Fly Free Neil Armstrong!

Neil Armstrong has passed away. The Moon landing was a milestone and those of my age will remember the excitement, the anticipation, the pride in American Achievement!

His family has released a statement that reads in part

“While we mourn the loss of a very good man, we also celebrate his remarkable life and hope that it serves as an example to young people around the world to work hard to make their dreams come true, to be willing to explore and push the limits, and to selflessly serve a cause greater than themselves,” his family said.

“For those who may ask what they can do to honor Neil, we have a simple request. Honor his example of service, accomplishment and modesty, and the next time you walk outside on a clear night and see the moon smiling down at you, think of Neil Armstrong and give him a wink.

I don’t think anyone who remembers that day has ever looked at the moon and the sky in quite the same way. That moon landing and the Space Program, were a tangible sign that America can do ANYTHING when we put our mind to it. Ingenuity, science, faith in America and a very very large dose of courage went into that journey to the stars.

God Bless M.r Armstrong as he lifts off for his final journey into the great final frontier.

39 Responses

  1. RIP Neil Armstrong. I do remember that day and the pride we all felt.

  2. Beautiful post for an American hero!

    djmm

  3. I will raise my glass to him this evening at dinner. RIP Neil.

  4. Amazing day it was!
    i just love the statement from the family. Service, accomplishment, modesty. Work hard, explore, service to a cause greater than oneself.
    What better message could there be for our young people?

  5. Okay, I’m embarrassed, but it’s still funny. I just told my daughter (age 16) that Neil Armstrong died. She said, “Who’s that”? I was a little annoyed that she didn’t know, but responded that he was the first man on the moon. She said, “Oh, I thought that was Lance Armstrong.”

  6. Extraordinary man. Extraordinary achievement.

  7. List of things that came about as a result of the space program (No Tang was not invented by or for the space program- I am so upset!)
    I am not vouching for the validity of this list lol
    http://kearth101.cbslocal.com/2011/07/21/list-stuff-we-use-everyday-that-was-invented-from-the-space-program/

  8. I remember where I was that day: at Girl Scout camp. I was 9 years old. We all thought it was so cool that we got to watch TV at camp.

  9. When I was very young, I wanted to be an astronaut. The nuns rarely used TV in the classroom but the space shots were always an exception. I even watched them on vacation and would sit through all those long technical discussions in awe.

    I can remember where I was that day in the summer of 1969. I remember getting calls from brothers on camping trips all excited that they were invited and bused to near by businesses and churches so that they could watch that historic event.

    I can only hope that our younger generations someday have the opportunity t witness/take part in something equally uplifting.

  10. ProudMilitaryMom, on August 25, 2012 at 4:40 PM said:

    Amazing day it was!
    i just love the statement from the family. Service, accomplishment, modesty. Work hard, explore, service to a cause greater than oneself.
    What better message could there be for our young people?

    Yes PMM we need more heroes like him.

  11. Indeed- we all remember. Seems I remember Mom waking us up to watch- did it happen late at night or am I misremembering?

  12. My family was on a camping trip. We couldn’t see it on TV, but we listened on a portable radio. As I recall it was around dinnertime, may have been later as I remember lanterns being on the table. So it would have been later on the east coast. But, as you said PMM, I may be misremembering it. We watched it replayed on TV when we returned home from camping.

    *I looked it up. It was at 20:18 UTC. Converted that would be 12:20 pm here. So my memory must have been listening to them discuss it later.

  13. djmm- sorry I did not fish you out of Spam earlier- must be your turn.

  14. We were all EARTHLINGS that day, cheering on one of our own. RIP Neil Armstrong, a true hero.

  15. imust- you’re funny! What the hell is UTC and what does that convert to in Eastern time? (I refuse to learn the metric system either lol)

  16. Ok the CNN article says it was
    “About six and a half hours later at 10:56 p.m. ET on July 20, 1969, Armstrong, at age 38, became the first person to set foot on the moon.”

    That does not match up with what you said imust-
    Stupid CNN. Can they ever get anything right?

  17. It was at 10:56 PM on the east coast. UTC is Coordinated Universal Time (also known as Zulu time), which is also GMT. According to that trusted reference, Wikipedia:
    He then turned and set his left boot on the surface at 2:56 UTC July 21, 1969,

    It is likely that there were multiple re-broadcasts of this blessed event.

