While we worry about Japan’s food exports, I think I’ll pass on the BP crab bake.

I’m sure everybody here remembers all the ongoing publicity associated with the Valdez spill. The reports and warnings went on for years.

Exponentially larger and more devasting than the Valdez spill, BP’s spill  has disappeared from the radar. Odd, that. But not surprising, with this “Environmental” President and a Congress that stopped representing our actual welfare long ago.

But not to worry. Genetic engineers will soon create all the Almost-Seafood you will ever need. Don’t expect labels on the packaging though.

Okay. Back to worrying about Libyans instead of Our Own. 

65 Responses

  1. Fish! The new dark meat!

  2. Polynuclear aeromatics. Doesn’t sound good to eat does it. Luckily I don’t eat creepy crawlies from the sea. Why were they stuffing those poor crabs in that little jar.

  3. BCL they stuffed them in the jars as specimens. Would you prefer you didn’t know what was in those crabs given what spilled and was dumped into the ocean by BP? I know you don’t eat fish but that doesn’t mean the rest of us don’t, so we need to know just what lies we are being told before the three headed fishies show up in a decade. I’ve given up any fish that doesn’t have the origin clearly identified. If it’s from the gulf, I refuse to eat it. If they say they don’t “know” where it came from, I assume it’s from the Gulf. Many fish mongers are refusing that fish because their customers have clearly made it known they do not want to be poisoned by BP. So they feed it to the poor in weighted supermarket styrofoam, to add insult to injury, they are paying for heavily weighted containers in that “sale” price. If we think health care is expensive now, wait till people start getting ill from gulf fish. I’m also sure they will “test” Japanese food imports and come up with an “acceptable” level of radiation, like they do with everything else for their beloved Big Agra. When they say it’s “less radiation than you would get in a dental Xray,” all I can think of is, Yeah but i don’t get a dental Xray every day.

  4. No dispersant “sniffers,” Mom!

  5. Oh yes Uppity- Japan already came up with an “acceptable” level of radiation in fish- subject to change of course. Won’t be long before the wimps in DC adopt the same standard.
    Not me- I won’t eat Gulf anymore and am also giving up anything caught off the west coast.
    It’s Maine, Icelandic or nothing for me.

  6. Ah yes- here we are-
    http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/businesstechnology/2014678533_apasjapanearthquake.html

  7. Just kidding with the question about stuffing the crabs in the little jar, but they should each get their own jar if they are still alive. How would you like to be stuffed into a little jar with your little legs flailing around. Ok, I’m picturing you in a little jar with legs flailing. I’m in a silly mood today – not enough sleep. Ignore me.

  8. PMM FuckUshima has gone Chernobyl. Do you think all those “experts” are being questioned on the TV yet that said there was NOTHING to worry about so move along.

  9. DE- I saw that upgrade to Chernobyl level. Sad is it not? And sadder still that we knew it weeks ago and yet the PTB continue to spew their BS and expect us to swallow it whole.

  10. And lol on the not worrying and moving along. I am just not good at that following blindly along the primrose path thing. I missed that “ignorance is bliss” memo. lol

  11. Big time fish eater here and it pains me that I am going to have to forgo most of what I love. It is getting beyond ridiculous as to what we are supposedly to buy into these days.
    “Going green ” I take literally meaning when they are done with this green movement I will be ” Glowing Green “

  12. When they say it’s “less radiation than you would get in a dental Xray,” all I can think of is, Yeah but i don’t get a dental Xray every day

    Indeed…and those who work at the dentist office always run out before taking the x ray…AND they even give you a lead apron to take the” harmless ”
    picture.

    The people who lied about how bad the oil gusher and nuke reactor was are going to lie about the food…while importing the purest for themselves
    of course.

    The job of most institutions right now is to lie to us .
    That’s their only job as they see it .

  13. FF, post Sophie! 🙂

  14. Lorac – she’s on my blog

  15. Everyone must have had seafood Gulf Shrimp and grits for breakfast.

  16. FF- great post at your place!
    And I never, ever eat grits. EVER! Grit is what Nana put in the bottom of the parakeets cage.

  17. My apologies to any eaters of the above mentioned food stuff. Husband eats the damn grits all the time. Blech. Right up there with calves liver in my book. On the do not eat even if starving list.
    BBL- have to go copy something and send it to the lawyer.

  18. Yes, great post, FF!

  19. Thanks PMM and NES – but I didn’t write it. Just asked to post it. It’s that important, IMO

  20. Loved the “two jerk parties” one too. A tour de force.

  21. LOL – now THAT ONE I’ll take credit for~!

  22. Grits are something I never understood. Why would people eat something that you can use to fix cracks in sidewalks?

  23. “Why would people eat something that you can use to fix cracks in sidewalks?”

