Happy Independence Day, Americans! Do you know the Price they paid??

THE SIGNERS
Gary Hildrith

Have you ever wondered what happened to the fifty-six men who signed the Declaration of Independence?

This is the price they paid:

Five signers were captured by the British as traitors, and tortured before they died. Twelve had their homes ransacked and burned. Two lost their sons in the revolutionary army, another had two sons captured. Nine of the fifty-six fought and died from wounds or hardships resulting from the Revolutionary War.

These men signed, and they pledged their lives, their fortunes, and their sacred honor!

What kind of men were they? Twenty-four were lawyers and jurists. Eleven were merchants. Nine were farmers and large plantation owners. All were men of means, well educated. But they signed the Declaration of Independence knowing full well that the penalty could be death if they were captured.

Carter Braxton of Virginia, a wealthy planter and trader, saw his ships swept from the seas by the British navy. He sold his home and properties to pay his debts, and died in rags.

Thomas McKeam was so hounded by the British that he was forced to move his family almost constantly. He served in the Congress without pay, and his family was kept in hiding. His possessions were taken from him, and poverty was his reward.

Vandals or soldiers or both, looted the properties of Ellery, Clymer, Hall, Walton, Gwinnett, Heyward, Ruttledge, and Middleton.

Perhaps one of the most inspiring examples of “undaunted resolution” was at the Battle of Yorktown. Thomas Nelson, Jr. was returning from Philadelphia to become Governor of Virginia and joined General Washington just outside of Yorktown. He then noted that British General Cornwallis had taken over the Nelson home for his headqurt, but that the patriot’s were directing their artillery fire all over the town except for the vicinity of his own beautiful home. Nelson asked why they were not firing in that direction, and the soldiers replied, “Out of respect to you, Sir.” Nelson quietly urged General Washington to open fire, and stepping forward to the nearest cannon, aimed at his own house and fired. The other guns joined in, and the Nelson home was destroyed. Nelson died bankrupt.

Francis Lewis’s Long Island home was looted and gutted, his home and properties destroyed. His wife was thrown into a damp dark prison cell without a bed. Health ruined, Mrs. Lewis soon died from the effects of the confinement. The Lewis’s son would later die in British captivity, also.

“Honest John” Hart was driven from his wife’s bedside as she lay dying, when British and Hessian troops invaded New Jersey just months after he signed the Declaration. Their thirteen children fled for their lives. His fields and his grist mill were laid to waste. All winter, and for more than a year, Hart lived in forests and caves, finally returning home to find his wife dead, his chidren vanished and his farm destroyed. Rebuilding proved too be too great a task. A few weeks later, by the spring of 1779, John Hart was dead from exhaustion and a broken heart.

Norris and Livingston suffered similar fates.

New Jersey’s Richard Stockton, after rescuing his wife and children from advancing British troops, was betrayed by a loyalist, imprisoned, beaten and nearly starved. He returned an invalid to find his home gutted, and his library and papers burned. He, too, never recovered, dying in 1781 a broken man.

William Ellery of Rhode Island, who marveled that he had seen only “undaunted resolution” in the faces of his co-signers, also had his home burned.

Only days after Lewis Morris of New York signed the Declaration, British troops ravaged his 2,000-acre estate, butchered his cattle and drove his family off the land. Three of Morris’ sons fought the British.

When the British seized the New York houses of the wealthy Philip Livingston, he sold off everything else, and gave the money to the Revolution. He died in 1778.

Arthur Middleton, Edward Rutledge and Thomas Heyward Jr. went home to South Carolin tight. In the British invasion of the South, Heyward was wounded and all three were captured. As he rotted on a prison ship in St. Augustine, Heyward’s plantation was raided, buildings burned, and his wife, who witnessed it all, died. Other Southern signers suffered the same general fate.

Among the first to sign had been John Hancock, who wrote in big, bold script so George III “could read my name without spectacles and could now double his reward for 500 pounds for my head.” If the cause of the revolution commands it, roared Hancock, “Burn Boston and make John Hancock a beggar!”

Here were men who believed in a cause far beyond themselves.

Such were the stories and sacrifices of the America revolution. These were not wild eyed, rabble-rousing ruffians. They were soft-spoken men of means and education. They had security, but they valued liberty more. Standing tall, straight, and unwavering, they pledged: “For the support of this Declaration, with firm reliance on the protection of the Divine Providence, we mutually pledge to each other, our lives, our fortunes, and our sacred honor.”

