Suffering Suffrage

No one could fault those Suffragettes for looking a bit worn and weary—they busted their asses for more than 41 years for the right to vote. (And for what, I might add.)

The opposition was fierce.

Crass.

And relentless.

Leaving it up to the states was slow and irratic.

Like same sex marriage, medical marijuana, abortion regulations, the ERA, legalizing raw milk, and giving Jill Stein ballot access.

Eventually, the 19th Amendment was passed. From Wikipedia (the authority):

The Nineteenth Amendment (Amendment XIX) to the United States Constitution prohibits any United States citizen to be denied the right to vote based on sex. It was ratified on August 18, 1920. The Constitution allows the states to determine the qualifications for voting, and until the 1910s most states disenfranchised women. The amendment was the culmination of the women’s suffrage movement in the United States, which fought at both state and national levels to achieve the vote. It effectively overruled Minor v. Happersett, in which a unanimous Supreme Court ruled that the Fourteenth Amendment did not apply to women or give them a right to vote.

Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton drafted the amendment and first introduced it in 1878; it was forty-one years later, in 1919, when the Congress submitted the amendment to the states for ratification. A year later, it was ratified by the requisite number of states

Some people have suggested that human rights are a luxury, you know, what with the economy and all.

Where do you think it fits in and where do you think they think it fits in?

If you hear the dogs, keep going. If you see the torches in the woods, keep going. If there’s shouting after you, keep going. Don’t ever stop. Keep going. If you want a taste of freedom, keep going.

56 Responses

  1. Thank you, Sophie, for this great post. I think the picture of this woman protester says it all. A woman must have sovereignty over her own body and it is non negotiable. I’ve missed you all and am very happy to see Uppity’s is open for business again –as it were. If I don’t have that little kitty on the left punching at me, I don’t know what to do with myself!!

    And my I also say that Tiger Lily is a stunning girl!!

  2. Thank you Ani. And thank you on behalf of Tiger Lily. She is a joy and a handful all at once.

    Thank you for Occupying Uppity Woman Blog with me.
    Whose Blog? Our Blog!

  3. OUW!! Love it!

    Tiger Lily must be a handful but she is so lovely, I don’t know how you part with her for even an hour!

  4. And I have been lurking here regularly. My publicist has been getting me buckets of radio interviews around the country so I am working to spread the word — leaving less time for writing, unfortunately. But I’m always here.

    Sending big, virtual hugs to Upps and each of you! 🙂

  5. Whose blog? OUR BLOG!
    ROFL!
    Nice post Sophie! I see the sidebars are still changing too.

  6. I like the new decorations too. It seems there’s enough sidebar space to go on forever too, unlike, say, walls in the living room.

  7. Hey gurl! (waves) Glad to see the post. Great job!

  8. Jack is ringing the wind chimes! He likes the post! (I have a beautiful set of wind chimes I got in Alaska- I bring them in for the rainy.snowy season)

  9. Hey boi (waving back). Good to see you here.

  10. Jack’s just here for the raw milk.

  11. Okay: y’all can have the vote but just don’t drive. (ducks and runs!)

  12. Thank you for your post, Sophie!!

  13. You’re welcome, dwp. We’re Occupying! Drumming circle starts in 31 mins.

  14. I don’t know… Even satirical sexism bums me out. I guess if all things were equal, I’d find the humor in crap like that “women don’t drive” video, but it’s just too close to everyday reality… for women, anyway.

  15. Sophie
    Drumming circle! Cool!

  16. dwp, I can find it amusing because it’s poking fun at the thinking of the past. See, it’s in black and white and it’s an old car and all. Of course, men don’t think like that any more.

    Seriously, I heard somewhere that the number one risk group in auto insurance was single men under 25 and the number two risk group was divorced women over 30.

  17. I couldn’t find this video on youtube so the only way I could get it to embed was to make a post about it. Hillary Speaks for Me.
    http://pie2012.wordpress.com/2012/09/10/hillary-speaks-for-me/

  18. dwp, I can find it amusing because it’s poking fun at the thinking of the past.
    ———-
    Disagree that that kind of thinking is in the past. If you don’t believe my Ref: 2008 attitudes about women vice/ presidential candidates; beliefs of 2012 presidential candidates, media,etc.

    That vid wouldn’t be so cutting if 1) it wasn’t symbolic of majority of males mind set; 2) following on the topic of your post; 3) posted by a male.

  19. Thanks, Sophie. It was good to check in here tonight, and see your awesome post!! Just as the Suffragettes did, women’s rights advocates face opposition from both women and men, but the fight continues. And, there continues to be a need for vigilance, to ensure that hard won rights are not infringed upon and diminished.

