NOW 2013 Conference

ellie_smeal

Ellie Smeal

In case you didn’t know, NOW held their 2013 Conference this past weekend in Chicago. If you didn’t know, it’s not you. It’s not like it got any press.

Their Twitter/Facebook hashtag, #NOW13,  hardly made a dent much less a buzz. They barely updated their Facebook page over the entire course of the event. I’ve seen more social media buzz around a one-hour webinar on markup languages. They really (really) need some of those young creative Third Wavers who know their way around social media.

This should have been a huge blow-out. What with Texas. And Ohio. And North Carolina. And Iowa. And Wisconsin. This conference should have been huge. Maybe the program was already set up before the real life events happened.

The conference was live-streamed and you can still catch the recordings here, if you are so inclined.

I watched the Political Roundtable and a bit of the Closing. These were mostly Second Wavers, sharing their stories from the past.

The segment on the Jane Collective, an underground abortion service in Chicago prior to Roe v. Wade, was one of the better parts of the program. If you’re unfamiliar with Jane, the Wikipedia link isn’t bad. There’s also this book by Laura Kaplan.

Other notable moments:

  • At about 29 minutes into the Closing, Terry O’Neill paraphrases Hillary on rights.
  • At about 30-something minutes into the Closing, Pat Reuss, known as the Godmother of VAWA, got a lifetime achievement award. She was instrumental in the passing of COBRA and asked, “What if everyone who got COBRA sent 5 bucks to NOW—we’d be Effin rich!” She’s worth listening to and watching and not only because she’s wearing a BIG Hillary button front and center on her blouse.

For me, the best speaker was Ellie Smeal (around 20 minutes into the Roundtable). She’s still as fired up as ever.

We’re in the midst of a massive backlash, not only here in the United States but world wide, trying to put women back into a box. We’re not only fighting back. I view it as a last gasp of a patriarchy whose days are numbered.

She closed with: “We are the Majority and we will win!” At that point, the crowd was chanting Ellie! Ellie! Ellie!

I’m wondering what to make of this Tweet:

I am still in awe of these Second Wavers. They took real risks and they achieved tangible results. I have nothing nice to say about the Third Wave. They took their rights for granted and are letting all that hard work whither on the vine.

I partially regret not going. I sent all their invitations to the Deleted Items folder. Had I gone, I’d have been there with a Ready For Hillary T-shirt.

92 Responses

  1. In case you’re wondering, I didn’t mean to dis Terry O’Neill (NOW President) by putting up Ellie’s picture and not hers. I just like Ellie. I like Terry too, but…

  2. Great post Sophie! I had no idea the conference was going on! (I know, you’re shocked!) I’m curious about your comment about the NOW President. I’m not being snarky, I don’t understand. I’m not very hip on the latest NOW news. I’ve never really forgiven them for not fighting for Hillary more. But perhaps it’s time. I did like the Hillary button you mentioned on Pat Reuss’s blouse!

  3. Terri O’Neill. I can’t STOP dissing her.. She is a waste of human flesh, should have never taken the gauntlet after Gandy destroyed NOW. NOW Is a toothless, worthless shell of itself and that explains its pathetic membership. They are Dhimmis besides and wouldn’t notice a thing if a law that says all women will wear the burka were passed tomororow. Her idea of “Protest” is to make a joke of serious shit, like the time she showed up at that pig Alan Simpson’s office with hundreds of rubber nipples in “protest” of his remark about all ‘teat suckers’ in the USA. He laughed his cadaverous ass off at her. She is pathetic, her useless organization is pathetic, and her constant and obvious free passes to every filthy pig in the Democratic party makes me want to hurl right on her. The fact that she and NOW are wholly owned by the Democratic party is beyond obvious and NOW is NOTHING any longer because of Gandy. O’Neill finished it off. She couldn’t get 1000 manicured third-wavers to demonstrate anything unless it was a Flash Dance followed by free beer and food. By ALL means, DO dis Terri O’Nothing. I do NOT like her. Not one bit. Particularly since Marcia Pappas was available to take over NOW and turn it into something it’s actually supposed to be….like…….you know….an organization that actually protects women’s rights. I remember when Congress would crap its pants if it pissed off NOW. Now they laugh at them. They don’t get any press because they don’t deserve any. They practically do not exist. They do nothing but press releases and never move their asses, organize anything of any value and are just a colossal waste of time. They need a bunch of real feminists to drive a bulldozer over them and start over.

