Why is the Quokka the happiest thing on the planet?

All you have to do is look at him to know why. I hope a bit of the Quokka gets to you today

The quokka /ˈkwɒkə/ (Setonix brachyurus), the only member of the genus Setonix, is a small macropod about the size of a domestic cat.[2] Like other marsupials in the macropod family (such as the kangaroos and wallabies), the quokka is herbivorous and mainly nocturnal. It can be found on some smaller islands off the coast of Western Australia, in particular on Rottnest Island just off Perth and Bald Island near Albany.

quokka1

 

quokka3

40 Responses

  1. Well. I can’t decide if I want a Quokka, or I want to be a Quokka.

    What.a.darling.little.creature.

  2. Good point Why Not. Because Quokkas are a protected species and women aren’t!

  3. Well this little guy is definitely cuter than that thing that craps out coffee beans, but then he doesn’t make any money. Or even good coffee. His job is being Cute.

  4. Damn Uppity makes a song by Ray Stevens come to mind lmao

  5. SCREETCH! NEW POST

    Kimmel talks to people on the street about how they liked the inauguration that didn’t happen yet.
    https://uppitywoman08.wordpress.com/2013/01/19/priceless-kimmel-talks-to-people-on-street-on-how-they-liked-the-inaugeration-that-didnt-happen-yet/

  6. surfer and penguins:

    http://www.grindtv.com/surf/blog/50729/surfer+in+antarctica+surrounded+by+jumping+penguins/

  7. Did you see the new post on the morons interviewed? God help the USA.

  8. Penguins damn cute. Having a blast. Remember when that pengy was being stalked by a shark or something, and he jumped on those people’s boat to save himself?

  9. I have spent hours today shopping for a home air purifier, furnace connected or not. This is worse than buying a car.

  10. Do not get the oreck one – unless they have improved it. I bought one once and had to return it because it was so loud it rattled and hummed till I turned it off.

    When I used to smoke I had one near my ashtray that was an ozone machine and silent and very good for smoke and smells but it was around $300 and was a gift from my daughter who hated my smoke. Ironically, I lost it in a fire!

  11. Awww…that’s just the cutest thing! 🙂

  12. Whoa thanks for the oreck information. Scractching that one off.

    I was a die hard oreck vacuum person till I got my dog. Their vacuum brushes can’t be turned off, so they jammed and I burnt the motor out on TWO of them. Very bad vacuum if you have long pet hair. Otherwise a GREAT vacuum. But for me now………Fergettabowtit.

    I scratched ozone machines because they do have some questionable effects on health, particularly the lungs.

  13. Anybody else with experiences with room or furnace purifiers, please talk to me!

  14. Fredster, would you not love one for a pet?

  15. Oh I’d love one for a pet!! It just looks so hugable!!

  16. Yeah so do pandas. Unfortunately they will rip your guts out. But this little guy seems kind of friendly, I checked out some images and people are feeding them and things. Cute little bugger.

  17. Anybody else with experiences with room or furnace purifiers, please talk to me!

    I *think* that generally for the furnace type you have to buy the same brand as the furnace.

    I had a Hunter brand I used in the living room mainly for cigarette smoke and it worked fairly well. The key was keeping the filters changed, naturally. This one had 2 different filters and I believe one was the type you could wash out, let dry and then put it back in the machine.

  18. Yeah so do pandas. Unfortunately they will rip your guts out

    That’s the surprise I was waiting for with this little critter. You know, you see a mouth open with 8 inch teeth or something. 😯

  19. FWIW:

    http://www.lennox.com/products/indoor-air-quality-systems/PureAir/

  20. Snatched that link, thanks Fredster. Have you used one? I’m trying to deduce if the on furnace ones are any better or not.

  21. No you don’t need the same brand as your furnace, Fredster. They are pretty easy to install, actually and all work on the same principle.

  22. If you want a good laugh, I have an aprilaire humidifier on my furnace, which I have disconnected. Bought it a number of years ago and came downstairs one morning to find a wall of wallpaper on the same wall as a vent………..fallen off the wall. It was hilarious.

  23. Haven’t used one but I talked to our a/c guy back home about adding one in on the unit for the house when that’s all done. He said it could be added in w/no problem and the only ones he didn’t care for was the UV light thing. He said it would work well for what I needed with the cig smoke stuff.

  24. Hunter makes a nice furnace air purifier I think. They also make some great large room purifiers.

  25. I have an aprilaire humidifier on my furnace

    The one thing we don’t need in nola. 😉

    Oh and fwiw, we had the same a/c guy or company for *years*. Mom and Dad started with Burt’s Dad when he had the business so I pretty much trust him in matter with a/c and heat.

  26. It was dry here and I was waking up with my lips sticking out, if you know what I mean. So somebody said get a humidifier on the furnace. So I did. My windows were steamed and dripping and that was my first tip that this was a bad idea.

  27. I was trying to find one that isn’t so huge. Most of the large area ones are monsters. I did find this one and I think it might be worth a try, see if it is as good as the reviewers say and then buy another one if it is. Out of stock right now, which means it’s selling. The carbon filters are cheap too.

    http://www.amazon.com/Hunter-30793-PermaLife-Purifier-Permanent/dp/B004VLVTRC/ref=sr_1_23?s=home-garden&ie=UTF8&qid=1358567954&sr=1-23&keywords=air+purifier

  28. i was very well pleased with the Hunter room type that I had. The only thing I had to do was to remember to check the filters on it. Got in the habit of checking it when I checked and changed the furnace-a/c filter.

  29. I was waking up with my lips sticking out, if you know what I mean

    I know what you mean: too much botox at one of those botox parties. 😉

  30. Yeah only I got my botox look for free. lol.

  31. LOL!!!

  32. cleanable PermaLife filter

    That’s the type I had on the Hunter I used. Wash it, dry it, back in the machine. However, mine was an older type that wasn’t a tower like that, rather, more boxy looking.

  33. Do me a favor, troll the reviews and see if you see what I see. I don’t want to miss anything.

  34. I loved this from the reviews on that Hunter:

    I HAVE A 1860’S HOME AND 4 DOGS. FOR SOME REASON THE DUST IN THIS HOUSE IS OVERWHELMING.

    Gee I wonder why you have dust! 😯 You have antique dust!!

  35. Not sure what you meant exactly. The reviews were overwhelmingly positive. The one above did crack me up though.

  36. Hahaha. And four dogs. Surprise!

  37. Do me a favor, troll the reviews and see if you see what I see

    Reviews looked pretty good Upps.

  38. What a cute critter!

  39. Upps.that’s just the cutest thing I have seen lately. 🙂

  40. Foxy I may replace the pengys with Quokkas!

Comments are closed.