Live Blogging at my Walmart on Black Friday

© Copyright, Uppity Woman 2009. All Rights Reserved.

 

Here at a local Walmart a 32″ Tee Vee is on sale today for $268. I told everyone I don’t like and every over-extended loser I know who constantly buys things he or she can’t afford about the TV. I kind of figure if I am going to have to pay for their defaults, I might as well have some fun watching the stampede, right? They really should use Sam’s family and the board of directors of Walmart as workers on Black Friday, so that innocent hard-working underpaid Walmart employees don’t have to deal with the stampedes of  already over-extended suckers  they deliberately create while laughing from their penthouses.

****So Live, from Uppity’s place, blogging at Walmart’s.

7:45 AM–They don’t open till 9, but the parking lot is crowded as expected. Word has it that Capital One is thrilled about this sale. The TV, at $268 and $29% interest is going to make for a very good quarter for ole Cap One.

A couple of arguments have broken out about who arrived first and should be let inside first, but so far, no blood shed, although I have heard vocabulary words I haven’t used myself in years. Okay, I’ve used them but NOT A LOT!

There are certainly some interesting vehicles parked here.  I haven’t seen some of them in years. I see several cars still have their drivers and riders inside, all eating McDonald’s sausage McMuffin with Egg and other healthy fare. Others have left their cars to eat their healthy breakfasts, making it easier to just throw the empty wrappers and bags onto the ground, much to the glee of the seagulls that seem to have appeared out of nowhere. One guy is eating a Burger King Croissant sandwich, but the others won’t talk to him.

It’s very touching to see so many people willing to help the bank account of the one company that single-handedly brings down the standard of living in every community they raid–and  then rewards everyone with toothpaste that costs twenty cents less.

8 AM: More people arriving but no place to park, forcing them to walk  more than 50 yards for the first time in several years. All the handicapped parking spots have been taken by seniors who appear to be in remarkably good shape, forcing real handicapped people to figure out another way to get closer to the doors. I don’t know about you, but where I am, as soon as you turn 65, you get yourself a “handicapped” parking tag from your doctor, even if you play golf daily.

8:30 AM: Walmart employees are arriving,  perusing the parking lot in horror before they swiftly take a curve to the back of the building to enter. Some lights are being switched on inside, which has resulted in a low roar from the crowd. The glass doors are  already riddled with fingerprints of customers peeking in to plan their routes. Some keep tugging hard at the doors to see if they are unlocked even though they just saw somebody else do it. I do hope some of these folks have brought their Purell with them.

It’s truly amazing to see so many people with their kids gathering at the entrance, knowing how Walmart got caught hiring 15 year-olds and assigning them to wield chain saws to cut Christmas trees –a situation which resulted in a fine equivalent to a week’s stay in a good hotel penthouse for one of Sam’s kids— and a miraculous agreement with the Department of Labor that they will give Walmart 15 days notice before showing up to inspect them again. Truly truly heartwarming, isn’t it?

8:45 AM, the crowd is becoming rowdy. I hear rumbles of  why on earth they cannot open the doors now, after all everybody is there!  People are gathering around the doors in groups and there is some, jockeying, pushing and shoving going on. One guy just popped another guy in the face, although I am not sure why. I guess I should get closer but you can understand why I don’t think that’s such a good idea. After all, the doors will open soon! Some people are acquiring a glazed look in their eyes. This would be a great time to post Walmart’s Board of Directors and the Walton family inside the doors. Last year, a guard got killed thanks to their shenanigans designed to shake more money out of people who were buying things they probably couldn’t afford. Worked out well for Bank of America though!

I’m sitting in my car now. I don’t want to get hit with any flying objects in 15 minutes. I think I’ll pass the time counting the McDonald’s wrappers floating by me in the breeze. I am also counting the seagulls. 48 right now. And 9 nervous pigeons. They seem particularly excited about the bits of sausage stuck to the paper.

9AM, two really nervous looking employees, apparently managers, walk out of the inner doors to unlock the Gold. The crowd roars. One of the Unlockers pushes his hands toward the crowd to tell them to back away from the doors. Amazingly, they cooperate. The doors open and the two employees scurry quickly to the side so they don’t get hit by the doors. Apparently, they have been trained to avoid being hit by a door. That’s really big of Walmart, don’t you think?