  18. If it happened today, I’d bet they’d time it to occur for the Houston evening news.

  19. RIP Neil Armstrong.

    What an inspiration he was, a true American hero and so very modest. Based on the statement I’d say his family follows in his footsteps.

  20. Goldwater 1964 Acceptance Speech on C-SPAN right now. People are smoking in the audience!!

  21. Mom, thanks for making this post part of Uppity’s Blog. It’s important.

    As for time, I remember it was dusk when they were LANDING. I ran through the woods behind our house to find my parents who were working with our horse (not like Anne Romney’s horse, but a horse nonetheless.) I was screaming to “come in!” It was long ago, but I remember watching for HOURS – the whole thing. And was it Cronkite or Severide?

  22. Oooh..Goldwater just dissed the moon shot as an unworthy goal. Coincidence?

  23. , on August 25, 2012 at 5:51 PM said:
    I remember where I was that day: at Girl Scout camp. I was 9 years old. We all thought it was so cool that we got to watch TV at camp.

    Same here. I was a counselor and the entire camp were told to bring pillows and blankets to the rec hall (ala one huge space pajama party) where a TV had been set up to view the event.
    So glad we didn’t miss out on watching it ” live”.

  24. FF XOXOXO
    It is very sad that we have nothing uniting us in this country now. I know, I know, bad old days, Soviet Union, Cold War etc. But dammit! Pres. Kennedy said we would put a man on the moon- and by golly we DID!

  25. Beautiful post Mom. Love the message from the family…modesty, yes! A virtue that is in short supply today.

    imust, I remember it being in the evening also. My whole family was there, and some of the neighbors at our house. I remember Cronkite. Wonderful memory. Amazing man.

  26. It was an exciting time! Too bad that our space program is going by the way side.

  27. dwp, were you my counselor?😉

  28. Nixon’s 68 acceptance speech is on now. He is pumped!

  29. Sorry about the time confusion everybody! Well at least I didn’t remember sitting on my grandpa’s shoulders watching the splash down in the ocean in Hawaii when I was camping in Frasier Park, CA! Now that would be weird.
    Obama:
    .

    I should note, just personally, I grew up in Hawaii, as many of you know, and I still recall sitting on my grandfather’s shoulders when those capsules would land in the middle of the Pacific and they’d get brought back and we’d go out and we’d pretend like they could see us as we were waving at folks coming home.

  30. It bothered me that they stopped televising space program events because they didn’t get enough viewers to make it worth their while. Pisses me off even more when there’s traffic on the highway due to rubbernecking an accident. Sure folks, stop to look at an automobile accident but not a space launch. Jeez.

  31. They should have broadcast the launches anyway Sophie. It would have been the responsible thing to do. Television, in it’s early days was meant to educate as well as entertain.

  32. I agree, imust. That was the original charter.

  33. Reminds me of what Murrow said about television:

    “This instrument can teach, it can illuminate; yes, and it can even inspire. But it can do so only to the extent that humans are determined to use it to those ends. Otherwise it is merely wires and lights in a box. There is a great and perhaps decisive battle to be fought against ignorance, intolerance and indifference. This weapon of television could be useful.”

    http://www.turnoffyourtv.com/commentary/hiddenagenda/murrow.html

  34. I made the most awesome homemade ice cream. And low carb! For the sugar portion, I used 1/3 the amount of real sugar, 1/3 granulated xylitol, and 1/3 of a granulated stevia/erythritol. You could not tell the difference. Of course it was high in fat!

  35. Hi Everyone! I’ve been listening to some old British Blues. Here’s John Mayall & Eric Clapton, playing an Les Paul, mid 1960s:

  36. “We were all EARTHLINGS that day, cheering on one of our own. RIP Neil Armstrong, a true hero.”

    I couldn’t have said it any better.

    I watched from Goatf*ckistan, a few days short of my 7th birthday, completely overawed.

  37. Lakerdude! Love how you come up with the great old songs! How’s post high school life?
    NES- hmph. Go ahead- rub your youth in our faces lol!

Comments are closed.