    Other than that, she’s just great.

  4. ROFL!!! I love it Uppity!

    I have nothing against Terry but she’s not Ellie. I too would have much preferred Marcia Pappas. In fact, I think NOW National should be run by NOW-NYS for a few decades until they get how it’s done.

  5. Okay! NOW I get it (pun intended.) Thank you Uppity! [throws self on floor and grabs Uppity by the ankles] Don’t go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. imust! Leggo my leggos!

  7. ROFL!! …..as for the leggos…..no! :p

    (next time…imustsetatrap!)

  8. ……drags imust along on the floor as I head for the door.

  9. And she took the kitteh…

  10. You can pick imust up in the lobby. She’s got my shoe.

  11. Nice to see Upps! Sad about NOW. I hadn’t heard anything about this on the news either, and all the great stories I remember about NOW were NOW NY. I’m hoping that feminism will rise again, with all these new attacks on women’s rights as motivation.

  12. Socal, it could be a good time to re-introduce the ERA if (and a big if) the Third Wave wakes up. It’s time for chapters to start doing college outreach. On the other hand, the National Org’s current thinking may be that they spent the better part of 40 years on abortion rights, often to the exclusion of all else and it’s time to move on to economics. I see bodily autonomy as a key part of economics, so I don’t get why they can’t do both.

  13. On the other hand, the National Org’s current thinking may be that they spent the better part of 40 years on abortion rights,

    ………..and that sellout for Self, Gandy, and O’Nothing as her successor have lost ground every single day since they took over and ruined NOW. They are LOSING that battle. A battle that was won FOR them and they weren’t even vigilant enough or powerful enough to hang onto it. All the reproductive rights that were HANDED to them have been hammered and whittled under their very bad leadership. They are reduced to BEGGING to keep what they already had as a right. These people are not helpful to women. They are a detriment. The third wave is pathetic and are getting what they deserve for taking their rights for granted and not doing ANY work to retain those rights SOMEBODY ELSE FOUGHT FOR AND HANDED TO THEM. The lazy little bastards. Too busy getting their nails done and giggling at sexual and sexist inuendos, calling each other cunts and degrading themselves so that men are enabled to degrade them further. It both makes me sick and serves them right.

    Meanwhile, while they lose ground daily regarding the ONLY right they have ‘focused’ badly on, they are losing everything else in the process. Respect. Gone. Dignity. Gone. Workplace opportunities. Gone. Gone. Gone. Gone. They will soon enough have to start over and break some fingernails. Or they can just look for a husband to ‘take care of them’ till he doesn’t want them any longer.

    Fuck the little brats. I got mine. Let them go get theirs the hard way. They don’t deserve our attention.

  14. Teresa Kerry was flown to a Boston hospital from Nantucket. Still in critical but stable condition, and they’re still not saying what is wrong. God, I hope she doesn’t die.

  15. I posted something on their Facebook wall–I forget exactly what I said but it had to do with them getting out there more. That playing nice wasn’t working out for women. I quoted you, saying, “As a friend of mine said, ‘I remember when Congress would crap its pants if it pissed off NOW.'”

    They deleted my post rather than engage!

  16. I saw that post Sophie, they deleted it? Wow!

  17. Yup. So I put one one on my own wall. Like the saying says, “Lead, follow, or get out of the way.”

  18. I just checked, it’s still there.

  19. The new one (on my wall) or the old one (on their wall)?

  20. I don’t know where your wall is…..

    On NOW’s page go to “Comments by others”, click “see all”, scroll down a little:

    Sophie CT
    I watched some of the conference on the recorded streams. I have to say, this organization is no longer a force to be reckoned with as it once was. As a friend of mine said, “I remember when Congress would crap its pants if it pissed off NOW.” Those days are long gone. Looks like Ellie is the only one with the original fire still in her belly.

    Don’t get me wrong, you all sound and look professional and have magnificent stories from the past to tell. But nowadays, not so much. I think playing nice isn’t working out for NOW. Women got more rights and respect when they were making fun of us and saying we were humorless.
    Like · · 11 hours ago

    Great comment btw.

    Where’s Uppity?????????????????????

  21. Wow. I had no idea there was a “Posts by others” link in that Highlights widget. Hmmm.

    I guess I’ll remove the comment from my own wall.