The crowd pushes through, as if they are actually exiting a burning building. Doesn’t appear that anyone is injured though, just shoved around a lot.  As I now move closer, I notice the doors look REALLY dirty. Time for some Purell.

Once the mass entrance dies down, I’m going in, just me and my Purell. Wish I had brought my dog but then I don’t suppose they would let her in. Besides, that wouldn’t be a nice thing to do to the gulls.

I notice some stragglers are driving in and I noticed a “Holllllly Shit” look on a few drivers’ faces as they notice the lot jammed with cars. Some of them slowly drive off, apparently figuring a TV isn’t worth the walk.

I am going in………..

If you don’t hear from me in a timely way, know that I have enjoyed blogging for you. Feel free to donate to my funeral arrangements.

9:20 That was uneventful. I am greeted by the typical walmart greeter, only this one looks as though she has already put in a full day. I’ll bet Walmart doesn’t offer her health insurance options. This is also very heartwarming……the way Walmart takes the time to coach their lower level employees on how to apply for Medicaid, thus managing to get taxpayers to bear the burden for Walmart in exchange for 15 cents off the price of a bag of chips. I am truly touched, aren’t you?

I am a respectable distance from the electronics department, but close enough to see what’s going on. It’s very easy to discern the spot where the 32″ TV is. Some lady just body checked me because I was in her path. She has a kid in the cart and appears to have unloaded the entire shelf stock of Little Debbie cakes into her basket. The kid has a lot of snot coming out of his nose but she doesn’t seem to notice. She’s heading for the TV area.

9:30: Im moving in a little closer. Somebody really needs a shower. It may be more than one person. In fact, the ambience tells me that it’s probably a lot of people. Several people are having intestinal gas attacks too. It’s probably all those sausage McMuffins with cheese working their way into their systems. You couldn’t get me to move in any closer even if the 32″ flatscreen were fifty bucks. Lot’s of TeeVees being sold. I hear a nearby conveyor belt thing moving through some flaps, and  I notice plenty of people standing by. Kind of clever of Walmart to show everybody else  how fast those TV’s are being sold to somebody else.

The place is starting to look like the night shift cleaning squad is going to have its work cut out for it. Maybe this time, Walmart will be nice enough not to lock those undocumented workers in the building like they did that one time when the building caught fire and the employees were locked in with no possible exits. Walmart is such a swell company, isn’t it? That’s why everybody shops there!

9:56 The crowd is rowdy now. It seems that the 32″ flat screen is officially already out of stock. So fast! I’m shocked. Shocked I tell you!

The crowd is yelling RAIN CHECK! Some very pale guy in a white shirt, polyester pants and an official Walmart tag on his chest, who was probably once an Engineer, is shouting to the crowd that there will be no out Rain Checks, but they do have another even bigger flat screen TV on sale for $432, much to the chuckles of Capital One. There is a good deal of swearing going on and the crowd starts to thin, although a number of them stay behind to take a look at the  OTHER TV on sale. Nice job, Wally World.

Many walk away disgusted but they don’t leave the store. They begin to shop, having their hearts broken, they must find something to replace that TV they can’t get. Dammit, they came here prepared to spend $268 and by golly, they are going to do it!

I’m getting out of here, heading for the door. I notice the checkout counters. The conveyers contain plenty of flatscreen TVs. Some of the people in line have a rather smug look on their faces, because they heard the rumor that their TV is now out of stock so soon. I guess they showed everybody!

One common theme at each of the cashier stations is plenty of charge cards are being swiped. It’s been another great hour for Walmart, Capital One, Chase, Bank Of America and every other credit card company that has cranked up the rates of those who cannot defend themselves to 29%. I also wonder how much swine flu will be spread today.

Next: Christmas Eve!

UPPITY NOTE: No gang. I am not really at Walmart’s. I wouldn’t be caught dead in a Walmarts. They have single-handedly started the movement that has dropped the standard of living in the USA, and while they continue to do so, their victims shop there because they can’t help themselves. They need to buy things a bit more inexpensively since their standard of living has been reduced — and Walmart is happy to oblige, since Walmart is one of the main REASONS people need to shop a little more inexpensively.

And let’s face it. This very scene I am depicting is being played out all over America right now.

