Talk Softly and Carry a Big Guitar

When Hillary Clinton began her tenure as Secretary of State, she introduced what she called, “Smart Power” diplomacy:

“We must use what has been called ‘smart power,’ the full range of tools at our disposal — diplomatic, economic, military, political, legal, and cultural — picking the right tool, or combination of tools, for each situation,” Clinton said in her opening remarks. “With smart power, diplomacy will be the vanguard of foreign policy.”

Our current SOS, John Kerry apparently has added a new diplomatic tool……Guitar Power?

Was he trying some kind of new torture technique???

Perhaps it’s not not that unusual, and maybe I’m being too hard on ol’ John Kerry….George Bush tried it…..

As well as Daddy Bush…..

photo credit: NY Times.com

This actually isn’t the first time Sec. Kerry tried Guitar Power. Here he is in Vietnam…..

I wish him luck with this new approach, I really do.
In related John Kerry news…..President Barack Obama shakes Sec. Kerry’s hand in a rope line…..

photo credit: Daily Mail

(He-he….sorry…I couldn’t resist!)

I’m just having a little fun here at Kerry’s expense. Hey, my motto these past six years fourteen years has been: “If I don’t laugh, I’ll cry.”

124 Responses

  1. I hope Kerry has some other tricks up his sleeve. (heh-heh) I mean, he wasn’t that terrible, but he needs to keep his day job. As far as the Bushes, I’m not up to hearing whatever they do to my favorite instrument. I think everyone should enjoy music and in fact think the world would be a lot better off today if both Bushes had been guitarists instead of politicians.

    Love that Clapton clip. That is my fav version of that song that doesn’t have George in it. They did that at the tribute for him in London after he died. Clapton was great…as always. Did you notice little Dhani,
    George’s son? And Paul & Ringo, and Jeff Lynne. And our old friend Albert Lee–the “guitarists guitarist”, as he is known. (the small guy with the fluffy white hair) We all think he’s the nicest person in the music industry, and we know a lot.

  2. In related John Kerry news…..President Barack Obama shakes Sec. Kerry’s hand in a rope line…..

    Bwahahahahaha!!

  3. They call him “Johnny Guitar”.

  4. I knew you would like that clip socal! I wasn’t sure about putting that version in since it was a tribute to George Harrison, but I really liked it too. Yes, I did notice his son….wow, he looks so much like his father!

    @sophie, the horse head photo is why I did this whole post! I had to come up with a John Kerry story to fit it in!

    Beata, Johnny Guitar! Perfect!

    I also thought about….El Kabong!

  5. Haha! Haven’t thought about about El Kabong in decades. Although I’m normally against wrecking guitars, El K did it for a good purpose!

    Hubby recently was given a couple of tix to see some Israeli metal guitarist in Bev Hills. I don’t remember how to spell his name, but its pronounced “Ingvay”. I refused to go, don’t like “shredders” and heard this guy was an arrogant jerk to his fans. We know and/or have met so many famous and wonderful musicians in our lives, some that we have become friends with, that I just don’t think there is any excuse for artists to look down of the people from whom they earn their money. Anyway, hubbie went by himself and not only did this guy want $500 for a meet and greet (!?! as if!), hubs says he literally threw his guitars to the guitar techs in between songs, which I think is really rude, and at the end of his set he broke up one of his guitars, but it wouldn’t break and the he had to keep trying different things to break it! Hubs says he looked like an utter fool, and was the most ungracious, obnoxious performer he had ever seen. Hubs was sorry he went, even though he didn’t pay.

  6. I’m not aware of any musical talents possessed by Senator Barbara Milkulski, but she is a co-sponsor of a bill intended to fix, in part, the effects of the SCOTUS’ Hobby Lobby decision. It’s called the Protect Women’s Health From Corporate Interference Act. Kind of a catchy title!

    http://www.mikulski.senate.gov/media/pressrelease/7-10-2014.cfm

  7. I saw that & love the title–thanks for posting that Hugo! I wish we could get a reasonable House voted in, so it could become law.

  8. The House can’t take care of the People’s business because they are busy wasting our tax dollars on suing Obama. As if that is going to result in anything meaningful.

  9. It reminds me of how they went after Clinton. It didn’t work then and it won’t work now. These idiots never learn.

  10. I’ve always been a fan of the idea of a split house and senate. I like the idea of one party holding the senate and the other holding the House, because it is the perfect setup for real checks and balances………………..IF……………..reasonable people are seated in those two houses, reaching consensus, giving a little, taking a little. Or as the song goes, You Can’t Always Get What You Want. That’s why consensus was invented! And that is what we do not have. Pity. Not only a pity, but a big fat spit in the face of the Great American Republic.

    Oh, and What The Hell: These old boys are still mentioning it…to a packed crowd…
    .

  11. I agree, Uppity. A split Congress is ideal, but not under the current circumstances. It’s a complete breakdown due to self-interest on both sides. Doesn’t bode well for the future because a sane person would not want to enter the fray, and any remaining sane people will not stay. Our leaders need an intervention.

  12. Maybe a new leader would do the trick? Like someone with a history of working and getting things done.

  13. Hugo, I think the problem is that both parties have been severely hijacked by what used to be two fringe parties.

  14. imust, we know just the person for the job. I can’t even think of a second runner-up.

    Uppity, they’ve been hijacked by two fringe parties and by people with deep pockets. Nothing new with the deep-pocketed crew, but it just seems more blatant. The rest of us don’t count, except to pay taxes.

  15. WTF?!

    http://www.buzzfeed.com/rossalynwarren/i-do-not-think-it-means-what-you-think-it-means?bffb

  16. Sophie, now that was some pretty ignorant stuff! Major theme seemed to be that they don’t want to be a victim. So what does standing up for your rights as a human being have to do with being a victim? It’s the opposite.