    How appropriate to evaluate our progress in the context of the Needs Pyramid. Some women would still be at the very bottom, attempting to meet their basic physiological needs, and the needs of their families. An even larger number of women still struggle to meet safety needs. Self-esteem needs require respect of others. In terms of respect as individuals, by some people, I’m sure that would apply to almost all women. But, collectively, as a gender, women aren’t respected.

    It is infuriating that women have had to fight and struggle for every right. It’s even more infuriating that we continue to have to do so.

  20. Good to see Uppity’s blog is still open for business. Great post, SophieCT. And right on time. I was just reading that Bill O’Reilly said tonight that obama is mistaken if he thinks focusing on Planned Parenthood and Sandr Fluke is going to get him re-elected. O’Reilly may be corect that it might not get obama re-elected, but the GOP stance on women’s bodies and women’s healthcare is sure not going to get Romney and Mr. Legitimate Rape Ryan elected.

  21. dwp, I should have used the snark font. I know it’s not the thinking of the past. But I really do look at it as a pitiful depiction of guys who think that way, In other words, the joke is on them and they don’t even realize it. And I would be pissed at Fredster if I thought he thought that way for even a minute, but I am certain he does not.

  22. hey freespirit! That’s an interesting fact I overlooked there–that women fought against the Suffragettes too. Sigh…

    Waving at Hugo!! good to see you here!

  23. Sophie, valiant effort and I applaud you. Until the people move on from shouldav, couldav wouldav, there is no moving forward – just simmering resentment of the past. JMHO of course, but it’s been four long years of resentment (rightfully so) simmering and it’s going to be a very difficult hurdle to get past, because many people don’t want to get past it.
    We have so many things to celebrate, and so many things that we may lose if we are not vigilant and fight. I was there back in the 60’s. Chained myself to a fence and was arrested for birth control access – back then birth control was not on a medical plan at all – back then medical plans were miniscule and hard to come by. Birth control was a forbidden thing that “Satan” introduced (sound familiar).
    My mother had 8 pregnancies – 5 of us lived. She was lucky – my father was stationed away from home for extended periods of time, so only 8. When my mother tried to get a job, the only ones for her were as a factory assembly line worker, a waitress in a two bit diner (high end restaurants never hired women) or a corset fitter in the local Department store. My mother was a brilliant woman who was born before her time. A Corset fitter? Her IQ was genius level. But she was supposed to be June Cleaver.
    And today, we are faced with a rising tide to send women back to that time that my mother abhored, as did I. When women are fighting about how a woman got screwed, and totally ignore the fact that there is no going back and they are faced with a choice about which man is less anti woman – and then state they are going to vote for the one who is the most anti woman to teach the lesser anti woman candidate a lesson – that’s when I remember my mother the strongest. She would have known what to do. I’m amazed that more women don’t recognize that truth. We fought for it over generations – don’t throw it away.

  24. I saw a pic on Facebook today- and of course I did not save it. It was a photo of four or five of our female military pilots. The caption was
    “Hey Taliban! Look UP! Your women don’t drive? OURS DO!”
    And there we have a huge problem- take a look at the side bar- “This is not culture. This is not custom. This is criminal.”
    It is sad that there are so few who remember when women could not vote. My Mom was born in 1925. How many are left who came to adulthood before then?
    ANd we have societies (I refuse to call them cultures or civilizations- nothing cultured or civilized about them) where women are truly chattel.
    Our young women are flabbergasted if I talk to them about how it was even when I was in school. Choices were few. Teacher, nurse, librarian,, secretary. And most with the assumption that you did that only until you got married and had kids. I was the caught in the middle age group. Born mid 1950’s. Lived in typical suburbia. We got the drug culture before we got women’s lib.

  25. “Hey Taliban! Look UP! Your women don’t drive? OURS DO!”

    ROFLMAO!!!!! I love it!! I fricken’ love it!

  26. Hey PMM – my mom was born August 6th, 1915. She died July 2, 1986. I miss her more than anyone can know. I was born at the end of the 40’s. I was urged to take part in the women’s movement (now known as feminazi central by the right wingers) by my mother. Her mother was a district nurse – an educated woman in a time when women were not educated, because they were supposed to stay home and spawn. Women today do not have any idea of the trials and tribulations that their ancestors had to endure just to be able to vote. My grandmother couldn’t vote until she was in her forties, and only because women banded together and fought the good fight (Iron Jawed Angels anyone?)

  27. My mother was a brilliant woman who was born before her time. A Corset fitter? Her IQ was genius level. But she was supposed to be June Cleaver.

    HT, That’s what set Betty Friedan off and the rest is herstory.