Walmart, if there is a place in hell for an entire corporation, then you should be the very first to grace the spot.

And don’t forget to save room for Best Buy!

(ht helenk)

78 Responses

  1. Where on earth are you? Walmarts in our area opened at 5AM and that TeeVee is $248. I didn’t go…but all the stores opened at 5AM for specials. The stores were open all night.

  2. Damn. Got that one wrong. lol.

  3. Hey around here NOBODY gets up at 5AM if they aren’t working. And I ESPECIALLY don’t. heh.

  4. Checking in. I’m thinking, Love your observations, UW. Your words doing the same as Norman Rockwell did with his paintings. Only quality of life depicted has declined. Of course, your study is of a certain subset. Hope you’re comfortable.

  5. Somehow I think your chronicling, for posterity, the fall of an empire.

    The Chinese “assault” need not come as a troop invasion… they can just give us our electronic “crack” and watch our productivity plummet and our nation disintegrate from within. Effectively, by absorbing our debt, the Chinese are succeeding in transforming us into a nation of junkie welfare recipients… we just don’t know it yet.

    I guess I should start learning Chinese now…. 附屬的

  6. Early morning TV news seemed to have had this talking point given to them: Stores have lowered their stock dramatically and if you don’t shop early, what you want will be sold out.

  7. Hey I think I’ll pick up one of those dogs with the bobbing heads they make in china. I think it will look really cool on the dash don’t you? Also want to get me some of those little cocktail umbrellas.

  8. Pamela, it is simply pathetic what these companies are doing to people, turning them into humiliated shopaholics.

  9. Boy the super Wal-Mart down the road from me is open 24/7. Their black Friday deals start at midnight, 2am, 4am, etc.,…..and the crowds line up hours beforehand. In fact this Wal-Mart is only closed from 12am Christmas morning until 4pm Christmas afternoon. Otherwise it is open for business every other day of the year.

    I’ll give you a true insiders report. We stopped by our local Wal-Mart last night about 10:30 after going to the movies to see “Old Dogs”. Hey I needed a few things and it was the only place open. Besides where I live the super Wal-Mart is like the mall….since we don’t have a mall. The motto is….”If Wal-Mart doesn’t have it you don’t need it,”. Everybody here ends up shopping at Wal-Mart whether they want to or not, that’s just part of small town life, although I avoid it as much as possible. My husband calls it the gulag.

    So back to my insiders report. It does appear that Wal-Mart did some kind of training in crowd control. I’m thinking more than likely it was their attorneys and fear of losing some of their millions that trained them. The main aisle on one side was surprisingly clear of items, not the norm for Wal-Mart at all. It was obvious that they were going to force everyone to come through that one side. Then as you walked through the store they had “waiting areas” roped off, complete with one of those little machines that gives you numbers. They were also rolling out the specials on pallets wrapped in black plastic to obscure the view. Those items were being placed in special locations around the store and roped off. My husband and I toured the store just for the fun of it to see what they were doing. One staging area was in the infants department. I could see cans of formula and diapers flying, LOL!. One area was in the shoe department, oh so many weapons there although it was in the mens shoes but they have steel toed boots.

    All the roped off areas and caution flags were interesting. There has never been anything at any store that I wanted so badly I felt the need to stand in line or fight crowds.

    So there you go, now you can update from inside and monitor the fights, LOL!

  10. I think WalMart’s current TV ad says Spend Less Live Better, but I dunno. I caved in to WalMart’s prices several years ago when I realized no matter how frugally I lived, I was soon going to be broke. And it’s kind of like eating meat. I try not to think about the unpleasant parts. However I do wonder what that smell is – and I’m serious. It’s on/in lots of things: the filter for the ShopVac, a pair of summer shorts, the Memorex CD player, and now the el cheapo rugs I’ve unrolled prior to trimming and placing on linoleum for the winter season. I’d say it is the odor of a petroleum product. I’d say it’s not particularly healthy to inhale.
    But definitely better than the BO (eg body odor) you’ve described.

  11. Walmart should be indicted for their contribution to the default debt of Americans after taking jobs away from them and then hiring them on the cheap.

  12. I never go to those kinds of stores, either —
    what you wrote was so grotesque I bet it does look like that…

    hugs Upp.

    I bet you had a fab TD.

    Those big box places have ruined things.