  17. They clearly have no idea what feminism is. It is not man-hating. It is exactly why they feel self-confident and have all of those opportunities they think is their birthright. That they resorted to slut-shaming just kills me. Please God, let me die before it all goes to shit.

  18. Woman # 7 in the military outfit doesn’t need feminism because of all the feminists who paved the way for her. Guess she doesn’t remember when military academies did not admit women at all.

    As for the rest of those girls, who the hell are they? They might all be enrolled in Bob Jones University.

  19. I remember, Hugo.

  20. And one doesn’t feel like a target. OMG! Violence against women is a form of entertainment in this country.

  21. So, what do you all think about the tens of thousands of unaccompanied minors illegally crossing the border?

  22. Yes Hugo you are right. The fringe + the deep pockets who own every single one of the people on Capitol Hill.

    As for Feminism, the joke is on this pathetic third wave of Nothingness…because they are horrible stewards of the things others earned for them and they are slowly but SURELY losing it all. And one day they will have to rise up and do it all over again. It fucking serves the whole lot of em right, too. Then they will learn what it’s like to stand in the rain and snow and break a fingernail besides. They have ‘redefined’ feminism just for approval from the very patriarchy that convinced them that having rights and being equal are not as important as getting laid and doing your hair. *Shrug*

    As for NOW, useless, ineffective, laughed-at and ignored NOW is the perfect conduit for these future dependent losers.

  23. So, what do you all think about the tens of thousands of unaccompanied minors illegally crossing the border?

    I think enough is enough. We don’t even give a crap about our own abused children. I’m also getting a little tired of what we let into this country by looking the other way. They leave shitholes, go to our emergency rooms for their free free free checkups that we pay for, hawk all the free programs and then turn around and hate us and try to turn our country into the same shithole they left.

    We need to return to that old dumb concept called LEGAL IMMIGRATION.

  24. Let the minors hook up with the illegals who paid to get them here, then deport them as a family unit. Pending their deportation hearings, we should house them all in Detroit. Plenty of room there.

    DHS was trying to placed some in a vacant federal building in Baltimore. I worked there briefly years ago and it is a violent neighborhood. That idea was nixed. But now, they are proposing to use an Army facility in a redneck county that recently made national news because the arch-Christian County Commissioner said she’d go to jail rather than refrain from starting public meetings with Jesus-centric prayers. Can’t wait to hear whether the brand of Christianity in that county covers being charitable to illegal kids.

  25. I am woman, hear me roar
    In numbers too big to ignore
    And I know too much to go back an’ pretend
    ‘Cause I’ve heard it all before
    And I’ve been down there on the floor
    No one’s ever gonna keep me down again

    Oh yes, I am wise
    But it’s wisdom born of pain
    Yes, I’ve paid the price
    But look how much I gained
    If I have to
    I can do anything
    I am strong (strong)
    I am invincible (invincible)
    I am woman

    You can bend but never break me
    ‘Cause it only serves to make me
    More determined to achieve my final goal
    And I come back even stronger
    Not a novice any longer
    ‘Cause you’ve deepened the conviction in my soul

    Oh, yes, I am wise
    But it’s wisdom born of pain
    Yes, I’ve paid the price
    But look how much I gained
    If I have to
    I can face anything
    I am strong (strong)
    I am invincible (invincible)
    I am woman

    I am woman watch me grow
    See me standing toe to toe
    As I spread my lovin’ arms across the land
    But I’m still an embryo
    With a long, long way to go
    Until I make my brother understand

    Oh, yes, I am wise
    But it’s wisdom born of pain
    Yes, I’ve paid the price
    But look how much I gained
    If I have to
    I can face anything
    I am strong (strong)
    I am invincible (invincible)
    I am woman

    Oh, I am woman
    I am invincible
    I am strong

    I am woman
    I am invincible
    I am strong
    I am woman

    Share this:

  26. Good point about Detroit. Hahahahaha.

    Can’t wait to hear whether the brand of Christianity in that county covers being charitable to illegal kids.

    Hilarious.

    I guess I’m getting older, because I am increasingly sick and tired of supporting everybody’s little brats and I am tired of paying school taxes that get hiked up my yazoo every year to pay for all of their educations. As it is, I don’t even think people who don’t pay school taxes should be allowed to vote in school board elections or for school budgets.

    Folks we are being financially killed in a dozen different ways because of illegal immigration. We pay for it in our insurance premiums, our school taxes, our state and federal taxes and our local property taxes. It is breaking us all by degrees and it has GOT to stop or we will ALL be below the poverty line and we can kiss this country’s ass goodbye.

  27. I saw McCain on TV, today, thumping his chest saying that Congress would not pay to house and feed these children running away from drug cartels and criminal gangs who specialize in human trafficking.
    He and his kind are two or three steps above Nazis, as far as I’m concerned.

  28. What kind of parent sends their child across hundreds of miles by themselves. Cost/Risk benefit = insanity or extreme stupidity in my book.

  29. Yeah, imust, I wonder about that too. I read a post somewhere that in WWII Germany, parents did whatever to get their kids out of the country in a hurry. Some of these parents feel they are in that kind of a situation. But certainly not all are in that kind of danger and the trip itself is very dangerous. So, I don’t know.

    But because these are not your ordinary, run of the mill illegals (they’re not Mexican and they’re not evading border security), we have a law from 2008 that says we need to process them to determine refugee status. The law did not figure that so many would come all at once. We also have treaties we have signed that say we take refugees–the same treaties we quote when we look to other countries to take in refugees.

    Also, it’s likely that we built that with CAFTA.
    http://thehill.com/blogs/pundits-blog/immigration/211567-why-are-so-many-kids-crossing-the-us-mexico-border-and-what

    Lots of unintended consequences coming home to roost all at once…This is a complicated situation without a silver bullet answer. It is a shame that we only have the ability to create soundbites and not the ability to develop a well-reasoned approach.

