Live blogging from the basement on Hurricane Day.

As Hurricane Irene prepares to batter the East Coast, federal disaster officials warn that Internet outages could force people to interact with other people for the first time in years. Residents are bracing themselves for the horror of awkward silences and unwanted eye contact. FEMA advises: “Be prepared. Write down possible topics to talk about in advance. Sports…the weather. Remember, a conversation is basically a series of Facebook updates strung together.”

Rain Ruinz Muh Furz.

Gasp! What if the Obots Blackberrys go dead! They will all be so confused!

It’s Himmicane Hurricane Day here in NY and this is your open thread.

The good news is the power probably actually will go out and we won’t be able to see and listen to Barack should he decide to read a speech written by a cardboard-cutout humper to  the captive People Of Barackistan. I know that he and Michelle are probably very upset they had to cut their perpetual vacay short and will probably want a Redo. But for now, they are safe with the things that are important to them.The kids, Bo The Dog’s caretaker, lobster, kobe beef, ESPN, Barack’s golf clubs….

Should I disappear,  consider that power outage has indeed occurred. If that happens, I will talk to you when I talk to you. Carry on without me. I know you know how to do that. I do have a laptop so I might be able to communicate till I lose battery power. But it’s also possible the internet in my area could be knocked out. So just hang out and don’t worry.

Also, if it’s possible,  it would be great if all the members whose areas are affected would check in and let everybody know you are okay. And remember…we survived the savages of 2008, so we can survive anything. To quote…well, to quote ME………..WE WILL ENDURE. IT’S WHAT WE DO. So keep each other going and I promise to keep you posted so long as I can.

“US President Barack Obama warned the US east coast was in for a “long 72 hours”

Gee! Thanks for telling us! We didn’t KNOW that! This information was as useful to us as a screen door in a submarine. And so COMFORTING!

What a storehouse of useful second-hand information and comfort our President is! No need to watch the news any longer. I feel so much safer now knowing he knows there’s a hurricane.

******************************

UPDATE: Sunday, 10:44 Am. Very wet. Wind starting up. Water. Lotsa water. Lotsa lotsa water. Could grow rice. Local reports of some flooding near waterways.  Trees down. If one of mine comes down (again!), believe me, I will hear it. Power still holding out, at least here. All vehicles are to be off the road. Not that some crackpots won’t be out there, costing us valuable resources to rescue their stupid, useless asses. Never fails. It’s rarely a taxpayer besides. No offense, but paying for stupidity isn’t in the contract.

If I lose power but am still lucky enough to have internets, I will conserve my battery. I do not have a second battery. I will not be answering emails to conserve, but will check in to let you know, if I can. If I lose internet, see ya when I see ya. xo.

Okay, see you later………gurgle…

UPDATE: 11:59

We do have some basement water, but not measurable. It’s in an area we expected it, an old wine cellar area. Pump won’t be useful, as there isn’t enough water, so we have a dehumidifier working there, and have already emptied it twice. So we are going to hook a hose up to it and drain it directly to our storm trap. Storm trap is holding up, we have a two inch horizontal pipe that blows water accumulation under the house into the trap, which drains out to the storm sewer system. It’s coming pretty fast, so the trap seems to have a steady accumulation of about 4 or 5 inches of water. So we opened up a horizontal drain just below the water and that should reduce the overflow while the other drain works. We have a pretty good system, albeit kind of fugly. But who cares. It’s meant for days like this and beats flooding the floor of your basement. If the accumulation gets too far behind the drainage, we will hook another pump up and blow it outside, if we can. This is one of the things I love about owning a home that was build long before cutting corners was the builder’s mantra. This home will never float away. It’s built like a brick sh!thouse, so to speak. Before stiffing home buyers was in vogue, builders THOUGHT about these things and built helpful accommodations into the design.

I did a head count of the rescues while I was down there and they are accounted for and snug in their room, which is very dry and has AC, so they are fine. We put food and water down there and they aren’t going anywhere, that’s for sure. I did notice a neighbors cat sitting inside the closed pit area of our antique original block BBQ pit that’s been on the land for many decades. He got in thru the opening where the meat would have been placed in there. It’s pretty dry in there I’m sure, but I do think he’s got to be scared, so I’m gonna go out there with my Uggs and get him. He knows me so he’ll be fine with it. Then I am going to call my neighbor and tell them they ought to be shot in the head for letting their cat roam. Honestly, I am almost temped to hang onto him and place him someplace else and let them think he ‘disappeared”. . he’s a really nice cat and it’s not like I haven’t done this to irresponsible assholes before. But for now, I’m going to get him into the rescue room. he’ll be fine there. It’s not too windy out right now, but raining like hell and it’s a swamp out there, so Good On my Uggs

I am hoping I don’t get a call from rescue to hold a cat or two. No room at the inn, although the room is a very good size and completely away from the living quarters of the house. For some wonderful reason, these cats, some of them complete strangers, get along with no problem. They Know. Spaying/Neutering also helps. And they know there will always be food so they have no need for grievance against one another.

Dis cud be a problim. I'm heading 4 that SUV roof. See ya.

168 Responses

  1. […] and UppityWoman is live blogging from her basement on hurricane day. […]

  2. Are we sure the kids are important to BO/MO? I see them a lot, however it just appears to be yet another photo-op.

  3. HT, the only thing important to BO/MO is BO/MO, arrogant jerkwads that they are.

    Thinking of you East Coasters out there. Crossing fingers. Let us all know how you’re faring – most of my fam/friends are pretty much saying “so far so good,” so here’s to the good thought.

    (pssst… move to the desert… no ‘canes, no quakes, no freakin’ time change)

  4. Allie, thanks for reinforcing my own opinion about BOMO. Kids are just photo-ops. Good thing they have a grandma who appears to care.

