Christina Taylor Green’s funeral – Open Thread

Let’s all watch for this child, okay? We will never know the future of this 9 year old girl who was just elected to the Student Council. The very least we could do is attend her funeral.

Live Feed outside church. h/t McNorman.

Born on 9/11/2001 and featured in the book Faces of Hope: Children of A Changing World:

Two fire trucks‘ ladders will be extended into the sky today at the entrance to St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Catholic Church in Tucson, where Christina Taylor Green’s life — cut short at just 9 years — is being celebrated today. The funeral begins at 3 p.m. EST.

A giant, 20-by-30 foot flag rescued from the rubble of the World Trade Center will be hoisted up between them, creating an archway that John and Roxanna Green are expected to walk through on their way into the ceremony, CNN reported. Their sole surviving child, 11-year-old Dallas, will be at their side.

Sleep little girl. You were taken too soon and America promises justice on your behalf.

You will all be consoled to know that the Westboro Church of Satan meembers were thwarted and will not be in attendance. May this happen more often.

195 Responses

  1. Oh Uppity, that Sleep little girl comment punched me in the gut. She was only 9 years old. How corrupt is a civilization when 9 year old children are murdered. Tears flowing copiously here.

  2. As a parent I simply cannot fathom the deep sorrow this little girl’s mother is carrying today. My heart goes out to her entire family.

  3. Alice, I could not even imagine my reaction is my little girl was taken from me. My beautiful lady is 23 years old. To lose her at age 9 would have destroyed me, as I had already lost my two beautiful boys and I barely survived. Today, I have my beautiful daughter and my unpredictable but brilliant, beautiful son. Life goes on, even after the most devastating situations – believe me, I know. I wish nothing but the best for her parents – it’s a nightmare loosing a child and few people ever recover – I never did totally, but I work on it every day.

  4. In that picture she looks so much like my daughter did at that age. I called her “chipmunk cheeks” when she was little. Rest in Peace.

  5. Sorry, it should read I could not imagine my reaction IF, not is. Mavis Beacon continues to elude me. I’ll find her eventually, in the meanwhile, please excuse my typos.

  6. She was the only girl on her little league baseball team.

  7. (((((HT)))))))) I’m so sorry to hear of your loss and what you have been through too. I almost lost my son who was extremely ill for a long time but, he finally made it. I don’t know how I would have coped but, I suppose I would have had to find a way somehow.

    I keep thinking about this little girl. Age 9. That’s grade four if I remember correctly. It was one of my favorite times with DS. I worked in the schools a lot then. The kids are SO curious. Just getting into the stage where they are more interested in the world. What a delight they all were. Bright, sincere and curious.

    I heard her mother talking about how she will have nine years of memories to hold on to. And what precious memories they are. I hope they are a great comfort to her in the long months to come.

  8. Geez, I haven’t cried this much in so many years. That little girl, so much promise, a great future. Alice, thanks for your compassion, but my tragedy was over 30 years ago. I don’t think I will ever heal, however my gruesome twosome are the world to me now. And I think that one needs to focus on the here and now. My children are the centre of my existance, yet they are not vital to my existance, if that makes sense. I exist because I am a person. Life is shitty. No other word really reflects what we go through on a day to day basis. That little girl should have had a long and meaningful life, yet she was murdered. Two days ago, when discussing this situation with my son, we also touched on our former neighbour, George, who was a paranoid schitzophrenic. Ryan advised me that he was terrified every time I invited George into our home. I never knew of his terror, which bothers me greatly. I invited George in to talk to him and perhaps thought I could make a difference, however, by my actions I scared the bejeebus out of my gruesome twosome. I’m not sure who was right in this case, because George really did need friends and when he was on his meds he wasn’t a danger. But to find out that my son plus 6 foot 2″, 190 lbs of muscle was frightened, well, what is one to think?

  9. Oh Uppity- you made me cry- Sleep in Peace little girl

  10. I went and read the other posts and came back because I was weeping. This bothers me in the same way as children gunned down in their houses becuase idiots are in the street brawling and the bullet goes through a window/door/wall. Thought are with her family and friends.

  11. The only live feed I could find is from the outside of the church- I can hear some of the music- and from what I can hear they just got to the end of the Eucharistic Prayer.
    http://video.ap.org/?f=JRC&pid=R9msqOsYZ2TmkWttgWjBgV72_tYSs_Oh

  12. The mother has shown great strength throughout all of this. Her husband said it is her faith that keeps her going. The entire nation is supporting these families right now.

  13. Hey, Gabby is doing extraordinarily well. She sat up today!

  14. Great news McNorman!

  15. They are singing “Make Me A Channel of Your Peace” (The Prayer of St Francis) now

  16. Priests have come out to administer Communion to those outside the Church. I will shut up now

  17. “We had been telling her that she was inspiring the country with her courage and that we couldn’t wait to take her out to pizza and a weekend away,” Gillibrand said. “Then after she heard our voices and the encouragement of Mark and her parents, she struggled briefly and opened her eyes for the very first time. It was a miracle to witness.”

    Sweet.

  18. She’s going to do well.

  19. mcnorman, I hope so.