What price are you willing to pay to keep our Republic safe from any and all, foreign or domestic, who would work to take it away from us?

Remember that composition your teacher made you write in 8th Grade? The one entitled, “What America Means To Me”?

Perhaps today is a good day to re-write it. We also have beloved immigrants as members of this forum. Perhaps today would be a good day to write your composition, to help those of us who were born here and take America for granted understand how lucky we really are. You have your assignment, Uppityites!

Meanwhile, I dare somebody to tell me I can’t play this:

You and what army??? We are America and we are going to STAY America!

79 Responses

  1. “A patriot must always be ready to defend his country against his government” – Edward Abbey

    Happy Birthday, America, you great big beautiful, messy, shining, incorrigible, glorious You!

    Nothing, and nobody, shall ever stop me from loving you.🙂

  2. Thanks for this tribute to our homeland and for the vids. They reminded me of a poem I learned long ago in school – “Hats off, the flag is passing by”.

    “Hats Off! The Flag Is Passing By” (circa 1880s)
    Words by H. H. Bennett
    Music by James Hazard Wilson

    [Source: pp. 90-92 from “Naval Songs” Compiled
    by S. B. Luce (1902; 1918)]

    1. Blue and crimson and white it shines,
    Over the steeltipped serried lines;
    The colors before us fly;
    But more than the flag is passing by.
    Sea fights and land fights grim and great,
    Fought to make and to save the state;—
    Weary marches, and sinking ships;
    Cheers of victory on dying lips.

    CHORUS 1
    Hats off! Hats off! Hats off!
    The flag, the flag is passing by,
    Along the street there comes
    A blaze of bugles, a ruffle of drums,
    A flash of color beneath the sky,
    Hats off! Hats off! Hats off!
    The flag is passing by.

    2. Days of plenty and days of peace;
    March of a strong land’s swiftincrease;
    Equal justise, right and law,
    Stately honor and rev’rend awe.
    Sign of a nation great and strong,
    To ward her people from foreign wrong;
    Pride and glory and honor all,
    Live in the colors, to stand or fall.

    CHORUS 2
    Hats off! Hats off! Hats off!
    The flag, the flag is passing by,
    Along the street there comes
    A blaze of bugles, a ruffle of drums,
    And loyal hearts are beating high,
    Hats off! Hats off! Hats off!
    The flag is passing by.

  3. No goats were harmed during the production of this post.

  4. Remember four years ago when Dick Obama wouldn’t wear a flag pin or say the Pledge of Allegiance?

    He said he didn’t need to prove his loyalty Then when he found out focus groups didn’t like it he quietly flip-flopped.

    He has more flip-flops than the whole state of Florida.

  5. He’s proven a lot of things about himself since January 2009, but one of them is definitely not his loyalty.

  6. Happy Birthday America! Wonderful post Uppity- and yes- we who were by luck born in the greatest country ever to grace this planet do need to be reminded of the terrible price of freedom.

  7. Yup those dear, dear menz sacrificed all the women and chilen ………
    lost those possessions too. Yup the cattle and the women, cast aside for the cause, heart warming.

  8. It is now official- Havahd has completely lost it. Rev Amy has a post up at NQ-
    http://www.noquarterusa.net/blog/2011/07/03/celebrating-the-fourth-of-july-you-must-be-a-republican/
    “Celebrating The Fourth Of July? You Must Be A Republican…

    By a slight, statistically insignificant margin, according to a new Harvard Study.

    No, I am not making this up. Really. I swear. Paul Bedard had this report in the US World and News Report, “Harvard: July 4th Parades Are Right-Wing.” Who knew, right? I just thought these parades were celebrating the Independence of our country. Who knew that they were really right wing breeding grounds? Or so these Harvard researchers claim:’

  9. From Rev Amy’s internal link to the article she cited
    http://www.hks.harvard.edu/news-events/news/articles/4th-july-paper-david-yanagizawa-drott

    • Fourth of July celebrations have a significant impact upon people’s political preferences;
    • Attending one Fourth of July before age 18 increases the likelihood of identifying as a Republican by at least 2 percent and voting for the Republican candidate by 4 percent. It also increases voter turnout by 0.9 percent and boosts political campaign contributions by 3 percent. ”

    I must be a total freak then- cuz up until the 08 I voted D every single time. As did my parents. And my siblings. And our neighbors. I have never, not once, missed an Independence Day celebration.
    At least I know I am in good company here!
    I am taking my grandsons to the local fireworks tonight. Should I just tell them it’s my birthday party? I don’t want to take a chance of creating any Republicans.