  5. Wow. Obama declares a day for women’s equality. Oh, wow wonderful. We won’t even notice that you didn’t bother passing the 2nd part of the Lily Leidbeiter bill (the one that counted), we won’t even notice that the “party for women” never bothered to fight to pass the ERA. We probably will no longer remember the terrible misogyny you and your bots employed against Hillary and her female supporters. We won’t even notice that that same day is apparently the national day of the dog. Declaring a day for women’s equality is just wonderful, and we are so thankful, and we will vote for you in droves. What a smart man. What a leader. I just can’t wait to vote for this caring, fairness-minded, and equality minded man. Gosh, maybe they’ll even write the date on calendars – this is a huge move on Obama’s part for us. I can just feel the “change for women” in the air. (adoring sigh) He gave us a “day”. What more could a woman want?

    http://www.reuters.com/article/2011/08/25/us-women-equality-day-idUSTRE77O86S20110825?feedType=RSS&feedName=lifestyleMolt&rpc=22&sp=true

  6. HT, when did women get the vote in Canada?

  7. He meant to say it was going to be a long 72 hours without any golf courses open. He is suffering. Leave Barack Alonnnnnneeeeeeee.

    LMAO.

    The Grey Ghost and passed on companion are so beautiful in that picture. They radiate warmth and comfort.

  8. lorac, sorry I’m behind in getting back to you – gulp, I fell asleep – head met desk
    Women got the vote here effectively in 1917, when all the provinces adjusted their election acts. In 1918 the federal act was altered. Ridiculous that it took that long to treat women like real people.

  9. So he’s making his new women’s equality day be the same date as the big march – August 26.
    ——————-

    Attn Honora

    Also at pumapac

    http://pumapac.org/2011/08/27/speaking-of-hurricanes/

    “A pause for “herstory”: It took 11 years of protest to change the hurricane-naming process from all-female names (’cause women are notoriously SO emotionally volatile) to alternating female/male names, in 1979. Feminist victories vanish into normalcy!” — Robin Morgan

    Don’t know if she was the first to do so, but back on March 27, 1970, Roxcy Bolton of N.O.W. went to the National Hurricane Center in Miami to protest.
    She told them : “Women are not disasters, destroying life and communities, and leaving a lasting and devastating effect,” and therefore hurricanes should not be named after them. No one from the top on down seemed to take her at all seriously at the time, and the press treated her visit and protest in pretty much the same derisive way they treated everything about feminism before August 26, 1970′s big march. But she (and other) feminists persisted, and nine years later she was vindicated. (A lesson to us all not to give up when we see something that’s wrong – and to always remember those who brought about the progress we take for granted today !)

    Pick up a copy of “Feminists Who Changed America, 1963-1975″
    Author: Edited by Barbara J. Love
    Editor/Other: Foreword by Nancy F. Cot, published by University of Illinois Press.

    Notice that male-named hurricanes are usually “it” in the news, female-named hurricanes are “she.”

    Joan Baez – It\’s a hard rain\’s a-gonna fall

  10. pumapac has an article about women getting the right to vote

    http://pumapac.org/2011/08/26/91-years-ago-today/

    —————–

    grrrrrrr my comment box is being all haunted again, with the little tabs jumping into the box so I can’t see what I’m typing – I hate it when it does htat

  11. Well, HT, it was a couple years before our country did it….

  12. OOOH, women get a whole day! How grand – that Obama, whadda man. Cough, cough – Stupak – cough. Yeah he’s the man (flutters eyelashes adoringly.)

  13. MKBill, your twitter comments are priceless!

  14. You know, they just got a statu e of MLK, made in China.

    Maybe for our day, they’ll commission a statue of one of our many famous feminists of the past – and have it made in Iran….

  15. Lorac, you have editor privileges. You do NOT have to use the comment box. Look at the top left of your screen, where it says BLOGS, check the menu, select Uppity Woman and slide over to the menu. Select “COMMENTS”. It will take you to the administrator’s comment area, and you will see all the comments as they happen, You can reply right there with a VERY easy comment box. Try it now.

  16. It just started to rain here.

  17. UW, I did as you said – the menu didn’t say “comments”, but it did say “manage comments”. So I went there and I can see the comments. But how do I add a new one there?

  18. hmmm, grooving to Bruce Cockburn. Blame the Widdershins, they have an article up about Pete Seeger and that got me thinking that only Bruce is singing out about injustice these days.
    Hope that all Uppityites are safe and warm in their homes tonight.

  19. You just hit REPLY

  20. You can also EDIT your own comments or do fixit fairy for somebody else’s comment. You can hit TRASH from there, or SPAM too.

    You can just refresh the page and see the latest comments.

  21. Aha! I couldn’t find the “reply” part, but then I did. It doesn’t appear unless your cursor is hovering over it! Sneaky little thing! lol

  22. whoops, it wasn’t Widdershins, it was BB at Sky Dancing. Blame the temporary loss of sanity on the desk – not the best place to rest one’s head.

  23. HT, a benefit of a laptop is you can work on it in bed, then if you doze off, you don’t hurt your head! lol

  24. lorac, you are too funny. I have a laptop – it’s under the bed. Funny when my last desktop tower bit the dust I visited my reliable computer guy and he tried to sell me another laptop. I insisted on a tower, much to his chagrin. I could see his thought processes – silly old lady wants an out of date piece of equipment. Not true – except for the old part. I just prefer a tower.

  25. BTW, I prefer a tower cause I can take it apart and clean it. I cannot do that with a laptop and when you have a dog and three cats, stuff gets very hairy.

  26. Power went off (the emergency light beeping the hall woke me just after I got to sleep Back up for now. My cats are in hiding (they hate those beeps and its going to be a long night as it will probably go one and off several times). Foster kitty is calm as a cucumber, Evidently earthquakes and hurricanes are better than being in the shelter, My Mom’s cat is just confused and is staying close to me,

    Poor BO. Has to make do with the putting green in the bunker. MO probably had the llast of the lobsters loaded on that plane when they told here she had to leave.