  20. What a tragedy. God rest her soul. She reminds me of the little girl who was murdered by a crazy relative on thanksgiving Day about a year ago. Both were very beautiful, precocious children robbed of their futures by a nut with a gun.

  21. Hugo it is always devastating when it is a child. They have everything before them and in one fell swoop, it’s gone.

  22. No one said it was going to be an easy recovery or full recovery, but Gabby is a miracle.

  23. “Sleep little girl” is a touching and exquisite expression of her family’s and her country’s grief. Beautiful post.

  24. I would say Gabby is very lucky with the bullet placement. But I admittedly stated a few days ago that if she came out of this whole again I would seriously re-examine my relationship with God. And I meant it. I also know the difference between God and a charletan who thinks he’s god.

  25. Ani, they were the only words that came to me. It’s that sad.

  26. Believe me, I know what you are saying. Prayers and meditations are quite powerful.

  27. Is she left or right handed? Anyone know?

  28. How good it feels to know that the smirking swine posing in his jail cell knows he has failed at his goal, the Loser.

  29. An act of kindness toward another who is hurting.
    Pilot delays plane so passenger can say farewell to his murdered grandson

    Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1346716/Airline-pilot-holds-plane-family-murdered-toddler.html#ixzz1AxG76U11

  30. all your fans know, your blog is the oasis of sanity in the midst of all the political blather.

    The creatures in spam notwithstanding though.

  31. Billy Joel’s “Lullaby” (goodnight my angel) was played followed by a bag piper playing “Amazing Grace”

    Goodnight, my angel
    Time to close your eyes
    And save these questions for another day
    I think I know what you’ve been asking me
    I think you know what I’ve been trying to say
    I promised I would never leave you
    And you should always know
    Wherever you may go
    No matter where you are
    I never will be far away

    Goodnight, my angel
    Now it’s time to sleep
    And still so many things I want to say
    Remember all the songs you sang for me
    When we went sailing on an emerald bay
    And like a boat out on the ocean
    I’m rocking you to sleep
    The water’s dark
    And deep inside this ancient heart
    You’ll always be a part of me

    Goodnight, my angel
    Now it’s time to dream
    And dream how wonderful your life will be
    Someday your child may cry
    And if you sing this lullabye
    Then in your heart
    There will always be a part of me

    Someday we’ll all be gone
    But lullabyes go on and on…
    They never die
    That’s how you
    And I
    Will be

  32. Perfect Alice.

  33. What a tragedy.
    How the hell can the perp live with himself/himselves.

  34. How the hell can the perp live with himself/himselves.

    Easy when you are orbiting in some other universe. The shooter is certifiable.

  35. Uppity said, “…if she came out of this whole again…”

    Nobody’s going to be whole again after this mess, and certainly not Gabrielle. I hope she has a _full recovery_ so she can look that demon in the eyes at his trial and show him that he failed miserably.

    For poor dear Christina… Give her, o Lord, your peace and let your eternal light shine upon her. Amen.

  36. OT- but where is Joey? Haven’t “seen” her in a while.

  37. I have to go cook. Sorry I’ve not been around a lot, but I have had a lot of “house stuff” going on.

    On Topic – photo album of The funeral

    http://azstarnet.com/promo/homepage/collection_6f21a5ca-1f4e-11e0-aaf0-001cc4c03286.html

  38. McNorman, …et al,

    You see what that pilot did? It’s what Americans do. We do it for other countries. And we do it for Our Own. This is why I always keep saying We will Endure. And this disgrace we are forced to live with will pass as all other disgraces have passed. And We will make America Whole, not because of bad politicans, but in SPITE of them. You must never forget this, even in your most discouraged days.

    Goodness, I have no idea where that came from. But accept it nonetheless, please.

  39. When people tell me that the days are dark, it only takes one (like that pilot) that reinforces what you said…it shall pass and we will make it in spite of them.

  40. Allie, I realize that Gabrielle cannot come out of this as she was. But I would consider her Whole if she could continue to serve and stand before that rotten lousy corrupted congress and Rule the Day with Good Sense,, shaming the scheevy extremists on both sides who have taken chances apiece both defeating moderates and ruining America concurrently. Even if she has to do it with sign language or from a wheel chair. She must endure to shame them for the horrible Non Leaders, beholding to extremes, that they are. Then I would consider her whole and the fringes ruining my country as fragments that they are.

    I tell you true: Near-death does beautiful and honest things to people.

  41. thank you all for these comments and thoughts. I’m still at work, and this thread – with all the links and love have given me much to think about today.

    HT ~ I am so sorry to hear of your past suffering. I am sure this tragic event has brought many painful memories.

    FF ~ thank you for the link to the photos.

  42. I died once, Uppity is correct – , near death or actual death does beautiful and honest things to people.

  43. leslie, thanks. it’s always difficult for me when a child is involved. It should never, ever happen. Children are to be cherished, not murdered or harmed in any other way. Oh, there goes the tears again. Apologies.
    FF thanks for the photos.

  44. Beautiful Post and Comments.

    God this hurt. My soul just ached for all of the people who knew her and had to give back such a beautiful gift of life today.

