Bet he’s not feeling so impressively macho this morning, though.

So much for your bare-chested macho crap, right there on National Tee Vee,  Mr. Firefighter. Try it in a dress and then talk to me, silly man. Ooooooooooo Raaahhhhh. You’ve been Owned.

Do you not love how those  macho boyz aren’t looking so porky anymore when she’s “Responding”?

Don’t apply for a firefighter job, Gretchen. They won’t hire you. You’re just a girl. Still, I’d like to see “Get In Shape” Michelle do this. I could have sworn the New Democrats were in charge of being in shape and Eating As I Say, Not As I Do.

And catch the “I didn’t think you had it in ya” from that lame-assed primpo seated next to her.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

134 Responses

  1. I don’t think I could do one

  2. Hell, I was tired just watching her.

  3. I’m gonna post this here before you steal it:

  4. No to worry, MYIQ. I’m robbing your house right now so I can’t get to it.

    Geeze! Don’t you EVER do laundry????

  5. Looks like we might actually get a hurricane (or a bad tropical storm) by Friday or Saturday. Oh joy. We’ll see though. These things can change for good or bad on a dime.

    http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/refresh/graphics_at4+shtml/085713.shtml?gm_track#contents

  6. TWENTY FOUR CARS to take Obama & Family to the beach

    Potus, with a motorcade of approximately two dozen vehicles, buzzed out of Blue Heron Farms in a cloud of dust at 9:48 a.m. for what promises to be a fairly active Sunday.

    Despite a flurry of international news — Libya, Egypt-Israel and Iran hikers — we are told Potus plans no public statements “at this point.”

    First stop, 9:59 a.m.: Edgartown beach area…

  7. My neighbor came by a few moments ago and said there was a dresser on the curb out in front of a home that is for sale on the other end of the island. She suggested I go look as I am always re-doing furniture or keeping it (upgrading) if it is the right stuff.

    Lookie here! The exact same piece….

    http://tinyurl.com/3trstct

  8. Geeze! Don’t you EVER do laundry????

    That’s what Febreze was invented for.

  9. Good blow by Modow: http://www.nytimes.com/2011/08/21/opinion/dowd-of-dystopias-and-alphas.html?_r=1&partner=rssnyt&emc=rss

  10. FF the problem with that ebayer is he has no bids on any of his stuff. But I’ll bet you could make a tidy profit, just not what he’s asking.

  11. I, too, scoff at the idea that Obama’s ego would allow him to walk away, but this guy makes some interesting points.
    ——————–

    http://hotair.com/archives/2011/08/21/what-if-obama-quit/

    Some will scoff at the notion that Obama and his large ego would walk away from the office, but LBJ was also rumored to think pretty highly of himself.  It’s a low-probability outcome, but it isn’t a zero probability outcome.  Obama’s ratings have tanked this year along with the economy, and he hasn’t come up with an original thought on economic policy since Porkulus.  The leaks of his rumored plan sound a lot like Porkulus II, a sequel to a flop.  This gives the impression that Obama has run out of ideas, and as Noonan argues in her piece, his attacks on Republicans for their supposed refusal to pass a plan he has yet to even submit to them sounds like a man who realizes that he’s out of ideas, too.

    But the decision may end up being out of his hands if the political environment doesn’t improve.  Obama’s numbers are plummeting in places Democrats can hardly afford to lose.  In Pennsylvania, where Obama will top a ticket that also includes Bob Casey’s bid for a second Senate term, he’s either at 43% approval (Quinnipiac) or at 35% (Muhlenberg).  Wisconsin turned Republican last year and a series of elections this year confirmed it, and Herb Kohl’s seat in the Senate is up for grabs.  Obama can be expected to drag down the ticket in Virginia (James Webb’s seat is open), Florida (Bill Nelson), Ohio (Sherrod Brown), Maryland (Ben Cardin), and Michigan (Debbie Stabenow).  Obama is underwater in New York and New Jersey already, two normally staunch Democratic states, both with Senate races on the line as well.  If Obama runs at the top of those tickets, he might eke out victories in the two states, but his presence on the ticket will depress Democratic turnout and might endanger Kirsten Gillibrand and Robert Menendez; Democrats would almost certainly have to spend a ton of money to bolster them that they’d normally spend elsewhere.

    Democrats will be looking at a massacre in the Senate, and that’s not even including already-endangered seats in Nebraska, Missouri, Montana, and New Mexico, which just elected its first Republican woman governor last year.  Democrats could wind up losing enough seats to give Republicans a filibuster-proof majority in the Senate if Obama chases away the white working-class vote that he’s been alienating for the past two years on ObamaCare and now his disastrous economic performance.  If unemployment starts rising and growth remains low in the next few months, Democrats may insist on Obama finding a graceful exit before the primaries.

