Yet another appointee who owes unpaid taxes–and a pattern emerges

A fourth Obama appointee has to pay nearly $10k in back  in taxes due to “unclaimed income” that otherwise wouldn’t have been discovered had he not been a political appointee. 

tax-cheat-stampThis is the fourth appointee to be caught. And one of them is now in charge of the IRS and the Treasury!

I’m not sure where the movement started, but people are being encouraged to buy a red “Tax Cheat” stamp and stamp it over Timothy Geithner’s signature whenever you see it on new paper currency. People are angry folks! So don’t be a bit surprised if you see a bill  that has met a red stamp.

And here’s the latest tax cheating appointee:

President Barack Obama’s nominee for the post of U.S. Trade Representative has agreed to pay nearly $10,000 in back taxes to clear up tax-related issues that emerged during his vetting by the Senate Finance Committee, Senate aides said Monday.

Former Dallas Mayor Ron Kirk became the fourth Obama nominee to run afoul of tax laws. But Finance Committee aides from both parties said Mr. Kirk’s infractions are minor and don’t compare with the issues that ensnared Treasury Secretary Timothy Geithner, prompted the president’s pick for chief performance officer, Nancy Killefer, to withdraw her name, and torpedoed Tom Daschle’s nomination as secretary of health and human services.

This brings us to  the real question. Exactly how many of the privileged class in both parties have a habit of not claiming income on their taxes or ignoring IRS warnings? If four of Obama’s appointees got caught at this, how many of these self-absorbed big shots never get caught? The very fact that DC thieves consider these problems as “Minor” tells me that this is a class of thugs who don’t think they need to play by the same tax rules as the ones they set for the rest of us.

Wouldn’t it be interesting if the IRS were to audit every single person in congress along with every person in a high level government position, regardless of party? Think of how much reveue would be generated! Better yet, think of how many slime balls would be caught in the headlights. Let’s not imagine that this problem is confined to Democrats. Only a fool would imagine that. If four high level people have been caught, this is a widespread problem.

The letter below is being circulated via email and I pretty much think it says it all, real or not.

Actual ‘Letter to the Editor’ from the February 5th edition of the
Wichita Falls , Texas Times Record News…

Dear IRS,

I am sorry to inform you that I will not be able to pay taxes owed April 15, but all is not lost.

I have paid these taxes: accounts receivable tax, building permit tax, CDL tax, cigarette tax, corporate income tax, dog license tax, federal income tax, unemployment tax, gasoline tax, hunting license tax, fishing license tax, waterfowl stamp tax, inheritance tax, inventory tax, liquor tax, luxury tax, Medicare tax, city, school and county property tax (up 33 percent last 4 years), real estate tax, social security tax, road usage tax, toll road tax, state and city sales tax, recreational vehicle tax, state franchise tax, state unemployment tax, telephone federal excise tax, telephone federal state and local surcharge tax, telephone minimum usage surcharge tax, telephone state and local tax, utility tax, vehicle license registration tax, capitol gains tax, lease severance tax, oil and gas assessment tax, Colorado property tax, Texas, Colorado, Wyoming, Oklahoma and New Mexico sales tax, and many more that I can’t recall but I have run out of space and money.

When you do not receive my check April 15, just know that it is an honest mistake. Please treat me the same way you treated Congressmen Charles Rangle, Chris Dodd, Barney Frank and ex-Congressman Tom Dashelle and, of course, your boss Timothy Geithner. No penalties and no interest.

Sincerely,

Ed Barnett
Wichita Falls

P.S. I will make at least a partial payment as soon as I get my stimulus check.

21 Responses

  1. “………….people are being encouraged to buy a red “Tax Cheat” stamp and stamp it over Timothy Geithner’s signature whenever you see it on new paper currency.”

    I love simple protests that will have an impact – because currency gets around. It will be fun to see how sensitive Geithner or Obama is about it. Will they pull the marked currency? How much will it cost – in time, and resources? Would they get any bad press out of it? Vive la resistance!

  2. Can pitchforks and torches be far behind?

  3. Yeah…Let’s audit all of them.
    Kirk got Dallas into our nearly decade long city Flood Plain Highway to nowhere mess….Sheeesh!

  4. Real leaders lead by example. The IRS should be required to audit congress critters and admin persons at least every 2 years. This would go a long way towards restoring faith in our public servants( I use the term loosely ).

  5. wca like I have always said, let obama nominate every democratic pol to his cabinet and we could pay off the national debt with the IRS penalties.

    Dems=tax evaders Repubs=Public Homophobic/Privately Gay perverts

  6. deadenders, LOL!