  27. I’ve been using laptops since the year 2000. The number of animals around here, including cats that lie on the laptop is no secret. I have a dog who blows coat and I can fill up an entire plastic grocery bag with fur in one brushing. Needless to say, she never leaves my side so she’s always near my computer. I have always cleaned my laptops using compressed air and a combo of distilled water and isoprophyl alcohol. I have never had a problem. My last dell was four years old when it had to be taken apart and there was very little hair or dirt in there..Laptop components are layered, with the keyboard on top, so you aren’t really getting hair all over your components that easily. I’ve seen hard drives on desktops that looked like stuffed animals were living inside that tower, though. So the laptop is bad for people with pets thing is a myth and I’m living proof. I’m trying to count how many I have had, and I lost count. Never had a problem But like anything else in the home, it has to be cleaned regularly, not when things look like they are growing out of it. lol.

    Or you can do it this way.

  28. It’s raining, and that’s pretty much it. There is a breeze. It’s 3:24 AM. But then, I suspect I ain’t seen nuthin’ yet.

  29. So with the potential of flooding rains approaching you feel safe in a basement?

  30. Lots of power outages in Va.

  31. The basement is protection from the wind, Fredster. I fear that a whole lot more than a little water in my basement. Considering I have a block foundation, I don’t imagine I will be floating away. And I have pumping ability if there is the slightest hint of accumulation. If the wind whips up here, I am heading STRAIGHT for my basement, expecially given there is a maple tree the size of brooklyn right outside my kitchen, and another one in tront of my home. I fear a downed tree more than anything because i have seen twice already on my own property how too much water can heave a monsterous tree right out of its own root bed–and that’s without the added gift of strong winds. If rain accumulation becomes scarey, that could happen to me a third time, and I aim to be in the basement, because at LEAST there’s a chance the tree wouldn’t go thru three floors to kill me. I would even CONSIDER going upstairs to the second floor tomorrow. Basement is the safest spot in this case. These are MONSTEROUS maples. MONSTEROUS. If they hit, they will take out most of the house, so there’s no place to hide.

  32. I also do not anticipate flooding at my home. Flooding is going to occur near waterways and spill over to roadways. I don’t anticipate having to go up on my roof to avoid drowning or something. I do live in a heavily treed part of New York, so I do think there will be a LOT of downed trees and power lines to go with them. I am betting people won’t be able to travel some routes for days to come because of it.

  33. I read where over a million people are without power right now.

  34. No, I was thinking of ground saturation and then getting into the basement. If you’ve got a sump pump I guess you’re okay then. Don’t know the layout/design of your basement so that’s why I asked.

  35. Oh yeah we have a pump. We actually have two. And they are already all hooked up in case. But we never really get significant accumulation. We tend to use the pump for the open trap that collects the outside underground water and pours it in through a pipe. If the water is heavy, the pipe really pushes out water and then the water doesn’t go down the drain fast enough, so we would pump it and help out. But that’s rare. It could happen this time, though. We might get some wall leakage but beyond that, it will be okay.

  36. Owning a home is truly a pain in the ass.

  37. We might get some wall leakage but beyond that, it will be okay.

    That’s what I was wondering.

    Don’t have basements in LA so I don’t have those worries. However, on the rebuild one of these is going in.

    http://www.generac.com/Residential/Guardian/Products/Guardian_Series_14_kW/

    I might be able to get away with the 10kW. Just want to run some lights, a/c, fridge, one tv and computer.

    Of course that’s assuming levees hold. If we have a 3 down there I’m gone, but a 1 or 2 I can probably ride out.

  38. Fredster, most homes in the NE are built using universal forms for the foundation and basement. I don’t hink I know anyone who has a home without a basement. Homes in areas that accumulate water are builtd atop a kind of fixed barge. But basements are a necessity here, especially given the snow and the temp changes via seasons, expansion, contraction, etc.

  39. No question a generator is a good thing to have, that’s for sure.

  40. Ah. Well you can understand why they aren’t built in nola. Many of the older homes were built on piers and many of the Garden District antebellum homes had a ground floor but you went up a flight or so of stairs to the actual living areas. But then came the era of the slab and that construction took over. That’s what we have.

  41. The old man had gotten a standby generator which he mounted on top of a table underneath the overhang of his shop. He then ran wiring from there to the house and we had a couple of separate outlets that were to run the fridge/freezer, a few lights and a room a.c. in the living room wall. We could run the refer and freezer and the lights and just pull down the refer/freezer. Then we had to unplug those to run the wall unit. LOL!

    Just saw on TWC that a bldg. collapsed in Philly! Not a lot of details.

  42. Eh, well I’m going to call it a morning. Hope all of my Yankee friends stay safe and dry. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for all of you.

    Hugs to all.

  43. Local news proclaims wind will not be a problem in NE Pennsylvania. Rain to taper by noon and may end as early as mid-afternoon. I know many others are not so lucky.

  44. Morning all. Branches all over the yard and one big tree down in the front yard last night. Right now very rainy and very windy.

  45. 3 million are out of power now

  46. Re: Laptops vs. desktops

    If you spill beer in a desktop keyboard you MAY need a new keyboard.

    If you spill beer on a laptop keyboard you WILL need a new laptop.

  47. Don’t have basements in LA so I don’t have those worries.

    When I first read that my first thought was “When did Fredster move to Los Angeles?”

  48. Stay safe New yorkers and New Englanders. Eye of the storm apparently will hit landfall at 10AM.

    http://www.newsday.com/news/breaking/hurricane-irene-lashes-long-island-lipa-says-307-230-lose-power-1.3126799

  49. McDonald’s Unveils New Senior Citizen PlayPlace

    In an effort to accommodate an aging customer base and make the McDonald’s experience “super fun for seniors 65 to 95,” the fast-food chain unveiled its new Senior Citizen PlayPlaces Wednesday. “The ball pit has a special winch to lower seniors into and out of it,” said day-shift manager Will Earle, adding that the tunnel-maze has multiple exits in case seniors become disoriented or scared. “We have a slide wide enough to accommodate wheelchairs, and on Saturdays, Ronald himself stops by to make balloon animals and just talk to the old folks. They like talking to Ronald.” McDonald’s confirmed plans to open even more senior PlayPlaces by 2013, saying they provide a space in which children can enjoy a meal and still keep an eye on their elderly parents or grandparents.

    Will the restrooms have a place to change their Depends?