  12. Barack Obama: He’s come undone

    (from the Pittsburgh Tribune)
    Sunday, August 21, 2011

    The wheels are off the Obama bus. It’s up on the cinder blocks on some rental property in Martha’s Vineyard this weekend. It is the end of the summer of discontent for a president who’s clearly in over his head and whose wallowing is most unbecoming.

    Mr. Obama’s economic policy prescriptions, textbook Keynesian mumbo jumbo, have failed. History would have been instructive had only he been learned in the discipline. Obviously, he’s not. Next month, he’ll return with yet another chapter of the novella best titled “Hocus Pocus.”

    Policy failures aside, we can only wonder if America also should be worried about the mental state of this president. Just prior to his Midwestern bus tour, at a private New York fundraiser, Obama’s reported to have likened opposition to his presidency to the persecution of Martin Luther King. Then, on tour, his maudliness plunged deeper as he compared his plight to the sufferings of Abraham Lincoln.

    As Gettysburg College history professor Allen C. Guelzo reminded in National Review Online, Mr. Lincoln rose to the challenge and exhibited greatness in his leadership. But, “In our current national agony … we have come to see a littleness, not a greatness, in Barack Obama. And it is not for him that we feel sorry, but for ourselves.”

    For it is a tragedy of our own making.

  13. Mom, is the Pittsburgh Tribune a righty rag?

  14. Uppity – I noticed that too. I wasn’t really looking for price – just info. Also, there is no proof given by the Ebayer that the piece was in fact designed by Eliel Saarinen, and in fact it it were, I assume it would be far more valuable. Eero Saarinen, a very famous designer for Knoll and a contemporary of Charles and Ray Eames, was his son. The elder Saarinen died in the 50’s and I doubt he was designing furniture two years before that! In fact, his claim to fame was architecture (as was his son’s) but the elder (Eliel) was a teacher to the Eames. So, in short, the Ebayer is FOS. BUT the style is authentic Mid-century modern, and in fact, the RWay company went out of business sometime in the early 60’s I believe, so the dates might be about correct.

    Anyway – it’s pretty nice. Just needs some TLC and will probably find a good home here.

    UPDATE EDIT: Uppity – look here. This is the real deal, restored. This is 6 drawers, mine is 3. But check the price. No reason someone would sell one for $450 when it’s worth 5K at auction. Mine is no where near this nice, but if someone wanted to restore it, it could be. http://garyrubinsteinantiques.1stdibs.com/store/furniture_item_detail.php?id=330151

  15. http://verydemotivational.memebase.com/2011/08/21/demotivational-posters-n-o-w-logo/

  16. Intrade Now Pricing Greater Than 50% Chance Obama Will Not Be Reelected

  17. God MYIQ – that Intrade page is crawling with Obama ads. Here we go again. He’s going to be EVERYWHERE we click –

    BARF.

    OK, gotta go out to the studio and be productive. BB in a bit.

  18. Intrade is not a bad indicator, altho’ I don’t know how long they’ve been around.

  19. That’s odd, FF — when I pull up the intrade page, I don’t see a single Obama ad. How’s that possible?

  20. NES – I think there’s a chance BO won’t run again. He’s had it easy in the past – no vetting, using cheating, and a compliant media. If things keep going poorly and the media increasingly stops covering for him, and possibly even the party and others let him know that because so much of the public is against him that cheating won’t work this time, his narcissism may be what makes him step down. He wouldn’t be able to handle the thought of competing and not winning.

    Fingers crossed!

  21. The Intrade page gave me an ad to donate to Allen West’s campaign. How did they know I love me some Rep. West? Yes, in my dreams, I long to submit to him.😉

  22. I sooooooooooooo hope you are right, Lorac. I am desperate for a real FDR Democrat to support ( Hillary ). I saw a wonderful clip of Franklin on MSNBC a few days ago. He was a master at verbally destroying his opponents; just like Big Dawg.

  23. I just have to pass this on:

    The economy is so bad that: I received a pre-declined credit card in the
    mail. CEO’s are now playing miniature golf. Exxon-Mobil laid off 25
    Congressmen. Angelina Jolie adopted a child from America. Motel Six
    won’t leave the light on anymore. A picture is now only worth 200 words.
    They renamed Wall Street ” Wal-Mart Street”. Finally, I called the
    Suicide Hotline. I got a call center in Pakistan and when I told them I
    was suicidal, they got all excited, and asked if I could drive a truck.