  10. Great post Uppity. Happy 4th all. I am going to foul the night air with smoke as I shoot up tons of fireworks, harm the enviroment by boiling potatos for my salad and oh dare I say it ? Fire up the grill.
    Enjoy your day and never forget what it is all about.

  11. Happy Birthday America from a proud Liberal Lesbian, Navy vet who celebrates the 4th of July every year.

    (Can you believe that in the Land of the Free and the Home of the Brave it is illegal for me to drive from my home in CT to Uppity’s home in NY with a bottle of raw milk for personal use? The Founding Fathers and Mothers would shudder!) Still, messed up as it is, I wouldn’t live anywhere else.

  12. Ayup as Paula Poundstone says in her comedy skit….the people on the left hate the people on the rgfht and vice versa. As they look from one side of the airplane to the other to gaze at the sights. God forbid people should see the same things, the right and the left are going to be surprised when the people in the MIDDLE vote!
    So it goes keep the people divided.
    Harvars does have some sickos lurking there, they roam among us.

  13. What America Means To Me by Proud Military Mom
    America- shining symbol of freedom, the land so many from all points across the globe give their all to reach. America! Country for which my grandparents left Europe and never looked back! America! Where the poorest of the poor are a thousand- nay- a million- no a TRILLION times better off than the richest in countries with no freedom to think, to speak, to worship, to vote as their conscience dictates.
    America- I share her birthday with pride. Can’t say as I remember ever having a birthday party solely for me- and I DO NOT regret it! I can only hope to live up to the responsibility and the honor of being lucky enough to have been born here in this great land. I am a Yankee Doodle Dandy, corny, patriotic song singing, flag waving American. Here in America I can still express my disgust with our elected officials by talking, writing and even demonstrating in the streets if I should care to do so. So many citizens of other countries can not express themselves- even in their own homes. Here in America I can still dress as I choose. Go to the church of my choice- or not. If I work hard I can have the luxury of the latest electronic gadgets of new appliances. I can plant my own garden and enjoy the fruits. Or I can go to any of many stores and purchase my food (being aware of Monsanto at all times of course.) So far nobody is forcing me to give my produce to the local government hacks or to buy at a government approved source.
    SO FAR! And so here in my America- I am FREE to research and disseminate the truth about our selected fraud- and to try again in 2012 to make them count my vote!
    America- she is not perfect. But for all her faults- I would never, ever want to live anywhere else! Freedom is not free. I would give my all for her!

  14. That was a homework assignment Comradess Uppity? Do I get extra credit for being the first to turn in my essay? lol

  15. WOW! FF! OUTSTANDING HEADER! You are the greatest!

  16. Happy 4th to all! Still hot and dry here, but atleast I’m free.

  17. Everybody must be out at the parade!

  18. I am not a very good writer and it would be foolish of me to attempt one on this board with all of you great writers. I’ll just say this; I never knew how patriotic I was until the New Democrats took over. I guess it’s the classic, “you don’t know what you have until you lose it.” Perhaps an exaggeration. We haven’t lost our freedoms, but for the first time in my life, I feel like we could. I wish I could say that I would take the same level of risks that the founding fathers did, but at best I can say that I will never go quietly!

  19. Happy Fourth all!

  20. Hmm- well I guess I can just keep posting patriotic songs- nobody around to keep me under control!

  21. • *”˜˜”*°•.¸☆ ★ ☆¸.•°*”˜˜”*°•.¸☆
    ╔╗╔╦══╦═╦═╦╗╔╗ ★ ★ ★
    ║╚╝║══║═║═║╚╝║ ☆¸.•°*”˜˜”*°•.¸☆
    ║╔╗║╔╗║╔╣╔╩╗╔╝ ★ 4th of July weekend☆
    ╚╝╚╩╝╚╩╝╚╝═╚╝ ♥¥☆★☆★☆¥♥ ★☆
    Wishing All My Friends a Happy and Safe Independence Day!!

  22. Excellent post Uppity!

  23. Happy Birthday Proud Military Mom!

  24. For PMM

  25. ♪★*.:。 ♪ Happy Birthday To You…
    ╔═══╗ ♪.:。 ♫!♪.:。 Happy Birthday To You…
    ║███║♫ ♥*.:。♫♫ Happy Birthday Dear Proud Military Mom!
    ║ (●) ♫ ♪ ♪★♪ Happy Birthday To You…
    ╚═══╝♫ !♥*.:。✿*゚‘♫゚✿*♪ Have A Very Blessed Day!!!🙂

  26. Happy Birthday to Mom and to our country.

    I am at a major crossroad in my life today, unexpectedly. Not sure how this will turn out but I think it will be a good change in my life. Fingers crossed for my future, either way.