  30. Sophie the thing is, if we went to their country we would NEVER make it across the border without grave danger! These are countries with BORDERS. And they ENFORCE them. And if we went there and used force to break down their dictatorships, we would be NO GOOD to the very same people who are sailing across OUR border right now. I am just sick and tired of everybody in horrid places thinking that the USA is a bottomless pit of Free For Alls. We are not and it is KILLING us. And the more they break us, the happier they all are because they HATE us but they can’t wait to come here and hate us personally! We can’t even pledge the allegiance to the flag in our OWN country anymore because it offends the same people who begged to come here and be taken care of. Try that in THEIR country and you won’t make it out alive. Move to one of their countries and hand the American flag and wait to see how well that works out for you.

  31. Martin O’Malley, MD Gov & potential candidate for POTUS, wants us to welcome them with open arms. I understand that he benefited from the support of the Hispanic community in MD, but this will sink him on the national front, IMO. Not to mention swing MD to a Repub Gov this election.

  32. I recently read that there is a huge problem in Guatamala with violence against women. So, they purportedly are here to escape that. With them will come men who believe in their right to kill and rape. This crisis may be humanitarian now, but long term, it’s going to bring a huge crime problem to us. When you see video of these kids, they include teenage boys who were raised in that violent culture. Who’s going to tell them don’t bring that thinking here?

  33. Idunno, Uppity. Admittedly, my knowledge of the region is sparse. Because of this crisis, I started reading up on the region. It looks like we’ve done our fair share of damage to this region between the cold war and trade “agreements.” We need to admit that this crisis didn’t just pop up out of nowhere.

    For example, the illegal immigration from Mexico is directly tied to the corn subsidies here in the US (over $10 billion a year). We basically dumped cheap corn and they couldn’t afford to farm it anymore.

    Hit Post by accident….

    Anyway, that’s the issue w/ Mexico, different place, different circumstances, but similar in some ways.

  34. Hugo, much as I love to argue with you, you are exactly right. Our country is already riddled with cockroaches from the middle east performing horrific ‘Honor killings” upon their families, some of them scurry off like rats back to their shithole countries after the deed is done. To even IMAGINE them DARING to discuss Sharia and Sharia Courts just for them as a possibility for their colonized existence here is an insult to the very fiber of this country. We let them in and they don’t think our laws apply to them. Our landscape is RIDDLED with these murders of children and woman right here on our land and we don’t think this is an issue? There isn’t a place you can go in this country any longer where you can’t find some scumball walking and his wife 20 feet behind him wearing cover from head to toe in 90 degree heat. When a woman gets to do that by “law” you can’t even imagine what else is going on behind closed doors. These violent cultures, as you call them, are barbaric and they are infiltrating our country like a colony of cockroaches, where women and children are expendable on a WHIM.If you moved to their country (and who the eff would want to), you would follow THEIR laws or DIE.

  35. Aw Geeze Sophie, how is it that EVERYTHING on this EARTH is our fault? Always our fault! If all we ever do is damage, how come they keep bleeding us dry and showing up at our doors? If we are just so awful, why the fuck would they want to come here or DEMAND we show up at their shithole to help them. CONSTANTLY. Seriously, Mexico was a shithole before corn and it’s a shithole now and that is directly related to the fact that they had a despot government. That is not our fault. If they want us to fix the cartel problem and show up and kill them all, they will STILL be poverty ridden because they are accustomed to depending on a government that will do nothing for them. But they will go ahead and rush to their polls and vote for the same type of shithead over and over again. Countries like Mexico are thrilled with the opportunity to get rid of their criminals and lowlifes who won’t hellp themselves by dumping them somewhere else. Do you remember when Castro emptied his prisons by throwing them all on boat to Miami? America has enough lazy, lawbreaking Freebee-Seeking people already without inviting more. There are fewer and fewer people left to bleed any longer. Look what illegal immigration has done to the cost of healthcare! We’ve had hospitals close their maternity wards because 90% of their clients were there for Free. We have made the requirement to identify yourself or confirm citizenship a terrible thing. We are supposed to just take this…and pay for it. The middle class is sinking and this problem is DIRECTLY related to it. Corporations are happier than pigs in shit. Walmart shows its employees how to apply for medicaid. It is never ending the way in which we are all sinking. I am on the fence about the Dream Act, till I remember these people all want to go to college on my tax money. It infuriates me. No it didn’t happen overnight, you are right. But that doesn’t mean we have to continue to suffer for it as if it were standard operational procedure. It’s not. It’s time to cut this out, Sophie ………or we are doomed.

  36. LOL, Uppity! So is it your position that nothing on this planet is our fault?

    How dare Honduras, Guatemala, Costa Rica, and El Salvador not be grateful that we sent them Monsanto?

  37. Monsanto is the least of their worries, Sophie. There are plenty of countries that have rejected monsanto and not all of them are well-heeled either. When you don’t grow food you get it from somebody else who will “give” it to you. Don’t expect not to pay for it later in one way or another. If you don’t want to do that then don’t stand in line for handouts from trojan hoses. There is NO SUCH THING as a free lunch, really. I would worry more about what my government is allowing monsanto to do to our own country first. We had plenty of food before they showed up. They were shut down. California was a growing capital and now there are barren wastelands where once produce grew prolifically. You are mentioning countries that were in the crapper long before monsanto ever created a almost-food seed.This is what you get when you are on the take all the time to survive. You get exploited when you depend on other people’s money. You know………..my house, my rules?

