See you all around 2015

DSCN0943cr-1It’s been a long run for me and for some of you.  I appreciated your loyalty and made some great friends along the way, not to mention some enemies. But hey, I’ve never been one to lie down or be bullied, threatened or led – and nothing ever happens when you don’t break a few eggs!  That’s part of the charm, entertainment AND frustration of hanging out with me.

More than 4000 posts! Well over 4,000,000 hits! Things got bigger than I ever expected. Couldn’t have done it without you! But Twas sometimes a mixed blessing, indeed.

I’m pretty much done here at this time. If  things come down the way most of us hope it will, I will see you all here –  if and when Hillary announces she is running for President and campaigns begin. Till then, political blogging holds no interest for me.

.

Till then, be safe, smell some flowers and live well. Remember,

Living Well Is The Best Revenge.

You can find me on Twitter @uppitywomanblog if you want.  Bill has taken on a life of his own at his twitter account. Scary part is I actually like it. Soon they will come and take me away…

I’ll continue to participate now and then on the few remaining blogs I already occasionally participate in. If I get really antsy about something, I’ll find a blogger who will put up with one of my posts. Or I might start another blog with a more fun purpose and one or two of you might stumble upon it. This is not my first blog and probably won’t be my last. Once a writer, always  writer! Trust me on this.

Keep in touch and be well.  Dwell on what you DO have, not what you don’t have. Enjoy Life!

Love, Uppity.

132 Responses

  1. Uppity, I respect your decision and just want to thank you for your amazing words and posts and for keeping us fired up and informed all these years. It will be terrible to lose you for the moment, but I know better than to try to talk you out of it. If I could, I would!!

    I can never thank you enough for all your support! xoxoxox
    {{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{Uppity}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}

  2. Sorry to see you go but life does change! Hopefully you will find another way to vent. I’ve really appreciated what you’ve written and I love the picture of your dog.

  3. Oh shit! I hate this!!! 😦

    I’ve kinda been on the quiet side the last couple of days because of tooth problems once again. Had to have another root canal and a crown.

    Of course you know you’re always welcome to throw your two cents worth in over at your blog wife’s place and naturally i speak for her on this. 😉

    Big hugs!!!

  4. Bye. Will miss your sane POV and witty writing and all of the other folks here.

  5. Thank you, Upp, for helping me with my rescue cats a couple of years ago. If you have forgotten the story, Blackie and his girlfriend Me Too were finally caught and found a good home together. Their kittens were also caught and were adopted together, too. All are still doing well. A happy ending for a whole family of cats! You were an important part of the rescue mission. I didn’t know anything about catching strays at the time and your advice was very supportive.

    Take care. Be well.

  6. Thank you!

  7. Thanks for providing a place for us Hillary supporters, Uppity. I also appreciated your kitty advice. A standing O to you! ♥

  8. Yes, thank you for a safe haven for Hillary supporters.

  9. Love you Blog Wife! Come on over to TW any time.

  10. Stay well, Uppity. Thank you for the hilarity and wisdom.

  11. Uppity although I haven’t commented often I always read here and I am sorry to see you wind it down. Not surprised (this must take an enormous amount of mental energy) just sorry that the people who read you will miss you so very much and there isn’t anyone else like you. Be well, take care of yourself and your beautiful canine companion, keep eating ribs and ….just take care of yourself. thank you for just being you.

  12. I will miss you.. Blessings on your journey Uppity. Thanks for every word you have written.

  13. Thank you for all the wonderful posts! I hope you return when you decide you want to, but until then, be well and happy!!

  14. Upps ~ I can’t thank you enough for everything said and unsaid. Your place has been a safety net for the past how many years!! I found you at NoQuarter and followed you here. (I follow you on twitter, too). I’ve printed out directions, recipes, sage comments and not-so-sage ones as well. I will miss the uppity woman blog. But I’ll keep following you and Bill.

    {{{hugs}}}

  15. Sorry you feel you must shut down but boy do I understand. Uppity if you do not keep in touch I am going to have to hurt you. Going to need you as you are aware. Will miss the blog but alas I too am sick to death of discussing politics. I need to enjoy life and find something to laugh about. Love you and you know it.

