Boulder Retirement Home Gets Liquor License

Party like you’re 99: Boulder grants second retirement home liquor license. Daily Camera.

Now that’s a retirement home!

The Academy, which bills itself as Boulder’s “boutique retirement community” on University Hill, recently gained approval by the city for a hotel-restaurant liquor license.

The license — the second of its kind granted to a retirement community in Boulder in the last few years — means the facility, 970 Aurora Ave., will begin selling wines and other spirits to retirees living in its 54 residences.

The Academy opted to apply for a hotel-restaurant license, officials said, because a club license would not have allowed residents to re-cork wines and take the bottles home — even though they live in the same building.

So now residents can bypass BYOB, and just buy at the club. Talk about convenience.

See:

****UW Note: Thank goodness they don’t have to worry about getting pregnant!

33 Responses

  1. I suppose they all drive. Thanks for the chuckle, Crier.

  2. myiq sings!

  3. Every once in a while there is a story that reminds me that some states have weird laws about alcohol.

  4. No nursing home for me

    For those of us in or approaching the golden years, here’s
    some important news to avoid that nursing home.

    About 2 years ago my wife and I were on a cruise through the
    western Mediterranean aboard a Princess liner. At dinner we
    noticed an elderly lady sitting alone along the rail of the grand
    stairway in the main dining room. I also noticed that all the staff,
    ships officers,waiters, busboys, etc., all seemed very familiar
    with this lady.

    I asked our waiter who the lady was, expecting to be told she
    owned the line, but he said he only knew that she had been on
    board for the last four cruises, back to back.

    As we left the dining room one evening I caught her eye and
    stopped to say hello. We chatted and I said, “I understand
    you’ve been on this ship for the last four cruises.”

    She replied, “Yes, that’s true.”

    I stated, “I don’t understand” and she replied, without a pause,
    “It’s cheaper than a nursing home.”

    So, there will be no nursing home in my future.

    When I get old and feeble, I am going to get on a Princess
    Cruise Ship. The average cost for a nursing home is $200
    per day.

    I have checked on reservations at Princess and I can get a long term
    discount and senior discount price of $135 per day. That leaves
    $65 a day for:

    1. Gratuities which will only be $10 per day.

    2. I will have as many as 10 meals a day if I can waddle to
    the restaurant, or I can have room service (which means I can
    have breakfast in bed every day of the week).

    3. Princess has as many as three swimming pools, a workout
    room, free washers and dryers, and shows every night.

    4. They have free toothpaste and razors, and free soap
    and shampoo.

    5. They will even treat you like a customer, not a patient.
    And an extra $5 worth of tips will have the entire staff
    scrambling to help you.

    6. I will get to meet new people every 14 days.

    7. T.V. broken? Light bulb need changing? Need to
    have the mattress replaced? No Problem! They will fix
    everthing and apologize for your inconvenience.

    8. Clean sheets and towels every day, and you don’t
    even have to ask for them.

    9. If you fall in the nursing home and break a hip,
    you are on Medicare; if you fall and break a hip on
    the Princess ship they will upgrade you to a suite
    for the rest of your life.

    10. Now hold on for the best! Do you want to see
    South America, the Panama Canal, Tahiti, Australia,
    New Zealand, Asia, or name where you want to go?
    Princess will have a ship ready to go.

    So don’t look for me in a nursing home, just call
    shore to ship.

    PS: And don’t forget, when you die, they give you
    a burial a sea at no charge

  5. ROFL! I have told my three to start saving up!

  6. lol meet you on the cruise!

    I don’t think I want Gen-yers taking care of me when I’m feeble.

  7. LOL Uppity- and we don’t want to go on any Italian cruise lines just now either! Maybe we can find one with a female captain?

  8. LOL no kidding. What a frigging coward.

    Disgrazia

  9. Talk shows abuzz with Newtie’s “brilliant” handling of debates. Clearly, we need better journalists who can answer the bullies back in real-time. Imagine is Snow could shoot back, “You mean to say, Mr. Disgraced Speaker, that this primary debate is more sacred than the Presidency itself?”