  24. Good one, NYSmike.

  25. I want you to be correct, lorac, more than almost anything

  26. Love it, NYSmike. I need all the laughs I can get these days.

  27. Oh lorac, you are always the voice of reason. Gawd, I’d love for it to happen. I’ve been doing the “Barack quit” dance since 08. Maybe we could start our own little campaign, we’ll call it “WWTSBOQ.”

    NYSmike, you are funny.

  28. HAHAHAHAHA Mike.

  29. Dang girl, if you think you can get 5 k for that you’d better go pick it up. I gave away a whole bedroom set that looked a lot like that. lol. I do wonder how it is that peple call things that aren’t 100 years old ‘antiques’ though. Collectables or Vintage is more appropriate. That looks like something from the 40s to me. Did I ever show you my hand crotched, burled walnut set? Shut up, lorac. I don’t mean literally. I have pics.

  30. I just bought a huge basket of freestone peaches from the orchard. I had to do it after I heard the words, “Peach Shortcake”.

  31. Bought one of their cherry pies too. Might as well just tape it to my thigh, right? They were out of apple pies. Sigh.

  32. MyIQ, the comments under that NOW logo bother me more than the logo.

  33. TWENTY FOUR CARS to take Obama & Family to the beach

    The guy is simply living in a parallel universe. I’m rolling my eyes here. Either he is seriously stoooooooooooooopid or he is giving the USA the finger. In which case, he might get that same finger back soon enough. I don’t care how many ACORN people he “organizes” under a different name, or how many Black Panthers with billy clubs stand outside polling places, when that curtain is drawn, the game is over.

  34. PMM, I was happy to see you did so well at the fair. I would never expect you to get up off of any of you prize winning recipes, but I have to know one thing. That peach berry pie, what kind of berries do you use? If you don’t mind me asking.

  35. Not clear what kind of long game my former BFF is playing, but it sure seems suicidal in a GOP primary.

    Is he being smart or clueless:

    Huntsman Slams GOP Presidential Field
    http://www.theatlanticwire.com/politics/2011/08/huntsman-slams-gop-presidential-field/41528/

  36. Uppity – I got it this morning. I’ve spent the last two hours stripping the old, yellowed lacquer. We’ll see how it comes out. Craigslist is a great resource for refinished locally, and I have some Debts To Pay.

  37. Maybe he’s not that clueless after all…and maybe those who think he won’t run again are on to something…. These are not the words of a fighter, particularly one who must know that the economy will not improve, and may even worsen, next year.

    http://old.news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20110821/pl_nm/us_usa_obama_economy

  38. I can hear Uppity screaming in cyberspace:
    http://www.ny1.com/content/top_stories/145473/pataki-considers-2012-run-for-president

  39. Did anyone here know that today is national go-topless day? I knew it was growing steam in Europe. Now, North Carolina is getting in on it.

    http://hamptonroads.com/2011/08/nc-gender-equity-protest-urges-women-go-topless

  40. Well Vivien – perhaps that is what made me decide to go ahead and strip the dresser. I just didn’t get the full memo!

  41. Libya — Strong rumors, through Twitter feeds from Tripoli and Syria, etc., that Tripoli has fallen and Ghadaffi has been shot dead.

  42. …or maybe not. Other rumors claim he has fled to Algeria. We’ll find out soon enough, I suppose. In any event, he’s out now. The second battle for Libya will start tomorrow — which group of g’effers will prevail?

  43. I hope this news out of Libya doesn’t mean that Obama has to interrupt his vacation to get updates or anything. It is probably getting close to the time that Michelle likes to go out to dinner.

  44. He surrounds himself with those very strong women who would die for him.

    The truth is, he might be the devil’s spawn but the devil is yet to show up in Libya and it will. In the form of Islamofascism. “Democracy” or anything resembling it, is the last thing on their mind. I recommend women flee asap. Glad we don’t buy oil from these savages.

  45. I’d love for him to quit, leaving the field clear for Hillary.

    But a part of me wants her to challenge him in the primaries and kick his smug ass to the curb……
    and to shatter the deluded dreams of screaming Bombots everywhere.

    Wouldn’t that be delicious? FINGER-LICKIN’-GOOD, kids!

  46. Pataki! Morally bankrupt THIEF!!!!! TANKED NEW YORK! Y’all jump right on that bandwagon and Obama will look like a pussycat next to this A Hole.

  47. Yes Vinnie! I want her to publicly embarrass the POS and whip his ass. NOthing would feel better than that. But she’s got more class than that.