  38. I guess I just don’t understand why, because the USA bit the bullet and became a Republic and worked to improve itself and have a better standard of living, should just give it all up because another country didn’t take the risks we took to become the USA. And even still, the USA is a haven for people who want to come here and help us by helping themselves. Legally. Without legal immigrants, we could not have built this country. You and I are both products of immigrants who didn’t whine and beg, they did what they had to do to reach the American Dream. Many of them left family back in their countries while they waited for LEGAL entrance to join them. While the infrastructure that immigrants built crumbles with age, the current pack of immigrants hide in the shadows and take more than they give on the balance and of course they blame us for having actual…you know…laws. We are a country of laws. Our laws aren’t created by one megalomaniac on an ego trip, or a bunch of religious crazy asses (although they try). What is being done here is ILLEGAL, plain and simple. And the straws on the camel’s back are finally getting too heavy for the people. While our politicians are only concerned with how many votes they can get out of our 11 million illegal arrivals, and our corporations are salivating at ways to exploit them. We have our own poor that we ignore and I cannot sit here and feel sorry for a bunch of bloodsuckers showing up here to bleed us some more and turn us into a third world country in the process. When what used to be the middle class is struggling to make ends meet, it’s time to stop worrying about everybody else first. Obama wouldn’t THINK of asking for Billions for Our Own. We don’t need anymore whiners showing up here, picking our pockets to the point of our own poverty. It’s just the way it is. We ran out of money long ago. There are countries that refuse to be paid in US dollars because we have printed so much money, our money isn’t worth anything any longer. We are being bled dry by other countries that are beggards and, in the process, our country is becomimg One Of Them. This problem is the reason corporations have taken over our own financial security. If we want to worry, we should worry about our own country because we are slowly becoming a two-class country…and illegal immigration is the Key to this. Without illegal immigration, corporations would have never taken us over.

    And I would also like to say that the only country trade agreements have hurt is the USA. We get crappy products dumped on us, watch China eat our lunch, have seen our customer service go into the crapper with people who can barely speak English in countries that hate us now in charge of our personal information. They took OUR jobs, we didn’t take theirs. So I can’t feel sorry for them with respect to trade agreements. If anything, I resent them. They took our jobs and now they want any other scraps we might have left. If we gave them each a million bucks, they would be poor again in no time flat, because you can’t help people who have a Poor Me, Gimee Something That’s Yours attitude. Our politicians have allowed trade agreements to keep unlevel playing fields and we don’t hold them accountable for it. China can charge tariffs for our exports, but we take their lead and melamine laden shit in without question. Our government has let that happen. That hurts US, not China. That hurts US, not Taiwan. I could go on and name plenty of other countries that should have IMPROVED via trade agreements while we continue to go downhill. So asking me to feel sorry for them is just not possible. I believe we need to look out for ourselves now, as we have reached critical mass. Those kids have to go back. If we want to help abused kids, we should focus on plenty of abused kids right here in the USA. America has become the shoemaker for everyone else…..whose own kids go barefoot.

  39. Just heard on Meet the Press that Hillary says the kids need to go back. It was also stated that these kids are being recruited by gangs on the way here. They’re escaping gang violence and joining gangs enroute, thereby importing more gang violence to the US. This is very troubling.

  40. Obama needs to deploy immigration hearing teams to the border, do the hearings promptly and send them home. Use the national guard to build a detention camp at the border. The whole operation needs to be at the border, not in our communities.

  41. Hey that’s not a bad idea at all, Hugo. No wonder you aren’t elected. That kind of sense would never fly.

    Edit: I am glad Hillary came right out and said it. She knows exactly how all of this is destroying America.

    And your mention of gangs reminds me of how easily we have let terrorists show up from the middle east. This is all related to how we have dropped our immigration ball. We used to make sure people who came here had NO criminal background or criminal associations, or carried no communicable diseases we once eradicated here. And we did it without computers, folks. If an immigrant broke the law we shipped his ass home immediately. If he committed a violent crime, we dispositioned his ass once and for all, none of this letting them out of prison for another crack at it. I remember when I read that if someone crossed the Mexican border here and was carrying less than a certain number of pounds of mary jane, we didn’t take any action. We have added a whole new meaning to Illegal, now we have degrees of illegal.

  42. Hugo, Obama has actually been trying to do that, believe it or not.

    We ARE a nation of laws and right now we have this law that says we have to evaluate if any of these kids are refugees or not. When they made that law, they didn’t imagine they’d have 50,000 kids to process all at once.

    Obama asked for 3.7 billion to do the job. The Republicans said they weren’t going to give him a blank check.

  43. I saw this happen on a small scale. I moved to a really nice, small community not far from a big city. The big city was a pit hole with a huge gang problem. Families began moving to the smaller town to get their kid away from the big gangs. Well, you guessed it, the kids made new gangs because they were now big fish in a small town. Crime soared. There were drug houses that would explode causing wildfires. The town got run down and tacky. I moved.

  44. Well he can’t send them back without the funds. Our congress doesn’t work for free. They enjoy getting paid for what they never get around to doing. What makes them think hearings are free and the people involved should volunteer their time for it. Shit or get off the pot, Congress. Or STFU about the problem. You pick. And by the way, that 3.7 billion is because you made that stupid law. Thanks, morons.

  45. imust, sadly, your story isn’t a new one.

  46. Uppity, I’m definitely not electable. I’d need to start my own party. No Lies No Bull Party.

    Obama can also deploy the US Public Health Service officers to take care of health issues at the new refugee camp. US Public Health Commissioned Corp Officers are medical and public health professionals and are extremely well compensated, in part, because they can be deployed. So, off they go to the border to screen these illegals for disease, treat as necessary, and ensure no infectious diseases are transmitted into the US population.

    Sophie, whenever Obama takes steps that make sense, I think Hillary is advising him. He just needs to move forward with that plan to deal with this at the border. He can just put everything else on hold at DHS and HHS to respond to this emergency. After Katrina and a few other Gulf Coast hurricanes, HHS deployed the USPH officer and after the anthrax attacks, they were deployed. They have a ship, the USS Comfort that can be put in the Gulf to help deal with some of the likely health issues.