  13. Dear Uppity Readers, I do hope you didn’t mind my bit of satire. I wanted to make a point and I hope I did.

    No, Uppity was not at Walmart but she is tickled that she did a good enough job so that you thought she really was there!

    Will you forgive moi?

  14. I caved in to WalMart’s prices several years ago when I realized no matter how frugally I lived, I was soon going to be broke.

    Dear Pamela, this is just what they planned on. And the Others learned from them.

  15. Yes Valentine, I had a great Thanksgiving, thank you! But I don’t think I will eat again till Tuesday!

  16. Classic Uppity. But scary too….

  17. Um Anthony I love you but that video you just posted is a violation of Word Press, my ISP and just about everything else I can think of. I have to remove it. I do not care to be forced to turn this blog into an Adult blog where people have to login and declare their age. Also, socal’s son reads this blog. Sorry.

  18. Sorry about that. Where can I find WP violations? Maybe I should look into that?

  19. Goto their help section hon. If you want to post that stuff, you need to change settings to adult instead of general. Don’t take that chance. It will kill your traffic. One report and you will find your blog not available.

  20. Thanks. Now that you saw it, do you want one? I have a few left over…

  21. LOL I’ll pass. It’s a bit too rich for me. Laughing here.

  22. I thought it was great satire. The sea gulls and pigeons in the parking lot, the McDonald wrappers, you nailed it!

    Gosh I was trying to help you continue. I thought you could go inside and lurk near some roped off areas and witness some good brawls.

    BTW how did your ravioli turn out? Pumpkin ravioli, did you put pumpkin in the pasta dough or was the filling pumpkin??? How was dinner with the bots? Any political discussions? We had absolutely no political discussions at our table. Oh and you’ll love this…….the girlfriend gave me a short Christmas list! I should have gone with Mary’s suggestions and purchased some red flag napkins……hey maybe I can pick some up at my local Wal-Mart, LOL!!!

  23. Came out very well. Can be made with pumpkin or butternut squash, tastes pretty much the same. I cheated some, as I bought the ravioli dough all cut up in rounds from this little old lady who has a pasta shoppe. I covered them with a mixture of very finely chopped shitaki mushrooms, fresh chopped sage and butter, all sauteed. We each got two because we knew if we took more we would never get to the turkey dinner. Except for the vegetarian bot at the table who got to eat more of them. We have a tray of them frozen for a later meal. They were REALLY good.

  24. I was going to go shopping this morning but decided to wait until later. I don’t need a flat screen tv…my old box tv is just fine, works well…and I’m not going to put myself in debt to have something I don’t need.

    What I DO need, however, is a new computer, because this piece of crap Dell laptop that is as old as Moses in computer years, is on its last megabyte. It took me forever to write my post today and if I’m going to take forever to do something in the morning, it better involve sex.

  25. FWIW I used Emerill’s recipe although I have several others. I liked the shataki idea.

  26. Gosh…I’m full of the Christmas spirit now.

  27. LOL Nunly! But as you know, at your age anything that involves sex does indeed take longer. Why can’t that happen to men sooner? Nevermind. lol.

    Dell has gone major downhill. Do not get another one. You’ve already heard my horror story and there are worse. I really like this Vaio though. At least so far.

  28. Oh and, somebody, the bots were fairly well behaved. Probably because they were surrounded by responsible adults who Know they moved back home again.

  29. The child, bless her heart, has no idea what Black Friday is. Dad told her it’s the day we close the drapes, turn off the lights, and hide in our darkened homes. So far so good.

  30. Uppity- I keep telling my husband I need a new laptop. And I made it very clear, I.do.not.want.a.Dell! I’m not sure if it’s in the budget this year, though…my son’s tuition is sucking the life out of us. I may have to milk this piece of crap computer for two and a half more years.

    ….Or, I can take over the PC that he uses which is newer and very fast. Once I start encroaching on his territory he may suddenly find the money in the bank. 😉

  31. Nunly wait till the week after Christmas and they will be throwing them at you.

    Bought my last car that way too. It’s amazing how you can trash a price when there if three feet of snow on the ground, everyone is broke from Christmas, and the showroom is so empty you can shoot a canon and not hurt anyone.