    NES, Huntsman is right! He’s a moderate who can’t get past the batshit right. If he could, he could beat Obama by garnering the support of MANY democrats and MOST ot he Independents. Something that useless McCain never bothered doing. I would vote for a republican moderate. I will stay home if a batshit crazy right winger is the candidate. And I Know there are many like me.

  48. Told y’all…Upps’d be screaming in cyberspace.

    When will these GOP jokers stop jumping into the race. Enough candidates already!

  49. Vinnie, that would be more than “FINGER-LICKIN’-GOOD”!!

  50. NES: Have you ever been to Peekskill (Pataki’s home town)?

  51. When will these GOP jokers stop jumping into the race. Enough candidates already!

    As long as they keep floating folks that don’t stand a snowball’s chance in hell against the worst president evah, the field is still wide open!

  52. Confusion on Libya in Twitter world: http://mashable.com/2011/08/21/gaddafi-dead/

  53. No, I haven’t, Sophie. I take it you have, so do tell.

  54. Let’s just say it’s not Westchester’s finest.

  55. “honora, on August 21, 2011 at 6:41 PM said:

    I hope this news out of Libya doesn’t mean that Obama has to interrupt his vacation to get updates or anything. It is probably getting close to the time that Michelle likes to go out to dinner.”

    ding!ding! ding! ding! We have a winner!

    Sun Aug 21 19:50:14 2011
    Subject: Pool Report #6–Libya

    Pooler asked Potus about Libya when he arrived at Oak Bluffs seafood place:

    He answered: “We’re going to wait until we have full confirmation of what has happened… I’ll make a statement when I do.” (Now c’mon guys, can’t I just eat my waffle lobster)

  56. Look at Oblamo’s statement carefully, and tell me what is wrong. (His real one, not the thought bubble part)

  57. Vivien- I used blackberries in the pie- they grow wild all around the fields here on the farm and are taking over my orchard lol. Some years it’s black raspeberries, some years red- and some years- like this year- blackberries up the wazoo. I made a batch of jam, a double batch of jelly and 5 qts of berries in simple syrup- for pouring over ice cream or pound cake lol!
    Sorry not to be around much- fair week is catching up with friends week here as well!

  58. Hahahaha, FF.

    Also, what Oglutton secretly meant was, “Give me a few minutes to ask Hillary what to say.”

  59. FF, is it that it’s (a) clueless; (b) indicative of his total ignorance on the topic; (c) grammatically foccocta; or (d) all of above?

  60. Mom, with all those jams, cakes, pies and syrups, how the H do you keep your ‘girly’ figure??!!!

  61. I vote “C” NES, but “D” would be a tie.

  62. NES- ROFLMAO! If I still had my “girly” figure I would weigh in the 115 range. Alas- I have never been under 130 since I had my daughter lo those many years ago. A good day is 135 now! Which is a tad on the heavy side for a 5″5″ Irish girl!
    Saw Uppity and FF’s comments in the thread below re: the German Chocolate Cake. I only made it because I have a terrible time with fancy icings and decorating. The Home Goods Dept auctions all the baked goods at the fair- minus the piece they cut for display and for judging. (Hey- it’s how we keep the fair going- they use the proceeds to keep the building up- refurbish the display tables, buy the ribbons etc lol- we bumpkins are cheap) Anyway- I made that one because the frosting does not require any artistry and because there is a guy who bids large on those.
    What a time consuming cake that is to make! Separate the eggs. Melt the chocolate. Whip the whites. Cream the butter and sugar- well you get the idea. About five bowls later the cake goes in the oven. Then the frosting cooks forever! It brought good money at the auction- and the guy’s wife was very happy she didn’t have to bake him one! LOL!
    If Uppity’s Gramma (I think it was Uppity) made her German Chocolate Cake- she loved her to pieces!
    Fair is so much fun- but I was missing entering my vegetables this year. Sigh. Well there is always next year!

  63. LOL Mom – it was my gramma, but I have no doubts Uppity’s gramma loved her to pieces too!

    And imagine doing all that whipping by hand because you chose to! It was some sort of MIRACLE when the egg whites would stiffen! It really seemed like Grand Ma Magic!

  64. LOL FF- I have been known to whip egg whites by hand and I ALWAYS whip my own cream- with a whisk- in a copper bowl! But having an electric mixer is the bomb for getting those egg whites to a stiff peak. If I had to do that cake all by hand- they would be getting brownies lol!
    Grand Ma Magic indeed! My Nana taught me to bake- I am STILL trying to reach her level on pie crust- and mine are pretty good- as past ribbons attest. And her chocolate mayonnaise cake is to die for- it is still my favorite. I have her applesauce cake recipe as well- and may give that a whirl for fair next year.

