Spring. It haz Sprung.

I iz in Ur gardin, eeting Ur Flowerz.

It is March 21, officially the first day of Spring — although the Equinox was yesterday while we were bombing Libya.

Ah but Nature doesn’t care about our silly follies, does it now? That includes our penchant for imagining we can control nature. And so, Uppity is into Spring today. You should be into it too. Life is shorter than you imagine and I for one always secretly declare to myself that I am so glad to see yet another Spring.

Do not let this day go by without celebrating its meaning. I can assure you Congress and your President are having a good time. Go out there. Take a deep breath. Okay, okay, it might be still kind of messy out there, like it is where I am. But Spring is a PROMISE to those of us who know the joy of distinct seasons that there will be sun on your face,  leaves on those trees, forsythias are just around the corner and, before you know it, your non-Monsanto heirloom tomatoes will be growing! And they are still legal!

Spring cleaning. The only good thing about doing it is………it means it’s really Spring!

I myself just can’t get anything done! But I’m going to do it anyways. I’ve always hated cleaning, much less Spring cleaning. You clear the dust and before you’re done, it’s back! Such an exercise in futility. I hate recurring tasks! I have always enjoyed tasks that have a beginning and an end. Something where you get to rest on your laurels and enjoy the fruits of your work. That’s why I have always believed that the very best way to clean a house is to use the Yellow Pages.

Speaking of not being able to get anything done, exercises in futility and recurring tasks: (h/t McNorman)

For everybody else, there’s Vivaldi.

82 Responses

  1. Ah! I knew there must have been a reason I spent six hours yesterday cleaning the house! It must be instinct!

    Nice post, Uppity. Happy Spring!

  2. SPRING! I see signs of life all over! Trees are budding, the daffodils are poking through, the early tulips are just beginning to stretch their leaves up!
    I’m with you on the cleaning thing Uppity- I hate doing things that don’t STAY DONE! I did start pulling a closet apart yesterday. Slow and steady and I will get it done!

  3. Hooray, it’s spring!! Of course, it’s snowing in CT right now! Way to go CT–didn’t you check the calendar. And to think, I was just admiring the crocuses yesterday!

  4. good morning (((uppity’s))))

    LOVE the Cat VIDEO——and spring to all !!

  5. sorry ——that’s Happy spring to all

  6. Boy this will sound strange but I love cleaning. It is very rewarding to sit and enjoy a clean house. I am overboard on clean I think. I can not understand how some peeps can live in the mess they call home seriously. Ah but this moving in thing well that is a whole different matter lol. Then once I am done with the house ( are you ever really done ? ) then I have a yard to design and get planted.
    Hmm must be about time for slugs and snails too. Going to try Upps beer treatment. I have slugs here the
    size of house cats !
    Oh well enjoy yet another beautiful day on Gods planet and will catch you all later. Tons of work to do and breaks have to be short.

  7. Yes, Spring wind is here. No matter how much I dust or mop, I am that mama cat on the slide. Weeeeee, the spring winds are a joke on me. 😀

  8. It’s been ‘spring’ here for a while – my strawberry plants have been flowering and some fruits are set, and my peppers are close to blooming. My petunias and snapdragons are blooming like mad, and my roses have already budded. Naturally, my allergies have gone haywire.

    Today, though, the high is dropping 20 degrees, thanks to the weather system moving in from California.

    YAY RAIN! Clean the crap out of the air!

    Utah: Come to my house. I need help.🙂

  9. Well, good thing I wrote this post late last night before the SNOW that started coming down hours ago. It’s winter here.

  10. Bravo, bravo. Wonderful spring post. Mama Cat busy, busy, busy. Adorable kitty sliding backwards down the slide. Beautiful flowers with a backdrop of Vivaldi. Aah, spring.

    I’ve been outside any time the sun came out the last 4 days even though some days it was in the mid 50’s (I bundled up since I’ve been fighting the bug so many have had this winter) and I even have a little sunburn on my face. Rain last night and for the rest of the week, but I’ve experienced spring sunshine, so it’s okay.

