Driving King D*#@hebag

It's the Little Old Lady from Buckingham Palace!!

Go Granny, go granny, go granny, go!

I’m sure you’ve all heard the news, King Abdullah of Saudi Arabia died on Friday. Uppity Woman made her opinion of the late King known in the comment section of the last thread. As you can imagine….she was all broken up about the passing of King Abdullah…..

Uppity Woman, on January 24, 2015 at 5:44 PM said:
Did I mention that I think all the vehicles in King Abdullah’s funeral procession should be driven by women ?? #douchebag

The thought of that happening made me, literally, laugh out loud. Too bad we couldn’t make that wish of Uppity’s come true! Well…as I was surfing the web for newsy news, imagine my surprise to come across this article about Queen Elizabeth’s encounter with King Abdullah!

…. an unearthed anecdote from a former British ambassador to Saudi Arabia about a particularly badass exchange between the Queen and the late King that really set off a royal Twitter frenzy.

Shashank Joshi, a senior research fellow at the Royal United Services Institute, tweeted a screenshot of Sir Sherard Cowper-Coles’ recollection of a story he heard first from the queen and later from King Abdullah about a 1998 visit between the pair at the royal estate Balmoral in Scotland.

Abdullah was then only the crown prince, and Queen Elizabeth decided to have a little fun with him. She offered him a tour of the Balmoral grounds and, to his surprise, jumped into the driver’s seat of one of the “royal Land Rovers” to give the tour herself.

“Women are not — yet — allowed to drive in Saudi Arabia, and Abdullah was not used to being driven by a woman, let alone a queen,” Cowper-Coles wrote. “His nervousness only increased as the Queen, an Army driver in wartime, accelerated the Land Rover along the narrow Scottish estate roads, talking all the time. Through his interpreter, the crown prince implored the Queen to slow down and concentrate on the road ahead.”

Some are calling her Queen “Badass”…..I’d just call her “Queen Elizabeth the Uppity”.

32 Responses

  1. Last year, Hillary said:

    “The last time I actually drove a car myself was 1996,” Clinton said at the National Automobile Dealers Association meeting in New Orleans. She then joked: “I remember it very well. Unfortunately, so does the Secret Service, which is why I haven’t driven since then.”

    Maybe she and the Queen had the same driver’s ed teacher.

  2. One of the few times that I’ve wanted to say to Her Majesty, “Go it old girl, you’ve done well!

  3. The Queen has a great sense of humor. 😆

  4. o/t but important news about that globull warming thingy. 😛

  5. Bet the Queen’s tires, and balls are fully inflated too. 😀

  6. Her’s is too. Remember this? 😀

  7. Boy it sure looks warm in Mexico too! That wasnt nearly as much fun to see as the blizzard in Copenhagen when Al Gore decided he’d better not show up. He sure has disappeared since then. Let’s see………oh! Yes! Here it is…
    https://uppitywoman08.wordpress.com/2009/12/04/al-gore-abruptly-cancels-scheduled-copenhagen-appearance/

  8. Things are gonna be pretty cold in the Northeast soon…

    (CNN)A monster snow storm is expected to slam into the northeast Monday and Tuesday, dumping what could be up to 3 feet of snow in Boston and New York, with freezing rain and strong gusts — possibly reaching hurricane level — from northern New Jersey through southern Connecticut.

    This could be a storm the likes of which we’ve never seen before,” said New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio

    YIKES! Is that John Edwards I see?!!

  9. New England’s going to get another Nemo. NYC and NJ in general aren’t ramped up for this kind of thing. These storms bring everything to a screetching halt.

  10. Great story, imust! I don’t know how you managed to dig up something so perfect!

    Uppity, and you other right coasters, take care and stay warm. We lefters will all be worried about you.

  11. Eh we’re used to it, socal. We have everything we need, so we just hunker down if we have to and leave the fools out on the road. It’s no big deal. Needlenose is looking forward to it I’m sure.The abominable snowdog.

  12. I can see her pawing at the door now!!! 😀

  13. I always have a couple of weeks supplies on hand. So let it Snow.
    As long as THE POWER HOLDS we are good.
    got supplies for that too. 😀

  14. Sending good thoughts to those in the path of the storm.
    Stay safe and stay home, everybody.

  15. So far I have about 2 to 2-1/2 inches of snow from “Blizzard Juno.” The blizzard part begins around 4 AM and goes straight through lunch tomorrow.

    I have enough food to go about a month. (Not quite the stocked stores Utah woman has, but I’m in good shape. I hope the power stays on.

  16. Ditto what Sweet Sue says. Hope you Uppityites keep your power. Would love to see Needlenose romping in the snow.

  17. Same here Sophie. We’ve got some snow, nothing we haven’t seen before, and we’re all set. Have everything we need. If necessary, we bunker down.

  18. We’ve got our trusty lanterns if power goes and experience tells me if power is out long enough for fridge to go belly up, the standalone freezer will be acting like a fridge by then. And let’s HEAR IT for GAS STOVES. You light a match and you can cook and heat a room! And of course, I have a wicked wet cold, and can’t shake it. Can’t take anything OTC, have ODd on tea concoctions and will soon resort to brandy.

  19. I have wood stove for heat and cast iron pans I can cook on it if need be but lol I have yet to see snow. Really odd because it is raining here in January. Not complaining mind you.
    Uppity Whiskey has completed his Chemo treatments and starts Radiation next week. He is back to his old self and doing very well. I can not explain how happy it makes me to have my bo cuddle up to me when I come in from work.

  20. Help is on the way Upps. 😀

  21. Amen on the Gas Stove. 🙂

  22. Wonder how sophie’s doing.

  23. Also wondering. Check in, Sophie! How is the Uppity household faring? Has the adorable needlenose gotten in some romps?

  24. Yes, Der Nadel has enjoyed the snow. We got some fresh snow last night and I had to drag her inside for breakfast this morning.

  25. It does tend to Snow this time of year.
    We call it Winter. 😀

  26. It has arrived Upps,
    Now I have to find out what to do with it. 😆

  27. I can’t help you foxy because like I said, it’s NOT what I have, so have fun!!!!

    https://uppitywoman08.wordpress.com/2015/01/16/an-american-in-paris/#comment-246146

  28. Sophie’s doing fine. We only got about half a foot of snow where I am. However, just to the east, they got inundated. We got another couple of inches last night as well. The forecast is for more on Monday.

  29. Upps & Foxy, what do you do with those?

    I had a stress test/ultrasound today, and they said it looked ok. Upps, how are you doing? Are the changes you’re making hard?

  30. Sophie, glad to hear you didn’t get snowed in.

  31. Sophie, glad all’s well! I knew you’d endure no matter what, though.

    socal, scroll down and it will explain
    http://www.amazon.com/Philips-HD9220-26-AirFryer-Technology/dp/B00D7N43UA

    re: Changes I’ve made: You do what you have to do. You can bitch and moan about it but you’re still going to have to do it. So you just do it. You endure it. We endure. It’s what we do. Quite frankly I feel like crap today and plan to go to sleep for as long as I can starting now.

Comments are closed.