the 17-year-old’s death, a law enforcement official said Wednesday. Special prosecutor Angela Corey will announce charges against the 28-year-old Zimmerman at a 6 p.m. Wednesday news conference, the official with knowledge of the investigation told The Associated Press.
    Corey confirmed that an announcement on the case would be made in Jacksonville but didn’t elaborate. The person said Zimmerman’s arrest is also expected soon.

    The official didn’t know the charge and spoke on condition of anonymity because he wasn’t authorized to release the information.

  61. Ani- the book is incredible! I finally had to put it down to start dinner and rest my eyes. Already at chapter 13! I am sure this is going to be a multiple reading experience and that I will be talking about it for years to come! The documentation is sure to come in handy in my debate/discussions with the still deluded kool-aid drinkers! Thank you so much for putting it all together!

  62. Thanks, PMM!!!

  63. Thanks, Mt. Laurel, but the always efficient Amazon has already linked the kindle to the main book page, so that will make it less cumbersome for every to find.

  64. It’s National Puppy Day. Huffblow had a list of ten dogs you need more than a man. no kidding. Anyways I lost the link, but my Needlenoss was very upset she wasn’t on the list. I explained to her that it’s just Huffblow and they don’t know shit.

  65. I spent two and one half hours at the DMV just to renew my driver’s license. It was amazing. Truly amazing, I tell you. The most inefficient system I have EVAH seen. lines as far as you can see, standing there to get a number to stand in another line. All told I had to Get A Number four times just for this renewal. The interesting thing is, every one of those employees is a really pleasant person, even to people who are short with them. You wanted to spend time with these people, they were that nice. However, I don’t mind spending time with nice people, I just don’t think I should take nearly 3 hours for a license renewal. Over and out.

  66. Zimmerman. Second degree murder.

  67. Here we go, Huffblows national puppy day piece. “We selected 11 breeds”. Like their selections are It.

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/03/22/puppies-better-than-a-man_n_1374026.html?ncid=edlinkusaolp00000003#s816650&title=MacGregor

  68. Got it Ani! Uppity, I hope you were reading Ani’s book in the DMV lines.

  69. Anyways, I had to do the steroid thing for several weeks and I swear to you, my head got twice its size or something. I could open the fridge door, tip it forward and eat everything that fell out.

    OMG Upps. I nearly fell off my chair laughing!

    I had a similar experience w/steroids 20-something years ago when the chickenpox that I got from my kids (just like insanity) killed my body’s ability to make platelets. The count was so low, the lab could count them by hand! I was in hospital and on steroids for 2 weeks (they were afraid I’d bleed out if I stubbed my toe) so I could have surgery and then another month to titrate off. I resembled the pillsbury doughboy. Only I wasn’t as happy. In fact, I was miserable and was truly depressed. Unfortunately this was before Prozac, so I was on my own. I think my husband and kids suffered more than I did. It was miserable for all of us.

    When I sas the photo of Ashley Judd, I thought . . . “Steroids” I just can’t imagine what life is like for people who, like Ms Judd, are in the public eye. The public eye is batsh*t crazy.

    Good for her for saying what she did!!!

  70. FWIW:
    “sas” = saw

  71. Also, I can’t put Ani’s book down! I was at a conference today and every break and at lunch, I just sat there reading and highlighting until the speaker returned.
    My daughters are gonna love the book – my DIL not so much. Her mother will hate it. She still suffers from CDS. but they are all gonna get the book for either Mothers Day or birthdays. I think my son will appreciate it.

    I feel like I have been innoculated with a phonograph needle. I can’t stop “talking” here

    BTW: I have a new computer and I haven’t downloaded Firefox yet. So I did have trouble w/wordpress. But not as much now. And I do see the cursor.

    *knocking on wood here*
    I’m going to the fitness center to walk off the choc chip cookies I just ate.

  72. Ran across a piece earlier I think at Crawdad’s- lying sack of this is NOT what a feminist looks like pays his female staffers on average 18% less than the boyz. Gee- I thought we covered that during the election? Mr I signed the Lilly Ledbetter fair pay act. What a lying sack of crap.

  73. http://freebeacon.com/hostile-workplace/

    Duh I forgot the link he makes me so angry.
    ABC? NBC? CBS? CNN? FOX? Anybody in the media? HELLLLOOOOO??
    Nope. didn’t think so.

  74. The worst part is it isn’t even his money. Paying women the same as men wouldn’t cost him anything.

  75. Uppity used to have a graphic in the sidebar- “Women, same as men only cheaper” or something to that effect.
    The whole thing makes me want to shriek! The media just fluffed over this EXACT same issue in 08. Nothing was, to my knowledge, ever done about it. That dirty Chicago con man leads some kind of charmed life- I swear he could commit murder on live TV and get away with it.

  76. Leslie :)

    PMM :)

    You made my day…

  77. Media Having Trouble Finding Right Angle On Obama’s Double-Homicide

    More than a week after President Barack Obama’s cold-blooded killing of a local couple, members of the American news media admitted Tuesday that they were still trying to find the best angle for covering the gruesome crime.

    “I know there’s a story in there somewhere,” said Newsweek editor Jon Meacham, referring to Obama’s home invasion and execution-style slaying of Jeff and Sue Finowicz on Apr. 8. “Right now though, it’s probably best to just sit back and wait for more information to come in. After all, the only thing we know for sure is that our president senselessly murdered two unsuspecting Americans without emotion or hesitation.”