  7. It’s just beyond me that the IRS can work out a very nice and friendly arrangement for me to pay taxes I could NOT AFFORD to pay a couple years back, and yet these Presidentially Appointed Tax Cheats get to negotiate whether they pay – or not, with no penalties. My interest and penalties have cost me a few hundred bucks, but honestly, those were the “rules”…at least for me.

    I can only imagine how much money would be recovered by an audit of Pelosi, Frank, Dick Cheney, Dodd and Kennedy alone.

    Not to mention “the One” Himself. Of course, His tax records are probably misplaced with his Columbia paperwork and thesis.

  8. I’m off to earn so that Nancy, Geithner, Daschel and Kirk won’t have to pay next year. Will be picking up my Red Ink Pad and stamp later today.

    Y’all have fun.

  9. I remember when my mother died and there was an IRA that didn’t even cover the cost of the funeral. I didn’t claim it, since that’s what I did with it. I got a greeting from the IRS and had to pay taxes on it.

  10. “nice and friendly”

    LOL, FF. Yeah, I had a lovely conversation with an IRS rep a few years back when we owed extra taxes at the end of the year. She looked up our business taxes while I was on the phone with her and told me they had no record of us paying taxes for our business ever and that she was calling today to have everything taken away from us. At the time, I was not doing the bookkeeping, so I seriously almost vomited. After much yelling back and forth, she realized that she had punched our tax id number in incorrectly. Instead of telling me she couldn’t find any record of our company, she had jumped on the idea that we had been keeping “all of our money” and attacked.

    When I started doing the books, I was getting notices that we owed from the year before, but I had on record that we had paid. They had made an adjustment by taking a large check I had sent and applying it to a future quarter, and then sent a bill for the quarter I sent it for, complete with penalties and interest. And then could not tell me that someone there had authorized it. “We have no record of who made that transaction.”

    One would think that a person that had had their “difficulties” would understand the problems with the IRS…….

    I would like to demand to see all financial records and connections of all of our elected and appointed officials and all of the businesses they have shares in. If they can show me how they are managing their taxes, i will be willing to pay mine happily. But we know they aren’t. We KNOW it and have to sit back and watch it happen.

  11. LOL FF!!

    You know it seems that Fauxbama doesn’t check these people out thoroughly at all! Being a tax cheat seems to be a job requirement, huh?

    (btw – everyone seen Michele O plastered across 2 or 3 women’s magazines this month? I wanna puke!! I have to avert my eyes when I go for groceries – when I can AFFORD them. On one they have her in some pink lace thing to try to reinforce that she’s female, I guess. Since when is that ugly thing a ‘fashion icon’?)

  12. Good morning. Boy do I feel stooooopid. When I held office (in a small town) I was paranoid about my personal conduct – made sure garbage cans were put away promptly, that I was sweet to the cashier, that I came to a complete stop…seriously. I can not IMAGINE holding a public office and simultaneously screwing the tax collector. Boggles the mind. Wow. I promise you there are some very decent people holding office – they just tend to be on the local level where they are actually living next door to the people that elected them. Has shame become extinct?

  13. Barbra it’s MO and BO overload.

  14. Obviously, it pays to have friends in high places who will lubricate the wheels of dishonesty in the name of appointing the “best” for a position in the Tax Xheating admin.

    What’s good for the goose, is good for the gander. Americans should expect the SAME friendly no penalty treatment from the IRS. Why, they should demand it.

    Another example of flagrantly imbalanced governmental behavior.
    http://www.detnews.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20090301/OPINION03/903010308/1008/OPINION01

  15. That link came from the Gateway Pundit’s post

  16. Actually I got it from WSJ. SOmehow, I screwed up the link. I fixed it though. I wouldn’t have known if you didn’t point it out.

  17. Holy cow, Crier. That’s pathetic.

  18. I like the Audits All Around idea! What hacks these people are.

  19. To paraphrase the late real estate qaueen Lenora Helmsley, taxes are for the little people. I do not think this contempt for the masses is isolated to one party, and that is why we need to clean out DC and vote them all out. They are all beholden to the corporate feeding trough. They seem to forget they are our employees, not AIG’s. And speaking of AIG, is the same fool that ran the company into the ground, still heading now that it is gotten its new infusion of our money?

  20. Barbara,
    “Since when is that ugly thing a ‘fashion icon’?”

    If her name were not obama, she’d be described as the head oaf.

  21. I may be old & fat — but MO really does look like a pre-op tranny to me.

    It’s her attitude that makes her ugly.

    That and her Man Hands… LOL

Comments are closed.