    This really brought home the utter senselessness of it all. What drove the man to do this had nothing, nothing, nothing at all to do with the people he killed, maimed and hurt so irreparably. I really don’t have much else to say today… except I really needed to hear this today:

    “We will Endure. And this disgrace we are forced to live with will pass as all other disgraces have passed. And We will make America Whole, not because of bad politicians, but in SPITE of them. You must never forget this, even in your most discouraged days…. UW”

  45. Her, those are words of reality and true hope.

  46. OT but interesting
    Diplomats complain about no US bank accounts
    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20110113/ap_on_bi_ge/un_un_diplomatic_banking
    UNITED NATIONS – Diplomats from many countries complained to U.S. government officials Thursday about the decision by several American banks to close the accounts of their diplomatic missions and their difficulty in finding new banking facilities.

    snip
    “We can’t find yet another bank. We shopped around,” Egypt’s Abdelaziz said, adding that banks told his mission “they don’t have space.”

    JP Morgan Chase has apparently decided they are no longer going to service accounts for these countries.
    Iran is bitching-
    “Iran’s U.N. Ambassador Mohammad Khazaee said the problem not only threatens the operation of U.N. missions but the functioning and existence of the United Nations because countries can’t pay their U.N. dues and contributions to the world body’s peacekeeping missions without a U.S. bank account.”

    Boo Hoo- they can’t pay their dues without a US bank account. What? You mean the UN will only accept checks drawn on US banks? No Chinese or Saudi bank checks??
    And this threatens the actual existence of the UN? GOOD! Get rid of the useless assholes.

  47. Hey PMM, that might actually be a good thing. Leave it to the UN Entitlement crowd to want more entitlement. Freakin moochers.

  48. The UN? Considering what they let in, why don’t they all just pay their bills in goats?

  49. Yes, mcnorman. Those word helped me.

    Ok, I’m not trying to do a religion thing on anyone, so please ignore or skip this video if you can’t tolerate the references to God or Jesus.

    One of the most beautiful songs and vocals I’ve ever heard is Natalie Grant’s “I Am Not Alone”. It amazes me how many key changes and octaves she goes through so naturally.

  50. herlo, each of us has our own spiritual centre. I don’t happen to have Christianity as mine, however, that doesn’t mean I cannot appreciate other’s beliefs, and I hesitate to comment because i never want to cause discension.
    Enough said, however, if you want an amazing singer – look to Melissa Manchester who is more incredible, or to Phoebe Snow, who puts this young lady to shame. Phoebe, btw had a severely retarded child, and a partner who overdosed on drugs, so she’s been to the edge of hell and back.

  51. UW said “why don’t they all just pay their bills in goats?”

    ROFLMAO! I really don’t TRY to be your straight man- but I love it when it happens!
    Going to listen to John’s show- he delayed it to tonight.

  52. Another deeply moving gift from one to another. We need to hear more about humanity at its best. This one is about compassion between enemies.

    Precious Life
    A Palestinian woman who gives birth to a child that has an immunity issue. After an Israeli man offers to pay for the marrow surgery, they bring the mother and the child to Israel. Her words are that she wants her child to grow up to be a suicide bomber. Stunning, huh?
    Her transformation is documented in the film. The journey begins as life is meaningless and finishes to life is precious.

  53. how very sad…. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mOq5X0JlU3I I really do hope this sick twisted cancer rotts in hell…. Insane or NOT!!! 😡 👿 👿

  54. UW, I also know the difference between God and a charletan who thinks he’s god.

    It is a shame more people did not know that difference Nov 2008.

  55. In watching the videos of the singers, I got to thinking – First Phoebe Snow – then, by extension, Janis Ian – which took me WAY back – first to Lulu – then, to my first female crush on a singer….

    LOL

  56. HT: There is hardly any music that offends me – Rap and Hop Hop being my least favorite.

    I appreciate and respect all genres, quite frankly.

    And yes, I love Phoebe Snow. I became a fan of Melissa Manchester when she was one of the backup singers for Bette Midler (Barry Manilow was her pianist and arranger) on what I think I remember was Midler’s first tour. MM performed a song solo at the concert I attended and brought the house down.

    As for “Christianity” I’m not a of promoter of the “religion” of Christianity, but I have studied it, as well as others, and have my own beliefs.

    Sorry if the video was uncomfortable for you and her voice not to your taste. For some reason, I like the song and can apply it to relationships with people and even nature and, I like the power of her voice a lot.

  57. Pet!!!! Me too FF lol!

  58. OMG, FF, I love Petula Clark, I’ve always loved her – and Lulu, Melissa Manchester, Cilla Black, Phoebe Snow, Laura Branigan and so many others – okay I should have been born gay – funny that, I can’t name many male singers other than – oh wait, I have a boatload of them too.

  59. Petula clark. Jayyyyyysus. Last time I saw her I kicked the slats off my cradle.

  60. Hell you want gay, I could turn for these two.

  61. A little tension going on there. lol.

  62. Herlo, you didn’t make me uncomfortable at all, Please don’t think that I was offended, I wasn’t. I come from a very musical family so I’m a bit narrow minded about talent. My daughter is a singer, and my son (ugh) a heavy metal musician.