  50. Hey, as an almost senior I don’t need Depends, nor do I need my food mashed up and quite frankly, I would not be caught dead in a McDonalds eating trash disguised as food. So there Klown!

  51. The coverage on tv is ridiculous. They must have bumped all other stories for this.
    Hope all the Uppityites are dry and safe!

  52. The Onion is Priceless. Thanks Myiq, I needed the laugh.

    Rain Rain, adding a whole new meaning to wet. It’s positively heaving water around here.

  53. Don’t have basements in LA so I don’t have those worries

    So the water would just come directly into your living room, rot your floor out and sink your home slab. Seems like a fair trade.lol.

  54. #3. If you spill beer on a laptop with accident insurance, you WILL need a new laptop and you WILL get one for free. (It’s usually best to spill the beer at around year two)

    But my argument was that it’s easy to clean pet fur from a laptop. Cranberry juice, I can’t help you with.

  55. Ok well hope everybody is okay. Wind is starting now. And the barometer is destroying my head and sinuses. See you all later. Suddenly windy here. If I lose power I will try ot let you know via my laptop battery, something a desktop doesn’t give you either.

    After that, if I still have internet I will be conserving battery. I will not be answering emails, to conserve. So don’t assume I am at the bottom of a lake, I’m just conserving battery if power is out. xo.

  56. P.S. Cat just bolted. Here we go…

  57. OMG already 55 comments and I only just finished breakfast!
    I really came here to see how everyone is. Been watching TWC and saw that the storm was heading toward where I think Upps may be. They’re reporting trees down all over. I hope everyone is safe.

    Who is in VT or near Brattleboro? I haven’t heard from my sis for days, and she ISN’T on vacay.

  58. Legal Insurrection:

    New campaign slogan:

    Obama 2012, because he beat bin Laden Irene

  59. Biden Golfed in Hours Preceding Hurricane

    Delaware was pounded by Hurricane Irene on Saturday night, but Vice President Biden got in one last round of golf in his home state before the heavy stuff started coming down, Fox News has learned.

    Biden played golf at a Wilmington-area course on Saturday morning, according to two sources familiar with his schedule.

    Asked directly whether Biden played golf on Saturday, Biden’s office would not comment to Fox News.

  60. Senior play spaces at MacDonald’s? Our senior center actually has a dinner night at MacDonald’s, and this is an upscale area with some very high incomes. It’s some sort of a fund raiser, but still, dinner at MacDonald’s? Wonder what MacDonald’s is offering seniors to entice them into no nutrition heaven.

    Batten down the hatches east coasters.

  61. Morning Uppityites,

    Here in the Lower Hudson Valley, everything is flooded. But we ourselves are okay.

    http://www.lohud.com/article/20110828/NEWS03/308280022/LoHud-transportation-update-road-closures-mass-transit-cancellations

    Obviously we ain’t going anywhere today.

    Also, NYC and NJ have gotten it very badly with flooding, downed trees and power outages. Both the Hudson River and the East River have overflowed their banks. I have never seen that in all my time in this area.

    http://www.thedailybeast.com/cheats/2011/08/28/rivers-overflow-into-nyc-streets.html

    Sending hugs to Uppity in her basement!

  62. lorac– Touch any of the text on the left or right-hand side of the comment you want to reply to (or edit), then the options of Reply, Quick Edit, and the like will pop up, and touch one of them, and there you go.

  63. Hi Madamab, glad you are okay. Stay okay. I decree it. So it is done.

    We do have some basement water, but not measurable. It’s in an area we expected it, an old wine cellar area. Pump won’t be useful, as there isn’t enough water, so we have a dehumidifier working there, and have already emptied it twice. So we are going to hook a hose up to it and drain it directly to our storm trap. Storm trap is holding up, we have a two inch horizontal pipe that blows water accumulation under the house into the trap, which drains out to the storm sewer system. It’s coming pretty fast, so the trap seems to have a steady accumulation of about 4 or 5 inches of water. So we opened up a horizontal drain just below the water and that should reduce the overflow while the other drain works. We have a pretty good system, albeit kind of fugly. But who cares. It’s meant for days like this and beats flooding your basement.

    If the accumulation gets too far behind the drainage, we will hook another pump up and blow it outside, if we can.

    Did a head count of the rescues while I was down there and they are accounted for and snug in their room, which is very dry and has AC, so they are fine. We put food and water down there and they aren’t going anywhere, that’s for sure. I did notice a neighbors cat sitting inside the closed pit area of our antique original blog BBQ pit. He got in thru the opening where the meat would have been placed in there. It’s pretty dry in there I’m sure but i do think he’s got to be scared, so i’m gonna go out there with my ugs and get him. He knows me so he’ll be fine with it. Then I am going to call my neighbor and tell them they ought to be shot in the head for letting their cat roam. Honestly, I am almost temped to hang onto him and place him someplace else and let them think he ‘disappeared”. . he’s a really nice cat and it’s not like I haven’t done this to irresponsible assholes before. But for now, I’m going to get him into the rescue room. he’ll be fine there. It’s not too windy out right now, but raining like hell and it’s a swamp out there, so Good On my Uggs.

    I should progably put this comment in my post.

  64. Glad to see you’re well and blogging from the basement, UW.

  65. The rain has stopped and at this minute the sun is shinning. The Tee Vee folks are out driving around telling us about the flooded streets, ripped up trees and destroyed boardwalks. They say “don’t worry what’s happening; just keep watching we will show you everything.” Of course we will get brain rot and butt calluses from that prescription. Mayor Mr. Mike will be on Tee Vee at noon to tell us if we survived. At least my corner of Queens has power and semms O K. Hope everyone else is getting by.

  66. Good to hear you’re fine, madamab!

  67. Now why in heaven’s name is it all gray and cloudy away over here in NW PA? The storm was supposed to stay over on the east coast. HMPH

  68. not as bad as it could have been.but it is still very bad.be careful.be safe hugs a bunch all around. 🙂

  69. Uppity, bless you for caring for the neighbor’s cat. Assholes!

  70. Geebus, we’re getting the tail end – heavy winds here. Zeke is not upset, so should be just wind and some rain. Glad that everyone is okay and hugs to all.