  16. Like Leslie, found Uppity on NQ (used to have hilarious back & forths with Strawberry Bitch and Jeremiah Goddamn Amerika Wright), and then followed her over here. That was over 4 years ago, becuz my WP password has lakers age in it at the time, 15, and he is now 19 and in college. What can I say? Its been a fabulous 4 1/2 years here. Every possible topic…every type of person. Best conversation anywhere. I need to copy a bunch of the recipes stat. We love you Upps. And ditto to all the beloved Uppityites! Hope we will all be reunited in ’15! Meanwhile, love, hugs and best wishes to you all!

    socal, hubbie & lakerwade

  17. *sniffle, sniffle*

    Through my selfish sniffles I shall first say thank you, for all of the great good you have accomplished. But I shall not say goodbye – because I am still here, and you are still there, and WE are still everywhere. So, please do enjoy your well-deserved sabbatical, dearest Upps. Though saddened, I rest easier knowing that our collective paths shall continue to crisscross – here, there and everywhere.

    Uppity Nation Lives.

  18. I know the blog is closing….but I have to drop this latest info. Remember the Saudi arrested at the Detroit airport with the pressure cooker for his nephew? Well, surprise surprise….charges dropped! Oh, but he does have to leave the country.

    “There’s no evidence of wrongdoing,” Howarth told the Detroit Free Press on Friday. “It’s one occasion where justice delayed was not necessarily justice denied. It came to a happy ending and there’s going to be no hard feelings on anyone’s part.”

    Well, we wouldn’t want any hard feelings now would we??

  19. Thank you, Uppity! I always looked forward to your posts and am sad to see you close shop, as it were. But, as you say, if 2015 shapes up the way you (& and all of us) hope then we will once again benefit from your wit, humor, and wisdom. Enjoy your well deserved time off. I Wish you all the very best!

  20. I will miss you; best of luck to you.

  21. Uppity, I haven’t always been a regular commenter, but I have always read and loved this blog, your insight, and especially your irreverent sense of humor. You have been a breath of fresh air, and one cool, smart and sassy feminist. Thanks for informing. Even more importantly, thank you for NEVER BEING A WIMP, and jacking us up when we tried to be wimpy.

    Best of luck to you and all of the smart, strong regulars, here. I hope we will all be back campaigning for Hillary in 2015.

  22. Wow. Just wow. You will be missed–sorely missed, but I suppose you already know that.

    Love it, RWV:

    But I shall not say goodbye – because I am still here, and you are still there, and WE are still everywhere.

    So, what does a closed Uppity blog look like? Will it still be here for reference or are you pulling the plug at the WordPress end?

  23. Uppity:
    I’m in tears because I love you and gonna miss you a big chunk. Where am I to go to have Cats discuss women politics?
    Though I understand the need to move on.
    But let it be clear: you entertained us, informed us, unified us and kept us laughing off our seats for these many years with wit, class and yes LOVE!
    THANK YOU SO MUCH.
    p.s.
    don’t be a stranger

  24. Maybe this will work?

  25. imust~
    I know, right?

  26. Yep leslie. Uppity said I could throw a temper tantrum in the comment section!

  27. well girlfriend, you’re not alone.

  28. And I don’t need no stinkin’ permission to throw a tantrum!!!😦

  29. Sorry to hear you are closing the blog. I will miss your great posts; the comments from you and the others who hang out here are always enlightening. Relax and get ready for the fight we expect.

  30. Uppity, this is a shocker. I hope you and Needlenose have many lovely walks, see many interesting things you might not have had time to notice until now. Just keep a leash on MKBill if you can. One cannot help but notice he’s beginning to get the upper eh hand over there on the twitter.

  31. Uppity, thank you for all the work you’ve done on this blog. I am going to miss this place! Hopefully, we’ll still see each other around Twitter and at Still4Hill.