    ROFLMAO! It’s the texture of the things I can’t stand- feels in the mouth exactly like it’s name. Grit.
    And yes- I have tried them more than once- just to make sure it was not the cook. Nope, it’s not the cook. They feel like grit no matter who cooks them.

  24. The job of most institutions right now is to lie to us .
    That’s their only job as they see it .

    Lying is secondary to their first job, the whole reason for lying: Profiteering.

  25. I have to wonder who eats crab cakes. Horrible things and what a waste. Crab needs to be eaten fresh and crack the legs and spray the juice as you are cracking them on the guy next to you. It is an art form in and of its self

  26. utah- ROFLMAO on the crab. I don’t do crab- except soft shell or crab cakes. WAY too much work for a tiny little speck of meat. Husband grew up down south so he does not mind so much- Me? I like my seafood piping hot. Crab is always stone cold by the time it’s picked.
    Give me fresh Maine Lobster every time!

  27. Corn and crab soup,using fresh Dungeness crabmeat is special. Try it, Mom.

  28. My crab is never cold. I cook it myself. Oh and the King crab legs can’t be beat. Smacking them and spraying the guy next to you great fun. Lobster is ok but I think folks make more of it then it is worth. Speaking of Lobster I am making lobster ravioli with Alfredo sauce for my dinner tonight.

  29. Is there any crab in a crab cake ? I sure never tasted it before.

  30. They burst with crab, Utah. The good ones do, anyway.

  31. Corn and crab soup is good- have had it- and I like she-crab soup too.
    must be regional preference- but I prefer the taste of lobster over crab. And there is lot more meat in a lobster that you can get out in nice big pieces.
    Husband has cooked crab for me- telling me it would surely be hot because he cooked it. Nope- they take so damn long to pick out the little bits of meat that the last half is cold before the first half is picked.
    The only crab I have ever eaten that was hot first bite to last was in Chinatown in Boston. Sauteed soft shell crabs. Eat it all. No picking. Yummy!

  32. I’ve quit eating shrimp from the Gulf which was a staple food for me up until a year ago. The last time I bought shrimp at my ghetto winn dixie, the veins were thick with black, gritty stuff that was so oily it stuck to my fingers when I tried to de-vein them.

    For more disturbing tests, check out LEAN Louisiana here: http://www.leanweb.org/

  33. Oh, I should warn you that some of the pix of dead dolphins and turtles on the LEAN site will cause tears.

  34. utah- sounds yummy! Haven’t had any lobster since the prices went crazy. Sis brings them when she comes out- she has ins on Cape Cod. I am not paying 10 to 12 bucks a pound for lobsters that have been sitting around for who knows how long losing flesh.
    Makes them all the better when I do have them.

  35. I love shellfish and fish, so having to give them up is sob inducing. Of course, the price will go up on the fish from unoiled, unradiated waters, so it will be out of my price range.

    Dak, that website has a lot of very disturbing information, and you’re right about the tears.

  36. You can have your crab and you can have your warm water lobster. Nothing and I mean Nothing beats Maine lobster.

  37. “Nothing beats Maine lobster.”

    Hear, Hear!
    We used to drive up to the area around Wells Maine- there was a restaurant on a pier- the lobster boats would pull right up to the kitchen! Had to get there early- cuz they only bought enough for that one day- after it was gone- you waited til the next day.
    Fresh, sweet, Maine lobster! Nothing like it anywhere on Earth!

  38. I think we should all pitch in and send Bwaaaaak and Imelda a case of fresh Gulf Oysters and Shrimp.

    From “We the People”

  39. Uppity – I agree about Maine Lobster, but Apalachicola Oysters were some of the best in the world.

    Note the past-tense.

  40. FF- baby bawaaaack wants to be anonymous? He wants to take a walk?
    Good- let him go walk on the dead Gulf beaches and harvest his own poison.
    And while we’re at it- let’s send him and his wife and kids some of those god-awful school lunches mcnorman wrote about.

  41. From the link about Japan given by PMM upthread:

    “Also Tuesday, TEPCO announced that samples taken from seawater near one of the reactors contained 7.5 million times the legal limit for radioactive iodine on April 2. Two days later, that figure dropped to 5 million.

    The company said in a statement that even those large amounts would have “no immediate impact” on the environment but added that it was working to stop the leak as soon as possible.”

    Just lovely. Jesus…. “no immediate impact” means what??? You don’t keel over immediately?

    How comforting.

  42. He can take long waaaalks after he’s turfed out in Nov.
    I too found that little meme re why Bawaaaak must play so much golf sickening. They think we’re eeejits.

  43. Hal,

    http://www.time.com/time/photogallery/0,29307,2064134,00.html

    It’s heartbreaking. Animals left fending for themselves. Bodies that have yet to be recovered. A horror movie turned reality.

  44. Desiree Rogers thinks that we are eejits. After reading about how she feels about herself, it’s no wonder that Barack and the others live in a fantasy.