  63. Uppity, Petula is 77 in the clip I posted. Now if you want real senior talent, I have another one.
    Barbara Cook. I saw her 40 years ago in a night club and have been a fan ever since. She’s in her late 80’s now and is still performing.

  64. And one of the best – Marilyn McCoo

  65. Cripes, when I want to see this, I will go visit a nursing home.

  66. FF, yes – Marilyn Mc Coo, Uppity, you dont need to visit a nursing home, you have one right here with some of your regulars.

  67. HT! ROFLMAO!

    LOL

    OK, this old timer has to shuffle off to bed now..

  68. Before you go to bed, Florence La Rue – This is your Life (Fifth dimension once again). I used to play this song to my gruesome twosome. My brother was a disaster, and even today I miss him, so this song had a really powerful impact on me.

  69. Aw geeze if I want to get depressed I can do that all by myself.

  70. I like Ian though, FF. Is she still alive? I have some of her vinyl.

  71. Love that song, HT. But this is the best.

    Uppity – for you!

    I SO want to go see her. Only ticket I can fond is $135~

  72. No, Uppity, Depression is best shared. That way we don’t off ourselves, we just comisserate. Now that I’ve thoroughly depressed you (much to my dismay), I’ll bid you a goodnight. I’m watching Towering Inferno, and boyo was Paul Newman amazingly handsome – I’m hoping he will lull me to sleep. I tried several of Mom’s remedies – don’t work, but tonight is the night of the almonds. Maybe……..

  73. Uppity, Diana Krall is magnificent, and isn’t it amazing that Clint Eastwood was a major force in getting her noticed. I don’t like Eastwood’s politics, but he paved the way for her breakthrough.

  74. Now THIS ole gal has still got it.

  75. I’ll take your Joan Baez, and counter with Buffy.

  76. Oh Please! Depression is over rated.

  77. K, I’ll take your Buffy and raise you a Nyro.

  78. Raise you a Melanie

  79. Upps, hate to disagree with you, but after watching my mother attempting suicide three times, I don’t think it over rated. And I attempted suicide twice, before I realized that death was not the release I was searching for. One day I will die, and I’m okay with that, but it will be when it’s appropriate, not when I choose. I owe my children that much – I brought them into the world by choice, and I have to admit, they are really incredible human beings so I owe them a life where they are not worried about their mom suiciding,

  80. Jaysssssssssussssssssssssssssss.

  81. FF I think Nyro died young, cancer.

  82. I love Melanie – She lives in Clearwater (or did) I’ve not checked recently

    I got to see her in concert in Atlanta – HUGE CRUSH then too

    But Diana is my heart-throb these days

  83. ….looking up NYRO

  84. She wrote all these songs. She was known as a writer and composer but I liked to hear her sing.
    She wrote:

    The 5th Dimension with “Blowing Away”, “Wedding Bell Blues”, “Stoned Soul Picnic”, “Sweet Blindness”, “Save The Country” and “Black Patch”; Blood, Sweat & Tears and Peter, Paul & Mary with “And When I Die”; Three Dog Night with “Eli’s Coming”; and Barbra Streisand with “Stoney End”, “Time and Love”, and “Hands off the Man (Flim Flam Man)”. Nyro’s best-selling single was her recording of Carole King and Gerry Goffin’s “Up on the Roof.”

  85. And I’ll raise you a kd lang- so there! I win.neener, neener. I may be a depressed old hag, but I am still here.

  86. Nyro wrote all those songs between the ages of 18 and 24!

  87. She had a long term relationship with Jackson Browne. I didn’t know that.

  88. never heard of kid lang.

  89. musta been before I was born.

  90. This is an old favorite of mine from EB White. It is true hope – with a spirit that bo couldn’t copy if his life depended on it.

    From E.B. White to Mr. Nadeau; March 30, 1973:

    As long as there is one upright man, as long as there is one compassionate woman, the contagion may spread and the scene is not desolate.

    Hope is the thing that is left to us, in a bad time.

    I shall get up Sunday morning and wind the clock, as a contribution to order and steadfastness.

    Sailors have an expression about the weather: they say, the weather is a great bluffer. I guess the same is true of our human society – things can look dark, then a break shows in the clouds, and all is changed, sometimes rather suddenly.

    It is quite obvious that the human race has made a queer mess of life on this planet. But as a people we probably harbor seeds of goodness that have lain for a long time, waiting to spout when the conditions are right.

    Man’s curiosity, his relentlessness, his inventiveness, his ingenuity have led him into deep trouble. We can only hope that these same traits will enable him to claw his way out.

    Hang onto your hat. Hang onto your hope. And wind the clock, for tomorrow is another day.

  91. Do you mean KD Lang?

  92. Yeah I studied E.B. Every English major did E.B. I mean, well I didn’t DO him. Heh.

  93. ……….locking up the refrigerator

  94. Sorry I didn’t get here today to see the link to the feed for the service. I would have liked to have seen it.

    I caught a evening news segment and they said she (the parents?) was an organ donor.

    I pray for the soul of that little girl and for her parents.

