An Old Sock.

I’ve mentioned to a number of people that this blog has become a social thing, a family thing more than anything else.

We get happy together.

We get angry together.

We circle each other’s wagons. We yell at each other but heaven help the creature who shows up here from out of the sky to yell at us. It’s never pretty.

We help each other out.

We even transport illegal kitties across state lines!

We are the only blog around with a Living Header. And a cat who Moderates. We do these things because We Can. And because We Want To.

The other thing we do?

We Endure together.

Because that’s what we do. We Endure. Sometimes we Endure in anger, but most times we actually Endure happily. Boy does that piss some people off!

Like I said, I predicted that I could post a photo of an old sock and still get 100 comments.

So here’s a pair of Old Socks. And of course, a kitty.

Prove my theory wrong.

147 Responses

  1. Now Upps, that picture is totally wrong. First of all it is blazing hot out and the sock is clearly a winter sock. As for the cat. Well, that will do but for Bill’s sake couldn’t you find a summer sock with a tuxie gal?

  2. And if you don’t far pass 100 I will eat the winter socks.

  3. Are those your hairy legs?
    😯

  4. I like this Socks.

  5. “I like this Socks.”
    **********
    After his White House years, Socks lived with Betty Currie in Hollywood Md. My aunt lived in the same area and would occasionally see Betty and Sock at social events. Socks was euthanized in 2009 at age of approx 20.

  6. Sounds like Socks had a good life anyway. Betty Currie really loved him, from what I’ve read.

  7. Wouldn’t that be a shame?

  8. Love the cat in the post photo–it looks just like my eldest!

  9. We yell at each other but heaven help the creature who shows up here from out of the sky to yell at us. It’s never pretty.

    Absolutely–just like families (or sailors and Marines).

  10. What about the socks Sophie? Are those your legs?

  11. Umm…you didn’t mention that we have our very own FixIt Fairy for people who don’t close tags properly…😳

  12. imust, while I do have socks that are very similar to those, my legs don’t look nearly as good.

  13. Here’s some socks:

  14. LOL! Maybe they’re Deadenders legs…..er….socks.

  15. Here’s a poem about socks:

    Ode to My Socks

    Mara Mori brought me
    a pair of socks
    which she knitted herself
    with her sheepherder's hands,
    two socks as soft as rabbits.
    I slipped my feet into them
    as if they were two cases
    knitted with threads of twilight and goatskin,
    Violent socks,
    my feet were two fish made of wool,
    two long sharks
    sea blue, shot through
    by one golden thread,
    two immense blackbirds,
    two cannons,
    my feet were honored in this way
    by these heavenly socks.
    They were so handsome for the first time
    my feet seemed to me unacceptable
    like two decrepit firemen,
    firemen unworthy of that woven fire,
    of those glowing socks.

    Nevertheless, I resisted the sharp temptation
    to save them somewhere as schoolboys
    keep fireflies,
    as learned men collect
    sacred texts,
    I resisted the mad impulse to put them
    in a golden cage and each day give them
    birdseed and pieces of pink melon.
    Like explorers in the jungle
    who hand over the very rare green deer
    to the spit and eat it with remorse,
    I stretched out my feet and pulled on
    the magnificent socks and then my shoes.

    The moral of my ode is this:
    beauty is twice beauty
    and what is good is doubly good
    when it is a matter of two socks
    made of wool in winter.
    Pablo Neruda

  16. Okay people! Sockie….I mean Sophie and I can’t do this alone! 14 comments! We need 86 more!!!

  17. I thought Socks was the name of the cat – does that count?.

    Does Bill know how to get bookmarks saved in Explorer into Firefox?

  18. Sorry, imust, here’s one more but I won’t be back today. Gotta run. Good luck with it imust, only 85 more left.

    I will mention PIE. That should be good for a few posts.

  19. Did someone mention PIE?🙂

  20. okay, one more:

    socks with sandals

    http://www.google.com/search?q=socks+with+sandals&hl=en&prmd=imvns&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=xGUAUJn9HarD0QHJqrXTBw&sqi=2&ved=0CF4QsAQ&biw=1280&bih=606

    socks with kittens:

    http://www.google.com/search?num=10&hl=en&site=imghp&tbm=isch&source=hp&q=sock+kitten&oq=sock+kitten&gs_l=img.12..0j0i24j0i5i24.664.8260.0.12025.31.17.10.4.6.0.96.1328.17.17.0…0.0…1ac.kOh7DN7Rcu0&biw=1280&bih=606&sei=JGYAUKqyL-jd0QGN0IWvBw

    PIE!