  28. Sophie, this was a great post. thank you for keeping Uppity’s place open. I loved the drumming. These women are filled with the African rhythms. How beautiful.
    I didn’t realize that full women’s suffrage was approved in the west before the east. I had always thought of the west as “Man’s Country” and was stunned to see that almost to a state, women were granted suffrage in all those states. It has always caught in my throat when I’ve said or written that the right to vote was granted to women as if women somehow had to earn it.

    Just my thought… and my thanks for this post.

  29. Leslie, maybe it was the Lysistrata effect. Maybe in “man’s country,” a shortage of women increased their perceived value.

  30. According to this site:
    http://www.infoplease.com/spot/womencensus1.html
    In 2010, 66.6% of women were registered to vote and 46.2% voted. (45% of men voted)

  31. Leslie, women have always been “granted” stuff. Men have never been “granted”, they’ve just taken. Today women have so many male friends who will stand with them. Back in the 60’s, that was not the case. Times do change, as do people. That’s why I’m so concerned by this latest election season. Women have one heckuva a lot to lose – they can choose to return to June Cleaverville, in which case it will take their descendants 50 additional years to overcome, or they can choose to go forward, with warts for sure, but at least it’s going in the right direction (even though that direction is years behind where we as women should be – how dare any human think that we women are not equal!!!).

  32. Sophie, you are good – very good. Thanks for the soap box. I’ll give you a break and quit now. Time for bed – after I walk la Milly. Sorry for hogging the thread, especially after I’ve been silent for a few years.

  33. Sophie, wonderful post. And, thank you for bringing la famiglia together again. Good on you.

  34. Thanks NES. We’re occupying the Uppity Blog. As Karen would say, Uppity Twinkles.

  35. Ohhhh–forgot to tell you, I got my Uppity Woman mugs from DE today!! Lily got the bubble wrap.

  36. Finally, an Occupy movement with integrity!! I pray it’ll be more successful than OWS.

  37. LOL! Not a very high bar around these parts!

  38. NES, you’ll eat pie instead of crow over this occu-pie mvmt.

  39. Isn’t this the part where imust comes in and says:

    Did someone say pie?

  40. My wonderful and hard working Grandma was born in 1901. She worked in the home and outside the home at menial jobs. Her kids and grandkids knew she made our world go around. Hard to believe she was told she could not vote and then was given the right. She always voted and there was always political talk at her table.

  41. dwp: I guess you took umbrage when Uppity put up a video by that same Brit comedian that was called “Women: Know your limits!”. Any and all who know me from either here or The Widdershins knows that there’s no way in hell I sympathize with the sentiments of that video. I know absolutely and with certainty that the blog owner here knows that. Going back to catch the last few minutes of the MNF game. Oakland was pathetic tonight.

  42. HAHAHAHAHAHA Karen. Gimme pie any day. (Now dear imust will wanna get in on the act.)

  43. dwp, our Fredster’s totally cool. Practically one of the grrrrls, he is. Better feminist creds than I!

  44. Did someone mention PIE?🙂

  45. Thank ye NES. Yep, I think I have my feminist creds in my wallet here somewhere. 😉

  46. imust: You’re too late! We ate it all. 😆

  47. Aww….always a day late and a pie short!🙂

  48. imust: Lemme see what I can rustle up around here….
    Hmm! How ’bout a piece of dutch apple pie with some ice cream?

  49. Great post! Just what we needed. And love the new sidebars.

  50. ooh yum. fredster you had to show us that right before bedtime! I need to make a dessert this week.

  51. Also, love the sign that woman is holding at the bottom of the post. Funny and sadly true!

  52. ooh yum. fredster you had to show us that right before bedtime!

    There is always time for a late-night snack! 🙂

  53. It goes without saying that organized religion has contributed to the difficulties women have faced in gaining equality. It’s also the reason many women believe that the female gender should assume a subordinate role, with men being the natural and presumptive heads of the church, the home, government, etc. In her day, Elizabeth Cady Stanton recognized the role religion played in oppressing women. It remains a strong force against equality today. A new dialogue with emphasis on gender equality needs to begin within the churches.

    Obviously, people are entitled to their religious beliefs. I don’t have anything against religion, unless it has something against me.

  54. Hope on the (northern) horizon:

    http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/politics/rise-of-women-in-canadian-politics-is-unmistakable-and-unstoppable/article4535879/

  55. A friend’s blog (my husband’s cousin and the doc who excised our dog’s hips as a pup) turned me on to this and I love your writing and causes! This was about Komen denying funding to Planned Parenthood for breast exams. Good work! I’ll check out your blog often. cookingwithdee.net

Comments are closed.