  45. One can always count on both parties for a daily helping of hypocrisy.
    http://thehill.com/homenews/house/155509-hoyer-joins-obama-in-calling-past-vote-on-debt-ceiling-a-mistake

  46. Ding ding ding! Uppity calls it again! In an earlier post she said
    “He may or may not end up in a coma again, depending on whether or not there is going to be a trial.”

    Today I read this
    “SHARM EL-SHEIKH, Egypt – Former Egyptian President Hosni Mubarak was abruptly hospitalized Tuesday for heart problems during an investigation over allegations of corruption and violence against protesters, reported state TV.”
    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/ml_egypt;_ylt=AvbDrUh_NQaRaigtxo8.xnRv24cA;_ylu=X3oDMTJzb2F1czhtBGFzc2V0A2FwLzIwMTEwNDEyL21sX2VneXB0BGNjb2RlA21wX2VjXzhfMTAEY3BvcwMyBHBvcwMyBHNlYwN5bl90b3Bfc3RvcmllcwRzbGsDZWd5cHRzbXViYXJh

    BBL- blue cheese meatloaf

  47. On a little lighter note, I stole this video from Hill is 44. I haven’t seen this one before – cat kissing dolphin:

  48. Yes siree, mcn. It’s like everyone in the WH is on a wheeeeeee joy ride.

  49. Checking in, are you ever right. Ocean and food chain need the clean up asap. hugs, all.

  50. Bitter clingers 1 criminals 0

    “State House approves “Castle Doctrine”
    Tuesday, April 12, 2011
    By Tracie Mauriello, Post-Gazette Harrisburg Bureau

    HARRISBURG — The state House this afternoon overwhelmingly approved a bill expanding people’s right to defend themselves and their families.

    The legislation removes the obligation to first seek a reasonable attempt to get away before using lethal force in self-defense.

    “Now there will be no duty to retreat. You can defend yourself,” said bill sponsor Scott Perry, R-York.

    Read more: http://www.post-gazette.com/pg/11102/1138815-100.stm?cmpid=latest.xml#ixzz1JLyCM6F0

  51. Hee haw!

  52. Thanks for this incredibly important post, Uppity. And PMM for links. Very clearly the government really doesn’t care about its citizenry. Ah well we knew that.

    I live on the West Coast and have always enjoyed our seafood. No more. No more for my cats either. I wonder what places like Red Lobster and other seafood restaurants will do.

  53. OMG that cat and dolphin video! I should put that up. Amazing!

  54. BCL, that dolphin cat video is amazing. The cat is just like my Dinah was as a youngster (may she RIP). Brought a chuckle and a wonderful remembrance of all my experiences with my girl. Thank you for posting it.

  55. OMG that cat and dolphin video! I should put that up. Amazing!

    pfffft

    I sent that you HOURS ago!

    hurrumph

  56. FF, you’re amazing – all those wondrous headers and such. All the residents of Uppityville respect you and your talents so very much.

  57. I sent that you HOURS ago!

    Well excuse me for daring to have a life and not opening your email the minute it arrived. I saw BCL’s first because I monitor the board before my fifty zillion emails when I get to my computer.

  58. Ding ding ding! Uppity calls it again! In an earlier post she said
    “He may or may not end up in a coma again, depending on whether or not there is going to be a trial.”

    Goatfucker Psychic Hotline.

  59. He can take long waaaalks after he’s turfed out in Nov.

    He’s a Chicago gangster, NES. He will do what he has to do to win and it won’t be prety …and he won’t care if it’s not pretty so long as it works for him.

  60. Mom, cold water lobster is more tender, much sweeter and the claws are chuck full of sweet meat. The tails in big sizes can cost 30 bucks a pound right now. We always have them at Christmas though. Oh man, that is some lobster. Hope there’s some left after Michelle finishes scarfing it all down. I’m sure that’s the lobster she eats. You can bet on it.

  61. Oh, I should warn you that some of the pix of dead dolphins and turtles on the LEAN site will cause tears.

    I just cannot look.

  62. Well. The boring man whose name reminds me of Italian cornmeal has officially announced he is running for President.

  63. So who are the animals in our country?

    Cat shows up home with arrow in his head. Look how cute he is.
    http://www.foxnews.com/us/2011/04/12/california-cat-12-inch-arrow-head/?test=faces

  64. “Uppity Woman, on April 12, 2011 at 11:23 PM said: Edit Comment

    I sent that you HOURS ago!

    Well excuse me for daring to have a life and not opening your email the minute it arrived. I saw BCL’s first because I monitor the board before my fifty zillion emails when I get to my computer.”

    ++++++++++++++

    I don’t even know how to respond to this.

  65. Well damn, FF, I always open yours first, even if it IS five hours later….

Comments are closed.