  32. Dad told her it’s the day we close the drapes, turn off the lights, and hide in our darkened homes. So far so good.

    ROFLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL

  33. Uppity Woman
    your post was great. You descriptions of the crowds and the parking lot and the waiting was so real life.
    by the way how do you get a link to post with the video showing and not just the link?

    Somebody
    Get the recipe for the turkey testicles and serve them to her. This child has the manners of a goat. Think about it would you want her raising your grandchildren? Desperate times call for desperate measures. Tell her it is an old family recipe that you do not give to everybody.

    WOMEN WITH INTELLIGENCE AND EXPERIENCE,MEN WHO SUPPORT THEM AND COUNTRY BEFORE PARTY ALWAYS

    PUMAS,BUBBAS,EQUALISTS AND THOSE PEOPLE RULE

  34. Helen, if you mean videos in the comment section, you just post the youtube url, not the embed code and if you don’t type anything after the url and keep your comment above the url short, it will post as a video for sure.

    And yes, you are right. The kid has the manners of a goat. Somebody you had best correct this situation NOW.

    I am serious as a heart attack here.

  35. While people are at WalMart shopping this shows there are two America’s. My God what excess! This needs to go viral. Oh and by the way that glass in that “tent” is bullet proof and electrified.

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2009/11/26/AR2009112601514_2.html?hpid=topnews&sid=ST2009112601518

    Uppity you do such a good job–this would be a great story to write so it goes viral.

  36. I will try this to see if it works

  37. Thank You Uppity woman.

    I really can not think of anything that I want or need that is worth fighting crowds like that.
    It is bad enough that I have to drive the freeway to work later today and all the viagra takers will be out in full force.

    WOMEN WITH INTELLIGENCE AND EXPERIENCE, MEN WHO SUPPORT THEM AND COUNTRY BEFORE PARTY ALWAYS

    PUMAS,BUBBAS,EQUALISTS AND THOSE PEOPLE RULE

  38. I forgot to add this: First Lady Mrs. O has debuted her ensemble for the state dinner, wearing a gown by Indian-American designer Naeem Khan. The strapless gown features hand cut sterling silver sequins sewn on nude silk chiffon, creating an abstract floral pattern. The dress is entirely handmade, requiring three weeks of work by 40 people, completed in Naeem Kahn’s family workshop in India. The custom, one-of-a-kind gown was made specially by the designer for Mrs. O to wear to the state dinner, which honors Indian Prime Minister, Manmohan Singh, and his wife, Gursharan Kaur.

    I wonder if they used slave labor?

  39. well i,m happy now had my Uppity fix for the day.you really did it up brown Upp..whoo hooo

  40. Jaysus, will you look at Best Buy??? I gotta post this.

  41. Can’t get their asses to work on time but will get up in the middle of the night for a cheap TV.

  42. I wasn’t going to get up at 5 to blog this.

  43. What’s up with that Walmart – mine this morning at 5am was packed – you could not see the floor, and the air was very thin.

  44. You know what I find the most infuriating about Wal-Mart? They made their name by touting “American-made” products. Remember that? Then, after they’d driven every competitor out, they threw American manufacturers under the bus and headed for China to buy cheaper stuff which they sold for the same price.

    For that I will never forgive them. My business goes to Target. As my late, lamented brother used to say, “They have a better grade of junk.”

  45. Well I must admit I’m fairly depressed at the thought of my grandchildren being raised by this girl. I’m even more depressed that things seem serious and I’m just meeting her…..they are living together and she made sure to mention that as much as possible.

    Although to be fair I don’t think she would be doing the raising of the grandchildren…..seems she’s not domestic……but she raves about my son’s domestic abilities. Oh and she dropped out of college which was dad’s fault because he’s so cheap he wouldn’t buy her all the bright shiny things she simply HAD to have and my goodness she can’t work AND go to school. Oh and work is such a drag so she’s only employed part-time, she only needs x amount of money per month to pay for her bright shiny stuff…..got the impression my son picks up all the bills AND all the chores. Seems she won’t be going home for the Christmas holidays either because she doesn’t want to hear dad’s “crap” apparently the man nags a lot. So it sounds like she has at least one decent parent. Maybe I should fly him to my house for Christmas and put a big red bow on his head, LOL!

    My son knew exactly what I was doing pulling all of these things out of her….actually she volunteered most of it. He’s annoyed with me, they left early, shortly after dinner…..not to worry princess didn’t lift a finger to help with the meal or the dishes.