  22. Well, they make comments by others a little hard to find, but that’s not NOW’s fault, it’s a fb thing.

  23. I absolutely agree with this statement of yours, Sophie:

    “I am still in awe of these Second Wavers. They took real risks and they achieved tangible results. I have nothing nice to say about the Third Wave. They took their rights for granted and are letting all that hard work whither on the vine.”

  24. upps:
    Please don’t go…
    ha!

  25. imust I want my shoe back. The one I left behind to escape your grasp.

  26. imust ~ Don’t give Upps her shoe. That way, she’ll have to stay.😉

    btw, I’ve been responding with similar sentiments (“You’ve done little if anything to defen, support or increase the rights women have previously won”) to NOW email when they ask for $$. So far, they haven’t automatically rejected my email. But they haven’t made any changes, either.

  27. Okay leslie! I can’t give it to her anyway……

  28. Love it!

  29. Awesome, imust ! 🙂

  30. Sorry i’m late, like the next day, getting here. I got the notice that a post was up and I apologize. NOW just seems like it WENT.

  31. I love this video from the Spanish TV… somehow conveys the greatness and beauty of femaleness!

    http://www.flixxy.com/the-incredible-power-of-concentration-miyoko-shida.htm

  32. Hi everyone. It sure is Nice to see Upps! 🙂

  33. I’m totally pissed off about what has happened to women’s rights here in Texas…I am also impressed with Wendy Davis…hope she runs for Governor…I impatiently waiting on what Hillary is going to do to start work….thankyou for the information on NOW! I’m ready for Hillary!

  34. So, Eliot Spitzer (former Gov of NY until he became known as Client #9) is running for NYC Comptroller.

    But wait! That’s not all!

    Kristin Davis, the ex-Madam who (allegedly) supplied Spitzer with hookers is running against him (Libertarian). More here: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/07/08/kristin-davis_n_3560659.html

    To whomever is running the debates: Find out who Clients 1 through 8 were.

  35. Welcome Connie! Yes, should make for an interesting race Sophie.

  36. 64 more Moral Monday protesters arrested in North Carolina–tally is up to 700 arrests.
    http://www.thenation.com/blog/175160/sixty-four-arrested-moral-monday-abortion-access-protest-north-carolina#axzz2Ye1t2jXu

    If North Carolina is really against Sharia Law, they’d expand women’s rights and gay rights. It would serve as a bold deterrent to all “Sharians.”

  37. If North Carolina is really against Sharia Law, they’d expand women’s rights and gay rights. It would serve as a bold deterrent to all “Sharians.”

    Agreed. Will it happen – not in this half of this century. By the second half of this century it’ll be too late.

  38. Meanwhile, our leaders have their panties in a twist trying to [re]define “coup” because it Egypt really had a coup, we have to cut off aid by law but if they didn’t we could continue to bribe aid them.

    How about we stop the aid and tell them that when culturally sanctioned rapes stop, the aid starts up again no matter if it was a coup or not.

  39. This new Pope is impressing me as much as Hillary impresses me. He invited 200 homeless people to dine at the Vatican.

    http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2013/jul/10/pope-francis-invites-200-homeless-dine-vatican/

  40. Interesting article on the shadow coup that’s going on here:
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/john-tirman/nsa-deep-state_b_3569316.html

  41. Yes Hugo, the new Pope really walks the walk. I don’t agree with most of RC dogma, but I do respect this guy for doing what they tell other people they should do.

  42. Horseface, however, is not so impressive. In comparison to the accolades for Hillary as SOS, Kerry is not so well respected. She left some big shoes to fill, and he apparently has itty bitty feet.

    According to an Israeli news source:

    “He lacks the intellectual and diplomatic ability to devise a permanent agreement that will satisfy both sides. He is a blind proponent of an impossible vision and is his own candidate for the Nobel Peace Prize.”

    http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2013/jul/9/israeli-newspaper-slams-john-kerry-clueless-us-med/#ixzz2Yh2h0RI7

  43. And just to weigh in on the NOW post, I just don’t know what to thing on that organization, other than to say they are totally ineffective. The fact that thy had a big conference that went largely unnoticed is an indicator to me that the organization functions like the old stereotypical woman–don’t rock the boat, don’t be too intense. NOW needs some energy.

  44. The author of that Israeli article could have ended the sentence earlier. “He lacks the intellectual and diplomatic ability.”