  95. Uppity, them’s fighting words. It’s k.d. lang and she is rather famous being on the front cover of Vanity Fair with Christie Brinkley and all – or was it another vacuous model person. I can’t remember – a problem with aging. We oldies forget really simplistic stuff easily.
    And BTW, kd is only 48 years old. And she has won grammies – oh you’re pulling my leg again. You shouldn’t do that with old folks, we get our danders up.
    Luvs ya Upps. Don’t ever change.

  96. Yeah I know. I was K.I.D.D.I.N.G.

    But not my favorite and didn’t fit in with the old fart theme.

  97. Where the hell you been DE

  98. Fredster, order your Buffalo yet?

  99. In the other room.

  100. I did NOT tell you to go to your room.

  101. Night all, take care and be nice. I’m off to bed. Hope I can sleep, but I did eat a whole bunch of almonds so perhaps tonight will be a good night.

  102. Uppity, no not yet. I think I’ll wait until I do get back to nola. You know I’m still here in AL since the people I had my 2 hdtvs stored with split up and the teevees *disappeared*. I’ve had to get a lawyer in on this.

    At this point I don’t want *those* tv’s back. God knows what they’ve done or where they’ve had them (out in the 20 degree cold??).👿 I want the damned money for them. Then I’ll order the Samsung w/the internet apps. After I get down there I’ll order the Buffalo. I’ve got the Motorola Extreme cable modem with the latest Docsis 3.0 and I’ve got Cox’s highest speed connection so it’s all just waiting.

  103. HT ~ Here’s to you, darlin’.

  104. FF now that you have left the room, I must confess that jazz is something I can stand in small doses. If it’s atonal, I can only take about three minutes of it. Don’t know why, but there you have it.

  105. HT – if you see this, ask UW to send me your email address so I can write to you a love letter to Zeke!

  106. So the college had the idea for the tshirts? How interesting. There’s a screen shot from 2008 from Organizing for a Fraud that has the same marketing slogan…. WHAT a SMALL WORLD! ROFL

  107. Laura Nyro, Tes! (Nora Jones has Nyro qualities) Janis Ian, Joni Mitchell, Joan Baez, Carole King – some of the best composers of my time.

    Jazz vocals: Krall, Anita Baker, Toni Braxton, Judy too many to name

    Yep, Uppity, Janis Ian is still kickin:

    http://www.janisian.com/freedownloads.php

    Nora Jones (remember her father Ravi Shankar?):

  108. Woops:

    Nora Jones:

  109. Nora reminds me of Laura Nyro – such a gifted composer gone too soon.

    FF: Love Diana Krall – too many to choose from:

  110. Uppity:

    Janis Ian is still out there – here’s her website:

    http://www.janisian.com/freedownloads.php

  111. My, my, my! Look at all this music!!

    HT, my favorite version of “Hallelujah” is still Jeff Buckley’s from “Grace” but, KD does a great job with it too! I’m not a Leonard fan though.

    Who had a long term relationship with Jackson Browne? I thought I knew all his details…his first g/f passed away…etc. I’ve seen him too many times to count. Had a huge crush as a teen on the guy.

    Now to Diana. Uppity, if she ever comes near you then let me know. I know somebody who knows her hubby fairly well. I have already been told I can have tickets anytime and just to let them know I want them. Backstage tickets were offered so I’m just going to assume that applies to Uppity too. I’ll make a call and get them for you. I”m not even kidding.

    You all had a celebration here last night!

    HT, I was listening to some old Jane Siberry yesterday. Does she count? Should I call her Issa now? What’s up with her?!! I used to just love that woman. Great song writer! These days I’m more into Tom Waits type of stuff and he’s not for everybody so I won’t post a video. lol.

  112. So the college had the idea for the tshirts? How interesting. There’s a screen shot from 2008 from Organizing for a Fraud that has the same marketing slogan…. WHAT a SMALL WORLD! ROFL

    http://js-kit.com/blob/8pJ3LUmWkSSe9IuxpYMM_5.png

    Oh my goodness! That link says 2008! That must be a mistake because “Together We Thrive” is a 2011 idea!

  113. Somebody please give me a link to the story where the college says it had the idea for together we thrive. I have the screen shots.

  114. Alice, Freedom Fairy is going to be SO JEALOUS of your offer!!!!!

  115. lorac, you need to dump that link everywhere.

  116. Nevermind, the Freepers have it plastered everywhere. Like we said, nothing ever changes. At least I know this time it’s not bullshit. Channeling the 2008 Primary campaign and using it to get traction from a tragedy. What a shame. And how typical of the Obama people, without conscience, without souls.

  117. It really doesn’t matter if the college “had the idea” and they are just back peddling. Because you know and I know Uppity that the POTUS had a full report on every detail BEFORE that event and it all had to be approved. Sheesh, are they trying to imply Obama had no idea on earth they would be handing out campaign kick off t shirts? lol!! They are STILL trying to sell them after the fact so what’s the motivation for that? This is just so tacky. One article says “Conservatives” are upset about it. That’s spin and b.s. too! Not only conservatives thought it was cheap and POTUS self aggrandizement.

    http://nation.foxnews.com/arizona-shooting-rampage/2011/01/13/t-shirts-handed-out-tucson-memorial

    http://www.kvoa.com/news/ua-taking-requests-for-memorial-t-shirts/

    UA office of student affairs is supposedly responsible however, it looks like nothing so much as a campaign kick off using college students. I’m sorry but, Obama HAD to know this and approve it. All the better for him if he can use this memorial to kick off his campaign and I KNOW that’s what they thought about it.