    Hugs…

  32. Oh, Uppity! I am so sorry to see this! I will miss you! Hoping to see you back somewhere, somehow. I am supposing you are leaving this up as is, so OI am leaving your little martial arts kitty on my sidebar so that anyone who has missed the years here can come, read the history, and catch up. (((Hugs))) for all of the support you have provided over the years, You are a true friend. ❤

  33. Looks like this.

  34. Sophie ~ This is perfect. . . . I don’t have to look any more.

  35. I’m the Christopher Columbus of the internet! I don’t believe it’s the end! The internet is round!!!

  36. Does that mean when you want to send people here, you link here?

  37. Hey! It was an honest mistake okay?!

  38. Besides…I can always go there:

    Every time I call my credit card customer service center!

  39. Pretty cool:

  40. Hee hee!

  41. Way cool Sophie!

  42. Dear Uppity,
    Thanks for being here through some grizzly times. There is no one who does OUTRAGE any better than you adding your great sense of humor and wonderful videos. Keep on bloggin’–somewhere. Godspeed,
    JD Olson/greenlantern

  43. Sophie ~ That was simply great fun!!! 😀

  44. Okay, I don’t know where else to go with this . . .

    I’m cleaning out my kitchen to have it remodeled. And there is more than 20 years worth of amassed “stuff”. So what do I find in a basket in a file cabinet in the pantry? A Mondale/Ferraro button!!!

    Where am I gonna go to share this???

  45. Leslie, Here.

  46. And here I am.

  47. Would you call us squatters then?

  48. I realize it’s now June 9, but this post was put up on June 7.

    On June 7, 2008, most of us were watching this. To paraphrase, it wasn’t the party we planned but we couldn’t have been in better company.

  49. OMG! Uppity stopped her blog on the anniversary of Hillary’s concession speech!

    Before Bill & Hill, my favorite politician was Bobby Kennedy. I see a lot of similarities between Bobby and Hillary. Even in some of her speeches like the one above.

    A famous Robert Kennedy quote:

    “Some people see things as they are and ask why. I see things as they can be and ask, why not?”

    Which is very similar to something Hillary said,

    Life is too short, time is too precious, and the stakes are too high to dwell on what might have been. We have to work together for what still can be

  50. America, we were robbed. Again.

  51. great catch you 2 !! and yes, RFK was my favorite pol as well. At least until Hillary. And maybe still. (sorry)

  52. I love seeing squatters and some left over Pie here.

  53. And I love that Sophie recognized the historic connection to Uppity’s last post. I look forward to the day when both Hillary and Uppity return.

  54. Hey, I’m a pie….I’m supposed to be a little flaky!

  55. She means to rise.

    Don’t give up on Hillary. In fact, if you help her to rise, you will rise with her and help her make this country the wonderful, wonderful place where every man and every woman can live freely without sanctimonious piety and without crippling fear.

    Rise, Hillary. Rise.

    -Maya Angelou, Jan 20, 2008, published in The Observer

    Rise Hillary
    Rise Uppity
    Rise!

  56. Uppity, I completely understand your decision at this time. Like others, I don’t always comment, but as you know, I am a big fan of yours! I wish you all the best, and thank you SO much for all of the great work you have done, and for the support along the way. You’ll be missed, friend!

  57. Hugo, were not squatting, we’re occupying!

    I can see how Uppity got bored with and tired of and tired of political blogging. There really is nowhere to go with your thoughts and ideas when you realize both parties suck and don’t act on behalf of their constituents. To top it off, as a blogger, you always run the risk that if you say something nice about a politician, they will do something the next day that makes you look like a fool (Anthony Weiner comes to mind).

  58. Wow! Amy!

    Hi Amy!

  59. Sophie, I’m the one who said we were squatters, Hugo was echoing me. Squatters is a more old fashioned term I guess.

  60. I see. Allow me to correct myself:
    imust, we’re not squatting, we’re occupying!

    (P.S., the exclamation point at the end is supposed to indicate if was for the Lulz.)

  61. Got it!!
    (See I can lulz too!!) 😉

  62. 🙂

  63. Well if we’re occupying I better pitch a tent!

    Can I get a twinkles up?

  64. It would be fun to have a campout at Uppity’s backyard, wouldn’t it? (Heh, heh)

  65. Let’s see if I got it! I’m slow…
    We are going to occupy Uppity’s blog? or back yard…
    I already have my tent out…

  66. I will camp out, waiting for Hillary and Uppity rise…

  67. Whooo Hooo!!! Looks who’s tweeting!

  68. This is Hill’s profile:

    Wife, mom, lawyer, women & kids advocate, FLOAR, FLOTUS, US Senator, SecState, author, dog owner, hair icon, pantsuit aficionado, glass ceiling cracker, TBD…

  69. The summer of our discount tents!
    Occupy UW Blog

    UW
    Thank you for your guidance and support, both public and private, even after you realized how obnoxious I am.