    As for the law signed by Bush, Feinstein, a co-author, says there is wiggle room and we can immediately deport some of these illegals. That was also discussed on Meet The Press this morning.

  47. Sophie, whenever Obama takes steps that make sense, I think Hillary is advising him.

    That’s my first assumption as well.

  48. If Hillary is advising him, it’s amazing that he listens.

  49. Uppity, love your rant @ 9:03.

  50. Yeah but even if he listens, he Effs it up in the execution.

  51. Socal, my mother used to say you can’t make a silk purse out of a sow’s ear. We need to let go of the sow’s ears before we end up living just like them.

  52. Once again Uppity you nailed it. Sure these kids have it bad but how is that our issue to take on ? Send them back and close the door !!
    I am sick of this bleeding heart thing. We can not keep this up or we too ladies will be wearing full cover and getting stoned to death or shot in the head. It is already happening here and will continue as we let more come in.

  53. Yesterday, on CNN, I watched a Spanish speaking border control agent interview Amy.
    Amy has shiny dark hair, big brown eyes and a radiant smile, although, she is missing a few teeth because that’s just the way it is when you’re seven years old.
    It’s been over fifty years, but I still remember my teeth falling out and look forward (not!) to that happening again.
    Amy is so desperate to reunite with her mother, who’s here in the United States, that she made the trek by herself from Honduras to Texas.
    When the agent asked her for her mom’s address, Amy began to go through her one plastic bag of belongings and, when she couldn’t find it, she looked worried and, then, frantic until, finally, she found what she was searching for.
    A beautiful smile broke over Amy’s small face as she handed the man a crumpled and very precious piece of paper on which was written: North Carolina.

    Our country is in bad shape and, thanks to greedy, selfish, shortsighted and fear based policies, the American middle class (and with it, the American Dream) is dying, but Amy is not the problem.
    Back in the eighties, I was a little shocked when my mother, through her Quaker meeting house, was actively involved in the Sanctuary Movement.
    Forgive me, Mom; once again, I see that you were a light in this world leading us out of the dark and, if there’s some way that I can help and sponsor Amy and her mother up to and including sheltering them in my house (palatial by their standards), I will.

  54. You know, there are thousands of kids in foster care right now who need a home. Where’s all the folks of CNN interviewing these kids???
    http://adoptuskids.org/meet-the-children

    And what about all the special needs children who need a home…
    http://www.adoptamericanetwork.org/waiting-children/

  55. You know, there are thousands of kids in foster care right now who need a home. Where’s all the folks of CNN interviewing these kids???

    Does it have to be one or the other? We can care about all children, yes?
    Great cartoon, Sophie.

  56. NO it is not an either or….that’s the point. There is NO attention/media coverage of the children in foster care. Aren’t they just as deserving as Amy?

  57. It kind of does need to be one or the other in my opinion. Right here in America there are children of minimum wage earners going to bed hungry. Their folks opt to still try to achieve the ” American Dream ” and what are they given ? Obamacare , higher gas prices , higher rents, power bills and the list goes on. I am sorry but the more of these illegals that come here and suck the tit of the taxpayer the poorer our kids get. Close the doors. To me weather it is kids or adults illegal means just that. So the kids come across then what next we soften our hearts some more and want to reunite them with their poor parents they left behind ? It is like we are on the spin cycle and there is no shut off.

  58. Some of these “children” coming across the border look a little old to be children. I’ll just bet they don’t have their birth certificates with them. We are being hoodwinked.

  59. There is NO attention/media coverage of the children in foster care. Aren’t they just as deserving as Amy?
    Yes, yes of course they are.

  60. This debate has been going on since the 2nd boat arrived

  61. I personally cannot afford to care for all the children in the world. I have no kids. I really don’t appreciate being forced or guilted into raising everyone else’s kids in the world at the expense of my own personal security. I prefer to pay my mortgage. Golly, I’m selfish. I should just go live under the tracks, damn me. Now, Amy is very desperate to be with her mother. So where’s her mother? Is she coming forward? You bet not. Because I have the perfect solution for Amy to be with her mother, who incidentally, left her behind. How about Amy’s loving mother shows her face and they can both return together? “North Carolina” is some address, isn’t it?

    And I do think we should send a bill for the return of these people to their governments, since their ‘leaders’ have been such horrid stewards that people are trying to escape. Let’s start with Mexico, whose leaders actually thought they should tell us how to run our country because they are doing such a fine job that 11 million of their residents came here illegally just to get the hell away from there.

    Biblically, there is that saying that if you have two coats, give one to your brother who has none. I could buy into that. The problem is most of us only have one coat and are expected to give it away. Sorry, but that’s bullshit.

  62. I am not against immigration, which is what the …”this debate has been going on…” crack is implying. I believe in legal immigration. If people want to come to this country on the basis of asylum, there are legal avenues to do that.

  63. There’s a kind of cognitive dissonance in America about all of this. When you have millions of people breaking down our doors, willing to work for a bag of rice, we become expected to work for a bag of rice. Doesn’t anybody get that whiff of what’s going on here? I have no intention of joining the urban poor so that we can all be equally poverty-stricken.

  64. Agree where is Amy’s mother ? Oh that’s right she abandoned her and thought of getting herself a slice of the American pie. Do I feel sorry for Amy ? Sure . She had a piece of crap mom who ran off and left her behind while she broke the law to come here and have some more kids here so she is entitled to draw a chunk of my paycheck. Do I have sympathy ? No not really because I have been bled dry from all these women having babies and telling me to pay for them. I have been bled dry from illegals coming here in herds and disrespecting everything about our country while sucking it dry and tearing it up and turning it in to the same shithole they left.
    You want to live in America so badly you go through the proper channels and prove you want to be here by being employed and taking the pledge and throw away the flag of the place you fled.