    I don’t know where FF is but, I don’t think they’d begrudge giving me a pair of tickets instead of just one.

  118. OMG! That screen shot is priceless from Feb 2008!! Okay, I am so keeping that one. Yes, that link needs to go everywhere!

  119. Go for it Alice!!!!

  120. Unless the college has a psychic, that event was heavily coordinated with the 2012 Obama campaign. And suddenly, the press, including FOX, are starting to get that 2008 stinky scent wafting from their “news” rooms.

  121. I bow to lorac and surrender my ferret queen crown!
    Excellent job lorac!!!!

    I dropped that link at John’s and in the comment thread at mcnorman’s.

    So the University was responsible huh? One of the pieces I saw yesterday claimed a “student” designed the t-shirts. Wonder if the student is the same John Berry IV who wrote that entry????
    I wonder if our ever popular Uppity will be blowing that screen shit up into a post?

  122. Send the link to FOX and let’s see if they are back in 2008 mode where they play dumb.

  123. Send it to the News dept not that whiny assed hannity or crazy Beck.

  124. The left isn’t going to go after him for it…….yet. So I posted it on Sodahead…lmao!! Those vultures will eat this up with a spoon and go after him. Yes, it was part of his campaign kick off. What an underhanded jerk!

    It’s high time the ENTIRE American population woke up about this. The selling of those t shirts after the event to “remind” people of Obama’s wonderful speech rather than to memorialize anyone is disgusting. And that’s just what they are for sale for.

    Does anyone have an email for FOX directly? Which pundit on there is best to send it to? Greta??

  125. I know Ian is still kicking Herlo. It’s Laura Nyro who died young. Her story is really amazing. Wrote all those songs for the famous before age 24. Read the wiki on her. SHe influenced a gazillion people.

    Re: The question of who had the long term relationship with Jackson Browne. It was Laura Nyro. He wrote the sone “That girl could sing” for her.

  126. Alice, give it to TMZ. And FOX News. Let’s see who takes it first. I’ll bet Fox ignores it. After that pep rally, I saw the old 2008 cowardly Fox.

  127. “Fair and balanced and not afraid”. ROFL.

  128. I just “tweeted” that link- hope it gets picked up and retweeted

  129. http://www.facebook.com/jnberry4

    Here’s his FB page I assume since one of his favorites is “Barack Obama” and the name is exactly the same.

  130. Just a word. I copied the entire page and sent it in an email to myself so that I can host it online if need be. They ARE going to take that down as soon as the page gets too many hits. It doesn’t jibe with their official b.s. and we’ve seen them remove plenty before.

  131. Tweeted that link to Megyn Kelly and you might kill me- but to she who shall not be named

  132. LORAC! “I love being here with you!”😉

    AlicePaul – WOW – I would LOVE that! LOL!

  133. Yes I was about to say that I would like to give Alice’s generous offer to Freedom Fairy.

  134. I emailed Fox newsroom at
    newsmanager@foxnews.com
    ANd here is a link to the Fox page listing all the e-mails
    http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,77538,00.html

  135. http://my.barackobama.com/page/community/post/OFA/gGMbqL

    Also, if it wasn’t a campaign kick off why is Michelle hosting an open letter about the tragedy on “OFA” Why not release the open letter in a full page to the press or somewhere else? It’s been put on the campaign website which is odd. No, given the “Chicago Way” this was used as self aggrandizement. Even his tie was Obama campaign blue. That wasn’t an accident as every tiny detail of these events is worked on, discussed, and planned ahead. It’s just plain ole southern tacky and worse. It was staged, staged, staged to create an “image” He looked puffed up to me with all the hooting and yelling. Did you see the look on his face when they were all screaming and carrying on? I wondered why he didn’t call them out and say “This is a memorial and let’s keep it down” Or something. He was eating it up with a spoon!! Their “plan” to make it all about him worked.

    God, he sucks.

  136. Alice, don’t worry about the link. I’m sure that by now there are hundreds of screen shots.

  137. LOL ALice, that guy’s favorite book is “The right of revolution”.

  138. Mom, that link has moved fast all over the net so I figured I’d just sell the popcorn.

  139. I’m sure there’s something that went out to the famous mailing list looking for donations so “Together We Can Thrive”.

  140. For somebody we have to clean up after when she’s done making the floor all sticky late at night, lorac sure IS a catch.

  141. FF, like I said, I don’t think they’ll begrudge me more than one ticket. Usually they offer backstage passes but, I won’t promise that. On the tickets though I’m pretty sure they won’t mind a bit obtaining what I ask for.