    I will miss you and your informative, insightful, humorous posts, and most especially your feminist perspective.
    i hate to see you go but I fully support your decision.

    See ya down the road, paisana!

  70. Well, whaddya know?!
    http://apnews.myway.com/article/20130609/DA6QCOSG0.html

    I suppose Fox News will apologize right away (right after Donna Brazile quits).

  71. I will miss your writing so much! No one gets fired up quite like you do! I know I speak for lurkers/infrequent commenters when I say thanks for all you do and can’t wait to see what the future brings! Thanks for everything! XO

  72. I started to follow @HillaryClinton today on Twitter, but I wonder who is really tweeting. It’s not the only Hillary Clinton twitter account.

    Interesting info about the interview with an conservative IRS manager. Guess that witch hunt is not going so smoothly for issa.

    But Cummings is not guilt-free in the witch hunt department. He prefers to pursue major league baseball players for steroid use, He tried and failed to take down Roger Clemons.

  73. Hugo, this is Hillary’s account–it has the Twitter verified blue checkmark. The other ones are fan accounts. Likely, most of her future tweets will be done by someone in a communications capacity, though.

  74. Whaddya know again: Convenient or not, all roads still point to the frickin’ CIA.

    http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2013/05/21/exclusive-cia-honored-benghazi-chief-in-secret-ceremony.html

  75. By the way…Dan Savage (the guy that gave Rick Santorum his “Google problem”) is the guest on Colbert tonight.

  76. TY for the info on the twitter account.

  77. NP, Hugo. She’s up to 278,0611 followers already!

    With ONE Tweet!

  78. It’s been a great ride, Ups! A real pleasure reading your material from near and far. DANG! It’s been great!!!!!

    That bronze Uppity Cat award doesn’t come near close enough to as a reward that represents the magnitude of your writing prowess, and how you have mesmerized and captivitated your readers.

    It will be sorely missed here. 😦

    XOXOOXOXOX

  79. Sophie, thanks for all the info and links!

  80. Socal came out of her tent!

  81. Since you’ll are on the twitt de jour, you may want to check still4hill yesterday’s posting: Hillary Clinton’s Iraq war vote. A must.
    I know is a bit lengthy for some but worth it.
    I hope someone is archiving all these jewels, I don’t know how.

  82. Many thanks to you Uppity for a place for Hillary supporters and most of all (for rme) – the great laughs and upbeat vibes you created here. Best wishes and hope you are back real soon!

  83. Things have been at sixes and sevens with Mom, office move, and the illness of two brothers so I hope you review new posts.

    It was a wonderful little neighborhood but sometimes one has to pull back and live a little outside the WWW. Thank you!

    Take a rest. Relax. Enjoy family, friends, and companions (all sorts).

  84. Special hugs to Needle-nose for being a wonderful canine mascot amid all the crazy cats. Especially Bill.

  85. Will miss you Uppity! Thanks for all you did. Hope we will meet again in 2015!

  86. Uppity you will be missed …..:(. Wishing you the very best in Health,Happiness and Love….Thank you for your great insight and posts…. 😆 🙂 Hugs, Casper Cat

  87. Just a caution: if you don’t already have the email addy of the Uppityites you are close to, think about getting them, just in case this blog runs through its subscription period and is terminated.

  88. Note the hashtag.

  89. Mic Check
          Mic Check
    Uppity is on hiatus from the blog until #tbd
          Uppity is on hiatus from the blog until #tbd
    but the blog WILL stay up indefinitely
          but the blog WILL stay up indefinitely
    so you don’t have to worry that you’ll click here one day and it will be gone
          so you don’t have to worry that you’ll click here one day and it will be gone
    so long as it doesn’t turn into a flame war
          so long as it doesn’t turn into a flame war

  90. Thnx, Sophie.

  91. Thanks Sophie.
    I was worried that I would not have a place to go and leisurely Miou.

  92. Imagine that she has gone on an extended holiday and has left her doors open for folks to come in, relax, visit, chat, and so on.