  10. Cheaper, true, but there are drawbacks. Rooms not comparable nor are other items; and if one becomes ill, just as in a retirement home, out you go.

    Informative info here, peeling back the “face value” and “taking with a grain of salt” warnings. Also, how the story evolved through the years.

  11. I love the perpetual cruise ship plan. But, if I ever have to go to a nursing home, I hope it’s one with a liquor license, and that my friend Jose Cuervo is there . lol

  12. well since I have spent my kids inheritance I will have settle for the poor house. 😆

  13. The cruise ship story is a funny joke, but of course a “nursing home” either provides skilled care (wound care, IVs, physical therapy, etc) or custodial care (basic care but there’s nothing acute they can make better – and you can’t take care of yourself). If someone needs either of those types of help, they wouldn’t get it on a cruise line. But hanging out on a cruise line could be an option (for a person who can take care of themselves) to paying rent somewhere! Family would always like to come to “your place” for the periodic visit!

  14. The graphic is great, towne. And that vid is sure ringing a bell here Upps. I am in my middle years… if i live to 110.

  15. The cruise ship story is a joke. One of those things Shelby Fluffy would appreciate. “Coming into your youtubes” or your email fwd collection. Made the rounds a few years ago and sure sounds like a better deal than the ol’ folks home. 🙂

  16. Sorry – this link must have dropped off in cyberspace. It was at the end of my post at 11;34AM

    http://www.snopes.com/travel/trap/retire.asp

  17. Uppity mental note: Never tell a joke on Sunday morning.

  18. But, if I ever have to go to a nursing home, I hope it’s one with a liquor license, and that my friend Jose Cuervo is there .

    I completely understand. I also hope that should I have to be incarcerated in a nursing home that my lover Glen Fiddich Single and his distant cousin Chivas Regal 18 are there with me.

  19. Breaking news (No article yet)

    Rep. Gabrille Giffords to resign from Congress this week.

  20. From AP:

    WASHINGTON (AP) — Rep. Gabriel Giffords of Arizona says on her Facebook page she intends to resign from Congress this week to concentrate on recovering from wounds suffered in an assassination attempt a little more than a year ago.

    According to officials in Washington, her resignation is expected to take effect on Monday.

    The Democratic congresswoman was shot in the head last January as she was meeting with constituents outside a supermarket in Tucson, Ariz. While her recovery has seemed remarkable, she says on Facebook she has more work to do to recover, and it is best from her state if she resigns her seat in the House.

    Her shooting prompted an agonizing national debate about super-charged rhetoric in political campaigns.

  21. For spry seniors neither ready for the home nor able to afford one, you’d think they’d create WalMart style greeter jobs for various checkpoints around the ship where folks stream through and need somebody to hand them a towel or a menu.

  22. O MY! Jose, Glenn and friends! Hmmm, sounds like just the place!

    Just saw the Gabby story.

  23. New post up. A message from Gabby.

  24. 2012 GOP Florida Primary: The Swimsuit Edition

    http://thesibylspeaks.wordpress.com/2012/01/22/2012-gop-florida-primary-swimsuit-edition/

  25. oh, Anthony, that Sybil link is a riot. Ronnie went commando, natch.

    FUNNY.

  26. Thanks, Karen.

    Who’d think it would take Newt to get me writing again?

  27. OMG Anthony. Hilarious! The Mittens Ken and Barbie! I’m DYING here.

  28. I just LOVE my new photoshop.

    Their next stop is Vegas……..

  29. SophieCT @ 10:18am, Ha! Good one!

  30. When the retirees finish drinking at the home’s club, hopefully they are capable of walking back to their rooms. Hopefully they don’t have some sprawled out place where they can drive electric carts back to their places. Imagine getting caught dwi on premises in an electric cart. Wonder what the penalities would be.

  31. Retirement home? Ain’t that what the camper is for on the back of my truck? Partying like it is 1899!

  32. Reblogged this on theconservativehillbilly.

  33. That was brilliant, Anthony!

Comments are closed.