  65. Events in Libya are unfolding quickly, all against Gaddafi of course. http://www.time.com/time/world/article/0,8599,2089696,00.html

    Waaaay too many chants of “Allah-uh-Akbar!” piercing the air for my liking. I’d be really wary if I were a female denizen of the country. I predict things are going to get unbearably repressive for them.

  66. Obama must be following Uppity and the PUMA Blogs

    “Corrected statement from previous pool (change in caps):

    “We’re going to wait until we have full confirmation of what has happened… I’ll make a statement when WE do.”

    Uh huh

  67. Here’s a quiz question, gang.
    Who said this (no cheating with Google now!) —

    “We must draw a line in the sand: People have the right to decide for themselves what they will believe in the core of their being, and how they will live,” he wrote. “For those who want to throw stones at homosexuals in the name of calling out sin, may they be just as loud about adultery among heterosexuals and pornography among their own churchgoing friends.”

  68. NES, was it your old BFF?

  69. Not Bachman. Must be Perry.

  70. In one year’s time, Libya will be run by the same goatfu*kers as Iran.

  71. Sophie wins the pengy!

  72. It’s my new BFF, FF. Surprised?

  73. I’m afraid you’re most probably correct, UW. The Arab Spring is everywhere turning slowly, but surely, into the Arab Woman’s Winter.

  74. NQ’s take on Libya
    http://www.noquarterusa.net/blog/61137/hold-your-water-and-fire-on-libya/#more-61137

    The news had a female reporter talking from Libya – I sure hope she stays safe. I see an awful lot of men jumping around – looks a lot like Egypt. But these men don’t have all the facial hair – maybe that will make this “celebration” different than Egypt for female reporters /s

  75. Casey Anthony’s lawyer, when Anthony was freed, said that she was going to pursue “counseling and therapy”. He was just on tv now, saying that she has been getting “counseling and therapy”. I’d like to know what he thinks the difference is between those two terms for the same thing lol

  76. lorac, I wonder if that “counseling and therapy” is happening in a bar. Sounds like OJ looking for the killer to me.

    PMM, YUM!! I love blackberries. Peaches are perfect right now.

  77. Sophie wins the pengy!

    You’re kidding! I was trying to be facetious!

  78. I just scarfed down two freestone peaches myself.

  79. UW, it’s DANGEROUS to aspirate peaches! lol

    I was looking at Reclusive Leftist, and followed a link to a blog I’ve never seen. Interesting article there about Hillary vs Obama:
    http://falstaff-falstaff.blogspot.com/2011/08/knocking-down-straw-woman.html

  80. LOL lorac, Casey Anthony is the most hated person in the USA. I’m sure nobody gives a rat’s ass if she is getting counseling or therapy. What she really needs to get is plastic surgery so she isn’t recognized any longer, because till she does that, she won’t have a safe day ever. I’m sure she’s not too pleased that practically nobody on the networks are willing to pay her squat for her ‘interviews” either. And her lawyers are just waiting for her book so they can snatch the proceeds, which I don’t suspect will be much because nobody believes a thing she has to say.

  81. Nope, not kidding, Sophie. You’ll find the quote in here: http://www.weeklystandard.com/articles/rick-perry-annotated_590440.html?nopager=1

  82. Good read on the Falstaff blog.

    =============

    I just watched a very bazaar documentary of sorts – “Exit through the gift shop” about street artists all over the world, and one man’s attempt to chronicle them all on film. It has a very interesting twist, but it left me, as a very hard working artist, rather speechless and wondering why I do what I do when I can just ‘invent’ success and with the right marketing – become a multi-millionaire. If you can stand to sit through all 95 minutes of it, it is an eye-opener of how phoney begets fame.

    I’ve now read in reviews that the film may not even be real, but it was nominated for an Academy Award – which in itself is not surprising based on the “moral” or social commentary “point” of the film.

  83. And I suppose it’s apropos that I got a call from a woman who found me on Google – and wants to meet with me do do “something in the foyer” that looks like David Bromstad’s work.

    She described her home this way; ” it’s monochromatic. white on white on white”

    So, perhaps this is my opportunity to become both street artist and the star of my own HGTV series!

  84. Okay NES, now it makes sense. Right before he said that wonderful thing, he said this horrible thing:

    “Though I am no expert on the ‘nature versus nurture’ debate, I can sympathize with those who believe sexual preference is genetic,” he wrote. “I respect their right to engage in the individual behavior of their choosing, but they must respect the right of millions in society to refuse to normalize their behavior.”