  27. Happy Birthday America, The Beautiful, still.

  28. Happy Birthday PMM and Happy Birthday USA!

    That was a great read Uppity! I always learn something new everytime I visit, which is at least once a day!

    America, God done shed His Grace on Thee!

  29. Dedicated to The Signers and the price they paid for our freedom!

  30. Thanks for all the birthday wishes. What a lucky duck I am to have so many well wishers! Here’s one for those who keep us free! This is the only one I could find with the Coast Guard song in it

  31. I remember learning this in 6th grade (Mrs Myers was very progressive for her time- she was very close to retirement when she taught this to the 6th grade chorus rofl) She taught me to sing the descant above the chorus- which of course I taught to my siblings- we then taught it to my Mom and the rest of the family- and it has been a family favorite ever since!

  32. Happy Independence Day!

    Woody’s own version:

  33. Happy 4th to you Uppity Woman & Co! from Adrienne ps Uppity fab banner, as ever.

  34. Happy Birthday mom, and Happy Birthday America! As for Uppity’s assignment – what I will say is that after 9/11 – I FELT America would never be the same. The freedoms, the peace and the opportunity I had grown up with would surely change. And they did – moreso when the DNC and the RBC made a mockery of the voting process – stealing an election live and on national TeeVee to install some corrupt ideologue with no skills or abilities into the hardest job on earth – just to continue their corrupt ways and to rob this nation blind. That was harder to me than when the Muslim terrorists destroyed so many lives in New York, in Washington and in Shanksville. If we cannot keep our nation from the many hands of the many corrupt officials, we will know the same hatred and the same hopelessness that those in so many other nations know daily.

    ImustagreewithImust, that is self-evident when our freedoms are being taken away by those who would be Kings and Queens and see themselves as above us all. Although it was happening before in little ways, the boldness and veracity with which these freaks (current crop of ‘leaders’ in the WH and the Congress) are acting sets off a panic button in me that only strengthens my resolve to beat them and turn them out – AS OUR FOUNDERS WOULD HAVE DONE and I have dedicated myself, in my own ways, to doing just that.

    I am thankful this day (and all days) that there are women like you Mom, who serve this nation by raising children who love this country and see the importance of defending her from all comers – foreign AND DOMESTIC, in ways those of us without children, or those of us who chose NOT to join the military can never really know. My stint with Red Cross Disaster Services (13 years) and as a Reservist Responder has shown me the Best of America at some of her worst times, but can never compare with your fear, or your children’s sacrifice. To ALL the Military Mom’s (and dads) on this day and every other – thank you for protecting my country.

  35. Happy fourth to my fellow patriots the post here. 🙂

  36. Uppity and friends you have outdone yourselves.Hats off to you🙂

  37. Damn you Uppity, your post made me cry.
    Happy Independence Day.

  38. Happy Birthday to Mom and to our country.
    both still beautiful 🙂

  39. Happy Birthday, Mom. You’re the best.

  40. Happy Fourth, dear Papoose.

  41. Sheeesh! I can’t believe Aunt Upps gave us homework on a holiday.

    I hope your assignment doesn’t have a minimum-words requirement, Upps, because what I have to say is short, but heart-felt:

    When I was living elsewhere, I viewed America as a dream to strive for; and I did strive for it, single-mindedly. Once I got here, I saw, and continue to see, it as a sweet and generous refuge; the zeitgeist, the people, the culture, and the economic opportunities are more entrancing than I’d imagined in my wildest dreams.

    America’s a very unique, and, yes, exceptional place; there’s no other like it on earth, not even in other parts of the Western world. It’s not just that it has a beautiful and varied landscape, a great economy, and an inclusive culture of basic fairness and decency — and it certainly has those, in spades — but, rather, that it is a romantic idea of freedom and individuality actualized. No other country has been founded on an idea. No other country’s founding documents, constitution or laws guarantee “the pursuit of happiness,” as defined by each individual for himself/herself, in addition to life and liberty. The “pursuit of happiness” — think about that for a second…that concept is not part of any other nation’s or state’s founding-principle.