  21. imust: When the California contingent gets on, I’m sure the comments will flow.

  22. Okie dokie…but the California gang doesn’t usually get here until the late evening.

  23. You’re not supposed to cheat.

  24. You’re not supposed to cheat.

    IOKIYAO

  25. Oops, I forgot to close my tag

  26. Tag is closed though. The whole thing is italics. Did you want to change that?

  27. Great socks. This is just a bit for Uppity and the great crew on Fri. the 13th.

  28. I like socks.
    I like cats.
    I like pie.

    A hundred comments? Easy!

  29. Aunt Uppity LOVES her her lurkers who always come through!

  30. The person who makes it 101 gets a penguin.

  31. Sockity sock socks… unraveling here in the other CA

  32. Can’t see the numbers on the phone.

  33. Hey imust Ang made a peach blueberry cobbler yesterday. A whole 9×13 casserole dish is it. Oink.

  34. No imust Zoe does NOT like cats
    Or
    Rabbits
    Squerls
    Lizards
    Possums
    Snakes
    Armadillos
    Or anyone or anything on the other side of the fence.

  35. I knew it!!

    I’ve been forever looking for that old missing sock that I lost long ago. Well, I should of known that I would find it here.

    Eventually, I find everything here.
    😉

  36. LOL Rev!!!!

  37. SHV – That looks like my comment from a while back! Also, Betty Curry also took Socks to local Humane Sociey events to help promote them. He looked like a wise old kitty the, based on photos I saw. He was truly remarkable kitty, and well cared for.

  38. Somewhere in the world, there is a mountain of socks that have no mates because of a sacrifice to the Dryer God.

    Adopt a sock today.

  39. Adopt? They need to find a mate.
    I recommend…..
    Sockmatch.com

  40. Did someone mention 9×13 COBBLER?🙂

  41. Lost sock? Make a poster.

  42. Breaking Bad season 5 starts Sunday

  43. Hi Everyone! How is Mom’s journey coming along? Did she make her destination yet?

    Paterno’s family made a self serving statement thats been all over the news, about how maybe Joepa could have looked into whether or not the university people were doing their job. It was so ridiculous.

    Like that pic of Socks the cat & Betty.

  44. ROFL Freedom Fairy!

  45. I got nothing on Socks, but we once got to visit the White House when Hillary was the First Lady and we saw Buddy roaming around the WH. One of the highlights of the tour. We also got Presidential M&Ms. We still have them, I wouldn’t let anyone eat them then and now no one wants to eat them!!!

  46. Just had a Bengal kitten, about 5 months, come right up the drive. Beautiful animal. Alas he is wearing a collar and didn’t eat or drink a thing. He is now exploring one of the elder trees out back. Boy, these are the times that try me. I could snatch that cat and find a home for him in 30 seconds. You know, the kind of home that won’t let him outside. But then, he’s a Bengal, so it’s very possible no one let him outside. He just opened the door and did it himself.

  47. I have peaches. I have fresh blueberries. But I don haf a cobbler.

    …sigh.

  48. Speaking of when socks was around
    http://blog.heritage.org/2012/07/12/obama-guts-welfare-reform/ Obama has euthanized welfare reform

  49. Halfway point…Please don’t send me half a penguin.

  50. No surprise there. Obama doesn’t work either.

  51. Apparently Miami has moved to Southern California…

    ‘s hot and oddly very muggy… California contingent might be late – everyone is out looking for something cold to drink.

  52. OT. There’s a new short series on the USA network beginning on Sunday called Political Animals, roughly about a divorced former first lady who is currently the Secretary of State. I think she runs for president. It will be starring Sigourney Weaver. Anyone here plan to watch it? Unfortunately, it runs against the HBO series The Newsroom, which is Aaron Sorkin’s latest and despite all the bad reviews, I like it.

  53. http://www.nypost.com/p/news/local/girl_on_girl_workplace_harass_orTwWMeMA1hfeCA6b00FoI

  54. Anyone here plan to watch it?

    Remember the sabbath day and keep it holy. Watch Breaking Bad on AMC

  55. You know, the kind of home that won’t let him outside….
    **********
    I’ve given up try to keep my one year old male inside. He will hide and wait for a door to open, then run like hell to get out or if a door is left open to an outside deck, he will jump from 10 or 20 feet above ground and land in bushes to make his escape.