  142. Uppity- I just read that OFA screenshot- (I was just looking at the Thrive thing before)
    Second paragraph starts with “What I see in Obama is a chance for revolution.”
    First paragraph talks about “indentured servants, slaves picking cotton, sharecroppers”

    Yup- garden variety ofraud stuff.

  143. good morning ((((uppity’s))))

    tried to stay strong, and then the Billy Joe song, hit me, don’t know If I can finish reading all this, my heart hurts so much for her and her family. For all babies who are hurt—-

    I’ll tell you this much UW: God put the wealth in all the wrong hands in this world, that is something I’ll never understand.

  144. Just spoke to this reporter BOB CHRISTIE (AP) who contributed to this article
    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20110114/ap_on_re_us/us_congresswoman_shot_rally
    In which they say
    “The university said it did the planning with minimal input from the White House. The school paid for the event, including $60,000 for 20,000 T-shirts bearing the words “Together We Thrive,” which were handed out for free. The money will not come student tuition, fees or tax dollars.”

    Called to ask him about the OFA screenshot. From the tone- I assume he has seen it. More importantly he told me “We can’t see any connection with a memorial and something that happened two years ago.”

    He told me I could draw a connection if I wanted to but he didn’t see it.
    Sound familiar? I am just a crazed old lady with a conspiratorial mind.

    Here we go again ladies and gentlemen!
    Pass the popcorn please.

  145. “If you were a mourner who took home a “Together We Thrive” T-shirt have a look at the bottom of your shirt. “Rocking America and Rocking the Vote” is a common theme of the DNC, and it’s right there on your Memorial T-shirt memento.”

    From Canada Free Press. I posted this originally in the Plastic Jebus thread..sorry.

    http://www.canadafreepress.com/index.php/article/32138

  146. JEEZ!!!!!! I had an old account like from SIX years ago that was Diane Hooper. I don’t know why Word Press put me under that name but, I made a post that’s now in moderation …..lol. WP drives me nuts sometimes!!

  147. Alice! WOW WOW WOW – Ruth Eckerd Hall, Feb 4th – Clearwater, FL

    then I can take you and Lorac to dinner!

  148. FF, there is no way on earth I can go to Clearwater from here by Feb 4th. I’ve still got stitches healing up but, thanks anyway! Let me make a call today for you though!

  149. Hey Freedom Fairy, I want some credit! I don’t deserve it but I want it anyways!

  150. Diane Hooper was you, alice? Yeesh. I almost ripped you a new one. Here’s your assignment. Take that horrid site off your favorites links and go find a more reliable site that says the same thing.

    You will be graded.

  151. I just copied lorac’s OFA link and PMM’s comment about the AP reporter on a couple other blogs. If I don’t hear this on the news today, I will send it to everyone I can think of. Why would a university lie for BO? I know why the media does, but why didn’t the university deny coming up with that slogan?

  152. Called to ask him about the OFA screenshot. From the tone- I assume he has seen it. More importantly he told me “We can’t see any connection with a memorial and something that happened two years ago.”

    OMG. I’m cracking UP here.

  153. By the way, I like the avatar that shows up with my blog name. That’s the way I look most of the time now with our politics, much to my cat’s alarm.

  154. It wasn’t in my favorites I found it using a google search on the term “Together We Thrive” so there’s nothing to take out of my favorites! lol!!!

    I knew it was right wing by the look of it but, I haven’t really seen any of their articles before.

  155. Alice! WOWOWOWOWOWOWOW! Thanks! And Uppity – you deserve credit whether you deserve it or not!

    And Lorac – come visit! I hear you are quite a catch….

    AS for OFA, the “Media” and the University – Stupid is as stupid does.

    We have the biggest bunch of liars in the history of the world in control of Our Nation.

  156. Very bad site, Alice. Wash your hands!

  157. BigCat, you look like your avatar!? No WONDER your cat emailed me and begged me to get her the heck out of there.

  158. Mom you really need to change your avatar to a Ferret.

  159. Uppity, you are a bad influence trying to get me to get a 2nd cat. I was in the pet store yesterday buying food for the one I’ve got and they had the most darling 9 month old white with gray patches female for adoption in the store from one of our shelters. She was so sweet I almost didn’t make it out without adopting her. I’m still thinking about her. I have to be very careful since I’m addicted to small furry creatures and I’m trying not to take on more than I can handle with my condo up for sale.

  160. Hey Alice, do you want me to obfuscate that hooper name?

  161. Gasp! You mean you left the cat behind! Get dressed right now! Besides, 9 mos is a perfect age, you don’t have to go thru all that kitten nonsense and the two of them can sort it out. Pet stores do what is called “Shaffering” when animals get too old. Guess what that means? Thank heavens a shelter is involved. But please, this cat doesn’t have a prayer next to a baby. And I PREFER them that age.

  162. I sensed it was the university from the start, but did they shell out $ 60,000 for T-SHIRST,—-

    NO FIRKEN WAY, that money came from somewhere else. 27,000 shirts w/ LOGO cost a good amount.

    Did the White House know—–the campaign sure did———

  163. I said the same thing to the cat in the store. I said ‘you are the perfect age to adopt and keep forever’. Yes, I really said that.