  11. utah just as soon as you are seeing mild weather regularly, those slugs will be visiting, especially if you are getting rain, they love Wet. So you are smart to start NOW, don’t wait till they are hanging out in your driveway one morning. Don’t blink. Go after the little bastages. I start in April but my assumption is you are not getting winter days any longer, so you are wise to get going.

  12. How you feeling Michelina?

  13. Doesn’t mulching plants bring the slugs. I stopped mulching a few years ago and so far, no slugs even though I have alot of hostas.

  14. Yup BCL, anything that holds moisture in like that will help the little things breed. They are hermaphrodies besides, so they are pretty busy.

  15. I’m doing OK UW: get better everyday

    thank you for asking

  16. Woke up to 3 inches of wet slushy sticky heavy spring.

  17. Happy spring all.

    UW, it’s Navruz, the Iranian New Year dating back to the country’s pre-Islamic past. http://www.unesco.org/culture/ich/index.php?RL=00282; http://www.iranmap.com/
    The ayatollahs hate this Iranian holiday, and would like to ban it but don’t dare — they’d have a rebellion on their hands if they so much as tried.

  18. http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20110321/wl_nm/us_libya

    Putin unhelpfully likens the UN resolution to “medieval calls for crusades.” Fuel on the fire.

  19. A week of rain storms here. Plenty of water to flush toilets every hour!

  20. OK, you HAVE to check out this graphic over at John Smart’s place. Too funny (because it really could happen).

  21. The cost of the first day of the NFZ exceeded 100 million dollars. I guess those tomahawks don’t come cheap.

  22. Hilarious! Mind you, it’d be more likely to happen if the statue was of an Arab ‘king’.

  23. This foray will cost a half a billion before we are done. And in the end, the Libyans will burn our flag and call us devils. We should have just sent weapons and let them kill each other. It was too late anyways, and the dawdler in chief, typical of him, is out of the country, just like he’s always out of the country when he has to face something. What a Boob (tm, Hillary Is 44). Furthermore, unless Daffy Duck is taken out, he will have plenty of time to order attacks on this country, because plenty of his goatfuckers are here just waiting. We have better make up our minds to drill and actuallly REGULATE it sans Bribes — or say Good Night.

  24. Upps, the estimate for the US’s share for enforcing the NFW is around an additional 400 million, so you’re on- target with the half a billion estimate. Of course that’s not real $$$$$ in D.C.

  25. How can you call him a dawdler, UW?!? Doncha know he’s preparing to give a BIG speech in Chile on the next leg of his SambaTour of Latin America! He works hard for his livin’.

  26. Eh don’t worry, NES. Timmeh will print up some more money and soon the dollar will be worth 50 cents. Heck, it’s close to that now.

  27. NES you and I both know from experience that managers have to be able to think on their feet. They have to know the difference between an Important Decision and a Critical Decision. Critical decisions mean, like, NOW. This jerk wants to think about everything until it’s too late. He can’t distinguish between a decision and the…….FIERCE URGENCY OF NOW!!!

  28. He’s still looking for the “Present” button in the Oval Office.

  29. jW Smart has up another one of his genius Obama Scriptures posts:
    http://johnwsmart.wordpress.com/2011/03/20/a-reading-from-the-obama-scriptures-3/#comments

  30. Yes Upps, never was the phrase “fierce urgency of now” so ill-placed as in his mouth. Of course we all know what he was really talking about — his urgency to get his hands on WH toys and other perks.

  31. Touché, must!

  32. ROF Uppity spring time. It is snowing here. Spring thaw is usually in June here. All the rain hitting Cali has plenty of time to manifest it’s self into that white shit.
    Trouble with your beer idea for slugs will most likely mean two drunken ACD’s. Do they run AA for dogs ? lol.
    Boy this thing in Libya is nuts. They hate us but are never afraid to demand to use us. Arm them all with flame throwers and let them have at each other. Burn the place to the ground. Don’t want to arm them with anything more dangerous then that. Then when needed we can stand a safe distance and shoot them.