  71. Mostly watery roads and downed trees here in upper mc county. Lost power around 3:00 am after many ups and downs. Started coming back up around noon. Seems to be staying on now. I will say, where I live we rarely lose power for more than a couple hours so I assume most of the county was down at some point.

    For those still in her path, stay dry

  72. Okay, Beanie is in the basement with his pals, I dried him off. He looks pretty ratty but as you cat owners all know, cats are self-cleaning. So I left him to his job. He was very cute as I approached the pit. He started yelling like Hey! Over here! lol. It wasn’t dry in there at all, so he got pretty soaked, poor baby. The water out there is amazing, really. I was sinking into the ground. Like a rice paddy. I am filthy and heading for the shower. Then I am going to make Comfort Food and hope to God my nearby trees stay put. I did get a close look at the one at the rear of the house on the way to the pit and it looks like it’s not bothered much by all of this, considering it’s probablly 200 years old and has seen it all before. Some smallerdiameter branches did break off though. One is across the workshop because it’s long. Other than that, it seems okay for now. I didn’t check the area where the tree downed recently. It’s just too far and too wet out there.

  73. OMG! Were you all really live blogging this? I’m seeing posts from 1am, 2am, 3am, etc. Go nap people! LOL! Glad everyone is ok.

  74. Mom, I’m hearing that PA does have it’s problems today. Flooding and the like.

    While I was out there, I noted that the wind wasn’t very strong IMO. It’s also raining steadily now, but much less powerful than an hour ago. We do have some flooded areas and plenty of downed trees, so far nobody has died. I haven’t heard any fire or rescue trucks in the distance. That’s not to say there aren’t any out there, just not within my earshot.

    As usual, when I am stressed, I make comfort food. I also want to bring something for dinner over to my neighbors who are an elderly couple. They are in pretty decent shape but are alone, so they might appreciate the thought. She is forever giving me the best cakes and pies evah.

    I have decided to make a mock Paella. I say mock because I’m not making it in a paella pan and am adding way more rice. I want a nice big pot of food. It’s what Italians do under duress. Cook for a potential army. LOL.

    The chicken’s in the pot right now.

  75. Notwithstanding the right-wing political rhetoric, a very interesting article.  I hadn’t realized how great this migration is or how it’s having a significant impact on the distribution of electoral votes.

    http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2011/08/27/census-data-shows-people-are-moving-from-blue-to-red-states.html

  76. Make sure the storm has completely passed before you go out. Stay safe, everyone!

    Not one of my favorites but it comes to mind:

    djmm

  77. Glad things are looking tolerable at your end, Upps.
    That paella — mock or not — sounds like just what the doctor ordered!

  78. It’ cooking now, NES. I had chicken and shrimp in the freezer and not enough saffron, since I dropped most of it on the floor when I opened the dinky container it came in. But I did rescue some of it, it just won’t have th ecolor it should have. I don’t care. I just want to eat it. Haven’t eaten all day, busy jerking off with the basement and Tree Watch. Now if it would stop raining on schedule, we can sit around for another day and hope the sun comes out and dries out the tree bases, because they CAN uproot the next day or so. So we need that sun tomorrow. I demand it. I see my neighbor behind me lost a huge branch that landed on the fence. Other than that, everything looks okay here. I’m sure in the high lying heavily treed areas, things aren’t so pretty. Or areas near water.There’s so much water, much of my land appears to be a pool, although it’s not that deep. Just deep enough so that the grass no longer shows. The wind had definitely picked up though.

  79. Moronic mayor of Freeport just can’t stop telling everybody how “this lady” came along and smacked him. Things were fine until “She” came along, that Irene. Fuck you, you ignoramus.

  80. Hahah djmm, lorac and I posted a half dozen versions of that the other night. She’s going to crack up seeing it again. It may now officially fall into the same category as “You light up my life”.

    I guess it does apply else we wouldn’t be thinking of it.

  81. NES, I have a living chart somewhere that shows the ongoing migration to and from states. People are moving not because they are batshit right wingers, but because they figured out it’s cheaper, the cost of living is easier and the taxes are lower and in some cases, state taxes non existent. NY and Cali are NEVER going to compete with that. They can’t even cut a budget by ten percent without making it sound like the sky is falling. Businesses just plain don’t want to come here. Why should they? We’re going to only put them out of business after we shake them down for all their money.

  82. Yup Mike. We were here. Too damned afraid to go to sleep. I figured if one of those trees was going to land on my house, at least I wanted to hear it coming and see if my running skills are still intact. I Couldn’t sleep, so I hung out here. I feel asleep about 5 AM and was back up at 7:30.

  83. Yikes, saffron on the floor! Might as well flush some major moolah down the toilet!

    Agree on why people are moving, Upps. Was just pointing out that some red states, like TX, now have a few more electoral votes while some blue states, like IL, now have a few less. It affects the overall electoral college votes for the presidency.

  84. Yes NES, to be sure I used some serious words when I saw all that saffron hit the floor. My voice became even more blue as I swept it up. I was almost tempted to pick it off the floor. lol.

  85. Hey All! Glad to know you are safe and sound!

    I’m working a deadline but have stopped by a few times to read.

    We just had a HELL of an instant – and I mean INSTANT thunderstorm pass over. Less than 3 minutes from the first thunder to it raining cats and dogs! THIS is why I am trying to put off the 50′ high mural for a bit – nothing like being on a knuckle boom when that crap blows in. Wet paint on the wall? Think Rocky Horror….

    Anyway – Gotta get back to work.

    as for this:

    “I have decided to make a mock Paella. I say mock because I’m not making it in a paella pan and am adding way more rice. I want a nice big pot of food. It’s what Italians do under duress. Cook for a potential army. LOL.”