  45. Sophie @ 8:41pm: agree.

  46. Thx for links Hugo & Sophie. Agree about the shadow coup. That Israeli article about Kerry is harsh. I almost feel sorry for him with his wife in the hospital. Yes, he has huge shoes to fill.

  47. Socal you are a much better person than I am! I don’t feel the least bit sorry for Kerry. Remember, Kerry is one of the reasons we have Obama instead of Hillary! Kerry said, flat out in an interview that Obama should be POTUS because he’s black.

    Kerry said that a President Obama would help the US, in relations with Muslim countries, “in some cases go around their dictator leaders to the people and inspire the people in ways that we can’t otherwise.”
    “He has the ability to help us bridge the divide of religious extremism,” Kerry said. “To maybe even give power to moderate Islam to be able to stand up against this radical misinterpretation of a legitimate religion.”
    Kerry was asked what gives Obama that credibility.
    “Because he’s African-American. Because he’s a black man. Who has come from a place of oppression and repression through the years in our own country.”

  48. Okay, what’s going on here? Why are all these posts back up and are authored by Anita?
    I swear I didn’t do it! I just made one comment! Not even in the dashboard!

  49. @imust…sure does look strange. I was trying to figure it out.

  50. Something is FUBAR.

  51. Yeah Fredster. I wonder if it’s some kind of hacking???

  52. Well, I said I a l m o s t feel sorry for him! I do feel sympathy for his wife and her family, which includes him, but not about his career.

    I thought I was going nuts when I clicked on here & all those old posts were up top. I wonder what happened.

  53. Also, when I said “harsh” about that article, I meant it like “burn!”. We used to use harsh that way when I was young. Getting senile I guess.

  54. socalannie said:

    Also, when I said “harsh” about that article, I meant it like “burn!”

    Hey, he knew who he was following and that he’d be compared to her and that there was no way he could win there.

  55. Hugo@8:45 p.m.: I wish they (the WashTimes) had had a link to the actual article. There wasn’t one link to the Israeli article or the NY Times article they also mention.

  56. Morning! It appears to me that ani’s password may have been hacked. I have removed her as a contributor for now to avoid any further damage if this is the case. It also appears that all the posts with her name on them are posts that were actually done by imust and sophie in June. In the event that I am right, I had to quell it happening any further, as if there is a password hack, someone could do it to hundreds of posts. So RIGHT NOW I also want EACH AND EVERY ONE OF YOU who is listed at a contributor, mod, etc, to CHANGE YOUR PASSWORD NOW! If you don’t do this, I will be forced to remove you too, just to save the blog. I HOPE YOU ALL READ THIS.

  57. I am in the process of editing them and RESTORING them to what they were on the actual date they were published. It appears these ‘changes’ were all done 5 hours ago.

  58. Hi Uppity! What a hassle, am sorry you have to go through this. Why would someone want to do something so stupid, I wonder?

  59. Because they are assholes?

    I will tell you this, if anyone fails to change their password who has privileges on this blog, I will delete their privileges

  60. Assholes…morons. Hard to imagine having time to waste screwing with a blog like this. It certainly wasn’t a clever prank. There are a lot of freaks online that have no other life apparently.

  61. Whoa! And she’s back up! Upps, you are fast on your feet!

  62. This was not fun. I do not want to have to do this again. I WANT YOUR PASSWORDS CHANGED DO YOU ALL HEAR ME?

  63. They took ALL of June’s posts, inserted ani as author, removed the permalink title and stuck a numerical slug in, so “No title” and republished them for July 7. This is not funny shit. This was malicious. May have been done by bot, due to the slug numbers.

    If this happens again, it will be because some mod did not change a password. If it happens after that, then WP has a hack problem and we aren’t the only ones it happened to. Either way, if I have to take hours to fix it, I will put this blog on Private.

  64. They took ALL of June’s posts, inserted ani as author, removed the permalink title and stuck a numerical slug in, so “No title” and republished them for July 7. This is not funny shit. This was malicious. May have been done by bot, due to the slug numbers.

    If this happens again, it will be because some mod did not change a password. If it happens after that, then WP has a hack problem and we aren’t the only ones it happened to. Either way, if I have to take hours to fix it, I will put this blog on Private. It’s a lucky thing I am not software stupid or we would be shit out of luck right now.