  56. Watch Breaking Bad on AMC

    I might have, simply because your post made it sound compelling, but it hardly makes sense if they’re entering season 5 and I’ve never seen one episode. And I have a date with The Newsroom.

  57. TCH is less than 250 hits from a million. There will be a clothing optional party afterwards.

  58. And I have a date with The Newsroom.

    DVD – seasons 1-3 are already out.

  59. Oswald, seriously?

  60. Oswald, that’s a different newsroom. I mean this one:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Newsroom_%28U.S._TV_series%29

  61. I’ve given up try to keep my one year old male inside. He will hide and wait for a door to open, then run like hell to get out or if a door is left open to an outside deck, he will jump from 10 or 20 feet above ground and land in bushes to make his escape.

    Bengals are arboreal, a gift from their Asian Leopard Cat genes. I watched this little guy conquer one of my box elders like it was a little kitty condo and then fly through the air onto an old BBQ pit. So, yeah, leaping for something easy like a door is small work for them.

  62. Bengals are amazing. A friend of mine had one, and besides being one of the most beautiful cats I’ve ever seen, it was out of its mind. She thought she could train it. HA! Her control issues were bested in about a month…

    Speaking of kitties, socks, etc – check this out:

  63. Anthony, I knew one that would navigate a huge maple for a leap onto the house. He sunned himself on the roof. No shit.

  64. “Bengals are arboreal, a gift from their Asian Leopard Cat genes. ”
    *********
    My high flyer is not that fancy, just a “red-neck” gray tabby barn cat. Looks like the above cat with the socks but has white paws.

  65. Anthony, that’s amazing! Very cool.

  66. Wow! That Bengal is something else! (Better than the football players here in Cincinnati, who stole his name.)

  67. You can have a pond. And you can have a Bengal. But you can’t have a Bengal and a pond.

  68. Sly Stallone’s kid found dead….probably overdose of pills. Not a kid really, he was 36.
    http://movies.yahoo.com/blogs/movie-talk/sage-stallone-eldest-son-sylvester-stallone-found-dead-002545563.html

  69. You want to see an asian leopard cat move and make sounds? This is the mix of the Bengal.
    http://www.bengalcat.com/aboutbengals/animatedalc.aspx

  70. YellarDawg, they have been known to cat a fly in mid air. lol.

  71. We stil don’t know whose legs those are……

  72. I think they’re MyIq’s legs.

  73. Congrats again Myiq….I think you deserve a penguin…or a PIE.

  74. Way to go, clown! Now you are obligated to do it for life!

  75. imust, I’d give him another pengy but after what Oswald did over at the penal colony, I don’t think it’s safe.

  76. OMG, imust!! Is that what Socks looked like?!! I knew he was a tuxie but his face is the spitten image of our dear departed Nicky. We just lost him to cancer a couple of weeks ago. He was such a beautiful boy.

    And I love my old sock…it gives me great comfort to be here, always….:)

  77. “Like I said, I predicted that I could post a photo of an old sock and still get 100 comments.”

    Posting a pic of Paterno would do that.

  78. I am very good at math, so I did it in my head, then on paper, and finally on a calculator just to confirm my numerical capabilities. Each time I got the same answer, and sure enough: it is my very favorite movie ever.

    DO NOT cheat and look at the movies. Do YOUR math, THEN compare the results to the list of movies at the bottom. You will be AMAZED at how scary true and accurate this test is

    1. Pick a number from 1-9.
    2. Multiply by 3.
    3. Add 3.
    4. Multiply by 3 again.
    5. Now add the two digits of your answer together to find your favorite movie (of all time) in the list of 17 movies below:

    **** The rest of the comment will be pasted in a later comment to help you not cheat!!! lol **********

  79. I hate that movie

  80. lorac, when are you posting the list of movies…I’m sitting here with a number, ready to go.

  81. lorac, when are you posting the list of movies…I’m sitting here with a number, ready to go.

    tap tap tap….. Me too.

  82. Anthony, we could always construct the list from our results. It’s not like we don’t know what our own favorite movies are.