    Added Meacham, “It’s not so cut and dried.”

    Since the killings took place, reporters across the country have struggled to come up with an appropriate take on the ruthless crime, with some wondering whether it warrants front-page coverage, and others questioning its relevance in a fast-changing media landscape.

    “What exactly is the news hook here?” asked Rick Kaplan, executive producer of the CBS Evening News. “Is this an upbeat human-interest story about a ‘day in the life’ of a bloodthirsty president who likes to kill people? Or is it more of an examination of how Obama’s unusual upbringing in Hawaii helped to shape the way he would one day viciously butcher two helpless citizens in their own home?”

    “Or maybe the story is just that murder is cool now,” Kaplan continued. “I don’t know. There are a million different angles on this one.”

  78. I got my books today I am very grateful for the gift thank you. Uppity thank you for all you do. Thank you (“Ani”) for writing the book. It is the best you are a part of history now “18 million”.

  79. Needlenoss was very upset she wasn’t on the list. I explained to her that it’s just Huffblow and they don’t know shit.

    Really, Needlenose should know that the site blows a lot of hooie.

  80. A while back I hadn’t been feeling well, like a cold maybe, not eating a lot. Was losing my hearing. So I go to the MD, and found out I had an ear infection which then turned into another infection (nasal?). So he started me on a medicine to clear me up. I could tell it was working, because I got my appetite back, and I had energy.

    I was really excited, because I had been feeling so sluggish, and let me tell oiu, it’s really hard to work when you can’t hear what people are saying. So, yeah, when my appetite came back, I was like, “yay, I’m getting better!” Then I started gaining a few pounds. Then I found out that it wasn’t a sign I was better yet – those “signs of recovery” were actually just the side-effects of the medicine – yup, steroids. lol

  81. Lorac, steroids are a necessary evil but yeah, in the end they are evil. I have had the same reaction when taking them. Hope you feel better very soon.

  82. Oh, thanks Ani, but your get well wishes are about six months too late :) lol

  83. Lorac, please insert the 1)embarrassed emoticon, and 2) crying emoticon here…
    :)

  84. Ok, where is the west coast brigade?

  85. Too bad the media and others focus so much on apperances instead of substance.

    Our world’s priorities are quite misplaced.

  86. Nevergiveup — thank YOU and all my best to you! Enjoy the book!

  87. *crickets*
    so sad…

  88. Hilary Rosen stepped in it big time. When even Axelrod and Messina are dissing you…

  89. Zimmerman. Second degree murder.

    Outrageous overcharging.

  90. Ani, I’m going to send your book to Hillary through two different routes. Stay tuned.

  91. NES …Wow, that is amazing and please forgive me for asking this, but do you think it is safe to do now?

    I know this probably sounds nuts, but I get a little nervous about anyone powerful seeing it to early — even its subject (who is treated glowingly). I wouldn’t want to get a whispered phone call saying ‘gee it would be better for Dems if this did not come out right now’ — please tell me I am being ridiculously paranoid! :)

  92. Ani, here I am at 3 AM reading your book, because I can’t seem to be left alone long enough at any other time. Let me put it this way: I suspect the “routes” NES will be taking will be some very Hillary friendly routes and, you know what? I think she will appreciate it and I’m not so sure she cares what’s good for The Party right now, considering they all should be hanging their heads in shame for the bullshit they pulled in 2008, which resulted in a horrible president who has kept NONE of his promises to ANYBODY, much less us bitches. I think your book is a huge compliment to Hillary and I also think she works very hard and deserves the compliment. The far left kossacks won’t dare trash your book because it would ruin the fake concern for women they seem to be showing on behalf of Barack Obama’s polls.

  93. Uppity — that is a great point! I never thought of it that way — ok — go for it, NES. And please all of you, and specifically, two of you (and you know who you are), forgive me my paranoia…

    After what we all went through in 2008, well, it’s amazing I feel comfy just putting it out under my own name! And now I’m all over the place, name, face peek-a-boo blouse (H/T karen for Clinton), and all.

  94. And yes, of course it is a huge and very much deserved compliment to Hillary — and you know who else I would love to read it? Chelsea. Since she indirectly inspired the entire book — which you basically find out on page 2!!!

  95. Let me add that I’m willing to bet money that routing that book to Hillary will result in plenty more sales too. And if NES is going to do it through the person I think she will ask, that book will be sure to land in Hillary’s hands not on some aide’s desk.

  96. Wouldn’t it just be a riot if ten people mailed Hillary that book too?

  97. Yes. It would be worth it if she could read it — and also understand how so many of us feel about her. And this whole process.

    I already posted this comment but it went bye bye.

  98. Hey, I wanted to send it to Hillary! Pffftttt!

    NES just wants the first chance to angle for a private dinner with Hillary! I had dibbs on that, too!!! lol

  99. I knew that was coming. hahahah.

    Bill is sending you a pengy.

  100. lorac, don’t be so J. I’ll send you a pic of Hill and me at dinner.

  101. Let’s start a campaign to mail Ani’s book to the White House.

  102. She’ll have a stroke! As IF one of those emotional adolescents on staff doesn’t have one already.

  103. NES …Wow, that is amazing and please forgive me for asking this, but do you think it is safe to do now?

    Ani, you’re not being paranoid. But, don’t worry, I’ll send it through only one route now that I know your concern: it’s her best buddy. Hill stays with her when in town.

  104. Love to see a thousand mailed there and arriving on the same day.

Comments are closed.