    I’m really not trying to be caddy or be a bitch…..but I just have this to say. If you are going to play the princess role the you should at least be decent looking. Nothing cute at all about this girl, IMHO. Not attractive, short and dumpy.

    I really never wanted to be a meddling mother or worse a monster-in-law, but I’m depressed about this……not at all what I expected for my son….not at all. I just want to scream. My older daughter picked up on everything too and she’s equally shocked. My husband picked up on NOTHING…..clueless man, all he says is “Well honey I don’t care about anything as long as our son is happy”.

    Arrrrrrrrggggggghhhhhh! I’ve enlisted my sister’s help since they’ll be here for Christmas and they run circles around me in the bitchy department.

    I think the boy is just lonely to be honest and he’s so shy it’s hard for him to meet girls. I think part of his loneliness is my fault, I’ve been completely consumed with little somebody’s treatment for years and my son and I have grown apart…..we were once so close.

    GOD I just want to scream or cry or both.

    My son is cute btw lots of people say he looks like Ashton Kuchner or whatever that actor’s name is that is married to Demi Moore. He does favor that actor quite a bit, but doesn’t look exactly like him, same eyes, same hair, same mouth but nose and jaw line differ a little. Point is he’s cute and successful and I get THIS for a potential DIL………….waaaaaahhhhhhh…..boooooo……hooooooooo!

  46. Sorry I would rather pay $50 more for an item I do not have to fight for! Either that or simply do without!!
    You would not see me out there at that hour fighting to buy a product that should be priced at the sale price in the first place!

  47. OMG Somebody I am so sorry I doubt your monster-in-law can just see what is really happening. I pray your son sees the light and moves on.

    Also children have a funny way of letting Dad know Miss princess is not a Princess after all!

  48. Forgive my typos…..I claim insanity, LOL!

    Creeper I agree Wal-Mart did make their name on buying American but even back then it was all shuck and jive. They bought always tried to buy American first….but never promised only American and they were up front that they went overseas for a better deal. They just had good ad campaigns that’s all.

    One thing that absolutely was their policy while Sam Walton was still alive…..Sam didn’t believe in making huge profits on groceries and staple items. He would only allow minimal mark up on food items. I remember back in the mid-80’s driving quite a distance to purchase diapers and baby formula at a Wal-Mart. I had to drive into Georgia as at the time there were no Wal-Mart stores in Florida. It was worth the drive though as those items were just about half the price. We would simply load up and buy a couple of month’s worth. Now there really isn’t much difference between their prices and my local grocery store.

    Sam’s long since dead and groceries are as much a part of the Wal-Mart profit machine as Chinese made electronics and clothes.

  49. Somebody
    Mothers of sons who look like they are making bad life choice have a right to be bitchy.
    If he marries her she will be very expensive to get rid of and we both know she is not someone that can be endured for long.
    I can just imagine my mother-in-law if I pulled that stuff at her house. She was a good mother-in-law and usually she stayed out of our marriage. But if her son was wrong she let him know it. She raised 4 children on her own while working and believe me I truly respected her.She would have told me off in a heartbeat if I acted like that girl.
    Yes invite her parents to dinner with them. They need to know just what an embarrassment she is.

    WOMEN WITH INTELLIGENCE AND EXPERIENCE,MEN WHO SUPPORT THEM AND COUNTRY BEFORE PARTY ALWAYS

    PUMAS,BUBBAS,EQUALISTS AND THOSE PEOPLE RULE

  50. LOL Tiger! I’m dying here.

    Creeper, back in the mid 90s walmart already had over 400 little sweatshops in china, pumping out all the American made stuff.

  51. Rose at 12:54 – great youtube video. Thanks for the resource. Did want to know what that tent cost. Interesting about Meme’s dress. Nothing too expensive for the O’s.

  52. Somebody, the child has no manners. I doubt it will improve if she marries your son. This whole thing makes me cringe.

  53. SOMEBODY –

    I went through this with my nephew (who is more like a son to me) about five years ago, and it wasn’t pretty. In the end, he thanks me to this day for saving him from making a big mistake.

    Give her hell. It’ll be far too late after the “I do’s”. Better to take the hit now (believe me, your son will come around soon afterward) than to have to live with it forever.

