Congress’ personal austerity budget: $100 million a week to run Kabuki

Congressional Kabuki Dancer

From Bankrupting America

Last week taxpayers spent roughly $100 million on Congress.

Salaries of Members of Congress and their allowances/week:

Speaker of the House: $223,500/52 = $4,299

House and Senate Majority and Minority Leaders: ($193,400/52) x 4 = $14,877

Other Representatives and Senators: ($174,000/52) x 530 = $1,773,462

Average weekly budget for all House offices: ($1,446,009/52) x 435 = $2,096,421

Average weekly budget for all Senate offices: ($3,409,093/52) x 100 = $6,555,958

Non-salary money allocated for Congress: $4.656 billion/52 = $89,538,462

To see what you “got” from Congress in return for $100 million, go here.

Carry on, suckas.

26 Responses

  1. The best government that money can buy.

  2. Where else can one get so much non-sports entertainment? Certainly not from the media.

  3. I’m at work and just wanted to share what I received in my email today… (I can only hope it was meant to be “funny”)

    http://boingboing.net/2012/02/20/how-to-drug-a-woman-to-make-he.html

    I’ve already responded to the MD who sent it to me,

  4. balance the budget.start at the top. 🙂

  5. Holllllllllllly Shiitttttttt.

    There’s this young guy who has a little Pomeranian, young one, he walks the dog without a leash day in and day out. The dog runs like the wind all over theh place, so he’s not trained. Several neighbors told him to leash his dog but he doesn’t do it. Well about a half hour ago, he changed his mind. The dog ambled into my yard while my dog was out there. I had her on tie out because the fenced in yard is soak and wet. So the dog ran up to my dog and she barked at it but she doesn’t harm small dogs or cats, although the thing looked as big as a squirrel and I wondered. That wasn’t the problem. The pom wasn’t in danger as my dog knows a No Contest when she sees one. But the guy came charging in the driveway after the dog yelling Oh My God Oh My God and he came toward my dog and she lunged at him. I ran outside, his dog was out of his range. There was no way my dog wasn’t going to attack him. So I downed her and there he was with a hoodie on (it’s raining, and “hoodie” = intruder) and I said to him, You had better take heed and leash that little dog or you are going to get him killed. You are very lucky your dog didn’t run into the pit bull down the street. He was literally shaking as I handed him his dog, who still thought he could play with my dog, and my dog was still snarling at the guy. To her this guy was an intruder with a hoodie. She was focused on him, not his little dog. I tell you he needed a change of shorts. I told him that in addition to putting his little dog in danger, he is breaking the leash law. He was so cute I felt sorry for him, he was really scared. He thanked me about 27 times for helping his dog and i told him his dog wasn’t in danger with my dog, but HE was. He said he was going out TODAY to get a leash. poor dumb bastard. I just called a neighbor who was complaining about the loose dog and told her I didn’t think it would be a problem any longer. lol.

  6. UW, wish i could have been there!

  7. So much for sacrificing for public service! If only the voters would coalesce around what is obviously their disdain for Congress (approval figures in the single digits!) and demand reform.

  8. Poor Needlenose. Hope you gave her some treats for being such a gooood dawg.

  9. Now the guy has a loose bowel problem.

  10. I didn’t even so much as raise my voice to her. She was doing her job. But i swear to you NES, she’s ALWAYS trolling for treats. She brings me that damned Kong ball constantly, looking of nom noms to be stuffed in it. But alas, I mustkeep her in shape for snarling at fools running toward her wearing hoodies. Seriously though, she even scared ME this time. lolol.

    Ironically, the only dog that ever bit me was a pomeranian and it would be an understatement to say I have always held that against the breed, even though I did send that little shit sailing on the end of my foot. So picking that little dog up and bringing him to his pant-crapping owner out of reach of my dog was something I nearly had second thoughts about. I mean how stupid do you have to be to walk a dog without a leash when the dog doesn’t even come when you call him? Those little dogs really are brave though. He was wagging and coming at my dog through the whole thing, while his owner was worried about getting eaten. Given the choice, I do think the little dog would have stayed around.

  11. Remember that piece I wrote about these congressional pigs and their ‘stipends’ on trips? They pocked the money they don’t spend, even though they are supposed to turn it back into the pot. They buy presents and things for themselves too. These people are truly out of control thieves and robber barons.

  12. HELLO (((UPPITY’S))))

    It’s funny about the Hoodies, my Davey is the same WAY—hoodies, hats etc…anything that hides the face and the person, she gets real aggressive

    A little OT: but it complies with Past Posts regarding woman

    it’s an e0mail from Kirsten Gilleband—eally like this woman.

    UW: I don’t know anyone in the districts, was hoping you did to pass along
    ___________________________________________

    Hi – I wanted to be in touch about something very important to you and to me.