  85. Yep, Sophie, the BFF did go off the res right there. But, hey, he’s still the Obama-slayer at hand.

  86. I don’t think that is an outlandish statement

  87. perhaps if he had continued and said “in their own lives” it wouldn’t sound so bad, IMO

    There ARE millions who cannot reconcile homosexuality in their own hearts, minds or lives. I don’t think he is saying that those Millions should be able to legislate their decisions.

    But then I see he wrote – or pandered – that he would like to see a Constitutional Amendment for “One Man-One Woman” and maybe his whole Mr. Nice Guy thin falls apart.

    Personally, I don’t think he give a rat’s behind.

    OK, I’m off to bed. I have to practice being someone else tomorrow! LOL

  88. FF, make the gazillions — nuthin’ wrong with being a rich artiste.

    How’s our girl, Angel???

  89. Angel was frumpy today – until I gave her pain pills about 6. Then she felt great.

    Maybe she is becoming an addict.

  90. nuthin’ wrong with being a rich artiste.

    I agree NES, and I have been trying to figure out HOW for years – but this guy in the film – he did what most successful folks do who produce a product. He hired other artists to create his ideas. They did the work, while he slept and mortgaged his home for the money to pay them.

    You HAVE to “make money while you sleep” in this business because there is only ONE of you – unless you can do what he did you simply run out of hours.

    His first show ever had over $1M in sales. It was astounding. And it was all – in a way – fake. He even named himself Mr. Brain Wash.

  91. FF you’ll know she’s addicted when you catch her stealing from your wallet to buy some stuff. Actually she’s probably still hurting some.

  92. My cat was just lying there with his dog when he just mosied on over to his dog’s face. And bit her nose. Not enough to draw blood mind you, but just enough to Remind Who Is Boss. Very sad watching a dog the size of a buick whining and sniveling.

  93. Anyway – I’m not feeling so well tonight. Just kind of funky all over. I’ve had a head ache for two days now. I think it’s neck pain. I was painting a lot the last few days but the item was on a table, not hanging, so I was looking down.

    Off to bed for me.

  94. I find it particularly endearing that my dog could rip that cat apart but yet, she takes so much. And goes back for more.

  95. OBlamer couldn’t be bothered to make a live announcement and was too J to allow Hill to do it.
    The WH’s written stmt.:

    Obama Statement on Libya

    John McCormack

    August 21, 2011 10:17 PM

    The White House press office just sent out this statement from President Obama on Libya:   

    Tonight, the momentum against the Qadhafi regime has reached a tipping point. Tripoli is slipping from the grasp of a tyrant. The Qadhafi regime is showing signs of collapsing. The people of Libya are showing that the universal pursuit of dignity and freedom is far stronger than the iron fist of a dictator.

    The surest way for the bloodshed to end is simple: Moammar Qadhafi and his regime need to recognize that their rule has come to an end. Qadhafi needs to acknowledge the reality that he no longer controls Libya. He needs to relinquish power once and for all. Meanwhile, the United States has recognized the Transitional National Council as the legitimate governing authority in Libya. At this pivotal and historic time, the TNC  should continue to demonstrate the leadership that is necessary to steer the country through a transition by respecting the rights of the people of Libya, avoiding civilian casualties, protecting the institutions of the Libyan state, and pursuing a transition to democracy that is just and inclusive for all of the people of Libya. A season of conflict must lead to one of peace.

    The future of Libya is now in the hands of the Libyan people. Going forward, the United States will continue to stay in close coordination with the TNC. We will continue to insist that the basic rights of the Libyan people are respected. And we will continue to work with our allies and partners in the international community to protect the people of Libya, and to support a peaceful transition to democracy.

  96. LOL on all counts Uppity!

    I’ll watch the wallet. If Angel starts skulking, I’ll send her for treatment

  97. FF: I realize you went to bed, but…

    What he’s saying is that as long as there are people who disapprove of my “lifestyle,” my rights are on hold.

  98. Imagine if he was talking about interracial marriage! Why, then he’d be a raycist.

  99. So there he was in the restaurant and penned that on a napkin.

    Question: How do you know when the President of the United States is COMPLETELY disengaged from the national security and diplomatic issues of the country?

    Answer 1 : When the President issues a statement between the salad and the main course and no one sees it happen.

    Answer 2: When it is Barack Obama

  100. I didn’t read it that way Sophie, but I have not read the entire link. I shall (in the morning) and reconsider my position then – or restate it.