    Who knew Uppity had a kitchen in her basement? (Shhhh. Don’t tell Karen)

    (btw Ups – you have mail)

  86. And Yup, NES, New York is going to lose some districts thanks to their dysfunctional legislature that is busy telling restaurants to stop using salt, trying to license bicycles, and introducing legislation that makes the state own your body when you die so they can harvest your organs whether you want them to or not. These people can’t balance a budget …they can’t even PASS a budget and all they know how to do is look for ways to control people’s lives and take their money. The rest of the time they fight on the floor. New York has been ruined byt them and their entrenched asses. They cater to the health insurance monopoly, utiilty companies, municipal unions and anybody else who hands them the reelection bucks. They make me sick. MILLIONS of people have left New York in the past decade while they jerk each other off. New York is a business laughing stock now. They drive right by and move to red states.

  87. Nah no kitchen in the basement. But today is a most definite testimony to how great gas stoves are. If we lost power, I could have still finished cooking dinner. Actually, the room the cats live in WAS a kitchen. In the old days, they had a kitchen in the basement to keep the upstairs kitchen clean. no kidding. There’s a gas stove hookup there too.

  88. Can’t buy much for billions of dollars in military aid today. Libya to the West: Yeah, you helped us get rid of our tyrant, but f#ck you anyway. Would they dare to refuse this favor if we had someone with cajones in the WH? I think NOT.
    http://www.politico.com/news/stories/0811/62205.html

    TRIPOLI, Libya – The Libyan rebels’ interim government says it will not deport the man convicted of the 1988 Lockerbie bombing.

    The rebel Justice Minister Mohammed al-Alagi told journalists in Tripoli Sunday that no Libyan citizen would be deported, even Abdel-Baset al-Megrahi, who was convicted in a Scottish court and imprisoned for the bombing of Pan Am flight 103, which killed 270 people.

  89. Okay we have had some evacuations due to flooding in our county, but nowhere near me. We had a dam flood over too. So this rain is taking its toll near waterways and some roads are completely flooded over along with the homes in the area that have rising waters right into their homes. The number of trees down are said to be countless. One tree did go through a home but nobody was hurt.

  90. Yikes, Upps. Keep those Uggs boots handy.

  91. From no less than the VERY pro-Obama site: http://www.politico.com/news/stories/0811/62190.html

    “Poll: Obama loses ground with white voters, women, liberals
    104

    EmailPrint
    By MAGGIE HABERMAN | 8/27/11 6:02 PM EDT Updated: 8/27/11 6:09 PM EDT

    The AP has moved some cross-tabs on President Obama from its latest poll, and they signal some low points with his 2008 coalition as the GOP moves closer to picking a general election candidate.

    He’s lost ground according to the AP-GfK data, with white voters, women, liberals and younger voters, in surveys taken just after the debt-ceiling debate.

    Continue Reading
    The key figures are:

    * Just 36 percent of white voters approve of the job he’s doing, while 59 percent say he should lose in November 2012. That’s down from 56 percent after his first three months in office, ,and he is upside-down with this group in every region except the Northeast.

    * Three in ten white independents say he should get a second term, and 41 percent of them say he “understands the problems of people like them.”

    * Liberals who say Obama is “very well” described as a “strong leader” went from 53 percent to 29 percent.

    * Women, who had fueled a gender gap for the president with 68 percent approving of his performance after his first three months in office, are also moving away from him. Now, 50 percent of women say he should be re-elected, and less than half of all women approve of how he’s doing in office.

    The numbers will obviously shift as a general election begins, and younger voters and liberals are especially likely to move back toward him. But the former two are, depending on the GOP nominee, a bit of a tougher push.”

  92. People want to live near lakes and creeks and babbling brooks and on rivers, and then they end up in this condition. You gotta KNOW you’re asking for it sooner or later. Ditto for people who live on the ocean and canals. It’s great but sooner or later, you are gonna Get It.

  93. Power’s been out since 9:30 am. I am fine. Cats are fine. Big tree down blocking driveway. No damage to any homes but we are trapped. Hate using iPhone for this. Just wanted to check in.

  94. Sending sympathy thoughts from the midwest. Here where the cat sanctuary flooded this past Spring. Due to days of torrential rains and swollen creeks/ rivers.

    I’m now following all of my east coast friends’ blogs and feeling really anxious….

    Sigh.

  95. Oh shit, sophie! Thank god it didn’t hit your house! If you want the cheap way out, find somebody who wants the wood like i did. Unless it’s a city tree, in which case, they will haul it away.

  96. NES, I’m betting we got close to ten inches.

  97. Of for Chrissakes, he’s going to be on TV again. Be prepared to click off your TVs at 5 PM. Probably later because he’s always late.

    This has been a public service announcement.

  98. Stay safe, Sophie.

  99. They are announcing some big dam out in upstate. I wonder where it is. Lots of dams flooded I’ll bet. Upstate has tons of dams. I guess a huge one went out in Catskill area too. Scary.

  100. Wow Upps. And the ground is already soggy so it’ll pretty much stay above ground.

  101. I think most of those dams feed water reservoirs, which would mean water gone bad. Whoa.

  102. Wait a second. I am reading that there was a minor quake in albany before Irene. Cuomo ordered a dam inspection there. SO I’ll bet that’s the dam that blew. I do wish these TV networks would finish a story instead of announcing “a dam” and blah blah blah. Jesus.

  103. NES most of those dams have rerouting locks and things, but if one blows, it’s hell to pay. The water goes where it wants. So you are right. The ground is already saturated so it wouldn’ be pretty. Even if the ground were dry, it would be time to swim.

  104. Thruway closed between albany and hudson valley area, a million NYers without power. 15 dead on east coast as result of this hurricane. At least five dams whacked or flooded. Boston is getting wind pummeled.

  105. Sophie, thank goodness you are okay. That is what is most important. Take care all Uppityville.
    NYSmike – smiles. Of course this is the place to hang out when one cannot sleep.

  106. Looks like hoboken doesn’t bother cleaning their storm drains. Lotsa 3 foot deep basements. Storm drains don’t get mayors elected. repairing storm drains just aren’t sexy. Better to build a park. See?

    For example, if the storm drain serving my home had been clogged up with leaves and shit, I’d have three feet of water now too, as all that underground water was flowing down to the storm drain.