  65. I noticed the no titles between the posts. Lame prank. I’m not a mod, but I bet sophie will get on it soon. I have to hit the sack, but glad I finally got to visit with you! I hope you’re having a lovely summer Upps! xo

  66. It’s way past prank. I am going to have to remove any ‘editors’ who do not post here. So far only imust and sophie post. I have to remove them because editors can delete posts. All of them if they want to. So it is dangerous right now if WP is being hacked to have editors who aren’t contributing a thing to posts and can have their passwords snatched. I am sorry if I offend anyone but I didn’t spend five years to write four thousand posts and be hacked because you have privileges you don’t even use.

  67. imust, you are listed as editor twice. As imustprotest and imusthavepie. Please pick one.

  68. Thanks socal. I am very busy this summer and totally ENJOYING not paying attention to politics.

  69. Ok in the interest of quick action I could not wait for password changes. I have deleted all editors except imust and sophie, since they are the only ones writing.

    Sophie and imust PLEASE change your passwords to something COMPLEX. And if you are posting by email, stop right now and change your email password as well. We will see if it happens again. If it does then it’s a WORDPRESS hack. WOn’t be the first time either.

  70. Ok after studying the changes, I am fairly certain this was a bot hack. Here is why: They took June’s posts and put a slug in place of the title in the editor’s Permalink. The slugs were all 5 digits starting with a 6. This resulted in no title at the top of each post. They changed all of the authorships to “ani”. Ani was the first name on the “author” drop down list in the editor. Their edits of each of the posts were within 15 seconds of one another and every one of the posts was ‘republished’ with the republish date of “July 7” at EXACTLY the same time, right down to the second: 20:37 hours. This was a hacker algorithm. It’s the only explanation, as there is no way an individual human could do these changes within 15 seconds of one another. The bot broke in the admin door. I could be wrong but it seems this happened via WordPress itself. It may have been a timed hack, you know, “scheduled”.

  71. Wow Uppity, good detective work!

  72. Sorry to see there has been trouble here. Someone with too much time on their hands.

    Fredster, I noticed that Wash Times did not provide links, but I pretty much agreed with the statements about Kerry. I assumed the source of the statement was some far right Israeli news org because that’s what Wash Times is. I still follow them just to get a view from the other side.

  73. Change your password imust. ASAP. And tell me which screen name you are using to post. I have to delete the other one.

  74. I did Uppity, I sent you an email. I will use imusthavepie to post, changed the password already.

  75. Change the password from WordPress?

  76. I don’t think I have privileges here…do I?

  77. National Mojito Day! That’s the best news I’ve heard all week.

  78. Ok after studying the changes, I am fairly certain this was a bot hack

    Think someone has a trashed computer, like they’ve picked up a keystroke logger?

  79. Hillary looks great. I also read on some gossip site that she had some work done on her face, which after her schedule she is certainly entitled to do whatever she wants. They also said she is taking good care of herself and getting in good shape. Go Hillary!

    Mojito Day! Great, I just bought some white rum.

    Uppity fixed the site super fast in the middle of the nite gang! Like a fairy godmother is watching over us! 🙂

  80. Fredster, anything is possible.

  81. socal said: Hillary looks great.

    I think she looks recharged and ready to go!

  82. I’m just gonna paste in here what I put in over at TW but I’ll have to add the full link.

    It looks like the Ready for Hillary group is getting serious. Two of Obama’s former field director types have joined them. I’ve gotten any number of emails from them and of course asking for $$s. I’m still at the “extremely leary” of contributions to them unless i get some kind of sign from HRC herself that she’s given them some sort of blessing.

    http://news.yahoo.com/rivals-no-more-obama-veterans-lead-clinton-group-154022412–abc-news-politics.html

  83. So sorry for the mess But our Upps fixed it right up.
    Also I am certain this was a bot hack. (nasty critters) 😦

  84. Belle, you’re fine, hon. It dealt with people who post articles and moderate. You be safe, baby!

  85. Whew! That was fast. Good ole Upps!

  86. Good job fixing the attack, Upps. Sorry you had to deal with that.

    Hope you are well and enjoying the summer. That applies to everyone here. Be well! Enjoy!

    Hillary 2016.

  87. Hillary 2016. 🙂

  88. Hubbie brought home a bag of heirloom tomatoes today, Anyone have any favorite things they like to do with them?

  89. They are much more expensive than regular here, so I have rarely had them.

  90. Screech! (New post.)

Comments are closed.