  164. It’s true BigCat. It IS a great age. Still young and impressionable without all the stupidity.

  165. pet store was not selling the cat, it was up for adoption by a shelter there. Believe I would never give a store money to buy an animal. Never.

  166. BigCat. Stop talking about it and go bring that kitteh home. Don’t make me come over there!

  167. They found a cat (SPCA) just about dead and frozen yesterday, they named him HERBY, I was so tempeted to take him.

    He isn’t out of the woods yet, still some health issues—-5 year old tiger, he was SO ADORABLE,
    BIG GUY

    I’m sure someone will grab him quick once they make him well—-poor baby, his temp was 77 degrees when they found him.

  168. Hey I think I dated that cat!!!

  169. Thanks Uppity but, nah just leave it. It doesn’t matter I haven’t used that account for AGES. I used to use it as a way to post without a ton of people chasing me all over the place from the two sites I used to admin. As you know that can get a little difficult at times. But since 08 I’ve had this account and like it fine.

    FF, I’ve left a message about your concert for my friend on their home phone. I’ll hear something tonight likely. If that one is sold out are you okay with Fort Lauderdale? This is less notice than I usually give her.

    She told me about being able to get these AFTER I’d already paid for Bob Dylan once. “Oh! I wish you hadn’t done that. Frank *not his real name* could get you those! lol…so now I do take her up on it on occasion. And I KNOW they were invited to be there for Elvis’s private taping of his t.v. special and had dinner with both Diana and Elvis. This shouldn’t be a big problem for them.

    I am trying to track down an actual photo of those t shirts. In any case it was still horrible taste. The idea the W.H. didn’t know is laughable.

  170. Bahahah Alice. Check out the name I gave you.

  171. It’s a very bad time for pets with the economy. Shelters are bulging at the seams with adult pets that people cannot or will not take care of now. It’s disgusting and heartbreaking to see all these adult dogs and cats homeless now.

  172. Michelina, I pulled one encased in ice off a wheel well once. And he MADE IT. You’d be suprised how much they want to live. Poor thing!

  173. Been lurking off and on for a long time but this is my 1st time posting.

    This “event” at the university was truly disgusting – NO One should ever make political hay from this tragedy.- only those with no heart and no soul would campaign at a memorial.

    Also if people really believe that MEEchelle wrote this letter they should read her thesis to evaluate her writing skills.

  174. ROTFLMAO!! Hilarious “new” name Uppity..lol!!

  175. Hey Piper, it’s about TIME you commented! Now you know the rules right? Once you comment you have to keep doing it or we come get you with the hook.

  176. New Free For All Thread up.

  177. You’ll need a big hook – a bit rotund around the middle from enjoying my retirement from the school system. Will be back after my walk.

  178. We’re hook experienced!

  179. MK: are you a gay cat???——

  180. Hell no Michelina that kitteh is all woman . Now don’t be messing with me I’m in charge of spam. I could like disappear you faster than the first robin of spring flying in front of my face and leave no trace of you but tail feathers. You know how that rolls.

  181. Michelina and Bigcatlover and Piper and a few others, have you ever considered that one or a few of the print shops around town, donated their time, or maybe even the shirts, dark blue shirts not that hard to gather them up form many shops around town. Maybe they were donated too. I used to be on a board of a feminist publishing press here, and wow we got lots of donations for printing our pieces. Dark blue is also a UofA color. Maybe the University had them around. Our University kinda gets bunches of donations. Sports are pretty big here. We won the national championship in Men’s Basketball one or two times in the last decade or so. Lute Olson? Pretty big name. More than a few 5% rich here that have helped even build all our new sports stadiums among other things around campus. Eagle Distributing, Cindy McCain, wow big bucks in donations in town, because lots of us vendors buy from them. Could have been our famous car dealer Jim Click he donates a bunch from his overpriced cars. Heck even the Frank Lloyd Wright foundations in Tucson. He’s kinda famous too. Just throwing a few things out there while you trash our UofA president, who put a Native American up there for the blessing who just happened to thank Mother Earth and Father Sky, rather than some conservative row of Christian preachers, for lying and trashing our whole community in the process in the name of “truth seeking” and politics. Oh, I know maybe the Native America professor gave OFA permission to use, “We are the ones that we have been waiting for.” Oh, no, sorry, wrong Indian tribe. Most of you people know nothing of us. Maybe we all here know something about how OFA works, myself included, but how about trying, yah know, maybe just a hair to tone all of the rest of the conspiracy bullshit down for, yah know, maybe next week or something. Or even consider coming back to aid us in our Kool Aid detoxing when all the cameras go away.

  182. PMM, that’s not the same T-shirt I saw yesterday at one of the events we had during the memorial for Christina, unless they were handing out more than one kind. The LBGT community held another event in one of our park’s because there was an overflow of volunteers for the Angel-wings project. The two kids that were wearing them kinda looked like some of our proud queer community that can’t even afford to go to UofA had them on. I talked to them. They did not have a word to say about the president being in town. They were hyped for seeing Janet though. She had worked with Wingspan, our LBGT Center, and the Human Rights campaign here in Tucson a few times while she was governor sending her representatives to our fundraisers.

Comments are closed.