  107. To be sure, already jacked up electricity rates in NY will rise with hydropower dams bursting.

  108. Whoa. It’s the Gilboa Power Authority dam. Yeesh.

  109. The ludicrousness of his narcissism: http://www.weeklystandard.com/articles/being-obama_591426.html?nopager=1

    What makes President Obama’s executive passivity so interesting is that it seems to be a symptom not of policy uncertainty, but of personal narcissism. The president is free to delegate the tasks of the president because he’s already done the important job of simply showing up. It’s the same impulse that leads him to make all sorts of claims about the singularity of his tenure. For instance, at an August 15 town hall event in Minnesota, he boasted that after his administration took control of General Motors and Chrysler, the two companies posted profits for the “first time in decades,” even though both companies were profitable as recently as 2004. Similarly, he recently lectured reporters that,

    What I have done—and this is unprecedented, by the way; no administration has done this before—is I’ve said to each agency, “Don’t just look at current regulations or don’t just look at future regulations, regulations that we’re proposing. Let’s go backwards and look at regulations that are already on the books and if they don’t make sense, let’s get rid of them.”

    The Government Accounting Office sheepishly noted that “every president since President Carter has directed agencies to evaluate or reconsider existing regulations.” These little delusions give a window into Obama’s view of the relationship between his office and his self. Policy and initiative aren’t the point of his presidency. He is.

    [snip]

    But we should forgive Obama his mutterings. Petulance is merely a sister of narcissism—and it’s not as if we didn’t know what we were getting into with this president. In 2004 Ryan Lizza penned a profile of Obama for the Atlantic Monthly. Obama was running for Senate at the time, largely unopposed. Lizza sat with Obama one day while the candidate was making fundraising phone calls. As he talked to the donors, he started drawing a little sketch on the newspaper lying in front of him. Lizza reported:

    I couldn’t help noticing, when we sat down to talk in the dilapidated storefront that houses his Springfield campaign headquarters, that the blue-pen drawing he’d doodled on his newspaper during fundraising calls was a portrait of himself.

    Bill Clinton’s vanity was that he wished he could have been at the center of a world historical event. Barack Obama’s vanity is that he believes he is a world historical event. And the greatness of his being dwarfs any necessity to establish greatness through action. That’s why, despite his passivity as president, we’re likely to see a much more vigorous Obama in the coming months as he switches from governing to campaigning. However ambivalent he may be about leading the country, arguing for the indispensability of Barack Obama is the one project that has always commanded his full attention.

  110. The sun came out here so hopefully it will follow Irene up the coast to help dry things out asap.

    Yes, Tiger Woods Jr., is going to be on TV yet again. But on that oil spill. nada. The fires in Texas., nada, Ice storms in the mid-west, nada. But the storm that made them pack up 12 hours early from the vacay 1,343,532 at the Vineyard – every few hours he has to annoy us even more with his babble.

  111. Does it affect our water supply, Upps. You have enough potable water for a few days, right?

  112. It’s all those dead bodies stuffed into the drains in Hoeboken, UW. Capisco?

  113. I thought maybe Christie used the john too many times or something. heh.

  114. I see you’re hanging in there Upps Glad to hear it. It wold appear that The Widdershins Clan survived intact also.

  115. Well it’s not my dam, so I’d say no. But then these waters do intertwine. The system is interesting. Many dams feed reservoirs, some do not. We had an overlfowed dam but it’s not a reservoir dam I don’t think. Far as I know our reservoir feeding dam is fine. But honestly, I wouldn’t drink tap water now anyways. You never know what gets contaminated in these floods. Chemicals have to be picked up. Sewage could intermingle. You just don’t know. Anyways, I never drink tap water. I don’t even give it to my pets. SO I have plenty of clean water on hand.

  116. That piece on Obama is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOoo on target, NES.

  117. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    It stopped raining!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  118. “and this is unprecedented, by the way; no administration has done this before—is I’ve said to each agency, “Don’t just look at current regulations or don’t just look at future regulations, regulations that we’re proposing. Let’s go backwards and look at regulations that are already on the books and if they don’t make sense, let’s get rid of them.”

    He must be out of his mind. I have never seen this level of self importance before – he truly is one sick sumwhatever. He should be thanking the administrations that came before and enabled him to steal an election.

  119. I’m just stopping by to see how everyone got through Irene. It looks like some did better than others. We were lucky. Only lost power for about 15 hours. Lots of limbs down, but none of the big trees. By the time we got the yard cleaned up, the lights came on. This area is surrounded by water, we don’t have basements either. What we have are crawl spaces. Yeah, it bites any time you have to go under the house.

    Upps, you’re a real angel when it comes to your animals, well not just your animals, but all animals. My critters get tap water, but we’ve got good tap water here. In fact, the city bottles it and sells it, thats how good it is. BTW, it does sound like the neighbors cat needs a new home.

    Oh my, the saffron. Around here, we live by the five second rule. I would have picked it up and no one would have known.Haha

  120. Outter Banks flooding video.

  121. Duck, NC. Before and then during.

  122. Hahah on the saffron Viv. Trust me, it was close. Man was I ever cursing. I mean that stuff costs more per pound than some caviar.

    The animal thing with me is just a natural reaction. I’ve always been that way. My grandmother used to say i talked to the animals when I was a kid.

  123. As usual, Obama lies again.

    Gore had a particular interest in reducing “waste, fraud, and abuse in the federal government and advocated trimming the size of the bureaucracy and the number of regulation

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Al_Gore

  124. Gore talking waste, fraud and abuse. How ironic.

  125. Another one: http://www.senate.gov/artandhistory/history/resources/pdf/Gore,_Albert.pdf

    Inspired by political scientist David Osborne’s book, Reinventing Government: How the Entrepreneurial Spirit is Transforming the Public Sector, Gore took on waste, fraud, and abuse in the federal government and advocated trimming the size of the bureaucracy and the number of
    regulations.