    I’ve always been baffled by those, here and abroad, who dislike or disparage America. It’s unfathomable to me that we now have an American president who, most astonishingly, doesn’t believe in American exceptionalism or understand its fundamental spirit. But, I do believe the country is resilient and that this too — this presidency and this depressing economy — shall pass. People underestimate this country at their own peril — just ask the Japanese and the Germans, and, eons before them, the British and the French.

  42. Great post, UW. Looks like serious research went into it, and Uppityites always appreciate your labor and its fruits.
    Hope you’ll have plenty of ribs this evening, both in the backyard and in the ____room.

  43. On this Independence Day, I am extremely grateful to our ancestors whose courage, hard work, sacrifice, and vision made this nation strong. When times were hard – and they usually were – they never gave up. They perservered. That is what we must continue to do.

    I do genealogy and am continually amazed by what I learn about our nation’s history through my research. I can trace my ancestry back to the Mayflower, but also to a ship that left Ireland during the Great Famine. I have an ancestor who signed the Declaration of Independence and another who helped dig the Erie Canal. My background is English, Irish, French, Dutch, German, and Choctaw. Probably a few other nationalities, too.

    To me, America is like a marvelous tapestry, woven together by democracy. Yes, we constantly have to fight to keep it from unraveling. But when I look back at our history and what we have endured in the past 200-plus years, I believe we can accomplish that.

  44. Happy Birthday, Mom. What a special day on which to be born!

  45. Hi gang. I’m not home but checking in. Remember your assignment. There will be punishments. This assignment will count toward half your grade this year. You don’t want to repeat this grade do you? You will have me as your teacher again and I will Remember.

    We went to a parade earlier today of course, you know my dog and I never miss a parade…. and then we headed right to a friend’s house for BBQ and Mojitos and other good stuff. The potato salad is a knockout. You can’t have any. The weather is beautiful today. I had ribs, the kind off the grill NES. So did the dog, and she got her hot dog as a reward for babysitting a bunch of little shits. I think I could make some bucks renting her out for that. She swam, clogged up the drain I’m sure, looks like a large damp rat, and is passed out in a corner of shanty right now with a couple of slowed-down kids. I’m kicking around the thought of going to see the fireworks later, from a friend’s deck. Beats sitting in a park getting bit by mosquitoes.

    Nice header, FF!!!! Deal with it is right!

    Okay, over and out. Time for another meal soon! Behave yourselves or else!

    And MORE IMPORANTLY: Happy Birthday Mom!

  46. Happy Birthday PMM. I will blast off a few fireworks for you tonight and my hubby too the rest are for America. Enjoy your day.

  47. Happy Birthday PMM!!!! Another reason to celebrate. Imust, we have all experienced the same thing. We ALL love our country very much and are more than saddened to see what has happened. It sure wasn’t something that we ever thought could be possible.

  48. I’m out of town, but wanted to pop in to say Happy 4th of July!

    And PMM, happy birthday!

    And Karen – stay strong. Whatever is going on today, I know you can make the best of it! Remember to step out of the moment, and keep a long term perspective in mind. (and if none of that applies, ignore it, and just “hang in there”!!!!)

  49. Oh, FF, you changed the header again – it’s beautiful!

  50. Yes, well done talented FF!

  51. Kudos to FF on the header…you know it wouldn’t be the 4th without one of your headers FF.

  52. Whoa. I was sure AWOL today.

    Goodness, there are some fine compositions here today. Criminy, NES, y’all made me practically cry.

    Don’t think I didn’t notice who didn’t do the assignment.

    I’m baaaaaaaaaaack! I’m also exhausted and with extra pounds I’m sure. Dog is really vile looking. I hope you all had a great America Birthday.

  53. A comment under the video below.

    To America. Thank you ! I am an Englishman 76 years of age and have lived a very happy life. Had it not been for American help fro 1940 onwards I would have in all probability lived a terrible life under either German or Russian occupation. I salute all those brave US Servicemen who gave their all in the fight to enable us to live our way of life. God Bless America

  54. Here’s a treat.

  55. What a great day! Beautiful post, outstanding header and well wishes from all the denizens of Uppityville! Sounds like everybody is celebrating and remembering what this country is all about!

  56. Ah Beata, so you had ancesters who dated back to the Mayflower. I myself had an ancester who participated in the Boston Tea Party. My great great great great great aunt was the last bag to be thrown overboard…

  57. Want to see Sousa’s grave?

  58. Dear Uppityites,
    4th of July is nearly over, but America, America will still be America. We will get through this stain upon us. We will rise above it. We always do. Like so many before us, we are a resiliant people who love our country, our rights, our freedom to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. We may not always be happy, but we live in a country where we can INDIVIDUALLY PURSUE happiness as we see it. And pursue we will! We will endure. It’s what we Do. We are America. No man, no matter how big he thinks he is, will topple us. He will always be Small in comparison to the country that was built on an idea. Do not ever forget this.