  33. Thanks NES! Anyone watching Barry on the TV in the presser with the president of Chile?? Anyone?? Bueller??

  34. it was on…lol.but I fixed it quick,,love that clicker 😆

  35. Anyone seen this piece: http://swampland.blogs.time.com/2011/03/20/why-the-u-s-went-to-war-inside-the-white-house-debate-on-libya/?xid=rss-topstories&utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+time%2Ftopstories+%28TIME%3A+Top+Stories%29

    I like the Libyan intervention even less now that I know it was strongly pushed by Samantha Powers (of “Hillary is a monster” fame). I do hope she doesn’t succeed Hill as SOS…just the kind of hateful thing BO would do.

  36. I don’t care who succeeds Hill as SOS as long as Hillary succeeds barry as POTUS.

  37. Not me…I’m eating!

    Has he given his most-important-speech-evah in Chile yet?

  38. NES Susan Rice also pushed for the trip to Libya. I suspect the reason it went on until it was too late was the intervention of the mental adolescents and Never Did Much But Theororize and Think About Things academics he surrounds himself with.

  39. Sorry imust but I will not watch him.

  40. He’s still looking for the “Present” button in the Oval Office.

    Perfect. And he can’t find it so he manages to be Absent as often as possible.

  41. I just begged John to let me cross-post. I would offer to wash his windows to cross-post that.

  42. I TOLD you they would use human shields. They want us to bomb a child they molested last night first. Then all of Libya will call us child killers, wondering how it is that we can’t see from the air exactly who is getting hit, since we are the USA, the Great Satan. It’s the same old story.

  43. those gfr,s always use human shields or hide in the mosques👿

  44. Having fun!

  45. For a different story, Yemeni protestors may be on the upsurge now. Some key army generals have sided with the demonstrators and Saleh’s days may be numbered. As with this region, good news/ bad news — al-Qaeda is particularly strong in Yemen. It’s always been near and dear to OBL – his mother is Yemeni.

  46. More dancing?

  47. Absolutely, Anthony called it the Soros Samba.

  48. What’s he got a sock stuffed in his crotch?

  49. Ahahahahahaha, that’s for all the ladeez. Prolly learned it from Favreau, the groper.

  50. It’s good to see Barack commisserating with his mental and intellectual peers, isn’t it? Maybe he can get some foreign policy advice.

  51. http://www.newser.com/article/d9m2fc480/michelle-obama-speaks-to-brazilian-youth-on-trip-is-wowed-by-drum-dance-group.html

  52. Look at the girl standing behind off to the side. I’m sure she is wondering when he works?

  53. NES I think you gave the definitive advice in the other thread. Take one of those places that is held by the Taliban or Al Q, level it into a parking lot and then let them figure out whether or not they want to screw with us any longer. We get hit, we take the whole country out. We should have leveled Afghanistan a long time ago. Hopefully, we could get the women and girls out first but only if they get out of those trash bags and come here to be treated like humans. Any boy over 5 is already lost and programmed, probably.

  54. OMG! That picture you posted mcnorman…..Hillary is 44 has a Carmen Miranda video up and he looks just like her in that photo above!!
    DE…..a little photo shop perhaps??

  55. What a guy, that Barack is.

  56. mcnorman= “Look at the girl standing behind off to the side. I’m sure she is wondering when he works?”

    That’s one of the people he charmed, mcnorman!

  57. Oh Hal, I thought she might have heard of the incredible hard working HRC and is just shocked looking at him doing nothing. In some countries SOS is a much more important position than prez.

  58. If you want to find pics on his royal pain, you can find them at this site. http://www.daylife.com/photo/0ae31bAfBQfTC?q=obama

    Just note, they usually disappear quickly.

  59. even tho I’m @work and haven’t had a moment to even look at the video (not to mention the comments) , I want to thank you for the wonderful picture of the cat in the garden. It made my day.

    Yesterday despite the cold and damp of chicago (rainy and chilly) I changed my bedding from winter down comforter to bright spring-y flower -y spread and sheets. It made me smile everytime I wlked past the bedroom.

    Happy Spring Everyone!! 🙂🙂

  60. What’s he doing with that finger again?

  61. imust, I don’t even want to know, but that finger is always doing something.