  65. What imust said. Immigrants built this country. Most of us are here because they came here. Legally. Keyword: Legally. They had what was called “Sponsors”. And when they went to the immigration offices and other government agencies, they brought their own translators while they worked very hard to learn English. Our government didn’t spend billions printing things up in 25 different languages and they got by. They couldn’t WAIT to become Americans! Couldn’t WAIT! They didn’t go to the doctor on my money, they worked, bartered, did what they had to do to become productive citizens On Their Own. And it wasn’t all that easy either. But they did it. They left family behind and that family waited their Turn to come here. Just like Amy’s mother didn’t do.

  66. It is like we are on the spin cycle and there is no shut off.

    LOL!

  67. Like I said, America is the shoemaker whose own kids have no shoes.

  68. What’s up with the Bob Novak/Cuomo video? Republicans using subtle stereotype slurs in a campaign against their opponent. How are you intending this to apply to our conversation Beata?

  69. You cannot blame people for being poor or desperate, but you can blame governments for not reforming so that the aristocracy continues to hold the keys to the bank.And the nonexistant middle class in this country should not foot the bill. As long as you continue with this haphzard immigration policy–any Cuban who lands here gets to stay, but Hatians get sent back immediately, you will continue to have problems. We should always be a haven for the persecuted, but we need to use our immigration policy in our best interests, not the best interests of tyrants that do ot want to take care of their own. Re-classifying these people as refugees because of crime and violence does not give them status in this country any more than teenagers fleeing from Detroit and Chicago to Canada should have refugee status

    When I hear that nonsense about California once being part of Mexico, etc, I think that was 170 years ago, and when you lose a war, you do not get to dictate the terms of surrender. Maybe the Europeans are so used to fighting with each other and signing treaties that this sort of stuff blows over there.

  70. We should always be a haven for the persecuted, but we need to use our immigration policy in our best interests, not the best interests of tyrants that do ot want to take care of their own.

    I wish I had said it this way. It is Right On Target.

  71. She had a piece of crap mom who ran off and left her behind while she broke the law to come here and have some more kids here so she is entitled to draw a chunk of my paycheck. Do I have sympathy ? No not really because I have been bled dry from all these women having babies and telling me to pay for them

    Did you really mean to say this?

  72. yes I did. I am sorry if it offended you but why in hell would a mom run off and leave her child in a shithole that is supposedly too bad for Amy to live in ? Mom obviously was not thinking of daughter was she when she jumped the border and where is mom when Amy is all over CNN ? She is not chomping at the bit to be found is she and why ? Oh that could lead to her deportation. I am sorry but the media is going to make the story come out to cause sympathy but as I see it mom was thinking of herself to leave kids behind and come here. It is fact that if these women jump the border and have babies here they have a far better chance of staying here because the kid is now a citizen. Something I disagree with but it is what it is.
    Let’s get to the real world here. When I worked as a cashier at a grocery store and was struggling as a single parent and never asked anyone to help me with aid I had wished many a time I had a nickle for every time I was told by someone on welfare with several kids in tow that they would never do my job. It does tend to make you sour.

  73. UPPITY…………………………….yes Kahlua sent this shit head to me……………………..the end.

  74. Trying to make people feel bad….like they don’t care about children, or are racist and against immigration gets nowhere. Level headed leaders need to step up with a solution that is humane, legal, fair, and that doesn’t encourage more people to make a dangerous trek to enter the country illegally.

  75. How to tank a country in one easy lesson. Let idealists take over.

  76. Ah Utah, so what has the little rugrat destroyed?

  77. Did you really mean to say this?

    Yes she did or she wouldn’t have said it. That’s her prerogative

  78. Gawd, wolf blitzer is so ratty looking. somebody run him thru a carwash.

  79. Ok so now we are hearing about dead childrens bodies washing up along the Rio Grande. I am going to place a bet that somehow that too will be blamed on Americans. God forbid we blame the real perps like the donkey asses that run those shithole countries and do not allow families to make a decent living. Yep this is Americas future if we continue to allow the flood of illegals to come and do nothing to prevent it. We too will be working for pennies and scrapping for food. We too will be looking to invade another country.

  80. Ahhh Uppity you know the pride of ownership don’t you. EEEE gads what has he not tried to destroy lol. He is teething and although he has horde of toys and chews my carpet seemed to be more to his liking. I guess it is a good thing I had planned to rip it out and put in a wood floor prior to my taking this little snot on lol. He has killed several patio plants, several shoes and a mop. Not too bad lol. At least he hasn’t eaten the couch like Whiskey did but then that is not for lack of effort on his part. To be honest this kid is not real bad. He is learning at a fast pace seriously. He loves to play fetch and returns his ball to you for more until you are worn out. He is stubborn to a fault which is common to the breed but we are working on that because he has a fondness for jerky lol. He walks on a leash like a gentleman. I did not really get that puppy mule kicking and fighting. Overall I think this guy will be great lol. He has grown like a weed and is half the height of Whiskey now. All legs and ears rofffffffff.

  81. When this recent flood of illegals began, DHS proposed bringing some to a 1.1 million sq. foot vacant federal building in a violent part of Baltimore. Outside that building is a major boulevard and a bridge overpass. Under the overpass is a homeless camp. If you drive through B’more, you will likely encounter these homeless people begging for money. Some are probably veterans with mental illness because the VA hospital is nearby. The city government occasionally runs them out. It’s outrageous that our leaders would even think about bringing illegals into that vacant facility, while letting our own homeless citizens sleep under the bridge within a few hundred yards. Charity begins at home.