    As long as we don’t trash the place (which means being mean to each other, personal attacks on each other, and so forth), we’re fine. It doesn’t mean we can’t have differing opinions (it never has)–it means to argue the issues.

    Likely we will quickly exhaust whatever’s left in her fridge and liquor cabinet, so folks might consider bringing a bottle or a pie when they come…(just a suggestion).

  93. That’s so hospitable of Uppity to leave the door open.

  94. Hugo, only semi-hospitable–the Scotch is gone.😉

  95. No Scotch!? No problem. I can survive on a nice zinfandel, real beer, or a mojito. One must be flexible.

    A nice pie would be a nice touch–apple with sour cream and walnuts and crumbles on top.

  96. I’ll make lasagna – or a lemon merigue pie.

  97. I was just thinking of what I could do with the Glenlivet. now I know.

  98. currently under tornado watch. just lost power momentarily. BUT the Stanley Cup hockey game will go on!!! (insanity)

  99. One must be flexible.

    ROFLMAO!! Ok, then, we’ll drink Mojitos until Leslie brings the Glenlivet.

    Oh wow, look at all these pies, while Her Pieness is seriously engaged elsewhere. When she returns on the weekend, they will be gone, gone, gone!

  100. Leslie, where are you, with the tornado?

  101. Thanks for asking………

    I’m along the lakefront immediately north of the city (chicago). Our city offices were closed 3 hours ago to let ppl go home and take cover. I left work 7 hours ago to run errands – that early leave-taking was planned. I urged my colleagues who could, to leave before the storm hit. It is storming now. I’ve run around moving loose objects to inside the stove, refrigerator, closets, etc. but I can’t move everything. i’ve cracked the windows – my entire apartment runs along a wide street. i’m a bit nervous as this tornado thing has happened to me twice before when I was waaaay younger and could move quickly. i’ve got my shoes on instead of going barefoot (just in case). I’ll let you know when it’s over. if you don’t hear from me – don’t worry until tomorrow night.It might just mean I didn’t have electricity until I got to work.
    Fingers crossed —- here we go.

  102. Happy Trails, Uppity. Hope to see you up and about in 2015 when Hil runs. Take care of you and yours, and thank you so much for a well-written and entertaining blog.

  103. Hang tight, Leslie. As soon as you’re able, check back in with us.

  104. I’m sorry to see you sign off. I always loved reading your opinions. Hope all this government spying hasn’t influenced your decision to do so. You will be sorely missed.

  105. Leslie, take care! Let us know you’re ok.

  106. Made it though the night!! My kids are all okay. It will be a beautiful Father’s Day for my son this year. We’re all here and not much damage. I think living near the lake helped us all.
    There was a little damage, but not much. I hope everyone can say the same.

    Thanks for checking. I’m off to work now.

  107. That storm system just arrived at my house. Worst thunder I’ve ever heard.

  108. My Miou of the day:
    Check Still4Hill; the CGI America is the Clinton’s event and Hillary will speak, there is a live stream…

  109. Am I in spam?

  110. Guess not.

    I received my “Ready for Hillary Clinton” bumper sticker in the mail today.

  111. Wow Hugo that is great!!

    Rise, Hillary. Rise. 😉

  112. Glad you guys are all ok.

  113. {{{{{Upps}}}}}}} 🙂 🙂

  114. Happy weekend, Uppityites!

  115. Yes, this is my daily Miou!
    Still4Hill, check it out on the CGI accomplishments.
    All those with Dads, enjoy and celebrate them!
    Yes, of course I had a Dad, how would I be here? I just lost him when I was 5 years old.

  116. What Sophie said !!!

  117. with Hillary imploding after her Benghazi dereliction of duty it is sadly, time to call it a day. What time we wasted supporting someone who ended up betraying us all.