  62. This doesn’t sound good:

    Tokyo (CNN) — Smoke spewed Monday from two adjacent reactors in the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant, a nuclear safety official said, setbacks that came despite fervent efforts to prevent the further release of radioactive materials at the stricken facility.
    After 6 p.m., white smoke was seen emanating from the facility’s No. 2 reactor, according to Hidehiko Nishiyama, an official with Japan’s Nuclear and Industrial Safety Agency. About two hours earlier, workers were evacuated from the area around the No. 3 reactor after gray smoke began to rise from the wreckage of its steel-and-concrete housing, which was blown apart by a hydrogen explosion last week.

  63. O looks COMPLETELY FUCKED UP in that last photo.

    Completely.

    What a guy. Americans in harm’s way again and he goes on a binge trade mission.

  64. Isn’t that his FU pose?

  65. NES, ALL his posing is FU’d

  66. No that’s his Oh Goodie, can we play with the bumper cars next? And have ice cream, pleassssssse? look.

    What do you expect from a ten year old.

  67. Oh yeah. Like this

    http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcT9GCfVG6ZQ0eooEWT280s68ybPsNTerfvTNpDHb8wXoKtiLRSx&t=1

  68. President Obama! We’re at war with Iraq, Afghanistan, and are bombing Libya…..Egypt just overthrew a despot, there was an earthquake of biblical proportion, a tsunami causing tens of thousands to be killed and putting Japan on the verge of nuclear meltdown, oil is or is not😉 still oozing from the bottom of the Gulf….whatta ya’ gonna do next???
    Obama: “I’M GOING TO DISNEYLAND!!” 🙂

  69. HAHAHA imust is on a roll.

    Not sure McN. Like I said, Rangel has been trying to do this since Before Obama. However, it would be just like Barack to use a draft as a way to reduce unemployment.

  70. Oh Uppity —just what was needed today and the cat animation loop, ultracharming. Normality, a brief breath of it.

    happy Spring to all……….
    from me.

  71. ps: that looks like a Capoeira demo? (my spelling might be off) it’s a cross between dance and martial arts. But? with the gravity of the rest of what is going on? Geez. Unreal. Un effing real.

    hugs.

  72. UW; Howdy! 1st day of spring? Here in Central Cali it is pouring down rain. It never fails, when my teams golf season starts, so does the bad weather. The bright side? I have 44 days until summer break, and I can spend a lot more time here posting NASCAR and classic country videos!

  73. Hey, a contest!

    Here are the real words to the song, “I go to Rio”:

    lyrics to I Go To Rio / Peter Allen

    Peter Allen
    I Go To Rio

    When my baby
    When my baby smiles at me I go to Rio
    De Janeiro, my-oh-me-oh
    I go wild and then I have to do the Samba
    And La Bamba
    Now I’m not the kind of person
    With a passionate persuasion for dancin’
    Or roma-ancin’
    But I give in to the rhythm
    And my feet follow the beatin’ of my hear-eart
    Woh-ho-oh-oh, when my baby
    When my baby smiles at me I go to Rio
    De Janeiro
    I’m a Salsa fellow
    When my baby smiles at me
    The sun’ll lightens up my li-ife
    And I am free at last, what a blast
    Woh-ho-oh-oh, when my baby
    When my baby smiles at me
    I feel like Tarzan, of the Jungle
    There on the hot sand
    And in a bungalow while monkeys play above-a,
    We-ee make love-a
    Now I’m not the type to let vibrations (Rio…)
    Trigger my imagination easily (Rio…)
    You know that’s just not me
    But I turn into a tiger (Rio…)
    Everytime I get beside the – one I love (Rio…)
    Woh, oh, woh, woh-oh…, Rio… – Rio…
    Yeah Ugh – Rio… – Ugh
    Woh-ho-oh-oh, when my ba-a-aby (when my baby)
    When my baby smiles at me I go to Rio (Rio…)
    De Janeiro
    I’m a Salsa fellow-ow
    When my baby smiles at me
    The sun’ll lightens u-up my li-ife
    And I am free at last, what a blast
    When my baby (when my baby)
    When my baby smiles at me I go to Rio (Rio…)
    That’s when I go to Rio (Rio)
    Rio – Rio De Janeir-eiro
    Rio…., Rio…., Rio….