  82. Hillary will be on John Stewart tonight.

  83. That’s interesting Hugo. Here’s a link about that proposal.
    http://articles.baltimoresun.com/2014-06-11/news/bs-md-shelter-plans-dropped-20140611_1_immigrant-shelter-shelter-space-mikulski

    The situation has reached crisis level. Since this is not just a border issue, but a multi-country stability issue, shouldn’t a multi-nation/humanitarian organization be involved in the problem solving? Why is it only up to us?

  84. That’s the place, imust. No mention in that article of the existing homeless camp right at that location. But it does say it’s a “vulnerable” location; AKA, drug and gun violence. Same as the place they just fled.

    Good point that this should have a multi-national/humanitarian organization response. No other country is fundraising for us or offering help as we always do for other nations in the event of a crisis.

  85. imust, i was wondering about that, what is the UN doing about this? If the root problem is drug cartels/sex slavers/murderous gangs, why don’t they declare them enemies and take them out with drones?

  86. Pope Francis weighs in on the flood on illegals. And, he’s heading for the border. He expects them to be welcomed with open arms, which one would expect from a Pope, but he also calls on the international community to get involved in dealing with the underlying causes.

    Faith-based charities are now overwhelmed.

    No mention of placing any in the Vatican or shipping them to Argentina.

    http://thinkprogress.org/immigration/2014/07/15/3460230/pope-francis-unaccompanied-children/

  87. I notice he also didn’t mention the need for international birth control programs or encourage people to stop having more kids than they can afford, which is certainly an element to the immigration crises.

  88. Hugo, he’s not thinking about heading to the border until 2015!

  89. Now that I think about it, the Catholic Church is the one telling all these people from their childhoods on, that they will be sinning if they use birth control, so they have basically created the problem. Let them step up to the plate. I am still in a tizzy over all of the anti birth control ruckus.

  90. Imust, that’s certainly one of the underlying causes, but the Pope’s never going to see it that way.

    Sophie, I wonder if Francis will get there before Barry. Not that I see any value to either of them going there unless they intend to start working on the fence.

  91. Anyone who sneaks into a country and finds ways to get freebies at the expense of others is not likely too worried about sinning. Maybe their lack of birth control has something to do with that attitude problem they have toward women.

  92. Hey! Have any of you east coast folks watched Hillary on Jon Stewart??? I’m still waiting here on the west coast…..about an hour and a half to go!

  93. She was great…..natch!

  94. Yes, she looked great, sounded great. She’s in fighting form.

  95. Just watched the video posted on still4hill. I’m hopeful that she will run. And, as always, I love her attitude. I also love that she sees the big picture and seems to have a solution for our big problems. If we do not get this woman to be our POTUS, it will be a major tragedy for the nation. I see no other person with her qualities.

  96. Socal something like 95% of Catholics ignore the birth control bullcrap from the Church. The other 5% are at our borders day in and day out.

    I have to say I think it’s just plain stupid for a president to go stand at a border where cartels are waiting with automatic weapons. Ditto for a Pope. For Chrissakes.

    Dang I missed Hillary. Boo on me. I have to start paying more attention to what’s on TV. If TV in the USA depended on me, the airwaves would be blank.

  97. imust, i was wondering about that, what is the UN doing about this? If the root problem is drug cartels/sex slavers/murderous gangs, why don’t they declare them enemies and take them out with drones?

    The UN is currently lorded over by a bunch of goat-fucking murderous gangs, why would they cut themselves off? This would be funny if it weren’t so true.

  98. It’s outrageous that our leaders would even think about bringing illegals into that vacant facility, while letting our own homeless citizens sleep under the bridge within a few hundred yards. Charity begins at home.

    exactly!

    Damn, Hugo, but this subject is ruining our Jane Curtain-Dan Aykroyd Schtick.

  99. Utah, sounds like a….a….puppyyyyyyyyyyy! Come on. Be a sport. Let him into the walk-in closet.

  100. Uppity Woman, on July 16, 2014 at 8:52 AM said:
    Utah, sounds like a….a….puppyyyyyyyyyyy! Come on. Be a sport. Let him into the walk-in closet.

    And just how soon are we going to hear about a new “Needlenose heir apparent ?”
    I am sure it is time to replace that soft Italian leather sofa right ? lol. The closet or closets are his favorite place to go shopping. I go to get a pair of shoes and darn if he does not do the same.
    I took the little brat horseback riding last weekend and he has no fear of them whatsoever. Sat up there with me like a champ. He was so darn cute up there really. Whiskey did not ever like doing that he just walked with us.
    Setting up his appointment for the snip snip job next month. This is sure to be a rodeo. An ACD puppy with an e collar on him going around the house at mach 1 speed. .

  101. Hugo, on July 15, 2014 at 2:45 PM said:
    When this recent flood of illegals began, DHS proposed bringing some to a 1.1 million sq. foot vacant federal building in a violent part of Baltimore. Outside that building is a major boulevard and a bridge overpass. Under the overpass is a homeless camp. If you drive through B’more, you will likely encounter these homeless people begging for money. Some are probably veterans with mental illness because the VA hospital is nearby. The city government occasionally runs them out. It’s outrageous that our leaders would even think about bringing illegals into that vacant facility, while letting our own homeless citizens sleep under the bridge within a few hundred yards. Charity begins at home.

    Dead on and it is a crying shame that some reporter does not ask the politicians that at a dedication speech when they are puffed up and cutting the ribbons on the place and rain on their parade. Spoil their ” feel good moment” and let them walk off with egg on their faces.
    But you would think that our own citizens too would get it and agree that rather then fix other nations issues with the downtrodden we would use this money to fix the issue with our own. I too am not against immigration so long as it is done legally. We all come from immigrants. I am against rewarding illegals being rewarded for their crimes. And anyone who harbors illegals should be swiftly prosecuted as well. Right down to our good old boys.