    *****Response:

    Shove your bullshit back up your ass, fuckwad. For starters, your IP address is from Germany. For another, if you ever supported Hillary then I am Cleopatra. This blog, TEMPORARILY closed or not, is designed to throw sneaky assholes like you into the garbage can where you belong. So just take your smarmy ass back to whatever Freeper site that crapped you out for a try at this blog. Eat shit. Then die. Don’t fuck with this blog again. Including suddenly becoming ‘the victim’. We hate passive-aggressives here with a huge passion. Especially drive-bys. K Thanks, Bai!

    Fuck you very much,
    Uppity.******

    —–She/He/It is all yours, gang.

  118. No Uppity, I think you pretty much nailed it.

  119. I don’t get the impression that Hillary is imploding over Benghazi, and I don’t feel betrayed by her because of that tragic event. Betrayal is using the deaths of those four individuals for political gamesmanship. Shame on the assholes who continue to do that. You know the ones who really don’t give a rat’s ass about those people and who out the other side of their mouths bitch about them being overpaid and having health insurance.

    Your type is not going to succeed here, but thanks for the laugh.

  120. What Hugo said.
    What imust said.
    Double what Uppity said.

    But feel free to continue being pissed that Susan Rice used CIA furnished talking points. Continue to pretend that you care about 4 dead Americans any more than you care about 26 dead Americans.

  121. Right on imust, Hugo & Sophie! Uppity, you rock! Made my night!

  122. Miss you! also the news creeps me out. Hugs.

  123. I can’t possibly top what Uppity said. It was perfect.

    Hillary 2016

  124. Uppity, BIG Hug! I am thinking of doing the same thing as I can’t keep up w/school, work and finding time to sleep (we all need some good rest).

    So, see ya in 2015 and on Twitter from time to time.

  125. 2015 it is, Upps.
    Besides, you’re never out of my sight ‘cos you live on Twitter.

    It’s been real – since my first comment in July 2008. You’ve been my Northstar.
    It’ll be real again – in 2015, when our girl runs.

    Ciao bella.

  126. Hey Upps — Since this post is a historical marker on your blog, I thought I’d stick in my flag here: Our first exchange (although I lurked months before that). (Note how we used our full names!!)

    NoEmptySuits
    Submitted on 2008/07/01 at 10:17 PM

    My Dear Uppity: I think you’re absolutely FABO-BRILL fantastic! My morning doesn’t begin until I read your posting(s). Thank you so very much for your irreverance, your incisive wit, and your piercing insights into the essence of Obama. Well done and keep it up. Warm wishes.

    P.S.: I and my pro-Hill diehard friends are dying to know who you are. Any chance we’ll ever find out? Do you write under any other names or pseudonyms?

    Uppity Woman
    Submitted on 2008/07/01 at 11:15 P

    Dear NoEmptySuits,
    Thank you. Now that should keep me going for a few more thousand miles!

    Ah to know the mysterious Uppity. No I do not write under any other pseudos, but I have been known to write over my real name.

    To know who I am could either spoil all your fun or, perhaps, make it even more fun.

    I am glad to start your day.

  127. Hah!! And, here’s the historical marker of imust’s (aka, Her Pieness) first exchange with Upps directly (and me indirectly).

    imustprotest
    Submitted on 2008/07/31 at 4:30 PM

    How about:
    Okay Barry, but before we raise interest rates, can I refinance my house first?

    imustprotest
    Submitted on 2008/08/03 at 6:59 PM

    Uppity – I’ve been enjoying reading the conversation beween you and No Empty Suit. I must confess I felt a little guilty as it seemed akin to eavesdropping. But I realized that was silly because this is a public forum. I hope you keep the conversation going, it reminds me a little of the movie, My Dinner with Andre. I’ll be waiting for the next act!

    Uppity Woman
    Submitted on 2008/08/03 at 9:04 PM

    Funny you should mention this, imustprotest. I thought of how NES and I were kind of having a personal discussion amongs a few thousand of our best friends. LOL.

    It’s rather unique. I kind of like it too. We must keep this going.

  128. Ha! I totally remember that! On the “About” page. Don’t forget our friend Papoose was there as well! (Did she go by another name then?) That running conversation you and Upps had was so interesting, I loved it!
    Thanks for posting that NES!

  129. You’re welcome, imust!
    I do miss Papoose. (I believe that’s the name she went by then, but don’t know for sure.)

Comments are closed.