    NOW I am off to bed! LOL

  101. G’nite

  102. More like: there he was in the restaurant and Reggie Love penned it on a napkin.

  103. Awww, The Needle-Nose is a cuuute woosie. Get that nose insured,

  104. Make sure it’s one of those movie-star rehab clinics, FF. Angel is a glam one.

  105. LOL NES, the cat tried to yank one of her whiskers out too. Yes we must insure the needle!

  106. We’ve had a couple of really wierd torrential rains tonight. Methinks that is why the cat is being goofy. He’s running around the house right now in spurts. Flying up and down the stairs, stuff like that. Cats get very goofy forewarning of bad weather.

  107. Check your mail NES.
    **Snort**

  108. Here’s a succinct articulation of the grim foreboding some of us feel about Libya:

    Qaddafi’s fall imminent
    By Andrew C. McCarthy
    Posted on August 21, 2011 8:21 PM

    The Libyan mujahideen (a/k/a the “rebels”) have reportedly entered Tripoli, captured at least one of Muammar Qaddafi’s sons, and are closing in on Qaddafi’s compound. It appears that those who wanted Qaddafi supplanted by an unknown that is known only to include virulently anti-American Islamists are about to get their wish. Here’s hoping that they are right and I am wrong about what happens next.

  109. Yup, NES. It’s not like we didn’t see Islamofascism coming to Libya’s theater soon. Egypt too.

  110. Snort back, Upps. Ha!!!!!

  111. OH GOD! John Smart is ON FIRE! ROFLMAO!

  112. Arab spring for nut job Moslem men, Arab winter for women and girls. Yay, isn’t the president great? Look how he is freeing all the men in the Middle east to become even crazier women haterz than they already were.
    I hope I am pleasantly surprised.

  113. Totally OT- but a warning for anybody who uses Yahoo mail- DO NOT upgrade to the latest version until they force you. It is HORRIBLE! It looks as if they changed it to make it phone friendly- so now normal older folks like me will not be able to see our mail the font is soooooo tiny.
    I HATE it when they fix things that are not broken!

  114. FYI on the above- I got a live chat person at Yahoo and they switched me back to the old Yahoo when I told them my eye sight prevented me from using the new version. How long I will be able to stay that way is unknown- so am looking for a new alternate e-mail. Any uiggestions?

  115. I was just looking at Rasmussen’s listing of partisan trends for party affiliation and found it not the least bit surprising but fun nevertheless.

    Donna Brazilnut was right, they didn’t need us. They elected the thief without us. But they do need us now. Or another burst of ACORN (under the name such as ObamaforAmerica or something less blatant) payments from our tax money to finance his next sham.

    Dems were so volatile the last 4 years they had a high of over 41 and a low of almost 33: an 8 percent change. Now that is change.

    They blew it when they tossed us under da bus.

    http://www.rasmussenreports.com/public_content/archive/mood_of_america_archive/partisan_trends/summary_of_party_affiliation

  116. http://thehill.com/homenews/campaign/177675-wall-street-execs-turn-back-on-obama-give-to-romney?page=2#comments

  117. Trouble for Bam: http://www.nytimes.com/2011/08/22/nyregion/for-weiner-seat-gop-hopes-for-upset.html?_r=2&ref=todayspaper

  118. Yeah, “We have to look forward, not backward” : Obama refusing to prosecute Bush & Cheney for War Crimes.

    Didn’t say that about Weiner, did he?

  119. Told you. They don’t need him any longer. They got their trilions. They sucked America dry and Obama chuckled with them. Now he can’t give them anymore. He’s cooked with them. He was a useful idiot. Obama will push for another bailout. If he can’t get it, he’s toast. So long as the can milk that cow, things were fine.

    NES re NY and Weiner’s seat. I refuse to login to that disgusting NY TImes that is counting ‘members’ to see if they can start charging for their site….It won’t be the first time. They did it with their editorials for awhile. Anyways, I’m shooting in the dark here on what it says, but if the R’s think they can pick up that seat they are more stupid than I thought. That district would vote for Weiner again if they could. They are D all the way. A D could run from prison and win.

  120. Karen, I’m hoping they will pander to women and pass some laws they have deliberately held down for decades. Like the ERA. If they can pull it off, even. But they will say Hey I Tried. I am hoping they pander to us so we can then STILL not vote for them. Make THEM the useful idiots.

  121. MOM, I will send you instructions on how to change your DPI and font size on your whole computer for visual relief. Later today, okay? Nevermind, try this.
    Goto START, CONTROL PANEL, DISPLAY. Check the circle from “Medium” to “Large”. This will increase the font size. Then go to Yahoo and try it out again. If that doesn’t work, there are some other things, if I can remember them.

