And a Partridge in a Pear Tree!

Okay! Sing along with me! Me-me-me-me….[clears throat]

On the first day of Christmas my true love gave to me……

You know the song. I bet you struggle trying to remember all the verses…admit it! Like trying to remember the names of Santa’s reindeer, “On Dasher, on Dancer..Comet…Cupid…uhhh…

Or how about the seven dwarfs, there’s always one we can’t remember!

But back to the song. Every year, someone with obviously way too much time on their hands calculates just what you’ll have to shell out to buy your true love the items in the song. It’s a yearly reminder of the joy of inflation. Oh joy, oh joy!

PITTSBURGH (AP) — The price of lords-a-leaping and ladies dancing has spiked this holiday season, but other items mentioned in the carol “The Twelve Days of Christmas” still cost the same as they did last year.

Buying one set of the gifts mentioned in each verse costs $27,393 in stores, or 7.7% more than last year, according to the so-called Christmas Price Index that PNC Wealth Management updates annually. And if you buy all 364 items repeated throughout the carol, you’ll pay $114,651 — 6.9% more than last year.

This year however, I read something new about the song that I had never heard before, so I thought I’d share it with you Uppityites. Since Uppityites are famously (or infamously) known for our love of food, I thought this story might make a delicious pre-Christmas post!

So let me cut to the chase. Those beautiful birds in the song were not purchased for pets…they may have actually been…DA-DA-DA-DA… EATEN!!! No wonder Hitchcock’s Birds went nuts with revenge!!!

I thought it was a song about buying pretty birds I swear!!!

At least one theory holds, though, that the “Twelve days of Christmas” paints an image of a joyous festival, in which seven days of feasting on birds are followed by five more of revelrous dancing and leaping. It’s not as weird as you think: Europeans centuries ago ate most of the animals mentioned in the song, including the “golden rings,” which some think refers to pheasants, not jewelry.

Whaaat!!! All those years singing, “Five, GOOOLDEN rings!!” I’m picturing a beautiful, yet a bit extravagant, gift of golden, diamond crusted hand ornaments…


I feel like a bird brain!

Now that you’ve had time to adjust to this strange new development, you’re probably thinking…if I only had a recipe for Colly Birds….I’m glad you asked!!

“Colly” means “black as soot,” so the song’s authors might have meant blackbirds in this line. In Medieval Europe, a popular party gag involved putting live birds under a pie crust just before serving, so that they would flutter away just as the pie was cut open by guests, according to the Medieval historian Melitta Adamson. Thus, “four and twenty blackbirds…”

There aren’t too many culinary tips for blackbirds available these days. However, the site “Crowbusters” assures readers that a similar bird, the crow, can be hunted, carved, and cooked into dishes such as “crow kabobs.” Mmm.

Live birds under a PIE crust!! Did someone mention PIE? It always comes down to the pie doesn’t it? Well speaking of PIE…

Unlike most things on this list, pheasant-eating is still very much a thing. If your friends still trust you with pies after you sprang that blackbird surprise on them, you can try your hand at pheasant pie, preferably using pheasants that come “with their feet attached.”

I’ve seen a lot of PIES in my time…

Something fishy about this pie, but I can’t figure it out.


but with feet attached? Too weird for me!

For those who are interested, you can read the article for more tasty recipes!
I think we need to skip to the “revelrous dancing and leaping”, that sounds like a lot of fun! Yay!!

Maids a milking….?

Ladies dancing…?….

Sigh. This isn’t working out as a great Christmas post. I’ll try pipers piping. If that doesn’t spell Christmas fun…I’m done!

Okay, that’s it!! Time to sing again!!

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year everyone!

13 Responses

  1. If you get this, you’re my age or better!

  2. Imust~ this is great fun! Plus, “John Denver and the Muppets” was the standard cd in my household forever. Well, ever since it first came out. I looove that you posted it.
    I will have so little time the est of this year between work and family, I may not be back to say “Merry Christmas” to everyone in Uppityville. Ergo,
    Merry, Merry Christmas to all!

  3. Sophie, I got it. What do I win, besides more candles on my cake than nearly anyone I know!

  4. A Keith Partridge in a pear tree!

  5. LOL, imust. You’re ancient!

  6. No kidding Sophie LOL!

  7. Watch it or I’m putting up Bobby Sherman too. 😉

  8. I’ll see your Bobby Sherman, and I’ll raise you a Davey Jones!

  9. Let us once again learn from Aunt Chippy how to wrap a Christmas gift.

    And our yearly tribute to the late great world famous youtubing Tuxie cat, Flippy…on how to wrap a cat for Christmas.

  10. I’ll see your Bobby and Davey and raise you the Lovin’ Spoonful.

  11. Okay, you forced me into this…

  12. Oh. My. Gawd.

  13. Perhaps I went too far???

Comments are closed.