    Since 2010, we have lost seven pro-choice Democratic women in the New York State Legislature. In terms of the representation of women in elected office, our state’s ranking has slipped from 24th to 34th in the nation.

    But now we have a chance to win some of these seats back. Governor Cuomo has called for special elections to be held on March 20th to fill five vacant seats across the state.

    We are fortunate that two highly qualified pro-choice Democratic women have stepped up to run: Shelley Mayer in the 93rd Assembly District and Didi Barrett in the 103rd Assembly District.

    We need your help to win these races.
    Click here to contribute to Shelley and Didi, and make sure they get the votes they need to win.

    Shelley and Didi need our support – they are strong candidates, but they need our help to get their message to as many voters as possible.

    Working together, we can celebrate two victories for women on March 20th. Help us send these two qualified women to Albany to be a voice for the issues important to you and me.

    Sincerely,

    Kirsten

  13. sorry for the typos————at least Kirsten’s doesn’t have any

    sorry so long

  14. Michelina, you can make typos on my blog any time you want!

  15. thanks UW: I did visit Billy——so I’m free from punishments

  16. I think NOW NY is working on those assembly elections, Michelina. They are one of very few regional NOWs that actually do their job unashamedly.

  17. Seriously myiq, I think the guy did soil himself. He was absolutely ashen and very shaken. He was caught between trying to save his dog and getting his ass eaten and he definitely retreated in fear, my dog was not interested in the dog, she wanted him. You don’t barnstorm somebody’s driveway wearing a hoodie with the owner’s dog watching you.

  18. that is why so many little dogs get killed.
    they think they are 10 feet tall and bullet proof. 😉

  19. I know foxy. But I also know my dog wouldn’t have killed that dog. But I also know she was out for blood off the owner because of how he approached. If it were a bigger dog, there would have been a dog fight. It wasn’t always that way but ever since we were attacked by those two pittie freaks last year, she has very low tolerance for anything her size or bigger. And I can’t blame her. But you are right, because that little sausage was all giddy and poking at her while the owner was in a state of complete panic.

  20. so you think there was a lesson learned by the Pom’s owner?

  21. Olympus Corp’s CEO commits hari kari in face of 1.7 billion fraud scandal. leaves a note that says, “I’m sorry to bother you”. Too bad a few of our CEO theives didn’t do that. But why should they? Over here they get bonuses for being good thieves.
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/02/21/tsutomo-omori-olympus_n_1290201.html?icid=maing-grid10%7Chtmlws-main-bb%7Cdl28%7Csec1_lnk3%26pLid%3D137251

  22. Well Fredster, the wager is, the neighborhood won’t see that little hot dog off leash again.

  23. See sometimes, Fredster, people with little dogs think they can do what people with big dogs aren’t allowed to do. They imagine because they are small, the rules don’t apply. Then one day a big dog on leash kills their little dog and they blame the owner of the other dog. He lucked out because my dog is not animal aggressive. Or should I say, not dog and cat aggressive. She will kill a possum and has. And she hates squirrels. But in this case, that’s all it was, luck. Right backyard. Next time, he might not be so lucky.

  24. See sometimes, Fredster, people with little dogs think they can do what people with big dogs aren’t allowed to do. They imagine because they are small, the rules don’t apply

    Then they are idiots.

    Chloe went after a possum one time. I had her in the back yard and she started barking..no biggie. But then the tone of that bark changed so I went out to see what it was. She had that possum backing up to the side fence! I grabbed the little one and threw her in the house. Then I went back out and turned the hose on the damned possum since I didn’t have anything else at hand. Well two nights later, same thing, same bark and, I guess, same possum out there. This time it climbed up on the fence and headed to the neighbor’s yard. I called him cuz they have two doxies also. Well Todd was upset to hear it because his satsuma trees had been hit with something taking a lot of the fruit. He told me to ignore anything I might hear in a few minutes. In a few minutes: BOOM! Sound of 12 gauge going off. Possum exits stage left and goes to possum heaven.

  25. Always love the needlenose stories. I can picture them in my head…that magnificent dog. True what you say about people with small dogs. The pom biting you was probably just a fluke. I got bitten by my nieces dog not too long ago…my first dog bite! He’s a shelter/rescue dog, some kind of terrier. Cute, but neurotic, he was mistreated. I was just petting him and he turned and bit my hand. He’s also done it to laker, and some other people, so the poor thing is just skittish. A mean beagle ripped my brothers face up when he was a toddler, so you never know. My Mom got a rescue dog a year & a half ago, half Pom, half Papillion. Its adorable to look at and fun to play with but yappy. He is very happy and good natured though. I’m really glad my mom got a pet again. She hadn’t had one for a few years, after her dobie died. Now that she’s alone, she needs a pet. And the lucky dog is getting spoiled and loved.

Comments are closed.