    If that’s too large, then click on “ADJUST DPI SETTINGS” and bump it down a few points.

  122. Mom, I have switched from Yahoo Mail to Hotmail. I have vision problems, too, and the new Yahoo doesn’t work for me. Hotmail is pretty good and they don’t ask a lot of intrusive questions like Gmail.

  123. Hotmail is the most hijacked and viral mail system ever. Just about everyone I know ends up having their email address stolen and used against their address book. Sooner or later.

  124. You can all laugh if you want, but I use AOL mail, using their software. I use them for NOTHING else. But their mail is great visually, AND you can copy your email folder now and then and pick out the emails you want to save. Then you can drop them into directories you create and keep all of them categorized right on your own computer and just navigate to the directories.. Example, you can have an emal file for recipes. Or ten of them, one for meat, one for fish…etc. And just drag the emails you copied into your directories. You can do it with links too. For example, I have folders with nothing but poltical links in them. One for Obama. One for media, one for Hillary, etc. I can just go right to the folder. This is how I find so many links again for you.

    It’s still free just like their webmail.
    You can’t do this with their webmail, far as I know. Haven’t checked lately. That’s why I do it this way. If you don’t have a lot of RAM, you can’t use it because the SW takes up a lot of RAM and ROM. But most people have 4gigs these days, and if you aren’t running unnecessary crap at startup that your computer came running by default (you can change that), you’ll be fine. Just don’t use the software for anything else, because it’s useless and sucks.

  125. The “if it isn’t broke don’t fix it” strategy works best for me so I still have the old version of yahoo mail. I have tried several updated version when they offered “test” trials but thought they weren’t as good as the old one. I hope they don’t force me to change since I’ve been using this same version for 12 years. Old habits die hard.

    They do add useful things now and then, one new change this week that is very welcome to me, a notepad. Often I want to save some bit of information to include in a future email I need to send and the way I did it until now was to create a “draft” of the mail. They just added a nifty notepad with files and folders that are fast and easy to add and access – very streamlined with no fancy whistles and bells to gum things up. I have lots of files for my sent and received mail but always kept my “draft” folder pretty empty. This new feature is a mini word processor and file cabinet for ideas. I think I will use it a lot.

    And mom, I hear you about the eyes. I left my glasses at a cafe in a hospital while visiting someone and didn’t have them for three days till I went back for them. My back up glasses are old and scratched and useless. I ordered a new set of lenses for the back up pair. The 3 days without reading glasses was torture. I carried my book in my bag and sighed when I saw it. I couldn’t wait to open it again, I love to read.

    Lots of work to do this weekend. Unlike barky I am not going to Martha’s Vineyard for the last hurrah of summer… I wish him nothing but KARMA. I hope a big wave knocks him on his ass and he is filmed flailing in the sand like the wuss he is.

  126. I miss one thing about the old aol mail and that was the ability to sort the mail by senders and then mass delete those I did not want to read.
    The new yahoo mail is ridiculous, but I am going to give it a few weeks to see if I can get used to it.

  127. I take the easy way out when it comes to font size. I use control plus and control minus to change the font and graphic size on any page I can either not see, or that is too large.

  128. OMG! John Smart is HILARIOUS! I would love to post this but it’s his and he deserves to have the whole world see it!

  129. I put it up. Readers must click on his links. The guy has 155 hits on the youtube for CHRISSAKES. No wonder we lost to Barack Obama. We don’t do what Obots do and support the people who do the work.

    New Post up! Follow instructions.

  130. Upp, I just talked to a friend who told me about Hotmail viruses. Yipes! I didn’t know. Maybe I can get my Yahoo Mail back. Live and learn.

  131. You can probably reinstate the yahoo Beata. I would never steer you wrong, ya know. Hotmail is VERY bad. You will be sending porn to your address book in no time flat.

  132. The other thing about AOL mail using their ‘member’ software is, you can block out all their cookies and it will still give you your mail. Try THAT with gmail and see what you get. Did you notice, you can’t even comment on a blogspot blog any longer without opening up your cookies to the Google spy machine? Use Chrome and there’s NO problem commenting. That’s because Google is in your pants when you use Chrome too.

  133. Beata, login to yahoo with your username as if you never deleted it. It should come back and ask you if you want to reinstate it.

  134. Upps, I tried but Yahoo won’t reactivate it. Yahoo Mail is really screwed up these days. It’s worse than New Coke was. I loved the Classic Yahoo Mail and had it for years.😥

Comments are closed.