  126. Kill Devil hills NC

  127. That was then. Still he was on the regulations thing before Obama.

  128. Damage at Kill Devil hills

  129. Crazies driving and taping the hurrican in, where else…New York

  130. Tons of frightening hurricane videos.
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2030990/Hurricane-Irene-2011-The-best-YouTube-videos-hurricane.html

  131. Long Beach

  132. MAN!!! This thing caused some major flooding up the coast. You find any footage from NJ. I think this one was worse than Floyd as far as flooding goes. The Dismal Swamp got 10 to 15 inches and still didn’t put the fire out.

  133. One of the states that didn’t get any air time. I watched a lot of local news yesterday, all TWC was talking about was NYC, and Irene hadn’t even gotten to us yet.

  134. Your wish is my command. Hoboken

  135. Gawd look at this.

  136. “We didn’t have waterfront property but we do now”

  137. Atlantic City

  138. They lost a couple of piers down there. Virginia lost most of her piers during Isabel. They rebuilt some, and repaired some. Irene was kind to them. I don’t understand why they build those things, then build restaurants on top of them. People want to live in houses right on the water. Crazy. Mother Nature is mad. Sometimes I think I live too close to the water. Oh whatever. I’m gonna die from something.

  139. Those flooding videos are scary. I mean just looking at the NYC pics and seeing taxis in the street halfway in water now seems like nothing. Yes, HT, I should’ve stopped in as I was up till about 3 before I couldn’t keep my eyes open. UW that was so awesome of you to make that paella to share with the neighbors. Now is that kitchen in the basement an Italian thing because I know that there is an Italian family in my neighborhood who are always in the basement during the day..it has everything.

  140. Speaking of Atlantic City, any word on those people that refused to leave and how the storm affected them?

  141. He’s dying yet again: http://www.cnn.com/2011/WORLD/africa/08/28/libya.lockerbie.bomber/index.html

  142. Excellent on the rain ceasing.

  143. Gore says climate-change-deniers are like racists. Got that?
    http://www.foxnews.com/us/2011/08/28/al-gore-compares-climate-change-to-civil-rights-fight/

  144. NYSmike, doesn’t matter what time of day or night, you are always a treat.

  145. And now for a look at “Katia” in the womb! (Aren’t I just a little bundle of Joy!)

    http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/gtwo_atl.shtml

    SHOWERS AND THUNDERSTORMS HAVE CONTINUED TO BECOME BETTER ORGANIZED
    THIS EVENING IN ASSOCIATION WITH A LOW PRESSURE SYSTEM LOCATED
    ABOUT 400 MILES SOUTH OF THE SOUTHERN CAPE VERDE ISLANDS.
    ENVIRONMENTAL CONDITIONS APPEAR CONDUCIVE FOR FURTHER DEVELOPMENT
    OF THIS LARGE DISTURBANCE…AND A TROPICAL DEPRESSION COULD FORM
    DURING THE NEXT DAY OR SO AS IT MOVES WESTWARD AT 10 T0 15 MPH.
    THIS SYSTEM HAS A HIGH CHANCE…NEAR 100 PERCENT…OF BECOMING A
    TROPICAL CYCLONE DURING THE NEXT 48 HOURS.

  146. FF you are a treasure that just keeps on giving.

  147. The Goracle just never knows when it is time to shutup. Glad to hear everyone is okay. I feel for that town that was under that damn, but I heard earlier that the water is receding. I think that UW is right…it was a problem with the earthquake and this was just a pile on.

  148. Aww, thanks HT and back at ya!

  149. Ah, it’s raining again! But I kinda like it.

  150. But darlin’, that is such a gaaaaaaaay man song.

  151. Not sure if this was mentioned, but apparently Auntie Zuchini isn’t the only one….and don’t remember it in any of our news outlets, but

    http://www.news.com.au/world/onyango-obama-uncle-of-us-president-detained-as-illegal-immigrant/story-e6frfkz0-1226124403470

  152. Glad to hear all have survived.

  153. NES said,

    Gore says climate-change-deniers are like racists. Got that?
    http://www.foxnews.com/us/2011/08/28/al-gore-compares-climate-change-to-civil-rights-fight/

    I saw that earlier this evening. This generation’s racists, he said? Speak for yourself, Gramps; I’m not yet forty.

    What a fraud. Someone lock (or shut) up his delusional, hypocritical ass. Please.

  154. This kitty did okay.
    http://tinyurl.com/3dlr7gc

  155. Just finished watching the vids and reading the blog. God. You guys are in my thoughts and prayers. Hope you’re all ok. Been thinking of you guys all weekend. Has everyone checked in? We just got back from S.D., got the niece off on her plane, and now packing for lakers camp week.

  156. Crap. That was me, not laker.

  157. I wonder what this reporter thought *after* they told him what the *foam* was?

    http://www.myfoxny.com/dpp/news/fox-reporter-gives-update-covered-in-sea-foam-20110827#ixzz1WL2s1nD6

  158. Fredster, omg! That was so gross! Poor guy. Poor stupid guy.

  159. He said it didn’t taste too good. I’ll bet he barfs for a week!

  160. socal: You know they say don’t eat the yellow snow? Well don’t eat the brown sea-foam. LOL!

  161. Sounds like that reporter is ready to work in the White House press pool.

  162. Well he certainly had enough flung at him to be eligible.

  163. Fredster, nobody finds stuff that makes me sick like you do. It’s an art.

  164. We reconnoitered a bit outside this morning, Yuck. It’s a sloppy mess out there. I see beautiful tomatoes in my garden, ready for the plucking, and can’t get to them. Well I could, but we’re talking rice fields. Sigh…

    I also feel really exhausted.

  165. get some rest.Uppity and crew.
    You guys are in my thoughts and prayers.couldn’t sleep last night worrying about everyone in harms way.*hugs all around* 🙂

  166. Upps said: Fredster, nobody finds stuff that makes me sick like you do. It’s an art.

    Nah, probably my juvenile sense of humor. Supposedly he’s a meteorologist. How many times has he seen Jim Cantore with brown foam on him? 🙄

  167. Fredster, if he’s a meteorologist, he’s FULL of brown foam himself.

  168. Thinking of you and RD. Sends hugs. Glad you are okay and loved this post, fellow Ugg woman. One thing I know about you and RD? Strength.

Comments are closed.