  102. No worries, Uppity. I’m sure there will be other opportunities for spirited debate.

    More on the topic of how we treat our homeless versus how we are asked to receive illegals with open arms. I just found this article that describes how many US local governments have criminalized being homeless. Specifically, in some locations it’s illegal to sit on a sidewalk or to SHARE FOOD with them. Really?!?! It’s wrong to view sneaking into our country as illegal, but our most vulnerable US citizens can’t sit on a sidewalk and we can’t feed them? That’s all I need to know.

    http://thinkprogress.org/economy/2014/07/16/3460553/homeless-criminalization-report/

  103. O’Malley is in the news again today Hugo. He upset the WH…that’s never a good idea. Anyway, WH fired back because of his nixing the shelter plan in Maryland. Called him a hypocrite..(pot, meet kettle) He said he just didn’t like the location they picked, which appears to be the truth. The WH is so touchy.

  104. PSA for pet owners. I found this through the ACK Health Foundation. Rodent poisons have a new ingredient that has increased pet poisonings by 65%. The new ingredient moves faster and has no antidote. My last dog recently went to doggie heaven, but if he were still here, I’d be sure my vet is aware of this info. No matter how careful one is, no one can control everything and dogs just love to pick thing up in their mouths. Can’t count the number of times I had to pull goose poop out of a dogs mouth.
    http://thinkprogress.org/economy/2014/07/16/3460553/homeless-criminalization-report/

  105. I saw that in the news, imust. I don’t get the problem the WH has. No one is more immigrant friendly than O’Malley. He alleges that they are considering alternate sites. I believe that’s likely.

    That county where that Army reserve facility is locate is total redneck Bible-thumpers, as are all points west of that in Maryland. They are so redneck, that they want to secede from the state. If we must import more illegals, there are established communities that will be more receptive.

    I smell some other ulterior motive behind the WH conduct. O’Malley has been in Iowa recently and they may be po’d at him for thinking he has a shot at 2016. Amusing because after Hillary suspended her campaign in 2008, O’Malley has been carrying water for Obama.

  106. Here’s a photo of the Army Reserve facility that O’Malley nixed. The artwork was applied after the locals learned of the WH proposed use for illegals.

    http://www.baltimoresun.com/news/opinion/editorial/bs-ed-illeagles-20140715,0,3621825.story#ixzz37YxVZnKv

  107. Hugo maybe we need to spread the word to the homeless to stand at the border.

  108. It’s wrong to view sneaking into our country as illegal, but our most vulnerable US citizens can’t sit on a sidewalk and we can’t feed them? That’s all I need to know.

    Kind of reminds me of the Please do not feed the pigeons signs at parks. Pretty shabby.

  109. Hahaha Utah no dice. If I were to add another Collie, and for me, there is no other dog, it would be a rescue Collie way past the I Think I want to Eat This Dyed All The Way Through Leather thing phase.

  110. Uppity Woman, on July 16, 2014 at 6:21 PM said:
    Hahaha Utah no dice. If I were to add another Collie, and for me, there is no other dog, it would be a rescue Collie way past the I Think I want to Eat This Dyed All The Way Through Leather thing phase.

    Well can’t argue with that one

  111. Isn’t it time that we start talking about taking responsibility for the life we give?
    And what I mean is the problem of population explosion worldwide, tied to the lack of parenthood and ethical sexual practice: abuse on women and distorted view of our species by religions, churches, governments and institutions blindness to see this as unsustainable.
    I just don’t see anybody seriously addressing and tackling this very latent problem on an international forum. Social unrest is everywhere, we are too many and everyone wants a piece of the pie.

  112. Can anyone get the video of Hillary on The Daily show with J. Stewart?
    I couldn’t…

  113. bellecat, youtube pulled the interview (copyright) but here’s the Jon Stewart site link with the video.
    http://thedailyshow.cc.com/extended-interviews/aw9j6p/hillary-clinton-extended-interview

    Hillary will be on Charlie Rose show tonight as well.
    http://www.politico.com/blogs/media/2014/07/charlie-rose-to-interview-hillary-clinton-192335.html

  114. Here is a snippet of the Charlie Rose interview:

  115. I think she’s going to run!

  116. bellecat, thats the point I was trying to make upthread. A L O T of the worlds problems, not just this kid immigrants disaster is due to the fact that many men and religions want to keep women subjected by their bs claims about contraception and family planning being sinful. It makes me furious. Think of all the suffering that could be alleviated if women around the world had the education and access of birth control. No need for HIV babies to suffer through pathetically short lives. No need for kids to starve as their parents keep popping out new kids they can’t feed. Less strain on the planet, and all governments. Healthier people and better economies.

  117. Socal, what you said was similar to what Hillary Clinton has said for a long time! That’s why we need Hillary for President!!!! (or you!)🙂

  118. Haha! Not me! 🙂

  119. OMG!!!!!!!! Just finished watching the full, Charlie Rose interview with Hillary (well, part one)…….what a great, in depth interview!!!! I MUST, We MUST have Hillary!!! I’m still not sure if she’ll run….but oh my, if she doesn’t…..WHAT.A.WASTE!!! To me, at many times during the interview she distanced herself from Obama…..she would have shown more strength when necessary and headed off problems before they began. What.A.Waste of 2 presidential terms!!!!!!

    Hillary 2008
    Hillary 2012

    Hillary 2016…..bite me O’Malley and Warren!!!

  120. Charlie Rose did a good interview and Hillary was spot on as always.

  121. imust and socalannie;
    thank you so much for the links and the Charlie rose interview.
    Made my day.

  122. […] summer I wrote a post on John Kerry’s “guitar dipolmacy.” I was really just joking around, you know, like I do. I’m not saying the Secretary of […]

Comments are closed.