    Maybe you could get a little liquored up with your sisters and really go for it?

    Good Luck

  54. Yes we are family comes to mind Somebody! Just let rip at Christmas all will be good in the end!

  55. For those who never do Black Friday, at little bit of schadenfreude. This community has 95% of their stores located on this one street.

    http://www.woodtv.com/dpp/news/local/kent_county/Power-outage-puts-the-Black-in-Friday

  56. http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/money_co/2009/11/black-friday-walmart-in-upland-temporarily-closes-after-fighting-inside.html

    Uppity was this your wal-mart

    Rose
    thank you for that video I did post it at the confluence I will send it to some friends

    WOMEN WITH INTELLIGENCE AND EXPERIENCE,MEN WHO SUPPORT THEM AND COUNTRY BEFORE PARTY ALWAYS

    PUMAS,BUBBAS,EQUALISTS AND THOSE PEOPLE RULE

  57. I found a couple of temptations in Wal-Mart’s circular, decided they were “limited quatity”n loss leaders, so did the sensible and slept in.

  58. Holy Chit, Helen. No, not mine, but it probably c ould have been.

  59. Uppity,

    I did not realize that you, like Bill Frist, can judge people’s
    medical conditions without actually examining them. Nor did
    I realize you had a medical degree. In fact, you can NOT tell
    if the people you judge as “not handicapped” are handicapped
    or not. Your doctor would tell you that a person does not have
    to be in a wheelchair to qualify for a handicapped permit.

    There are many healthy-looking people who have chronic
    health conditions that allow them to walk but not very far. We
    couldn’t go anywhere if it weren’t for handicapped parking and
    the availability of wheelchairs and scooters in stores like the
    archenemy Wal-Mart. My wife has lupus. She doesn’t look
    sick most of the time but she is rarely able to get out of the
    house. Look up lupus and learn. It’s a terrible disease that
    mostly affects women. Given that, you probably won’t be
    surprised to know that research into causes and treatment of
    lupus is not well-funded. There are many other handicaps
    that you can NOT see. Educate yourself before you judge.

  60. Somebody said, “I think part of his loneliness is my fault, I’ve been completely consumed with little somebody’s treatment for years and my son and I have grown apart…..we were once so close.”

    NONE OF THAT!

    Anthony is absolutely right. You need to break this up now. Find a nice girl, maybe at church, and keep creating opportunities to put her in you son’s path.

  61. Jack thank you for bringing that to everyone’s attention, yes it is true there are some handicaps that are not obvious……….but you know there are many people that simply get handicapped parking permits so they can get better parking spots too, it cuts both ways.

    I remember my step mother being so thrilled she got a handicapped permit so she could get good parking spots……not a thing wrong with her. On the other hand I do know those stares you can get from people that don’t think you should be parking in a handicapped spot. We have one due to caring for elderly and handicapped parents……..but I freely admit to using it when little somebody was in full blown chemo. There were times when walking to the front door left her breathless and the blood supply to the bones in her right leg was cut off causing tremendous pain…..but once her hair started growing back people glared at me parking in a handicapped spot with what they saw as a healthy kid.

    So yes there are conditions that are not obvious to the eye…..but come on this was snark and satire……and you’ve got to know there are PLENTY of people that park in handicap spots that have no need to. By the same token there are plenty of people that use those electric carts when walking would probably be the best thing for them…….have you seen the movie Wall-e???

    You don’t seriously think this post compares to the actions of Bill Frist do you??

  62. Mary I do feel guilty and I did ignore my other children these past few years. In my defense they were both adults and I figured I had raised them. But you know I just didn’t stay in touch as well as I should and when I did most of our conversations were about little somebody’s health and/or treatment. Even when things were going well I didn’t reach out……..I don’t know why. Fears of something, being overwhelmed and taking those moments to catch my collective breath???

    My mother can be quite self absorbed. You never really have a conversation with her, she talks about what she wants to talk about and blows off anything you have to say. She’s famous for ….uh huh….well anyway back to what I was saying, LOL!

    I never wanted to be like that to make my kids feel like I wasn’t interested in their lives. It’s hard for me to admit this but I’ve been like my mother the past couple of years…..the long weeks in the hospital anyone could forgive me for that kind of communication but little somebody is finished with treatment now and I have no excuse. I just pray the damage is repairable.