    Love,
    Uppity.

  59. Amen!

    We are America. No man, no matter how big he thinks he is, will topple us. He will always be Small in comparison to the country that was built on an idea. Do not ever forget this.

  60. The dog ate my homework. My story and sticking to it even if I was busted out on the bleachers taking a hit off a reefer…………….. lmao

  61. Beautiful post and comments. Sorry I’m late! Had company all day and lots of work. I always have to do the 4th here, cuz my town sets off its fireworks across the street from where we live. Hope you all had a beautiful 4th, and Mom a happy bday!

  62. There will be punishments.

  63. Well said NES. I feel the same way about America. She is unique in so many ways.

  64. Well said NES. America is unique. I have always felt quite privileged to have lived in America.

  65. Thanks mcnorman. I expect our sentiments on that score are shared by all Uppityites.

  66. I am late to the party as usual. But I, too wanted to say Happy Birthday, USA and Happy Birthday, Mom.

    Every year, the city of Chicago, has a Independence Day celebration that rivals any of the other major cities in the nation. This year, the celebration (fireworks and concert by the Grant Park Symphony) was canceled due to financial hardship. Such is the nature of depression – not much to celebrate – and not much to celebrate with.

    My family, in town to celebrate the life of our mother, decided to attend the baseball game (her favorite team was the White Sox – and she could name nearly every player the team has had – unlike the ersatz fan currently residing in the WH). The game ended and the promised fireworks took place at the stadium. But in the background we could see fireworks from many of the community/neighborhood parks. So, we surmised the birthday party – the celebration of life in the USA – continued despite the depression of this ever-so large city.

    As we were leaving the stadium – the back way – we looked out over our vast city and the ever growing suburbs encircling Chicago. There, as far as the eye could see, in neighborhood after neighborhood, community after community, suburb after suburb, mile after mile, was the most brilliant and ongoing fireworks display I have ever witnessed! From the most southeastern towns to the most northwestern suburbs, the skies lit up in golds and whites and blues and reds and greens and pinks and purples. A kaleidoscope of brilliance.

    Despite the hardships faced by this huge metropolis of Chicago, life and the celebration of our birth as a nation, survived and thrived. It was even better than it ever before.

    It is my hope that despite the losses of freedoms, and rights, and the usurpation of the highest office in the land, our country will regroup and flourish. Last night gave me that hope. And places like Uppityville and the Uppityites who live and visit here continue to encourage my and lift my spirits and offer courage to continue this fight for our country.

  67. leslie- thanks! And so glad your family had such a fitting end to the celebration! Soon enough we will be sending the fraud packing. One can only hope he does not return to Chicago to torment you and the other citizens of the Windy City. Perhaps some third world country will offer him a dictator for life slot and he will leave us alone to repair and replenish.

  68. Turning in my homework a day late. Happy birthday PMM and our country. God bless every person who has tried to make this country an even better place! (That includes Uppity for creating this excellent blog!)

    I hope copying from others homework is permitted as all of the comments here are excellent! FF and NES (and probably all the others, but those two hit me hard) should each get A+.

    But I want to note that I want my country back. I remember a time when the US did not torture, did not spy on its citizens (without a warrant), did not engage in extraordinary rendition and did not invade other countries without good cause. Most Americans do not support any of this (to the extent they even know about it). And I want an America that is vibrant with industry and robust employment. Fair trade but not “free” trade which is not free and which is tearing the planet apart and unfairly putting the US workers at a disadvantage.

    We have the vision. Now we need a strategy and a plan. It would help if we had any decent candidates for the Presidency, but it is early days yet.

    djmm

  69. djmm – You deserve the same A+ that you were so willing to give to others! I, too want my country back. You said it so well.

  70. Thanks XO, djmm.

  71. Hey! I hand out the grades!!!

    djmm, NES filed a plagiarism complaint. You just can’ trust lawyers.

  72. Technically, I did not plagiarize nor did I commit copyright infringement — I praised, instead! How is that for a lawyer-ly answer? (But it is your blog, Uppity, and you hand out the grades!)

    djmm

  73. Oh djmm, I’m with you, girl. But you know how those lawyers are!

  74. Djmm, an A-plus on your lawyerly answer.

Comments are closed.