  74. And here’s the version I’ve been working on – I just got through the first stanza. Any who has an idea – help me! – modify it! Thx!

    When my Hillary
    When my Hillary makes me work I go to Rio
    De Janeiro, my-oh-me-oh
    I go fleeing and bring my whole family
    And we vacay with taxpayer money
    Now I’m not the kind of person
    With a passionate persuasion for leading
    Or deciding
    But I give in to the urge to flee
    And my feet follow the beatin’ of my hear-eart
    Woh-ho-oh-oh, when my Hillary
    When my Hillary says it’s 3 am, I go to Rio
    De Janeiro

    I’m a Salsa fellow
    When my baby smiles at me
    The sun’ll lightens up my li-ife
    And I am free at last, what a blast
    Woh-ho-oh-oh, when my baby
    When my baby smiles at me
    I feel like Tarzan, of the Jungle
    There on the hot sand
    And in a bungalow while monkeys play above-a,
    We-ee make love-a
    Now I’m not the type to let vibrations (Rio…)
    Trigger my imagination easily (Rio…)
    You know that’s just not me
    But I turn into a tiger (Rio…)
    Everytime I get beside the – one I love (Rio…)
    Woh, oh, woh, woh-oh…, Rio… – Rio…
    Yeah Ugh – Rio… – Ugh
    Woh-ho-oh-oh, when my ba-a-aby (when my baby)
    When my baby smiles at me I go to Rio (Rio…)
    De Janeiro
    I’m a Salsa fellow-ow
    When my baby smiles at me
    The sun’ll lightens u-up my li-ife
    And I am free at last, what a blast
    When my baby (when my baby)
    When my baby smiles at me I go to Rio (Rio…)
    That’s when I go to Rio (Rio)
    Rio – Rio De Janeir-eiro
    Rio…., Rio…., Rio….

  75. Spring haz sprung
    the grass has riz
    I wonder where the flowers is
    the bird is on the wing.

    But that’s absoid
    becaue I’ve heard
    the wing is on the bird.

    Happy spring to all. It’s a time of re-generation. A time of hope and budding life. I love the spring – it smells so good and I live in a major metropolitan area so it’s difficult to smell good things, but spring overcomes all. I’ve been leaving my door open for the last week just to get fresh air into the house, and I have my handy dandy binoculars available so I can zero in on the returning birds and there are so many birdsongs that I can’t identify them all. I noticed my croci and hyacinths were inching up and had broken ground today. Spring is beautiful.

  76. On a happier note, or rather one that will bring a smile, it seems that Kobe beef may have to be quarantined due to radiation issues. My oh my, where will poor Barack get his steaks?

    http://www.cnbc.com/id/42185922

    You can still get wagyu beef here in America (oh please!) but that’s not the stuff Barry likes to sink his teeth into.

  77. Just have to weigh in on the draft thing. I just can not imagine the fear should I know that my son was in harm’s way with some punk who did not want to be there supposedly watching his back. Our troops do not need the whiners and criers with no work ethic getting in the way, or worse- running for cover- when there is work to be done.
    The unfortunate reality is the children of self important officials won’t end up on the front lines. There will be deferments and there will be bean counting desk jobs. Where they can do as they have been brought up to do- look down on the grunts who actually do the work.

  78. Ah you haven’t heard, Mom. They completely changed basic training to accommodate the little wimps. No more pushups either. No sir. That’s too harrrrrrrrrrrd! Cell phone mastery is now considered a strategic skill. No kidding. My DOG can hit 911. I have had a post started on this subject forever. It’s just to disgusting to write. I have one article where one of them says This Is So Fun!

  79. I agree PMM, the rich and connected will never send their sons and daughters.
    lorac! Great song!

  80. Bahahaha Fredster! There will be Kobe beef withdrawal!!!

  81. Sisypuss.

Comments are closed.