    Did I mention cancer sucks??? It affects so many aspects of your life…..but you know sitting around making excuses isn’t going to fix a damn thing.

  63. Jack,

    I’m so sorry about your wife’s ill health. And you make a valid point about how appearances can sometimes be deceptive. Nevertheless, none of that is any excuse for being sarcastic to–or JUDGMENTAL about–the hostess of this blog. And you know what? I am disabled.

  64. “the long weeks in the hospital anyone could forgive me for that kind of communication”

    Somebody,

    I fear I’ve already stuck my nose in too much, but friendship requires me to say, it is YOU who must “forgive” you. And, let’s just assume for argument’s sake that your son’s attraction to this piece of work is not your fault. Then, get busy. You can’t take away one toy without giving him another one. Find that other one.GO, GIRL.

    I had an aunt-through-marriage whose conversations were like your mother’s. Very trying.

  65. UW,

    Please check your mail, especially my third ote. I’ve been hard at it. LOL

  66. Educate yourself before you judge.

    Well gee, I’m sorry i am so stupid, you know?

    Jack I do know about lupus and it is true that it’s a very debilitating disease. But like I said, where I am all you have to do is be 65. I do not know a single senior here who doesn’t have a tag. So calm down for chrissakes. it was a satire and it wasn’t all about you. I’ve seen people in WHEEL CHAIRS who couldn’t get a spot in slush and snow.

  67. Your comment had already posted as written by Anonymous, so I left her a heads up.

  68. ok then the last one took, Mary. Good. I finally tried anonymous because it insisted I did not own my own blog when I identified it.

  69. UW,

    Wisdom wrapped in grace!

  70. Somebody
    Mothers give to each child as needed. Little somebody needed you at that time. Son had times when he needed you and you were there for him. It is a shame that kids do not come with instruction books.
    Do not buy in to guilt. That lets the little witch win. No way in hell should you let that happen. You can let him know that you do not think she is the girl for him and be there when he sees that you are right.

    WOMEN WITH INTELLIGENCE AND EXPERIENCE,MEN WHO SUPPORT THEM AND COUNTRY BEFORE PARTY ALWAYS

    PUMAS,BUBBAS,EQUALISTS AND THOSE PEOPLE RULE

  71. And you succeed.

  72. Oh My. I really thought you were at Wal Mart especially when you described the smells and the snot.😆
    You are too funny! This shows how decadent people are. I wouldn’t buy that cheap junk from China.
    I was suspicious when you said they opened at 9 am.
    All stores open at 5 am on Black Friday.

  73. Jack Ketch. What the H are people with Lupus doing wandering around Wal-Mart on Black Friday? Are you for real? Ain’t no one with Lupus going to Wal-Mart on Black Friday. Hell even healthy people stay away.

  74. Well you’re in rare form this morning, Quantum. Yeah I blew it with the 5AM mainly because I NEVER shop on Black Friday. And I NEVER shop at Walmart. So it was a stretch for me, a serious use of my imagination and creativity, which is good. Keeps us from becoming senile. Laughing here. Believe it or not, I actually cruised the parking lot earliet this week to get a “feel”. That’s how I learned about the sea gulls.

    I wonder how many people will wake up with the flu this morning from hanging out in those crowds at best buy, walmart, etc. If I have learned one thing, it’s that most people don’t give a rat’s ass if they are still contagious, so long as they feel good enough, screw everybody else.

  75. You know, I have got to believe that people who do this shopping don’t have computers or don’t know how to use one. Honestly, I do a huge amount of my shopping all year online. The prices are always better, the shipping is free, and most times you don’t even pay sales tax if the vendor doesn’t have a physical building in your state. For example, there are certain stores I shop and I know their clothing fits me. But things are always less expensive online. Talbots comes to mind. I know it’s going to fit me and if I don’t like it, I can return it to the store here. Most times it’s a match. Only I don’t have to travel and waste gas, fight traffic to shop there when I am online. The deals online on Black Friday on the net are huge, bigger than local deals in some cases. Why go stand in a place where, as somebody here said, You Can’t See The Floor because there are so many people there.

  76. Quantum, you landed in moderation because you used a different screen name, although I must admit I like this one. You should be ok now.

Comments are closed.