  83. True dat, Sophie. Let’s just keep posting til one of us gets the penguin. The movie will magically change to Happy Feet

  84. Anthony, I bet we like the same movie. And I’m fairly certain that it doesn’t involve feet.

  85. sorry! I was waiting for some comments to show up to be a barrier! Here’s the rest! (and I’ll bet it’s NOT a movie myiq would hate! lol)

    Movie List:

    1. Gone With the Wind
    2. E.T.
    3. Blazing Saddles
    4. Star Wars
    5. Forrest Gump
    6. The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly
    7. Jaws
    8. Grease
    9. The Obama Farewell Speech of 2012
    10. Casablanca
    11. Jurassic Park
    12. Shrek
    13. Pirates of the Caribbean
    14. Titanic
    15. Raiders of the Lost Ark
    16. Home Alone
    17. Mrs. Doubtfire

    Now, isn’t that something?

  86. You should have all gotten the same number….

  87. Myiq

    1,000,000 HITS!!!!! The Crawdad Hole

    1,000,000 Congrats!

  88. OH, I forgot to mention, it’s from here:

    http://yougottobekidding.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/math-quiz-reveals-your-favorite-movie/

  89. lorac, that’s awesome!!!

  90. Wow lorac, and I thought it would be a movie about goats.

    In other news, how about we save some tax dollars by having medicare stop buying penis pumps:
    http://www.abc15.com/dpp/news/national/medicare-payments-for-penis-pumps-soar-500-percent-as-alleged-fraud-surfaces

  91. Nope lorac, movie list equations test did not work for me. 😦

  92. I think I’m going to be comment #94. Yes, you’re right; an old sock can get you 100 around here.

  93. thanks. math is taxing-I figure we all got 9
    but where’s Major League?

  94. Oh Imust@2:02…did you really have to do that?

  95. UW will be be seeing her 100 for today very soon.

    And it all started with a pair of socks and a cat.

  96. Ok, I’m hungry. What’s the leftover of the night?

    Wonder if Mom has any BBQ left in her car?

  97. And she’s right.

  98. We have a winner!!!!!!!

    Balloons and confetti dropping all over Sophie!

    Champange corks flying.

  99. no tc, that would be you at 101

  100. Uppity has a ball of lint lined up for tomorrows subject.

  101. Sophie, wait ’til morning to collect your trophy from UW for hitting the magical “100” comment for the post. Be ready for your penguin.

  102. And Sophie gets the Pengy!!!!

  103. Peep. I’m watching “Death of a Superhero.”

  104. tc gets the pengy.

    And Uppity, I think you can make 200, seeings how there’s a kitty and all and not just socks.

  105. SophieCT said:

    In other news, how about we save some tax dollars by having medicare stop buying penis pumps

    Yeah, but:

    Medicare pays for penis pumps as durable medical equipment — the same as it does for wheelchairs, home oxygen and bedpans — as long as a physician prescribes the device as “medically necessary” for treatment of erectile dysfunction. Over a decade, the average cost for the pumps has been about $338.

    Well that’s cheaper than a Dyson…

  106. Uppity has a ball of lint lined up for tomorrows subject.

    ROFL!!! Just for that, you can have half of my zucchini quiche.

  107. Imagine how many comments a new sock would get.

  108. It’s Friday The 13th. Anything else going on with a sock?

  109. ROFL #9 is what I got.

  110. Well that’s cheaper than a Dyson

    ROFL!

    Gotta love those penis pumps. You press the button and your neighbor’s garage door goes up.

  111. Hey don’t knock the ball of lint. That’s good for 150 I bet.

  112. Should give special ones to the Taliban. Modified with cigar cutters.

  113. TC you get the pengy!!!!

  114. Congrats Myiq! Your first million! Way to go!

    Uppity, I have two friends who had bengals, one was half breed the other pure. They both died at a fairly young age from dashing out of the house and getting hit by cars. They are so beautiful and fun to watch. One of them was my next-door-neighbors (the half Bengal, half Siamese). A gorgeous creature, she got it when it was a kitten, and laker was still a little kid. That cat loved laker more than anyone & would sit on its front window sill waiting for laker to come and play with him. He was adorable, and smart as a whip.

  115. #9 my fav movie of all time!

  116. Very easy mathematical equation. I always used 2 but it’s the same deal. You can use it to come up with a number.

    Pick a number, any number.
    Mutiply by 2
    Add x
    Divide by 2
    Subract your original number
    The answer will be half of x.

    But hey what do I know, I’m just a girl.

  117. I’m going to make a peach “crisp” tomorrow, without wheat or sugar. I did it with strawberry-rhubarb a oouple of weeks ago and it was great. I sweetened the fruit with stevia and used cornstarch for thickener and for the topping used the McCanns oatmeal, coconut flour, almond flour, butter & more stevia.

  118. towne – try again! 🙂

  119. Stupid shit straight girls say to lesbians.

  120. OMG socal. Half Bengal, Half Siamese. What. a. nightmare. No peace. No peace.

  121. Taliban doesn’t need them DE. Goats have that suction thing going on.

  122. Karen, do you want dryer lint or belly button lint?

  123. Oh, yeah, he was wild. He ran his household.

  124. Oh yuck! Please say dryer karen! Dryer!!

  125. LOL on The Obama Farewell Speech of 2012!

  126. UW at 1223, isn’t Sophie our winner at 100? Like the millionth person to cross a special bridge or something? Not million and one… Sophie as our 100th sly commenter is quite deserving, you know.

  127. UW and Karen,

    do you want dryer lint or belly button lint?

    My. The offerings are denigrating as the night goes darker.

  128. TC the promise was a pengy for the 101st commenter. Would you like to transfer your pengy?

  129. Careful imust and TC. There are some horrific images of BB lint on Google. I am fighting the urge to post them and it is bordering on Tourette’s at this point.

  130. Ewww!

  131. Hmmmm. 101st? Not 100th? How about a cool split down the middle? We will thus have to both work for the other half in the ensuing posts.

  132. Horrific images, eh? Thou tortures the innocent eyes.

  133. These penguins Uppity gives away were “rescued” from a minimum security prison somewhere.

  134. I was just looking up the latest about Paterno and NYT just put this story up. Its sickening what that bastard got away with. Check it out:

    http://www.nytimes.com/2012/07/14/sports/ncaafootball/joe-paterno-got-richer-contract-amid-jerry-sandusky-inquiry.html?pagewanted=all

  135. Another historic first for Obama.
    “The most people to faint at one of his historic speeches”

    The pool report on President Obama’s trip to Roanoke, Virginia says that more than 20 people fainted during the president’s speech this evening.

    “TV viewers may have heard POTUS pointed out a couple of faintings during the rally in downtown Roanoke,” writes the pool report. “In fact, fire officials say more than 20 people fell out during the course of the speech. There were waves of exclamation as one person after another swooned.”

  136. These penguins Uppity gives away were “rescued” from a minimum security prison somewhere.

    This is not true. These are fresh pengys with no records or problems of any kind, with a clean bill of health. This was not the case with Oswald, whom we were trying desperately to get rid of at the Penguin Penal Colony, due to his pathology(s). Once we found the perfect match for his criminal mind, which would be MyIQ and the State of California, he was shipped without delay, much to our glee.

  137. Shipped? You gave me $5 and two cans of anchovies then dropped me off on the interstate and told me to hitchhike.

    You do realize that penguins don’t have thumbs?

  138. Thank god for that busload of Hari Krishnas. I rode with them from Oklahoma to Needles.

  139. Shipped? You gave me $5 and two cans of anchovies then dropped me off on the interstate and told me to hitchhike

    Well yeah, there was that too.

    You do realize that penguins don’t have thumbs?

    Yes. But it all went wrong worked out okay.

    Thank god for that busload of Hari Krishnas. I rode with them from Oklahoma to Needles.

    Yes and we read the news about that.

  140. Did Obama give his personal bottle of water to a nearby faintee again?

    God, is this guy a one trick pony or what?

  141. Upps and company rocks!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  142. Anyone here plan to watch it?I am for sure.
    DVR new episodes and it will find it.

  143. Well Uppity, you axed fer it!! Now 146 comments, including mine. Yes, we endure together and often endure each other together. Uppityites are a very unique gang, no? Too far away to get in on the smuggling illegal kittens (is that like illegal aliens, only better?) You can have my old socks anytime!

  144. DO NOT I repeat DO NOT vote for either of the old socks for prez!
    Vote for women, vote for Jill Stein, green party. If “they” (olds socks) keep her out of the vote, write her in. Jill Stein for President.

Comments are closed.